BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2011

Clay Cooley Suzuki

Phone: (214) 357-5700

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a truck from them on 3/17/2014 when I received the paperwork from the finance company it said I owed over 25000.000 on the vehicle. I went back to the contract they had me sign and they sold me a warranty and gap insurance that was neither explained or disclosed to me. All we discussed was payment amount. If I had been told in advance what these items were I would not have purchased them. He made it seem like that was the remaining warranty on the vehicle. I was taken
Product_Or_Service: 2012 Nissan Titan
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the 800.00 for the gap insurance and a refund of the extended warranty that I did not know I was purchasing 2495.00. I want them to disclose to every person buying a vehicle from them exactly what they are paying for. The vehicle I traded was valued at 6000.00 and they used up my trade value on warranty.

Business Response
This customer has been told to come to the store and fill out the proper paper work to cancel what items he does not want. The credit will be processed immediately.

Consumer Response
I need some help, Clay Cooley did not follow through with mailing the checks to my car loan people. After many attempts and correspondence the matter is still not resolved.
**** ******

11/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ran my credit with multiple creditors with out my approval now I was declined credit due to inquiries.
I came into this dealership in search of a used car. not a single car on the lot had a price on it and when you asked what the price of the car was they would not tell you. after going back and fourth i was finally told the price of the vehicle. remember this was a used car and they told me that it was $23,000 for a car that was only $18,000 brand new. this dealer used discriminatory pricing based on the type of people who are interested in the vehicle. I recently pulled my credit report and found that this dealership had run hard inquiries on my credit with multiple creditors. I NEVER gave permission to do so as I had not even known the price of the car yet. The pricing of vehicles were based on the type of person and their credit. this is discriminatory pricing and if not able to settle here legal action will be pursued.

Desired Settlement
I was denied credit due to these inquiries. This is a right to damages under federal law. I request that clay cooley remove these inquiries from all three credit bureaus and provide me with in writing a letter stating that they did not have my permission to run my credit and will remove the inquiries,as well as pay damages as shown above. litigation is pending on the satisfactory results of this claim.

Business Response
-----Original Message-----
From: edhicksjr <*********@aol.com>
To: ********** <**********@aol.com>
Cc: ************ <************@dallas.bbb.org>
Sent: Tue, Nov 12, XXXX X:XX pm
Subject: BBB COMPLAINT FILE#XXXXXXXX
Dear Mr. ****,

We have received your complaint regarding credit bureau inquiries under your social security number. Please email the documents to us and we will contact all bureau's
as soon as possible. Please provide all the information you have so we can proceed. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.



Sincerely,



Ed Hicks, Jr.
Operations Manager
214-597-8815

06/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my car in for repairs in January 2013, a month later my car just started breaking down. I couldn't even pass inspection for February 2013.
Originally when I took my car to the service department in Arlington, I informed the lady that I was in school and I wanted to make all the necessary repairs to my car in order to get back and forth to school everyday. I needed rear shocks, a tune up, timing belt, and a sensor for the transmission. After dropping my car off, she told me I needed a new gas cap, injector sensor, and some sort of radiator hose (because it is leaking). I had no prior knowledge of an antifreeze leak of any kind and now my car will not hold antifreeze at all (I think they accidentally cut the hose because there was NO leak before!!!). When I mentioned the hose that she told me was leaking, she acted like she did not know what I was talking about, and no one could "find the leak"! I took the car back after all the repairs just to see if it would pass inspection and well it didn't so they worked on it later, but when I went back to pick the car up it had a new inspection sticker on it with the check engine light on inside of the car? Now how did I get a sticker with a check engine light on?! They admitted that the car was "skipping" which was a result of the tune up they did, and they said they fixed it, but when I crank my car up almost everyday it skips (something that never happened before!!!!) Now it is April of 2013, almost every morning after I get ready for school I go outside and pour antifreeze in my car, the check engine light in on......it stays on and now the oil light won't go off (no matter how much oil I put in it). I went to ****** ****** because I trusted them with my car (my only source of transportation). I spent all of my financial aid check on my car just to make sure I can get to school ($1800). And now I pray every morning that my car will make it, I am so upset and all out of money for this car. I do understand that the car is not new, but before I left it in the hands of the people at ****** ******, I didn't have any major problems (now I do!!) I love ****** ****** and I was seriously considering buying my next car from him, but this has set be back so much I just can't do business like this.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fix the car right, so that the check engine light will stop coming on. Stop the car from skipping every time I crank it, and fix the hose they cut, where my car is leaking antifreeze or stop the antifreeze leak(because I HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH A LEAK BEFORE). Lastly, tell me why the oil light is on, so I can fix it.

Business' Initial Response
LAST TIME VEHICLE WAS IN IT HAD XXXXXX MILES. CUSTOMER WAS IN 4-2-13 & 4-5-13 AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS REPAIRED AT NO CHARGE TO CUSTOMER PER OUR GOODWILL POLICY. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON FOR MANY REASONS AND ALL THREE TIMES THE VEHICLE WAS IN FOR THIS CONCERN AT HAS BEEN FOR A DIFFERENT REASON. BASED ON THE AGE AND MILES IT IS VERY POSSIBLE THAT ANY COMPONENT THAT IS MADE FROM RUBBER IS DETERIORATING,SWELLING, AND CRACKING SO THE HOSE LEAKING IS DUE TO NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR OF EVERYDAY DRIVNG. AS PART OF OUR GOODWILL POLICY I WILL DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE AT NO CHARGE (NORMALLY $97.00) AND GIVE A DISCOUNT TO CUSTOMER BASED ON ESTIMATE. ALL EXPENSE IS CUSTOMER LIABILITY BUT WILL REPAIR IT LESS THAN ANY OTHER CERTIFIED REPAIR FACILITY

02/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Financing fell through, dealer refusing to return down payment.
On 1/5/2013, I purchased a 2013 Suzuki Grand Vitara from ****** ****** Suzuki. On 1/11/2013, as part of the purchase agreement, I paid a sum of $1,000.00 via my debit card as a down payment, depsite the fact that the dealership had very much messed up the paperwork not once, but twice on my deal. First time, they sent the wrong driver's license to the bank, which stopped the deal moving forward, the second time, they sent the deal over with the wrong down payment information on it, so I had to come back in and redo the contact. On 1/22/2013, I was called by Mike Hollie, my sales person to schedule a time to "come pick up my second set of keys." When I arrived, I was escorted to the finance office where I was informed that the bank was not going to fund my purchase and that I would need to return the vehicle, which I did willingly. However, at that point, becuase they claimed "I had driven the car for over two weeks and they would not be able to sell it as new now," they would not be returning my down payment.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for, what is due me, as the purchase contract has been voided by the dealer. I have received my trade-in vehicle back, but the down payment I gave them is being refused. I want the down payment money refunded.

Business' Initial Response
Our records show that there is no money due this customer. The transaction has been closed

10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have not fulfilled promise to refund the warranty paid
I purchased my 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara on 05/30/11. On 11/28/12 I went into their location and told them I would like to cancel my extended warranty that I purchased. At the time, my car had 19,561 miles on it. The gentleman (his office is across from Bryan Wagner's) had me fill out a form and sign it and told me that the warranty amount would be sent to my lender in 2 to 6 weeks. To date, neither my lender nor myself have heard anything. On 01/04/13 I called their location and asked to speak with someone in finance about this. I don't remember the name of the person I spoke to, but he told me he would look into it and give me a call back. I called their dispute resolution program on 01/31/13 and they told me I need to call the warranty company about this. I called the warranty company who advised me that this request must be initiated by the dealership and I told them I already filled the paperwork out on 11/28/12. They told me there is nothing they can do and I need to call the dealership. I called their dispute resolution program back again and they forwarded me over to the location in Dallas where I spoke to someone, I beleive his name was Larry. He was extremely rude to me even though I tried to explain that I am just trying to get this resolved. He told me I needed to call another lady, I believe her name is Patty. The number he told me to call is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have called that number 5 times since then and left messages regarding the status of the cancellation of my warranty and to date they have not called me back regarding the status of cancelling my extended warranty that I purchased.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to honor my request I made on 11/28/12 to cancel my extended warranty. It is now almost 5 months later and they have not done so yet.

Business' Initial Response
Lee,

This warranty was cancelled several months ago and we notified you this had been done. The payoff was sent to the lender. The customer will not get a reimbursement check. The amount will be deducted off of their loan.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was not done months ago as the business indicated. They are LIARS!!!!! They only did in it June after my fiance had to constantly be calling and asking about it. I was not asking for a check to be sent to me, I am aware it is to go to the lender which they FINALLY did in June, after going back and forth with them for 7 months. Since they are claiming this was done "months ago", I would now like evidence of that.
They are the worst business ever.

09/25/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/20/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.