BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2005

McKinney Dodge, Inc.

Phone: (972) 569-9650Fax: (214) 569-9604

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they signed me up with a invalid contract and will not give me my down payment back and will not take the vehicle back they lied
the finance consultant signed me up with a invalid contract saying that I put 2000 down when I only put 1000 down and they will not take the car back and they said that the deal has been funded which it has not been funded yet I have personally checked with the lender they have been nothing but rude to me and the sales manager mike bell has hung up on me multiple times because he knows he is in the wrong I don't want any troubles I just need them to take the car back and give me my money back because this is a invalid contract this is the worst experience I have had they are treating me like I am trash and have no concern about my well being or any of their customers

Desired Settlement
I need them to take the car back because the contract is invalid

Business Response
Mr. ********* came in to purchase a car. Several days later he came back and wanted to return it because a friend of his works at another dealership and he wanted to purchase the vehicle from that dealership. The contract had already been signed and was cashed by Chrysler Capital. The contract shows $1000 cash down and $1000 rebate for a total of $2000.00.

04/29/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased GAP coverage for $600 in the financing of my new car purchase. I paid off the contract in full the next day and have not received a refund
On March 8, 2013 I bought a new car from Dodge City of McKinney. I was pressured to finance the car, which I did. On March 9th I realized the costs of financing was outrageous and paid the car off in full. The GAP coverage, with a premium of $600 was included in the financing. GAP coverage insures me against a loss from depreciation during the period where the car is worth less than the unpaid balance. Because the car is paid off I no longer need GAP coverage and the Dealer refuses to return the unearned premium. I have made 5 attempts to resolve this issue with Carol Horton from the business office.

Desired Settlement
I want the unearned premium returned to me at once as required by Texas law.

Business' Initial Response
The Gap cancellaltion was refunded in full on April 17,2013. The dealership had been in contact with Mr. and Mrs. ****** multiple times since the cancellation was requested and we explained that the cancellation had been submitted to Debt Guardian(the carrier of the policy) and were awaiting their check. The check was received on April 17 and the ******'s check was issued the same day.

01/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was lied to about services provided on my vehicle at a routine service performed on my truck, 7/18/14.
I came into the dealership to have my oil changed and tires rotated. I was already unhappy with some warranty coverages and previous questionable sales agreements. After paying for the oil change and tire rotation, which shows completed on my statement of services, I go to my vehicle to see my tires were not even touched. I go back in and ask for the sheet detailing how my tires were rotated, one of the service technicians said they rotate front to back, I tell him they haven't been touched, and he lets me know he'll go check on that. By this time a service manager is at the front desk and the other gentleman comes back saying they didn't do it because the tread on the back is too low and would be dangerous to put on the front. I then ask, "why does my receipt show it completed, and if it was so dangerous why wasn't I told?" Both the manager and technician were cordial, saying there was a mistake and that they would go ahead and rotate them now. However, I was too upset and said I needed to leave. My concern is, why would they let a customer leave in a vehicle they considered unsafe with the tires, and even more so, why would they lie and say the service was completed? And how many past and future customers will experience the same thing with even knowing this?

Desired Settlement
I have not spoken with any attorneys, however I do work for a legal firm and would be interested in seeing what my options are. Before I do that I would like to give the dealership the chance to take care of it first. Since I was blatantly lied too, and left in what they considered dangerous conditions-I have the paperwork to prove it, I want to know what they feel would be appropriate to handle my complaint.

Business Response
The customer was informed that his best tires were on the front of the vehicle and no rotation was going to be performed. There was an error made on the repair order showing that the tire rotation was completed. There was no charge for the rotation because one was not completed. The service advisor and technician apologized to Mr. ***** on the error on the paper work and explained that we would rotate them if he wanted, but the best tires were already on the front of the vehicle. He declined and left. The only error in this transaction is the notation on the repair order.

Consumer Response
From: **** *****
Sent: Tuesday, February 17, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Info
Subject: McKinney Dodge, Inc. (ID XXXXXXXX)

I filled the complaint on 8/6/14 about this company, only to never hear anything from either McKinney Dodge nor the BBB. I look today and I see it shown as satisfied which is 100% inaccurate. Their response is a lie, they told me the information about the mistake only after I called them on it. So, please explain to me how this complaint has actually been satisfied when neither McKinney Dodge or the BBB has followed up with me on this complaint?

Thank you,


Final Business Response
As previously stated the only error was in paperwork. Mr. ***** brought to our attention that it showed the tire rotation was completed on the paperwork, but that there was no charge attached to it. Although the verbiage was incorrect the lack of a charge indicates that nothing was performed. We responded promptly to the original complaint when filed with the BBB. When at the dealership we offered to complete the rotation even though the best tires were on the front, but Mr. ***** declined.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The rotation of the tires was part of the oil change package. There would be no extra charge, so using that as a response is ridiculous and yet another lie. They also verbally told me it was done, when I asked for the paperwork showing it they told me it was just the normal rotation - front to back. Only when I let them know I could tell they had not been moved did they give me the excuse about the tread too low that it would be dangerous to rotate them as the cop out. That leads to my second complaint, if the tires were in such poor shape why wouldn't you tell me instead of letting me know that I needed new tires? When I asked that I received blank looks of confusion because there was not a lie that could cover it up. They did say that they would rotate the tires, however by this time I'd had enough. So, once again they are lying - the tire rotation is part of the oil change package, no additional fee, just goes to prove the people there are liars and cheats.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my truck to Dodge City of McKinney because my engine light came on and I wanted them to repair it and also to complete the state inspection.
On September 22, 2014 I took my 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Pick up Truck to Dodge City because my engine light came on. Dodge City's service adviser, Donnie Taylor, instructed me to bring my truck to them on September 26, 2014 and plan on leaving it with them all day as they would repair the truck as necessary to have the check engine light off and have it inspected. The estimated cost of this repair would be between $350.00-$500.00.
At approximately 8:00 a.m. I received a call from their service department telling me more gas was needed in my tank to perform the necessary service test. Although I had 3/8 of a tank of gas apparently they needed more. I gave them permission to put the necessary amount of gas in my truck to perform the test. I was also told that my truck would be ready for pick up between 5:00-6:00 p.m. I arrived at 5:30 p.m. to pick up my truck only to be told that my truck was not ready.
They instructed me to return the next day (September 27, 2014) and my truck would be ready. At 9:00 I caught a ride to the dealership to pick up my truck. When I walked in to the service department they said they would bring my truck around and to go pay for the repair work. When I reviewed the invoice #XXXXXX of $730.43 I was curious why the bill amount was almost double that of the estimated cost of $350.00-$500.00. 30 minutes went by and the service adviser came to me and said the check engine light came back on. They continued to work on the truck to get the engine light off. At 12:30 p.m. they brought my truck around and said it was fixed. The next day (September 28, 2014) while driving my truck the check engine light again came on. With it being Sunday I drove the truck to the Dodge City Dealer night drop area with the intention of calling them the next morning. The next morning (September 29, 2014) I called the service department and explained about the check engine light coming on again and they stated they would take care of it and repair the truck so the check engine light will remain off. When I contacted them about picking up my truck they informed me that they would need the truck another day to complete the necessary repairs, I said that was fine. I received a call on September 30, 2014 at approximately 12:30 p.m. from the service adviser that my truck was repaired and ready to pick up. He also told me someone driving my truck while in the shop ran into a machine and punctured my tire. They replaced the tire but neglected to tell me that they chipped the decorative rim cap. They also informed me that there was an additional charge of $178.61 to complete the repair. I arrived at the dealership at 6:00 p.m. to pick up my truck. When I question the service adviser about the additional charge and the chip on my rim replied there was nothing else they could or would do and he was through with it. I drove my truck around to the front of the building in hopes of speaking with someone above the service department. I was able speak with the owner's son, Lee Rodriquez, who informed me that he would call me the next day after speaking with his service dept. By this time it was 7:40 p.m. The next day (October 1, 2014) while anticipating a call from Mr. Rodriquez as promised (which I never received) my check engine light came on again. I called the service dept. and Mr. Rodriquez about repairing my truck and to have the check engine light off only to be put into both parties voice mailboxes. As of this date of this correspondence no one has returned my calls. My intention for filing this complaint are not that this repair issue took over 9 days but after all the repairs and days my truck was in their shop and paid over $900.00 my truck is not repaired, the check engine light is still on and my truck will not pass inspection as it has expired.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that Dodge City of McKinney either repair my truck as agreed or refund me the monies I paid them to have the repair done correctly.

Business Response
Mr. ****** came in to the dealership to have his truck repaired with a service engine soon light on. The initial repair was completed and the service engine soon light was off. The customer picked up his vehicle and returned the next day with the service engine soon light on again, it was repaired again with a charge for the necessary part only, no labor charge. The truck is a 2001 with 262,000 miles and unfortunately there is no way to anticipate what could fail after one part is replaced. The tire was damaged in the service department and was replaced. There was no damage to the rim of the tire. The customer wanted the tire on the other side of the truck to be replaced as well, but since there was no damage to that tire we declined.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As mentioned in my original complaint, On September 22,2014 I took my 2001 Dodge Ram truck to their service department because my check engine light was on. They explained to me that they would perform a pressurized smoke test which would identify where the leak was coming from and what was causing the check engine light to come on and correct the problem. The estimate given for this test and repair would be $350.-$500. They said once the repair was completed they would perform another pressurized smoke test to ensure there was no leaks and the check engine light was off. After several days and attempts to repair this problem the check engine light still remains on and it has since the day I left the dealership as the repair has not been completed. In addition to my truck not being repaired the final cost is double that of the original estimate. My 2001 Dodge truck has high mileage which is irrelevant as it has never been in an accident and well maintained per the Dodge manufacturer recommendations. I brought my truck in to the Dodge dealership thinking that the Dodge factory certified and trained technicians could make the necessary repair. If I would have known they were incapable I would have taken my truck to another service garage. In summary, I am requesting that McKinney Dodge, Inc. repair my truck as agreed or reimburse me the monies that I have paid to make the necessary repairs.



Final Business Response
If the service engine soon light is currently on please bring the truck back to the dealership so we may diagnose the problem. We can not make any further response until we see the vehicle again to determine what part has failed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The McKinney Dodge, Inc. dealership's proposed resolution is acceptable that they would have me bring my Dodge truck back to them for further evaluation and repair my truck as agreed or refund to me the monies I have already paid to them. I do not expect there to be any additional charges as I have already paid McKinney Dodge, Inc. double the original estimated quote to repair my truck while the service engine light remains on and my truck is not repaired, which is why I originally brought my truck to them. I have not been difficult or unreasonable to deal with, I just want Mckinney Dodge, Inc. to make good on their promise and repair my truck. Please advise as to whether McKinney Dodge, Inc. will contact me or should I contact them to make the arrangements to bring my truck to their service department to resolve this issue.

02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertisement, and rude salesman.
I went to go look at a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado (gray) z71 pickup truck, VIN number 3GCEKXXXXXGXXXXXX on December 28th 2013. The Sales man ************* said that the truck was in-fact a Z71 with the off-road package. When inspecting it I found no skid plates, no Z71 emblems anywhere in the vehicle, and no Z71 code in the owner's manual. I asked ************* about it and he said he could not answer it. He walked away to check on it on another computer and came back and threw the paper copy of my drivers license at me and told me and my fiancé to leave. This is very unprofessional and I am very upset with the service I received. This is also false advertisement because the sticker on both sides of the truck said it was a Z71 and the sales rep ************* said it was a Z71 with the total off-road package. I am writing this complaint because this truck is not a Z71 and I believe the dealership put the Z71 stickers on this truck to try to sell it for more than what it is worth. I don't want someone who is not knowledgeable about this truck to be conned into buying it when it's not what they say it is.

Desired Settlement
I want the dealership to not advertise the truck as a Z71 and take the stickers off.

Business Response
Mr. ***** came in and worked with our salesperson Trent ******, not***** ******** as Mr. ******** was out sick that day. Mr. ****** is a very respectful sales person. The customer was looking at the Z71 truck, which was listed to sell at the price of $24,999. Mr. ***** offered $19,000. This was very obviously not enough for the vehicle he was looking at purchasing. At that time he started tearing down the vehicle. Mr. ****** went and verified that it was in fact a 4X4 Crew Cab Chevrolet Silverado and is posted as such on our website. This vehicle was traded in by a customer and was detailed and made ready for resale. We have at no time misrepresented this vehicle or any other vehicle. Mr. ***** was not happy with the price and left. At no time was he mistreated nor was the vehicle misrepresented.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off I called the dealership and spoke to***** ******** himself on the phone that same day (12/28/13) I was at the dealership so therefore he couldn't of been "out sick". You can check the recording since its "recorded for quality". Second, I asked if it was a z71 like the stickers on the sides of the truck said not if it was a crew cab 4x4. If it was a z71 then it would have skid plates and a z71 emblem on the odometer as well as a z71 code in the owners manual. I asked the salesman if it was a z71 truck which is different from a crew cab 4x4. The truck is a crew cab 4x4 but it has the z71 stickers on the sides and I was told it was a z71 by the sale mans which is wrong. Because obviously it is not a z71. Third, my fiancé and I were told to leave "y'all can go somewhere else" is what the salesman said and tossed the picture of my drives license to me. This is very unprofessional and I don't appreciate the lying response from the dealership.

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After an unsuccessful attempt to help my grandson to purchase an automobile by co-signing and giving the dealership a $500 down payment I was given a check minus $110.00 for mileage and a detail and restock fee of $100.00. My grandson was given the car to drive without any final financing. When I asked to see paperwork that stated up front that the above deductions would be made I was mailed a form filled out by hand showing the deductions without my or my grandson's signature. I returned to the dealership and was told by ***** **** the sales mgr. and his mgr. that I would need legal paperwork to see the actual contract, which has my name on it along with my grandson's, which I never signed. I was also told that my grandson kept the car too long. He kept it because they continued to tell him they were working on finding the best financing. They also lied when they told me on my initial visit they could put my grandson's name first on the contract and when I went to sign the paperwork they had put my name first. I understand my obligation as co-signer but no one called and told me that they were putting my name first to get the best interest rate, they just did it and that is why I did not sign the contract when I went back to the dealership to sign the contract. Also they made the check for $289.60 refund in my name and yet they released it to my grandson without my permission. They also continued to misspell my name on the financing request to the lending institutions.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 Dodge Charger

Desired Settlement
I want the remainder of the $500.00 down payment, $210.40 to be refunded to me immediately.

Business Response
Mr.****** grandson came in to purchase a vehicle. He was approved both with Mr. ****** as well as without him. As far as top/bottom, lenders no longer see contracts as such. They are either individual or joint, it makes no difference who is listed first as both are equally repsonsible for the debt. The charges incurred were because we had requested the vehicle be returned and he did not return it for 11 days. Mr. ****** decided he didn't want to do the deal, it wasn't a matter of the financing.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If it was not a matter of financing then why was I told to tell my grandson to return to the dealership and they " would be happy to sell him a car even though it would be at a higher interest rate such as 18%". Since both parties on the contract are equally responsible for the debt then why was I told I could not see the initial contract without some kind of legal papers such as a warrant by Mr. ****'s manager, that would show dates etc. I show dates when money was given to the dealership and a refund check, which has my name on it but released without my consent or knowledge, dated 10 days later. I want proof that the car was kept for 11 days which does not correspond with date on hand written paper I received from Mr.**** showing the breakdown of charges deducted from the initial down payment dated only 10 days from initial agreement. I would like to have returned to me the remainder of the deposit without having to take this any further

02/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.