BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2010

Nissan Of McKinney

Phone: (214) 491-6400Fax: (972) 542-5002

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues12
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints28

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (28)BBB Closure Definitions
03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Bought the car and brought it into the shop at 3 weeks after buy, didn't fix the problem and now are charging me $600 to fix it.
In the middle of December I brought my 2005 Cadillac STS into the dealership to have the car looked at due to my check engine light coming on and the car sputtering. The used car service person said it was the spark plugs and no question replaced it. The car ran fine for 3 weeks and then started sputtering again. Never had the time to go and take the car up there to get fixed because I'm the only working person in my family of 3, soon to be 4. When I took the car back in on 2/10 and had them look at it they got back to me on 2/11 that they have to replace the spark plugs and coils for 2 of the cylinders and **** a Service Tech said that and I quote "The Used Car Manager said that we helped out the first time but now it should fall under the customers hands". He never even talked to me himself. This should not be my problem because it was wrongfully diagnosed the problem the first time and now I have to pay for it. I can barley survive. Thanks Nissan. Will never buy a car there and I can tell you everyone will hear about this experience.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vatig.com
I am sorry to hear about Mr. *******'s complaint with his 2005 Cadillac. I have spoke to his boss who originally referred him to purchase with us. I know Mr. ******* feels as though we did not fix his car the first time, but if it came in with an obvious issue and drives out with the issue, than typically it is fixed. Especially if it makes it three weeks without needing additional repairs. We did bring the car in and fixed the original complaint. Unfortunately the car needed more concerns issued the second time. We were able to reach a compromise on the repairs and Mr. ******* has the car back and to my knowledge the car is running fine.

I would recommend based on his Facebook post that if indeed he is a first time buyer and this is his sole transportation, he might be better off to trade the car in on a newer more reliable car that is still under a factory warranty.

If he is interested he can contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,

***** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised price not honored

Complaint: False and misleading advertising practices.
Advertised 2013 Altima sl (Stock #: DNXXXXXX) with XXXXX miles for $21,700 minus TTL and doc fee on their website. Once we went up there the price increased by $1700 based on it being certified. The vehicle shows as being certified on their website with no mention that the certification fee was not included in the advertised price. This is deception. We spent 2 1/2 hours until they "worked" to semi honor the advertised price. They then refused to align the wheels and fix or replace the windshield that had a quarter to half of an inch chip after first stating that they would. Presumably under the "certified" coverage.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Was unhappy with purchase and was told that I would be able to exchange, after several days I was told it was no longer an option.
On Monday, September 2nd, I went in to trade my 09 Altima for something new. When I told the salesman outside that I would like to look at new and and used vehicles he automatically sent me to a used car salesman. There was one vehicle on the used side that was nice but wasn't quite what I was looking for. 2012 Nissan Maxima. When I asked the salesman if he could show me some new vehicles he explained that he could but he would then have to split the commission and didn't seem interested. After showing me the numbers on the Maxima I still wasn't sure it was the car for me and asked if I could drive it overnight and make a decision (as i have done in the past) but he said that was not an option. Again, I asked to look at new cars and he told me that a new car would be out of the price range I was hoping to stay in, which I expected he would say but I was willing to spend more on a new car. After being convinced that a new car was not the best option for me, I went ahead with the purchase of the used Maxima. Within a day I realized I was not happy with the vehicle and returned to the dealership as soon as I was able to (on The 3rd day, September 5th). The manager, Walter, promised to do everything he could to get me into a car that I was happy with and said he would call me the next day with my options. The next day I was informed that the loan had already gone through but they could "unwind" the deal and still get me into a vehicle that I would be happy with. When I arrived at the dealership that night, nothing had been done yet but they assured me that since I came back within 72 hrs, we could work something out and they asked me to come back the next night, again. When I came back, they were eager to show me other vehicles and finally I was able to see new cars! I found the car I had been looking for the whole time (2013 Nissan Altima) and realized I had spent the same amount on the used vehicle (after adding a warranty) that I would have spent on a brand new vehicle!! I was assured that we could work it out and again "unwind" the deal that had already been made. But again, I had to come back the next day! When I arrived on the final day, September 7th, eager to purchase the new vehicle, I was told that I had the used vehicle for too long and nothing could be done. I was also told that I could not trade the vehicle for at least 6 months! Walter, the manager i had been dealing with all the days prior, wouldn't even talk to me! After 3 days of going back and forth and talking to several different people, he wouldn't even look in my direction, let alone apologize for the in convenience and false hope! I will not return to that dealership and am very unhappy with the way I was treated there!


Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: David Kelley
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
To Whom it may concern,

I am very sorry to hear that Ms. ******** is unhappy with her Maxima. Although she may have came in several times to try and purchase another car, we do not have a policy that allows the return of a car after purchase. We also made several attempts to try and work out a deal on a different car, unfortunately we were not able to meet either the customer or the lenders requirements.

If the customer has a specific complaint about the performance of the car of the quality of the delivery, I would be glad to correct them for her. But at this time I cannot return the car and put her in a different one.

Sincerely,

David Kelley

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Nissan Mckinney advertised the 2010 Altima at 15,999. Then after I arrived inflated the price to 18,600. Then, did not honor their agreement
The dealer first advertised the car (which I bought) on the internet as $15,999.00. When I arrived at the dealership, I drove the car. Then, I went back to salesman cubicle and he stated the sale price of the car was $18,600. I told him they priced the car higher than advertised on the internet. I really liked the car so I told him I would agree to pay their asking price "if" they replaced the tires. He went to his manager and came back and agreed to do so. He stated they would first have to 'cash' the deal, and they would call me in a week. They also had me sign a paper agreeing to these terms. They "have NOT" honored what they said they would do. They also have NOT provided my license plate tags/registration, but they have cashed both the deal and my $5,000.00 down payment check. I am starting my case with BBB, by lodging a complaint and to Capital One, who financed the car. I will proceed with litagation next if my complaint is ignored and then by internet, warning buyers/customers away from this underhanded dealership.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: David Kelley
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
I have spoken to Mr. ****** and we have ordered his tires and plan to have them installed on July 6 and have his plates put on at the same time. I am not sure where the miscommunication happened. This matter should be resolved

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Had my vehicle for 2 months just let me know of an additional problem 2 weeks ago and have been demanding the loaner back since.
Took vehicle in for an engine light repair authorized that charge. 6 weeks later now there is a new 1200.00 problem which I was told by outside source problem was from them initially repairing they fried my computer and now want me to pay for it. The vehicle ran when I took it to them now it does not and I need my vehicle back properly repaired with the original cost of 700 and change. The computer should be fixed at the dealership cost. Repairs should never take this long. They have not received payment as they don't accept Paymt till finished! I got the part from another company at 1/3 the cost from the dealership. That is what I am asking for refunded not the whole amount just the price for the additional part. I believe they waited so,long to let me know the additional problem was to find a way to blame the consumer. Micheal riffe and Derek the shop manager are who I have dealt with in the shop.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@vtaig.com
Mr. ****** brought his 2002 Nissan Pathfinder with 141,000 miles on it for the first time to our store in February. The vehicle had several codes and a check engine light on. We replaced the part that tested bad and the car needed additional repairs. After recommending these repairs, Mr. ****** said he could find cheaper parts. After waiting several weeks for the part to come in we asked for our loaner car back. He refused to bring it back. In the end we only charged him for the part that we replaced and did not charge him for the labor.

I apologize that we were unable to fix the car with just the one part. However, with 141,000 miles and this being the first visit, We had no history of what has been done, and we always suggest the cheaper part first.

Mr. ****** has his car back and we have our loaner back. I believe this matter is closed.

Thank you-

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Slight vibration from wheels reported to ***** **** after much replacement parts to front end. Second trip, Dealer refused to work on car.
02.25.2014 Reported to ***** **** the slight vibration. 1280.63 later on 356005, vibration continues. Brought back Tuesday, 12.18.14, earliest to get rental. Had to pay $124.09 for 2 days rental on a Hyundai Accent. ******* told me on the phone they noticed the vibration rattling the doors but could not duplicate the rocking. I was told they would not do anything and gave me the contact for Corporate. Corporate took 2 days to get back with me that they called the Dealer and would not do anything to help. Sewell Subaru balanced the tires on 02.21.2014, problem fixed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
I am sorry about Mr. ***** complaint. Unfortunately Mr. **** is no longer working for us so I am unable to get his side of the story. I will however be willing to reimburse Mr. ***** for the rental car expense. If he will email me a copy of the receipt, I will be glad to mail him a check.



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Having to pay for the rental car was just an irritant compared to the loss of trust and ability of Nissan to be able to identify and correct the vibration that possibly caused all these parts to fail. McKinney of Nissan's refusal to look into my issues any further is what I find not acceptable. I appreciate the offer. I have not more resources that I can trust to work on this vehicle. From what I am reading on line, this is not uncommon with Nissan in "working" with their customers.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

04/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Purchased extra warranty options, under the impression all dealerships would honor, with help that info
Purchased new car in 2012, added extra warranty features. They new we were military from the get go. Withheld the fact the clear coat protection could only be done at purchasing dealer. I asked, any dealer, "yeap" Must be appiled every six months. I do not mind applying myself, cant get product sent to me now. Was able to 6 months after the purchase. Not willing to drive 4000 miles every 6 months for "clear coat"...wax to be applied. This was purchased in with warranty, I want something done about the fact that the info was with held just to make a sale. And NOTIHNG has been done to solve my issue. I have called every week for a month for someone to give me an answer and not a "we will call you back"
I want the application sent to me for me to apply, or I want to be compensated the fee for this. I was told at one point in time, 'if this is not applied, warranty will be void'
WE ARE MILITARY. They knew this! Why would any one drive 4000 miles for wax? Withholding information and lie after lie is not acceptable to me any longer by this company.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
I am sorry to hear about Mr. ******'s complaint. Unfortunately I was not here when Mr. ****** purchased his policy. He is correct that the reapllication must be reinstalled here at the dealership. The best way to resolve this would be to cancel the policy for a refund. The number to call is 1-800-747-4400 option ***



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are MILITARY. Not driving 4000 miles for wax.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nissan of McKinney has misled us from the moment we leased a vehicle with them. First, they tell us that we do not have to pay property tax on the vehicle but they continue to bill us for it. Second, they took 3 months to turn in our old lease car back to the original dealership and we were getting letters and bills from the old dealer/company about it. Third, every time we call customer service from Nissan (both dealership and Nissan Corp), we never could get a straight answer as both dealership and company as they bounce me back and forth between the dealership and corporate. Plus, they do not keep any records or history of my conversations with them on ALL my calls...I have to re-explain my issues from the beginning every time I talk to someone. Fourth, Nissan has been calling me on multiple times about trading in my lease for a new car and I have told them to stop calling me about it, with no success. I even talked with the Customer Service Manager at the McKinney location and he assured me that no one will call me again about new car sales. That lasted for a week, and we are still getting calls...from the same dealership. It is now borderline harassment at this point. Fifth, when we talked about the lease contract, I made it very clear that I will not sign if I have to pay any type of return/damage fee, and they assured me that I would not be charged any fees when returning the vehicle. Lastly, I was told that the dealership changed management twice since my original lease purchase (3 years), and each manager and employee tells me that part of the reason they changed management is because of lack of good customer service. I have talked to numerous friends and coworkers over the past year, claiming similar problems they had or are having with Nissan, both dealerships and Corporate. Even Nissan employees of the McKinney branch tell me that they hear the same complaints from customers. Unfortunately, nothing has been done about it...and it seems nothing will be done about it.
Product_Or_Service: Nissan

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
I am the new General Manager of Nissan of McKinney and I have not seen the file on Mr. ***'s car deal. However, I can tell you that Nissan does require that every customer must sign a document explaining that you could be subject to personal property tax depending on which county that you live in. Mr. *** can talk to NMAC which is who he pays the monthly lease payment to and he can also contact the county office that is billing the lease company.

I have added him to our Do Not Call list and you may give him the number to Nissan Motor Acceptance Corporation X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response I read from Nissan of McKinney is not acceptable and almost insulting. So far, you have just admitted to not reviewing my file before you sent your response back to the BBB. Is this an action of a company that cares to understand their customer and offer excellent customer service they claim? Plus, I'm not so sure what you will find in my file, since your associates don't make notes in the system for a simple do not call request. Second, Nissan of McKinney only truly answered to one of the five claims I originally made, which were the multiple unwanted calls I received from this dealership. I'm glad it only took a complaint to the BBB to get this issue resolved...at least I would hope. My third comment is in regards to the lazy response I received from the new GM of Nissan of McKinney on their property taxation part of the contract. If you read my original complaint, it said that I was MISLED by your associates/former associates. I made it very clear that I will sign no lease agreement if their was property tax involved. In fact, I got up and almost walked out during the closing paperwork until your Sales Manager/former Sales Manager agreed to waive that part. Finally, thank you Nissan of McKinney for passing the buck on the rest of my complaints. Instead of taking any ownership to your actions and spending maybe more than 2 minutes reviewing my case, you decided to leave it in my hands and time to contact the NMAC, the county office, and the Nissan Motor Acceptance Corp. I understand that I am one out of thousands of cars and customers that Nissan of McKinney has done business with. I also understand sales, referrals, and reputation are a company's backbone to success. I will continue to move this up, until my reasonable requests are met...up to and including going to the news and media. I will also make sure I let everyone I know about the true services I received from Nissan of McKinney, so my friends and family can make the proper choice when buying/leasing a new car.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: I took the car in for a specific concern and they fixed something else that was more expensive. They also broke the a/c.
The most recent incident occurred Nov 25, 2013. I took the car in for one issue and they fixed another "supposed" issue that was more expensive and allowed me to believe that the issue I raised was being fixed. I believe the service advisers have been taking advantage of their customers by fixing advising customers to fix issues that were not necessary for that visit thereby defrauding the customer. They also used language to try and get me to purchase a new car without me inquiring of the need which leads me to believe that they're trying to raise more concerns about vehicles to try and manipulate customers into buying new cars before they're ready. Once I picked up my car, I found an additional problem which I believe was intended for me to discover much later. The A/C wasn't working. It has been a cold fall and winter so technically I probably wouldn't have discovered it which would allow the dealership to charge me later in the spring citing it just went out. I believe this was intentional and that other such manipulations have occurred to garner additional costs from me. The public needs to know that they've probably been ripped off by this dealership through a systematic means of advising customers to pay for unneeded work and through means of purposely setting up situations where additional repairs will be needed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
I have read Ms. ******'s complaint and she has been a very good customer. We certainly appreciate that she has chosen us to do her service work. I am disappointed that she is not happy with her repairs recently. However, I can assure her that we are not as clever as she might think and we are not intentionally causing further damage to her car. When the Murano first came out it was a leader in technology and it had a pretty expensive price to go along with it. Now that she has exceeded 100,000 miles she is starting to feel the effects of the long term maintenance on those expensive components. The gentleman that suggested she trade it makes more money if she repairs it over trading it. He was merely pointing out to her that at some point with all cars it makes better sense to invest into a new car than to continue repairing an old car. However, if she chooses to keep the car I will be glad to see what I can do to repair her A/C unit for as little cost to her as possible. If it is minor I might be able to do it at no charge. Please have her contact me direct at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,

***** ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't believe Mr. ***** has properly read my complaint or at least understood the biggest issue. He should be concerned with his staff and their practices. I brought in my car to have a noise that was getting louder and louder fixed. I was told it was the timing belt. When I received my car back, the car sounded and drove the same. From the mouth of your Service Advisor Manager, the noise that I was hearing was from the engine mounts and not the timing belt. The cost to replace the timing belt was MORE than the cost to replace the engine mounts providing more commission for the service advisor. The ONLY explanation your service advisor manager gave me was I was going to need the timing belt changed eventually because I was over 100,000. Any customer should be concerned with this as it shows that your company is not working in the best interest of the customer but for the company's benefit.

You as the owner should know that this behavior is not good for return business. I had every intention of creating and building a solid relationship based on good service and trust. After I felt like my car needed to be replaced, I had every intention on going right back to your dealership, trading my car in and buying another one. Now, that won't be happening. You have not only shown me that you cannot be trusted but now I have doubts about the Nissan brand itself. Before my current vehicle, I drove a VW Jetta and I did very little maintenance on the car which meant I spent very little on the car. However, it lasted me almost 9 years with more mileage than I currently have on my car. I spent way more money on my current car thinking it would last even longer and it's not holding up as well. Either Nissan is not as good of brand as I thought or you guys have not been doing a good job of servicing my car or perhaps you've been cheating me all along. I plan on writing a letter to Nissan Corporation with my concerns because I'm not clear if your car holds up as well or if I've been cheated. Either way, the Nissan brand is being tarnished and the corporate office needs to know.

As for the air conditioner, I could tell by my treatment from your Service Advisor Manager that something was fishy. I told him about the air conditioner and my concerns. I originally told him that I was going to take it to another dealership and he begged me to bring it there. However, when I got there the manager's behavior changed drastically and was pretty dismissive. He basically told me that even though I received service on the timing belt which was not the reason I brought it in for servicing, that I was going to need it anyway because I was over 100,000 miles..(109k is the figure). As far as I'm concerned that's fraud. I brought my car in for one reason and you guys did something else. I believe he knew that the guys in the back did something to my air conditioner on purpose and wanted to make sure the other dealership wouldn't see it. He fixed the air conditioner issue pretty quickly and ushered me out of the dealership without that normal friendly service and they didn't even wash my car like normal.


You can believe what you want but I feel strongly that my car was being setup for more needed service which I normally wouldn't have caught because of the season but would have been charged for in the coming months as normal wear and tear and I wouldn't have had a way to prove other wise.

Honesty and integrity is always the best policy when it comes to business. To overlook this issue means you lack integrity and your business will suffer for it in the long run.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** *******

On Thursday, December 19, XXXX X:XX PM, *** ******* <***********@yahoo.com> wrote:
My Name is ***** *******
***************************************************** XXXXX
Complaint against Nissan of McKinney
3800 S. Central Expressway
McKinney, tx XXXXX
Please read in entirety below. Responses from **** and 3 other mechanics said "there is no reason that engine should blow or not retain oil pressure in 89,000 miles other than their error in putting in the new oilseals and that their are a hundred things that could go wrong when putting seals in. Regardless, if Nissan notified you of a leak months ago and they think...... and you didn't have one until mid October and had truck checked by Trust Auto Repair(oil change and assessment)- the BOTTOM LINE is the truck ran fine when you DROVE it in to repair leak and in 10 miles out of the dealership, the engine stops-it is THEIR wrongdoing. Nissan apparently did not test drive or they would have noticed the truck running rough. Nor did they make any notation of anything else wrong with the truck upon returning it to me".
I called ****** Gray because it was running rough just after I pulled off the lot- they said he was gone for the day)
I have all call times on my phone with documents of what they think happened with checkout times. Also bank charges of places I had driven to prior to them working on truck. Nissan made no notation of engine problem.

I Love that truck purchased with my disability $ and have taken very good care of it. I took it in to the dealership as I have in the past as they know their trucks.????? I explained I needed them to check it out as I needed it to get to Dallas for a clinical Trials on some possibly life saving drugs. I am a transplanted, now a end-stage liver disease patient with no other options.

LAST ENTRY - Dec. 17th I got 4 phone calls from GM ***** ****** while I was getting ready for 1st of many visits scheduled for this study. I answered on 4th call and he addressed me as ******* " he needed his car back" and I said I needed my truck back running as it was when I came in. He said "it runs" and I asked if he would give 6mos warranty on that. He said no and I said call Corporate. When I talked with Corporate they said they only deal with warranty and I would have to deal with General Manager.

It sickens me that I will lose this truck as I would not and do not trust them anymore to get it in the condition it was in when I got to Nissan. I go to sleep and wake up with this nightmare and need it to be resolved in all fairness so I may have transportation (of my own). I still have their loaner.
I am asking for Bluebook value the 2005 Nissan King Cab LE Pickup 4d 6 1/2 ft. 6.5 liter with 89,603 miles @ $10,500 Plus the $1,451.04 I already paid them to destroy my truck.

I do not intend to sound short with you, it is only my overwhelming frustration...

Sincerely and respectfully,

***** *******


*** *******

On Wednesday, December 11, XXXX XX:XX PM, *** ******* <***********@yahoo.com> wrote:
Hi Ranes Family- I hope all is well with you all (TEXAS rubbing off). Hope you're having a nice visit with **** and *****. I do hope he is feeling better and you are having a great time...
Christina- can you please forward this to Jon as I'm in a pickle and would love his opinion.

Dec 2nd took in dealer for oil leak, I asked them to check plugs as it made a faint tinging. ****** ***** in service said to get some gas treatment and that should clear it up. *** was with me at all times.

Dec 3rd they emailed me things wrong with nissian- $5000. After phone negotiation we agreed to work necessary, including leak.
Dec. 5th picked up that night, 10 miles away from dealer, no power- oil light, ck engine light, and brake lights went on. towed by dealer given ride home.
Dec 6th delivered temp car and iced in.
****** called saying 10,000 for new long block as when they brought it up to proper compression the engine couldn't handle it. They would give me $paid CR. or try to get me into a new car. ****** said he would check on rebuilt and I asked to give me idea what CR they would give on blown truck. NO CALLS from them.
Dec. 10th *** and I went in and talked with GM ***** ****** (XXX)XXX-XXXX. We went back and forth.......He said all he would do is return my 1,461 and tow where I wanted and that he wanted loaner back... 24hrs to decide. I called that night and asked for total cost to repair and to call me.
NO Call until
Dec 11th pm (didn't want to loose $) I called him 3 times - he said it would cost 11,000 for new (I told him already quoted 10,000) His response was "whatever" or a rebuilt for 5,000. I asked what they would give me for titan as is... he said he would take to auction and maybe 5-6,000 and with $pd get me a car with same milage as truck.... told me
******only til tomorrow noon (our time) to decide****** again...
So Jon......mighty man..... you have *****'s number- I know you should be able to talk him down..... but he is pretty shrewd... and understand if you can't.

Love to all,
***





*** *******

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@vtaig.com
*** ******* has brought her truck in a couple of times in the last two years. Each time she has brought it to us for an issue that she is having with the car. She has not taken it to us for regular maintanance only for repairs. We have noted several times of a major oil leak at the bottom of the vehicle. She has continued to drive it with the leak. When she brought it to us the last time, she brought it in for us to repair the leak. We also noted that the engine was making a ticking sound. We repaired the leak and filled the truck back up with oil. When she picked it up it was still making a ticking noise and it did eventually fail several miles away.

After towing the vehicle back we noted that the oil was still full and there were no mechanical failures where we had made the repair. We diagnosed that the engine had failed and more than likely caused by running with low oil.

She blamed the failure on my mechanic. I offered to give her a full refund for the repair and even have the vehicle towed to another shop of her choice for no charge and allow them to diagnos the failure. That way she could see it was not caused by our repair. She has refused and only wants a new engine.

We eventually agreed to have the motor rebuilt and she will pay for the repair less the price of the original repair. We have also provided her a free rental car while the car is repaired.

I think we have been more than fair.

***** ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr.****** states sentence one "*** ******* has brought her truck in A COUPLE of times in the last two years". Yet in sentence 4 "We have noted several times of a major oil leak.." How is that possible? ONLY Invoice 4/12/13 says simply "oil leak". Again, no sign of leak until 10/13 drops in my garage and took to the local shop where oil change and assessment was made. They said could be seals. Truck required no oil as I had checked it! No dash lights indicating oil needed nor check engine light!
I drove to Nissan Dec. 2nd for leak repair and asked them to check truck thoroughly. I (as in ***** *******- not Nissan as Mr. ****** states) brought to their attention a periodic faint ticking noise and was told a gas treatment should take care of that. The truck ran great except for the oil seal leak when I took it in.
Nissan made NO NOTE on inspection of the truck PRIOR OR AFTER their work of any engine problems on their invoice (and their should not have been). And not verbally until after they worked on it and engine could not hold oil pressure
Yet when driving out of Nissan after they work on it - my truck sounds like an old beat up truck with muffler problems???? Then it dies???
My husband agreed with Mr. ****** to have the motor rebuilt on December 23rd- at our cost- just to get my truck back running as it was prior to Nissan working on it! As of January 24th I was told by Don in Service they still did not have the engine back from being rebuilt by Nissan, let alone put back into the truck.
And for Mr.****** to suggest I did not maintain my truck????
I do have more to say about all of this and Mr. ****** but wish to reserve the right to comment further until I get the truck back (running as it was) in my possession.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.