BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1963

John Eagle Honda

Phone: (214) 353-3500Fax: (214) 559-05155311 Lemmon Ave, DallasTX 75209-6319http://www.eaglehonda.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1963

BBB has determined that John Eagle Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised John Eagle Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
01/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: Dallas Honda Workmanship check not honored at Houston Honda Dealer
On 11/20/13 Elo A. @ John Eagle Honda Dallas, assisted obtaining service for my 03 Accord. Spent over $1,100.00 on this one visit. Over the past 8 years my car has been serviced at this dealer often times without issue. My front brakes were worked on (pads replaced & rotors turned) that was approx. $200. At the time of service I inquired if I could take my car to any honda dealer for any issues that may arise from the repairs and service adviser said Yes. I asked this question because I travel a lot in the state of Texas, and I know there are normally several Honda dealers in the major cities so I was glad to pay a little more to have the ability to take my car to any dealer for any unforeseen issues. On 12/18 my front passenger side brakes begin to make a loud squealing noise intermittently. I took my car to ******* & ***** Honda spoke to ******* ** at the service lane. I informed him of my situation and asked if he could have a technician check the squealing noise on the vehicle, he said that he would be able to do that but I would be charged a minimum $35.00 fee, at which time they would be able to diagnose the noise and advise me if the issue could be corrected with no charge to me depending on the situation. ******* stated that if the brake pads were defective they could bill those related charges to Honda USA, but if the "workmanship" performed by John Eagle was the cause of the issue, that would be billed to me. Based off my prior conversation from Elo @ John Eagle, all work would be covered under the implied warranties, so I thought "checking" the quality of the work performed by a HONDA mechanic would be covered regardless of the HONDA DEALER location.
It is of no value for me to go to the HONDA dealer in Dallas or Houston if the workmanship of the dealers would not be covered or honored by other dealers. As an aside, my transmission went out on a trip to Dallas and John E. gave me a quote and advised me the warranty would be honored at any dealer, boy am I glad I did not get that work done there. I took my car to the transmission specialists, in Fort Worth, they worked on the vehicle repaired it and for much less. I called one of their offices in Houston, spoke to the shop owner, he said as long as I have a receipt of the WORK they will CHECK the quality of the work and perform any fine tuning adjustments that may need to be performed with out charges mentioned. Going forward on repairs I might as well take my car to a non dealer facility if there are no benefits to doing business with the Car dealer service centers although being charged higher rates.

I asked ******* if they could bill the $35 fee to John Eagle for checking the vehicle, since the work was performed by that dealer and he said that was impossible. Being frustrated I left the facility and am debating take the car to the brake specialists where they will check my brakes without any fees.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@eaglehonda.com
Better Business Bureau of Dallas
1601 Elm Street 3838
Dallas, TX 75209

RE: Case # XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX





Thank you for your letter from the Better Business Bureau, describing the problems that you had in our service department. I appreciate you for giving us an opportunity to resolve this issue. I have been able to make contact with Mr. ****** by e-mail, and I clarified some of his questions and offer him a resolution to his concern. Mr. ****** will follow up with me when he is ready to take his vehicle to one of our sister stores in Houston.



Sincerely,
***** **********
John Eagle Honda of Dallas
Parts and Service Director

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Vehicle was purchased as a sport model and the sport trim is now coming off. The owner refuses to take or return calls.
The Honda Civic was purchased 3 weeks ago as a sport model the problems are.
1.Broken speaker in the car, and missing tire pressure sensors. The pressure sensors were repaired and one speaker replaced and the cover removed to match the other speaker which looks awful. When asked why they told us that they would only replace one speaker not to worry about what it looked like.
2.Sport trim is warped and coming off, Dealership tried gluing it and made a little better after complaining to management. We had to complain to management because to used sales manager said we were out of luck because it was not a certified Honda. The next day we received a cert. that said it was certified. The Dealership manager said they would glue it after little success he said that they would remover it or we could purchase a new kit and they would install the kit. I did not agree with the outcome so ask to speak to the owner and the owner refuses to return or take calls. The Manager Chris told us that the owner will not speak with us and he is the one handling it and there is nothing else we can do. The car was sold as a sport model and it should be repaired to fit the way the car was sold.
3. Now the fan motor is making weird noise.

Initial Business Response
It is my understanding that the customer's complaint has been resolved. He has spoken to the General Manager regarding his issues with the vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a coupon worth $60.oo and was refused when I tried to use it.
8-22-13

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Failed to inform me of enrollment and fee for Pegasus Pay to collect monthly car payment. Also, caused 2 insufficient fund charges.
I purchased a vehicle from John Eagle Honda on May 17, 2013. The person in Finance who handled the paperwork let me know that he would be setting up bi-weekly payments. He did not tell me that a third-party vendor would be handling this. He also failed to let me know that there would be a fee charged for this. I was needing to close the checking account that this was set up through. Once Pegasus Pay was cancelled, Pegasus Pay charged me an additional $77. When I called Pegasus Pay, they let me know it was to collect the remaining balance of their fee. On August 7, I then called John Eagle finance department to ask if this fee should have occurred. The person who did my paperwork informed me that was incorrect, there was only a $2.00 fee for this program. I let him know about the charge made to my checking account from Pegasus Pay. He said "let me look something up". Then came back on the phone and said that Pegasus Pay was correct, there was a fee of $184 for enrollment into their program. I asked him why I was not informed of this. He said he was unaware and apologized. I am upset, the loan was done through Capital One Finance and I use Capital One Bank. I could make my payments for free online. He did not offer to correct this. Also on August 7, I then called the Finance Manager, Kelly Moody and explained the situation. Kelly let me know that he would look in to my complaint and get back to me. Two weeks later I had not heard back, so I called Kelly again. He let me know that he had been on vacation and that he had informed my husband that he would be out. I followed up with my husband and he stated that he never gave Kelly Moody his phone number (so not really sure how that could have happened). He let me know that he would be getting back with me. I waited an additional week and had still not heard back from Kelly. I called him (3 weeks out) and he let me know that he was going to cut a check, but needed to find out who would be responsible for the payment. He let me know that he would call me back later that day. A week later (4 weeks out) I called Kelly back to see if we could get this resolved (around 10am). He asked if I had gotten his message, that he had called me earlier in the week. I let him know that I did not, and asked what number he called. He was unable to tell me. Kelly then stated that he was cutting a check for $76. I let him know that it needed to be for the full amount. Kelly then said he was in a meeting and would call me back in a hour. Around 2:30 I called Kelly back (he again failed to call me back) and I was informed that he was gone for the day.
I have also been charged two insufficent fund charges of $35 from my bank. One fee of $35 for the charge that unexpectedly came from Pegasus Pay (incident above). I was in the process of closing this account when the charge hit and there was $0 in the account.
When I purchased the vehicle back on May 17, I was told that I could write a check for the down payment and that John Eagle would hold the check until I received my insurance pay-off for my car that was totaled. I let the person in Finance know that I was not sure when the check would be cut since the insurance company was investigating who was at fault. The person in Finance informed me that John Eagle would absolutely not deposit the check without talking to me first to make sure the insurance check had been cut. The check was deposited against my checking account without my knowledge and before the insurance company had cut the check to me. The check was returned and I was charged an insufficient fund fee of $35.
The customer service that I have received from the Finance Department, specifically Kelly Moody and the person who completed my paperwork has been unacceptable. I would like John Eagle to reimburse me for the $184 fee charged from Pegasus Pay that I was not informed of and the $70 I was charged by my bank from the two previous issues I have listed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Anthony Hickman
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@eaglehonda.com
Today, I spoke with Mrs. ****** and she told me she wanted to be reimbursed for the Pegasus Pay that she sign up for when purchased her new vehicle. I asked why she wanted to be reimbursed and she mentioned that she completely misunderstood the program at the time she purchased the vehicle. She also mentioned that she can get automatic deduction from her bank for free. I asked her, what will it take to resolve her compliant. She mentioned a reimbursement of $254. This amount includes the $184 charged for Pegasus Pay and two bank charges totaling $70. I agreed to reimburse her the $254 along with three free oil changes and free car washes. I apologized on behalf of John Eagle Honda of Dallas and John Ingram the Managing Partner. Mrs. ****** was very appreciative of the call and considered the call, the reimbursement, and the apology a resolution to her complaint she submitted to the Better Business Bureau. It is to the best of John Eagle Honda of Dallas knowledge that the complaint sent to the Better Business Bureau by Mrs. ****** has been resolved entirely.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: John Eagle Honda sold me a defective 2012 Honda Civic EX Coupe. After many attempts to fix the problem, the vehicle is still defective.
2012 Honda Civic Coupe EX
VIN #: *****************
Purchase date: 6/9/2011
Sales Rep: Craig Young

I came to John Eagle Honda looking for a 2012 Honda Civic EX Coupe with navigation. According to the sales rep, there was none available and they couldn't get one. So, they recommended that I buy one without navigation and they will install an after-market navigation. I didn't want an after-market navigation but the salesman guaranteed me that the after-market navigation would "work the same - if not better than the factory." I've had MANY problems with the controls on the steering wheel not working properly, the touch screen has gone out multiple times, and the unit has been replaced countless times. The navigation did not work properly the day I drove it off the lot, and it still doesn't work properly after two + years of hassle. On average, Kevin from John Eagle Honda has come to my house (or my work) to fix my car about two times per month since June 2011.

Initial Business Response
I have spoken to the customer and we have a reached a mutually acceptable resolution. We will remove the aftermarket navigation and replace it with the original factory radio. We will refund the customer what he paid for the navigation system ($2288). We are also going to provide him with a 3 year 35,000 mile maintenance agreement. The customer has accepted the terms and acknowledges that this is an acceptable resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: The sales manager agreed to waive negative equity of trade if payoff came in higher than 7,000.
On November 2, 2013 I purchased a pre-owned 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee from John Eagle Honda on Lemmon Ave, in Dallas,TX. Since the purchase of the vehicle I have had to return three times to sign updated or altered sales contracts in addition to discussing additional concerns with the vehicle and sales process. Originally on the date of purchase, the pre-owned sales manager agreed to waive any negative equity of my trade- in vehicle a 2009 Honda Accord, if the payoff for the trade was higher than $7,000. Since my current lien holder for my trade-in vehicle was closed and we were unable to confirm the exact amount of the payoff for the trade vehicle. I advised that the payoff might be higher than $7,000, anywhere from $7,000 to $8,000 and if we could wait until Monday in order to have time to consider the purchase and so that we could have an exact amount of the payoff for my trade vehicle. At that point the sales manager said that he would just waive any negative equity if the payoff came in higher than $7,000. When the payoff was received by the finance department for $8,700, the finance manager, ***** asked if I would be willing to split the cost of the negative equity with the pre-owned sales department. The pre-owned sales department was to be responsible for $1000, if I would pay $700. I agreed because the finance manager said that it would have to be done that way. The finance manager agreed to have the pre-owned sales team to pay $1,000. Later reviewing the sales contract I noticed the contract reflected the full $1,700 as my responsibility. The finance manager was unable to show how the pre-owned sales team paid the $1,000. He did mention that he "thought" that they lowered the sales price of the car but was not able to definitely confirm. The finance manager and finance director, ***** agreed to refund the difference in the negative equity. This agreement occurred at the dealership Friday, November 29, 2013. Since then I have made several attempts to contact the finance manager and general manager to no avail. I did speak with the finance director December 3, 2013 and he promised to give me a call back, and stated that ***** was working on resolving the matter and that he (*****) would be in touch with me by the end of day, whether he had an update for me or not. As of today no one from the dealership has contacted me.

Initial Business Response
I have pulled the deal paperwork and customer originally agreed to pay $29,995 for the Jeep and agreed to $7000 for trade in value. The customer and the sales manager both signed the worksheet. When the customer resigned the contract and paperwork, the selling price was lowered to $28,300 to allow for the adjusted payoff on the trade. I would be happy to show this information to the customer if she would like to see it. It appears to me that we did exactly what we said we would do.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The amount of the loan was only lowered by $695.00. The agreement was for the dealership to take care of at least $1000.00, leaving a balance of $305.00.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

05/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I am having issues with several issues with the ****** ****** Honda in Dallas off of Lemmon Ave
I recently purchased a 2013 CRV vehicle from this dealership in March. The payments were supposed to be set-up bi-weekly through a company called Pegasus, because I could NOT afford to pay the total amount of $519.39. I have been driving the vehicle for a month and still have NOT received a callback from the dealership. In fact I have had to hound Kelly one of the finance managers for a month to get set-up and wound-up getting the information myself through Honda Financial Services. This is very BAD business. Now, as it stands I will have to pay $519.29 on 04/16/2013, and begin another half payment on the 19th and May the 3rd. This is ALOT of money to come-up with in one month's time. All of this could have been avoided had it been set-up once I drove off in the car. I am **** and will have to work double-time to get this money all together. This is a total of $778.89 almost the same amount I had to pay for the down-payment! My family and relatives have bought SEVERAL cars from this place and this is the first time I have had to play cat and mouse. I will be sending this complaint to Mr. ****** once I get his e-mail address! I'm done with this dealearship!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: MATT THOMAS
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@EAGLEHONDA.COM
On 03/02/2013 ****** ****** came to ****** ****** Honda of Dallas with her cosigner Onjourne Thompson and purchased a 2013 Honda CRV EX.
In the business office ****** ****** was presented options for setting up biweekly payments for her purchase. With the biweekly payment options the installment payments have to start sooner than the typical thirty to forty-five days to get a portion of the payment escrowed to be sent in to the lender as a half payment in a timely manner. ***** Moody presented the different dates available to enroll in the biweekly payments. ****** ****** stated that none of the available dates were favorable for her and that she would reconsider setting up automatic payments at a later date. ****** ****** did not set up the automatic debit biweekly payments as none of the available dates fit her financial schedule.
****** ****** in her filing is asking for ****** ****** Honda of Dallas to help her with her first month's payment due to the Pegasus Pay biweekly program. As stated above ****** ****** did not enroll in the Pegasus Pay biweekly program. Therefore there are no amounts for ****** ****** to pay relating to the Pegasus Pay biweekly program.
Thank you,
***********
Director of Business Operations
****** ****** Honda of Dallas
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** no I do not except thia response. ***** told me that he WOULD call his contact at Pegasus pay and get back with me regarding when they could start the biweekly program. What he claims is a blatant LIE! I tried to contact ***** SEVERAL times to get the # for Pegasus or to see if he had contacted someone. Each time I got the, "Let me contact them now, and I will get back with you". I even called and got the same spill from ***** who swore-up and down he would get ***** to call me back regarding this issue. Have I heard anything to date from either one of these "clowns" **** NO! But I bet they got paid BIG off this deal. I promise you that I will NEVER, and I repeat NEVER do business again with ****** ****** ANYTHING, and will be sure to advise my friends and family to do the SAME! What a bunch of crooks and LIARS!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Carburetors, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Shock Absorbers, Heaters - Automotive, Clutches, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Steering Systems & Equipment, Starters - Engine, Axles

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/11/1999Business started: 01/01/1963
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Eagle (President)Customer Contact: Mr. John Ingram (General Manager)
Related Businesses
John Eagle Dealerships - PO Box 7007, Dallas, TX
Aston Martin of Dallas - 5333 Lemmon Ave, Dallas, TX
John Eagle Acura - 16015 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX
John Eagle Honda - 18787 Northwest Fwy, Houston, TX
Honda Of Clear Lake - 20233 Gulf Fwy, Webster, TX
John Eagle Sport City Toyota - 12650 Lyndon B Johnson Fwy, Dallas, TX
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Carburetors, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Shock Absorbers, Heaters - Automotive, Clutches, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Steering Systems & Equipment, Starters - Engine, Axles

Alternate Business Names
Eagle Honda, Eagle, John, Honda
Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for John Eagle Honda

5311 Lemmon Ave

Dallas, TX 75209-6319

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5311 Lemmon Ave 

    Dallas, TX 75209-6319(214) 353-3500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*John Eagle Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.