BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Friendly Chevrolet LTD

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 920-1900Fax: (214) 905-18872754 N Stemmons Fwy, DallasTX 75207-2213http://www.friendlychevy.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Friendly Chevrolet LTD is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Friendly Chevrolet LTD's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Friendly Chevrolet LTD's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Friendly Chevrolet LTD

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
05/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price of vehicle was not honored despite Internet Special.
On Saturday April 11, 2015 my family and I presented to Friendly Chevrolet to look at Chervolet Silverado 1500 LT Double Cab Trucks. We selected and test drove a "demonstrator" (stock #EZXXXXXX, VIN 1GCRCREC4EZXXXXXX). The Internet special price was listed at $25,597. I captured a screen shot of the price on Saturday, on my phone and stored it. On Monday April 13, 2015 I contacted the salesman, ****** ********* and asked if the internet price was valid, and the vehicle still available. This was affirmed, and after several calls to schedule we agreed on meeting at 5 p.m. Tuesday April 14, 2015. Upon presenting to the dealership we were informed that the vehicle we had come to purchase had been sold. (The vehicle with the above stock/VIN numbers remains listed on the website as available, although at a different price). We were shown a similar vehicle with $1250 in additional dealership added options. The price we were then quoted for the truck was over $30,000. ***, the sales manager, got involved and I queried the advertisement, the scheduled appointment to acquire the initial vehicle, and the inability to get a similar deal. I expressed that this seemed like a bait and switch. The sales manager, ***, finally agreed on a price of $26,847, and we shook hands. We were asked to be seated and our salesman returned to ask about trade-ins. I gave him my keys and waited. 45 minutes later the salesman returns and says that the price we shook hands on was not possible and we did not have a deal. I was given a list of reasons that I did not qualify for the discounts that were apparently being considered. (Including 1. Not having a Chevrolet at my address, 2. Not having USAA or Farm Bureau insurance, 3. Not trading in a Chevrolet vehicle. ) Not one of these issues was addressed during my interaction with the sales manager. It is my contention that: 1. The internet priced vehicle had been sold or was not available to me despite my declared intention to purchase the above noted vehicle at the price disclosed on Internet advertising, and 2. The unprofessional manner in which the sales manager agreed to a deal on a vehicle, wasted another hour of our time, and proceeded to back out of the agreed upon deal.

Desired Settlement
Stand by the Internet pricing that was agreed to by the sales manager prior to his change of mind.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@friendlychevy.com
Sorry for the delay in response.I am looking into this issue today and will repsond back by Thursday, May 7th!

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Capital One back out of Contract after doing the welcome kit with me, because of recieveing the paper work a month a half later from dealership.
I purchase the vehicle on September 25, 2014 from Friendly Chevrolet and they advise that I was approve. But Captial One called me on November 08,2014 advising they were going to be financing my car and they were alittle upset with the dealership because they turned in my contract a month in a half later and they didnt know why. I made a downpayment on the car and the first car note on the car like CapitalOne told me to. They said pay the dealership the first car note, since the paper work was turned in later and that they will mail me paper work on how to make the next and the rest of my payments. About a week later I got an call from Justin Hamaker from the dealership advising that I need to add someone to car loan or get a co-signer and thats all they needed and everything was fine. I gave them my son's information to be added and I havent heard from the dealership since, but one time and thats when I called to get a tag because my 60 day tag expired and thats when I found out the car wasnt financed and the bank bag out of the contact. Then I recieved a letter from Capital One saying they have to decided not to finance the vehicle after they told me they was and I made my first car note. Now I have a car that I do want, no tag and no one is communicating with me at all besides telling me I may have to bring the car back and thats only when I call them. So it will be 90 days on December 25,2014 and I still havent heard anything on my car being finance.

Desired Settlement
I want to keep my vehicle and get my car finance, like it was when I purchase the car. Its not my fault they sat on the paper work for a month and a half.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@friendlychevy.com
We have just received this complaint and will be investigating it today. We will be communicating back on this as soon as we can.
Thank You,
**** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will wait on a response from them but several people were aware of what was going on because why was my contract turned in to Capital One on November the 8th when I purchase the vehicle on September the 25, 2014. The bank actually called me and did the welcome invite over the phone and then a week later, I received a letter stating they have decided to back out the contract, and then they turned the reasons on me, when they called me and told me they were going to be financing my car. Several people (Justin Hamaker and my salesman Jimmy at the Stemmons location are and were aware of whats going on but no one is communicating with me and they wont give me a current tag to we resolve this matter either. Im also paying current car insurance on a vehicle that isnt in my name. Im also affraid that they are going to make my credit score go down with all the people they are sending my info to.

Final Business Response
Customer ********* ******* came back into Friendly Chevrolet on 12/30/15, all issues were handled and all paperwork has been signed. To our knowledge Ms. ******* is satisfied and we considered this case closed.

Thank you

******* ******
Executive Assistant

08/08/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We sold our Corvette to them in June, they were going to payoff the loan and we also selected a Mercedes 2005 with over 100K miles. They told us the car was in good condition and it would be ready in a couple of days. After many emails and many promises, the AC in the car was not fixed and we asked for a check for the balance which is $8,900.00. They said they would give us the money and I can't anyone to return our call.

Desired Settlement
We just want the balance which is $8,900.00.

Business Response
We traded them out of the Mercedes on Saturday 8/2/14 and into a Mini Cooper. Customer left dealership happy and thanked us for taking care of them.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
April 8, I took my 2005 Chevy Cobalt into Friendly Chevrolet for a recall (ignition switch & power steering). I've had the car for 5 years and have fortunately never had problems with it; I only took the car into the dealership because of this recall. After about six weeks, the parts finally came in to handle the recall.They dropped the car off at my job soon after. On the way home, which is about a mile away, the car immediately started experiencing issues. The car would power off about every 30 seconds, then immediately power back on with force- causing the car to appear to slow down and accelerate as if it had a mind of it's own. I took the car back to Friendly Chevrolet and they assured me they would check their work and get back to me.After keeping it for another week and a half, they returned the car to me and said all issues had been resolved so I drove it home. That night, I drove to the grocery store which is about two blocks away. The former issues with the car powering off began again, but this time it was more exaggerated. By the time I made it to the grocery store, the power steering had now gone out and I was unable to easily turn the wheel. I managed to get it back home as I was still very close and called the dealership again. They towed my car back to the dealership (3rd time in the shop now) and began taking another look at it. Now they're telling me that a completely unrelated issue has caused a problem with my transmission which is causing a short in the ignition and power steering. They claimed "it is purely a coincidence and bad luck that this problem began after the recall." They're now asking for over $500 for them to fix the car and return it to me. What began as a free recall is now costing me more than I could have imagined. And my issue is that I wasn't having any issues whatsoever with this car- and how is it that when they returned the car, the only parts affected just happen to be the ignition and power steering that were a part of the recall?
Product_Or_Service: Chevy Cobalt Recall

Desired Settlement
If I am forced to pay this, I would like a reduced rate or reimbursement. I've already paid them $100 for a state inspection (which I think is odd that it passed without them noticing the ignition and power steering problems that were present when they returned the car to me). And now they're requesting $500+ more from me to get my car back.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Mark Eddins
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@friendlychevy.com
I have received your complaint and am looking into it today and should have an answer for Mr ********** by this afternoon.
Sincerely,
Mark Eddins

01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund of a tow fee that I paid. Car problem was cover by manufactures warranty. Told me they would refund the tow fee.
I had my car towed to friendly Chevy on dec 20 th. I paid the tow bill. They determined that the problem was covered by the power train warranty. Car was a 2009 Chevy cobalt. When I picked the car up on the 21 st I asked if since the problem was cover by the warranty would I be reimbursed for the tow bill? They said yes my service representative would take care of it. I gave them a copy of my receipt for the towing. And they would mail me a check. Being just before Christmas I waited until the Monday after to call and check on the refund. Left a message with my sales rep. Call was never returned. Waited another week no check. So I called again had to leave a message again. Still no return call. Called later in the week. Same results. Called back the next Monday this time I asked for a member of management told problem. He got the sales rep on the phone. He said he didn't know how to go about getting the refund but he would look into it and call me back. Then another week passed no phone call. This Thursday I made 3 calls one to the rep one to management a third to service management each time they transferred me to the rep extension. This did no good he will not take my calls or return them. His name is Barry Jarrel.

Desired Settlement
A check for $140.00

Business Response
When this customer broke down she called GM Roadside Assistance to have the vehicle towed to us. She paid the tow bill at that time. Barry, our service advisor, contacted her and explained how to get reimbursed. The reimbursement comes from GM Roadside not Friendly Chevrolet as she was told. ***** also provided her with the address to mail the towing receipt to. All she has to do is mail the tow bill to Roadside Services Reimbursement, PO Box 33170, Detroit, MI 48232 and they will reimburse her the money. We cannot do it.
**** ******

Page 1 of 3
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to the Chevrolet Corporation to get my front cover gasket fixed and now my engine light is on.
On November 28,2014, I went to take my car for a diagnostic for a front cover gasket. They said everything was fine with my car and that the front cover gasket was my only major problem. I went and got the repair done and I also asked if they would go and change my serpentine belt because my car's mileage was 98,000 and they agreed to change out the belt because my car was almost near 100,00 miles. I dropped my car off on December 6, 2014 for the repairs and I picked up my car on December 13, 2014. On December the 15th my engine light came on, I took it back to the dealer and they ran a diagnostic test. The mechanic told me that it was cylinder misfire; I was told it would cost $3,800 to repair. Everything was fine when I first took my car to the dealer, my engine light never came on until I went to Friendly Chevrolet, I believe that they messed up my engine and I would like them to take full responsibility. When I went to them with my complaint they treated me very unfriendly, I was very upset about my car because my car is my main transportation to work. I tried explaining this to them, but they acted as if they weren't concerned about the problem and told me it was nothing more they could do for me. I am hurt and taken back by how rude and unfairly they treat their customers. I just feel as though they should fix my car free of charge because they did something to make my engine light come on. The model of my car is a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, the invoice number is XXXXXX, my account number is XXXXXX, my sales representative was **** **** ****** ****** I paid them $619.00 and my new cost for repairs came up to $3,800. My payment method was with a Visa credit card.

Desired Settlement
The Only thing I want the Friendly Chevrolet Corporation is to take accountability for their own actions, fix my car and be friendlier to their customers.

Business Response
We will contact the customer and schedule an appointment to try to work with her on the problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of April 12, 2015, I have not been contacted by the company since March 2015.

05/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales manager Justin won't honor a advertisement I have in hand for the only 2009 Honda Pilot they have listed for $17,991
I was told the lowest price the dealer could go for the 2009 Honda Pilot I was purchasing was $21,995 and now less then 2 weeks later, I have a flier in my hand for the vehicle for $17,991, the sale has not been finalized since my financing has not gone through yet. I notified my sales Rep. Allesandro of this huge price difference and he shockingly told me that Friendly Chevrolet usually will list vehicles they have "sold" for a rediculiously low price to "lure" in potential buyers and get them in to other "available" vehicles. I was then passed over to the Sales Manager - Justin who very sternly told me my sale was complete and there was no more negotiating, I quickly let him know my finance company had not completed the sale so I needed the contract price to be ammended to the Advertised price for the vehicle. He then went on to tell me that it was a "typo" on the part of the advertising company and so there was nothing that needed to be done. I notified him that I was not satisfied with his response given that Allesandro told me about their "luring" practices.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Friendly Chevrolet to be FRIENDLY and honor their advertised price of $17, 991 which would take off $ 4,000.00 off the current sales contract price of $21,995

Business' Initial Response
This correspondence is to Lee Stallings. We have settled this issue with Mrs ****** over two weeks ago. We have been trying to communicate this to you ever since. I am having my assistant, ****** ****** send you the file on this case today. for some reason we are NOT able to go online and resolve these cases like we have done for YEARS. There is something wrong with YOUR system!!!!!!
If you guys would just communicate with us we could get this fixed but to be blunt, we ARE addressing our customer complaints timely!!!!!!!!!

****** ******
President
Friendly Chevrolet

Consumer's Final Response
I am not satisfied with Friendly Chevrolet's Response. This may take another week to resolve. I have yet to recieve my vehicles plates in the mail as promised once they received my 1st months payment. Justin Hamaker has my plates in his posession and has yet to fulfill his end of the agreement.

Business' Final Response
I called Mrs. ****** after investigating the issues she raised earlier this week. As it turns out, the difference in the price of the Honda she purchased via seeing the vehicle on our web site (at the real price) and the price she subsequently saw posted in a magazine at a different price was the result of a mis-posting by the magazine company that ran the vehicles information. They have admitted to the mis-posting. In my conversation with Mrs. ****** I told her that even though the difference in the price of the vehicle was not as a result of our intent to mislead or bait and switch or be deceptive in any way that I would be happy to give her the $4,000 difference price that the magazine erroneously posted. As for a service issue we have taken the Honda to a Honda dealership and they have found the problem and are fixing it today and we are getting the vehicle back tomorrow and we have agreed (today) to have her come back in on Thursday and bring back our new loan vehicle that she has been in ever since this issue has arisen and pick up her Honda. She has also agreed to release her company to validate her employment to the financing company so that her purchase can be approved for financing.
****** ******

02/28/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
03/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised to fix and issue and refused after the papers were signed
I had found this car online in Dallas Texas from Los Angeles ********** and closed the deal with the dealership. While signing the papers I had noticed that they had bumped my price up by $1200 and so I had to have them fix that. After signing the papers I had noticed that the door lock does not go up and down with the remote and so mentioned it to the salesperson who was helping me. I was leaving the car for a grill guard to be installed so the salesperson said he would look into it and take care of it. When I asked the update on my car the next day the grill guard was not installed by the time they said it would be and the door lock was not going to be fixed. When speaking to a manager about the situation he told me he doesn't know what car I was talking about but that they knew the lock didn't work and that he is refusing to fix it. All in all an extremely dissatisfying experience.

Desired Settlement
I had found this car online in Dallas Texas from Los Angeles California and closed the deal with the dealership. While signing the papers I had noticed that they had bumped my price up by $1200 and so I had to have them fix that. After signing the papers I had noticed that the door lock does not go up and down with the remote and so mentioned it to the salesperson who was helping me. I was leaving the car for a grill guard to be installed so the salesperson said he would look into it and take care of it. When I asked the update on my car the next day the grill guard was not installed by the time they said it would be and the door lock was not going to be fixed. When speaking to a manager about the situation he told me he doesn't know what car I was talking about but that they knew the lock didn't work and that he is refusing to fix it. All in all an extremely dissatisfying experience. What I am asking for at this point is for them to pay for the repair seeing as how I am going back to Los Angeles.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1970Business started: 01/01/1957
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Eddins (President) Suzanne Devine (Exec Assistant)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Friendly Chevrolet LTD

2754 N Stemmons Fwy

Dallas, TX 75207-2213

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2754 N Stemmons Fwy 

    Dallas, TX 75207-2213

  • 9426 Lakefield BLVD 

    Dallas, TX 75220-6037

  • PO Box 7066 

    Dallas, TX 75209-0066

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Friendly Chevrolet LTD is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.