BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

FIAT of McKinney

Phone: (972) 562-0000Fax: (972) 562-0013800 N Central Expy, McKinneyTX 75070-3302http://www.fiatofmckinney.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

FIAT of McKinney is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on FIAT of McKinney

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a mini van from this dealership cash $4525.00. With in 5 days of owning the car, it no longer will start and they refuse to help me.
I bought the car from them on 2-20-14 Chrysler Town and Country . They sold it to me as a reliable and fully working car (their website stated this as well). The 1st day when you put the key in to start the car,it wont turn. They said juggle it and it will be fine. I did that but today 2-26-14 it would not turn at all! No matter what type of juggle you do. I was stuck in Dallas for over 2 hours with my kids before someone was able to turn it!

I called Fiat as soon as I got home and they told me it was my fault for buying a old cash car. I requested a manager to speak with and I waited over 2 hours with no call back. I called them again they advised me he was busy and would call me. A hour later he finally calls. He was the rudest person I have ever dealt with. He told me it was all my fault for buying a cash car, he said "what do you expect from a car that only cost 3999.00 dollars. And that it sounds like your problem to fix it not the dealerships". He was ZERO help. I have previously bought 2 other cars from them and never got treated this bad. They have the worst customer service. They had to have known it was a lemon car or they wouldn't have told me to juggle the key. To top it all off the locks in the car no longer work (stopped working the day after i bought it 2-21-14) and the AC vents in the back no longer work. All in all they sold me a Lemon and now refuse to assist me in fixing other than to say its my problem. I would NEVER advise anyone to buy a car from them again!

Desired Settlement
I would like the keys replaced with working ones (or whatever the issue is with the key not turning on the vehicle fixed). All I want is a working vehicle. I'm not asking for much. I need a reliable mini van to transport my kids. If they cannot fix the car than I want another car of the same value to replace it. If that is not possible I want a refund of the price of the car, so that I can purchase a reliable used mini van like they advertised.

Business Response
Thank you for the information. I have requested that our Sales Manager, Joey Schmidt, ask Ms. ********* to return her van to the dealership in order for us to properly diagnose the problem and get her issues resolved. He spoke to her early in the week to convey my request, but as of today she hasn't returned. Ms. ********* also has not returned Mr. Schmidt's phone calls since last Monday. We will be pleased to help her get the van properly repaired.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have tried to call back (multiple times) to speak with Mr. ******** however he is on vacation (I was told for about a week). So I am currently unable to speak with anyone to resolve my issue. We currently have the new lock actuators purchased from O'reilly Auto Parts which cost $60 a piece. We simply would just like to be reimbursed for the costs of both actuators. I have included a link to the parts that will need replaced. http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/DOE0/XXXXXX.oap?ck=Search XXX-XXX -1 2373&keyword=XXX-XXX

Final Business Response
Thank you for the additional information. The link to the part Ms ********* submitted was for the power door locks and has nothing to do with her car failing to start. Again, if she will please return her van to FIAT of McKinney we will properly diagnose and repair her "no start" issues as per her original complaint.

12/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold a car for cash that was advertised as clean and "reliable". Turned out needing massive repairs. Dealer would not take the car back or exchange.
Purchased around 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 26th. Was informed car was running :a little rough". When I drove it, I asked about the clunking noise and the salesperson said it was a minor problem and came from the brakes. After I signed the papers (as is..no warranty) I began to drive home and noticed the engine light on. Took it to my mechanic who told me the car was unsafe and would take at least $3000 to repair it.!! We drove back to the dealership (60+ miles from home) and left the car. They would not accept the keys so I left them in the gas door. We returned today and they would not work with us...even though the car was returned less than 6 hrs after purchase. I became extremely upset and on the hallway wall of the dealership there are 5 or 6 "opinion boards" where customers write comments. I am a customer and I proceeded to write my comments on 4 of the boards. ..not profane but poignant....Unsatisfied, Gut-wrenching..."sold a lemon and would not make it right"...etc. The manager said I was defacing property and all I was doing was adding my comments regarding my experience. He says I owe them $375 PER board to replace them. (stretched canvas worth about $40 each. My attorney said to discard the claim that I owed them money because I was just adding my comments. ever so be it derrogatory. We left the key atop one of the boards and left. After checking some remedies...we returned, picked up the key and the car and came home. Several different mechanics have said we got "really taken advantage of". My age is 70...and I gave them all the money I had to purchase a car...which I cannot drive!!

Desired Settlement
At least $1500 towards repairs Rack & Pinion steering, oxygen sensor, struts, oil leak, all brakes w/drums and rotors, three tires, 2 cylinders mis-firing, Trunk bushings gone so it won't stay open. Think that is all.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding to us Ms. *****'s concerns. She purchased a 2005 Ford Taurus on 11/26/2103 for $2416.76 +ttl. The car was sold As-Is and she executed all the appropriate documents and took delivery. I have attached copies for your review. The next day she returned to our Studio, removed a blue Sharpie from her purse and proceeded to vandalize 4 custom made art boards that we had hung in the hallway representing our new FIAT customers. All of this was captured on video surveillance. We immediately notified the McKinney Police Department and filed criminal mischief/vandalism charges against her. The artwork she damaged is purchased from and required by FIAT USA and I have also attached an invoice from them showing their individual cost of $329.00 each. We, as a business, prosecute all criminal offenses.

However, if she is still unhappy with her car, we will be pleased to repurchase her vehicle for exactly what she paid $2416.76 less restitution for the damages that she caused. If this is acceptable to her, please have her return the car and title to **** ******* for a refund.
**** *******


See attachment

06/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a used vehicle, the dealership has yet to mail a title.
I purchased a used 2003 Hyundai Sonata on April, 22nd, 2013. The Company stated that as soon as the check cleared from the bank they would mail the title. Every time the firm has been called they have some creative explanation as to why the title has not been received. After one month of waiting, I am ready to have a title.

Desired Settlement
Put the title in the Mail.

Business' Initial Response
email response sent with attachments today.

Business' Final Response
Our business is based upon customer satisfaction and as such we are disappointed that Mr. ****** has any concerns. His title was mailed to him via Certified Mail on May 10, 2013 to the address he provided us at his time of purchase. It was returned to us on May 20 as undeliverable. It was again mailed to him Certified Mail on May 20, 2013 this time to a PO Box address we were provided. It arrived at the designated P.O. Box on May 22, 2013, but was not picked up or signed for until May 28, 2018.

While I am not sure why Mr. Craven's complaint dated May 25 alleges we had not yet sent his title, according to the U S Postal Service it has been delivered.

Thank you for your inquiry, I hope this clears up any confusion. Please see attached documentation.

Mark Daniels

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/09/2011Business started: 05/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Daniels (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
McKinney Italian Autos, L.L.C.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 800 N Central Expy 

    McKinney, TX 75070-3302(972) 562-0000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*FIAT of McKinney is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.