BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Park Place Volvo

Phone: (214) 956-5500Fax: (214) 356-55993515 Inwood Rd, DallasTX 75209-5825 Send email to Park Place Volvohttp://www.parkplacetexas.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Park Place Volvo is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Park Place Volvo's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company charged more for the vehicle at lease return than was contracted for.
On Tuesday ******* 7, 2014 @3:15P I returned a call to ****** ******, the Park Place Volvo end of lease rep to confirm that I was coming in on Friday ******* 10th @ 9:30A to purchase my 2010 Volvo S80. He told me to expect to spend an hour completing the transaction, which I prepared for. I asked him for the amount that I would need to pay, but he stated that he needed to calculate this. He also stated that he was not working on Wednesday October 8, but would call me with the info on Thursday ******* 9. He never did call with the amount.

On Friday ******* 10, 2014, I went to Park Place Volvo to purchase my vehicle at the end of lease. I had an appointment @ 9:30, but when I arrived at that time, I was told that the salesperson was not there, having taken a car to the service center. He arrived @ 10A. The amount that was due stated on my Motor Vehicle Lease Agreement was $10,107 plus the amount of $467.90 for the ******* payment for a total of $10,574.90. The cash vehicle price that I was charged was $10,970.44 an additional $395.54 When I asked my salesperson, Mr. ******* ******* why the additional $395.54 was added, he stated that this was the Park Place "charge for completing the documentation." I pointed out to Mr. Conrad that there was a line item for "Documentary Fee", his response was "that we normally charge $1200 for this, but I gave you a discount". When I asked how he came up with such an odd amount for the preparation fee, he had no answer.

There is nothing either on the Park Place Retail Lease Agreement that I signed on November 14, 2009 or the other documents given to me that day that mentioned any "document preparation fee" over and above what was detailed on the "Retail Purchase Agreement" or to be added to the cost of the vehicle.

After being in the dealership for over 2 hours, I decided to pay the amount just to get out of there.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the additional $395.54 that I was illegally over charged.

Business Response
We began very happy to assist Mr. ***** and facilitate the purchase of his leased Volvo S80. Mr. ***** was under no obligation to complete the purchase with our dealership, but chose to do so in full understanding of the precise costs involved. We were not aware of Mr. ***** concern until we received this compliant from your organization. We then reached out to Mr. ***** to better understand his concern based on the way we assisted with his transaction between him and his bank. In lieu of his concern we simply withdrew the entire transaction and allowed him to complete that transaction directly with his lender.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/16/2006Business started: 04/01/1985Business started locally: 04/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Schweizer (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Rob Sumner (Marketing Director)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Park Place Volvo

3515 Inwood Rd

Dallas, TX 75209-5825

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3515 Inwood Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75209-5825(214) 956-5500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Park Place Volvo is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.