BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2011

Clay Cooley Nissan

(972) 709-2000View Additional Phone Numbers39690 LBJ Freeway, DallasTX 75237 Send email to Clay Cooley Nissan

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2011

BBB has determined that Clay Cooley Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Clay Cooley Nissan's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Clay Cooley Nissan's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues13
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service18
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 35

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (35)BBB Closure Definitions
05/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with the written agreement

Complaint: I was told that I could pick up a car I choose on line if I supplied a co-signer. I brought the cosigner but the deal wasn't honored.
I emailed Mr. Miguel Andrade sevearl times asking if my credit will hender me from trading my car in and purchasing a 2012 Nissian Altima. I sent my finanicial information via email and fax to the dearlership as well as filled out the online application early so the transaction wouldn't take all day. He told me via email that all I would need is a cosigner. After making a appointment, I brought my disabled mother, who cosigned for me before. to the dealership and I sent to another saleman and I then had to supply him with information that I had already sent. After all the paper work was complete the new sales man came back and said that I couldn't tade the car and he tried to sale me a 2014 Altima. I didn't want the 2014, so I said not and he got up and walked away leaving me, my mother, and sister their. He didn't even hold the door for my mother to leave.

Initial Business Response
Mr. **** was made well aware of his financial status before he came into the store we have work multiple days to get the best loan for him and he was told that a co signer might help him. He came into the store well aware of his situation and after working with different lenders with and without a co signer he was not able to get a loan. We worked very hard to achieve a loan for Mr. **** and was upset about not being able to obtain financing for a vehicle and we talked with him about what to do to achieve a loan in the future.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Extended Warranties cancelled for $3593 and have not been refunded.
3 extended warranties were included in the 2014 car purchase of a Nissan Murano on 11/2/13. These warranties were cancelled on 11/13/13. The warranties totaled $3593. ***** ***** for Clay Cooley Nissan financed the loan. He sent my husband an email on 11/25/13 stating, "Good afternoon ***,
Here is the CANCELATION on *****'s vehicle purchase. I am waiting on the accounting department to email me the payoff check # and date it was sent out.

Thank you."

Since that date, several attempts on this matter have been unsuccessful. I went into Clay Cooley Nissan on 1/29/14 and spoke with ***** ***** as well as the director of the finance department. They both informed me that the matter would be taking care of within 2 weeks. The matter still hasn't been taking care of and none of the employees will return my phone calls to provide a status update on the whereabouts of my refund. The total purchase price of the vehicle was $37,457.08 with a .09% interest rate. The loan was financed with Nissan Motor Acceptance Corp.

Initial Business Response
***** has talked to ****** and we have been able to verify all refunds have been processed. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: **** ****** Nissan has allowed a loan on the car I traded in to them go 30 days past due.
**** ****** Nissan has ignored my constant attempts to pay the past due balance on my previous car they bought from me. I am driving a new car and Capital One Loan offices have not received a pay out from **** ****** Nissan so they call me every day for the paymen. I have called **** ****** and spoke with two people in the finance department:****** *** said on 7/23/13 the check will be sent to Capital One in two days and **** in finance asked me to submit the late payment and I will be reimbursed. I informed **** the late payment is well over the 396 amount I would have paid 30 days ago. I gave **** ****** Nissan 500 down payment and my old/previous car has not had any payments since I paid my last car note two months ago.

Business' Initial Response
Customer ****** ***** ****** payoff was completed as per correspondence:

Check #XXXXX on 07/17
Mailed to Cap One on 7/17
Spoke with Mike with Cap1 on 08/01 he stated that they hold the check for 10 days prior to posting it and that the check would be posted on 08/05.
Check cleared on 08/8
We received the title for the 2012 Nissan Sentra on 08/14

The transaction has been completed. Please let us know if you need more information. You may also send email address and we will provide backup documentation.


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Reqested that the Special Care Maintenace agreement be cancelled imediately after purchasing vehichle and they have not cancelled.
Purchased a 2013 Nissan Rogue on 12/21/13 and purchased Gap and Special Care Oil change agreement. On 12/22/12 I told Brandon the finance person that it did not cover what he told me that it covered and I did not want it. His reaction was "It will work out - you will see". On 12/26 (the next day they were open) I called and spoke to Josh Woo and told him that I wanted to cancel the GAP and oil change agreement. He told me that I had to come into the dealership and complete a form. I went in on 12/28/12 and after arguing with Brandon he gave me the form but told me it could not be completed until I got an account number from Nissan. I returned as soon as I got my account number and gave the completed form to Josh Woo who said he would take care of it. I received a membership card from First Extended Service Corporation on 2/11/13 so I knew it has not been cancelled. I called Nissan and they told me that GAP had been cancelled but they showed nothing on the other contract and would check it out. THey called me back and told me that ****** ****** tried to cancel the policy but it did not exist. I called First Extended Service Corporation and they told me I did have a policy with them and only the dealership can cancel it. It is contract number SCOLXXXXXX. Nissan told me that since it was not a Nissan policy they could not help at all. I called the person that they said was in charge of these and got transfered to Sales and all over the building but not the person Nissan told me handled this. I finally left a message for a Cheryl Malone but have not heard back from her. This has been the most horrible buying experience I have ever had with a dealership and I need help getting them to understand that they are not keeping the money for this. They will never touch my car after an incident that happened the night of delivery so needless to say I don't need a oil change contract that involves them.

Business' Initial Response
This Cancelation process was completed on February 1st. The customer needs to call NMAC for verification. The reimbursement goes directly to NMAC....not the customer. If you need additional information, please contact me....

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I had a balance of $1,000 for the down payment. Why did ****** keep my credit card on file and debit my account without my permission?
I went to ****** ****** on 12/17/12 to purchase a car. My sales person's name was Elvis Iwu. I paied $500 down using my debit card. They brought me the receipt to sign it which I did. Me and Mr. Iwu agreed that I would come back between Friday, 12/28/12 - Friday, 01/04/13 to pay the remaining balance of $1,000. My account was debited for $1,000 on 01/02/13; I did not give permission for ****** ****** to debit my account; I am very furious! Also, Brandon Galvan, the Business Manager was to mail me my sales receipts within 2 business days! I have not received any paperwork at all! How do I know that my papers have not been altered.

Business' Initial Response
WE HAVE RESEARCHED ****** ******'S FILE AND HAVE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT ALL DOCUMENTS ARE IN ORDER AND SHE DID RECEIVE A COPY OF HER CONTRACT. THE CONTRACT REFLECTS $1,500 AS A DOWN PAYMENT, PAID AS AGREED. WE HAVE ENTERED INTO A CONTRACUTAL AGREEMENT WITH MS. ****** AND UNFORTUNATELY, WE CANNOT JUST SIMPLY CANCEL HER BINDING CONTRACT AT HER REQUEST.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
04/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Bait & switch advertisement

Complaint: Clay Cooley sent out money cards and I won a gift card for $5.00 and I told them that I drove from Arlington, and they acted like no big deal.
The Jose said that well you can buy a new car and I told them that i bought a care from their arlington dealer, then Joses said that he could help me with a lower payment , then left me sitting at a desk with my information out on the desk and never said anything, I was waiting for 20 minutes with out knowing why I was there. Then he came in from outside and asked me if I wanted me $5.00 gift card, I was done and i left and I wasted my time there!

Initial Business Response
This was a promotion given by Clay Cooley. The full disclosure was given in the promotion. There was different levels of opportunity to win. If the promotion was read by this customer, they would have understood they could possibly win $5.00. We regret this promotion was accepted in a negative manner. This complaint could have been avoided if all program rules were read and understood by this customer. Clay Cooley cannot and will not discriminate with any promotions offered to all customers or give additional winnings.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I understand. All that but they didn't. Make it clear and they down played the fact that I lived. In Arlington. And still the fact of the matter that they had me sitting in a booth or a desk and my information. LEFT ON THE DESK and didn't. Even explain. Why I was just sitting there unattended. Do 20 minutes, now let them explain. That

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had brought this 2008 Pontiac G6 Last year 10-23-13 at Clay Cooley Nissan I put $1000 dollars down and paid a payment on 12-5-13 of $465 a $465
I had brought this Pontiac Go 20th on 10-23-13 I put $1000 plus I had a payment of $465 on 12-5-13 and $465 payment on 1-5-14 I pay both of them for the pass three months this car been acting up from the GPS SYSTEM WHEN THE SALE GUY NAME ****** ******* SOLD ME THAT ********* CAR I ASKED HIM BEFORE I SEEN THAT CAR BECAUSE IT WAS ANOTHER CAR THAT THEY HAD AN 2008 OR 2010 CHEVY IMPALA UP AGAINST THE WALL WITH THE OTHER CARS INCLUDING THE PONTIAC G6 I ASKED MR ******* CAN I GET THAT CAR RIGHT THEIR CAUSE I HAD $500 ON ME AND COME BACK WITH ANOTHER $500 HE SAID NO BECAUSE IT WAS $1500 DOWN AND I TOLD HIM THAT I LEFT WORK EARLY AND CAUGHT THREE BUSEY AND A TRAIN OUT HEAR TO GET A VEHICLE AND I COULDN'T GET THE CAR I REALLY WANTED WHICH WAS THE 2009 OR 2010 IMPALA THAT I REALLY WANTED TO GET AND EVERY SINCE THAT CAR BEEN ACTING UP GPS THE BRAKE ON IT ARE TRYING TO LOCK UP ON IT THEY SAID THEY CHANG THE BRAKE PADS WHICH THEY DIDN'T AND THE ROTARY THEY DID NOT CAUSE THEY ARE STILL MAKING NOISE AND I TAKE MY KIDS TO AND FROM SCHOOL AND I DON'T WANT TO DRIVE A CAR THAT'S LIMA THAT AND I THINK THAT IT IS ON FAR THAT I DIDN'T GET THE CAR I WANTED BECAUSE I AM A GIRL NOT ONLY THAT BECAUSE I AM GAY OH JUST TO LET YALL NO THAT THE SALES GUY DIDN'T ASKED ME TO TEST DRIVE THE CAR EITHER AND LIME I SAID I HAVE THREE STEP KIDS AND I REFUSE TO TAKE THEM TO SCHOOL IN THAT PIECE OF **** THAT I AM DRIVING NOW

Initial Business Response
This issue has been investigated by the senior management of our company and no fault has been found. The "trouble" that Ms. ****** is referring too has been repaired and our service shop foreman has personally driven the car to make sure no other issues existed. Clay Cooley Nissan has constantly provided Ms. ****** with care and concern every time she has stepped on property. It is Clay Cooley Nissan's policy to make sure every car a customer purchases from our company is safe. We will continue to assist Ms. ****** with any issues that arise from the purchase of her pre-owned vehicle and hopefully we can continue our business relationship with this customer.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Car continues to act up this is the 80 time my car didn't crank they said they fixed the GPS Tracking Device on hear I always pay my car note on time and because 5 that I have missed doctor appointments and late for work cause of that and not only that my mechanic is charging me $274 to put breaks and new rotaries on and not only that those air bags on the passenger side does look like they have one in their just buy looking and me paying $465 a month on that crappy car I have I should be driving the car I wanted which was an impala that they have and from what I hear from other people like why would you go to clay Cooley and they say that they will get you the car that you want but Don't and not only that I never test drove the car had I known that I would have never purchase that car and the sell guy ******* ******* never asked me to test drive but you asked me for my I'D and my money and when I spoke to him and asked him about the cars that was against the wall he told me in his own words that every car was a $500 down defer and I asked him about the impala he than switch it to $1500 down I know how the sales business goes and the always sending me these letters on hear with $1500 down or $2000 down or you can when a money and when you go up their they will give you a $5.00 Walmart gift card and that's it and in about two months later they will send out another one all I am saying I am not going to be satisfied with the car I have because I want another car Chevrolet Impala 2009 because they no what they were doing the first time anyway I put down $1000 I should have been done got the car That I want and that car should be $300 NOT $465 REALLY and when I asked them about my car the last time one sales man told me if I stayed in that car 5mths to 6 months I can switch out of it that what I was told and it's like with the tracking Device on it it like their pushing a button to stop my car from running after two weeks I done pay the car note and when I call in to report that 5 min later it cranks up my three brothers road in it with me my two sisters and daddy road in the car with me and it did the same thing and I told them that it doesn't make since too have A tracking device on a car anyways because what if I had a emergency and this car did that our any other car like that would do that that would be wrong on of them and I see why that Clay Cooley Nissan doesn't want to put warranty on use cars because they don't want to pay money for it and my thing is that all cars used and new pre own should have warranty on their cars to cover their company because that's how car dealerships gets sued I the only lyrics thing I want is out of this car and I to the car I should been getting from the get go if not than I will have to go with legal actions because I am not fixing to put any one in danger of me driving this car the air bag on the right hand side looks all messed up and other issues as well you can contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: Clay Cooley changed my contract and I believe they placed my signature in places I was unaware of (forged)
On 3/05/13 I went in to Clay Cooley Nissan to see if I would be able to be approved for I car. I had spoken to someone over the phone that told me to just come in and we will be able to see. I told them I was taking a break from work and I would not be able to stay long they stated, ok that's fine it will only take about 45 minutes to complete the application to see if you are approved. I traded in a 2010 Camaro .They asked me did I have a down payment and I stated NO! So the car salesman said that is fine we will see what we can do. He came back and said they can approve but I will have to pay $1500 down. I told them I did not have the $1500 and he was like can you call and get from someone or something can't you. I said I don't know I will have to see. So he said ok! I told them then I will be back tomorrow I have to go back to work. He said wait just a few minutes they are almost ready for you. I am like whom? Keep in mind that I have been here for a total of 55 minutes. He said the accounting department. I 'm like accounting!!! He said yes you are done the car is yours! You just need to fill out some paperwork. (I have not spoken to my insurance company or anything). I told him I need to go back to work and I will just come back tomorrow. He insisted No...NO they are ready for you. He takes me back to the accounting department and the guy is sitting in there with papers. He just is swiftly going through them stating sign here, sign there. He never gives me the paper to read. And he never signs anything while I was there. Then it was this little black rectangle on the desk and he said sign right here so that we can have a signature. I didn't know what for but I thought ok this was something new. He states where is your $1500 down payment? I told him I told the other guy I would see if I could get it and bring it in tomorrow. I suggested again that I can take my Camaro and come back to tomorrow. He stated that was fine I will see you in the morning! I was almost out the door and then I said, "Can I have a copy of the contract and papers that I just signed. He said, "NO we will finish them up in the morning when you bring the down payment. I thought that was weird because I have never left a dealership with a car without a contract or any paperwork. But I was in a rush to get back to my job. On the way to work I thought I cannot afford this car I am going to take it back in the morning. I got off work too late to take it back to the dealership that night. So I took the car back the next morning. It was less than a 24 hour turn around. I went in and told them I would just like my camaro back and I am returning their car. I forget the guys name but he was like you can't do that. I was like but I have paid the down payment and I don't have a contract the contract was not even completed yesterday. He tells me that they have already paid my trade off and that it is impossible for me to get my car back. I go outside and call my financial institution and they are like no it is not paid off and it never happens that fast. So I go back in and tell them what the institutions stated and he just says it is already paid off. So the I ask him well can I have my contract. He said, I will give you the contract if you give me $750. I told him I was not giving him $750 and I was not right that I did could not even see the contract that I signed. So about 7-10 days later I receive a contract in the mail. I looked and the contract which looked very different from the papers I signed and it had down payment $0 which I did not agree to. The end of the contact I see my signature which looks odd stating that I signed this and receive a copy of the contract when I left. I never even saw that paper! They either electronically forged my signature, copy and pasted it to those pages really I don't know but it was not right. I called back and they said, Well it is nothing we can do you can turn it back in as an involuntary repo!Also wrong# on contract!

Initial Business Response
The contract was an Econ, meaning it is an electronic contract and it can't be changed without the customer resigning the entire document packet.We haven't received any questions or complaints from this customer. Please contact ****** *** at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have questions about your transaction.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I received the response from BBB I contacted ******. ***. He was telling me that all complaints go to him and this one didn't. He stated, that customers sometimes leave their contract on the table or in the glove box. At this point he is playing with my intelligence by trying to state that the reason it was mailed was do to an error on my behalf. NOT TRUE!!! I asked for my contract I am a sane individual and I know what happened. So I asked for a copy of the contract that they had. I went to the dealership **** Cooley Nissan on 11/20/13 to discuss this matter with ****** *** in person and get the contract. Someone printed my contract and ****** was trying to explain to me that I paid $1500 cash and it was on the contract that I did (he was pointing at the contract as he told me this information), which I didn't pay the $1500 they are claiming and they cannot provide me with a receipt that I paid this. He stated, that they don't have camera's to record physically what happened that day to prove it.I don't have anything on my bank statements that show I paid this and there is no proof. He said basically, there is no way to show if I did or did not pay it . But we all know they keep copies of "RECEIPTS" that what business do right! Well they should. If I did not pay the $1500 that was the original contract, there should have been a new contract written up stating the new contract proposal excluding the $1500 but it wasn't. When I got there he stated that someone else that works there does remember me coming in about this issue and I spoke with the floor manager *****. "Like I stated in the first complaint which contradicts the statement that they haven't received any complaints from the customer." I did complain and went there *****(it may be spelled incorrectly) was the rude guy that told me that if I wanted my contract I would have to pay $750 down payment to get it. "I speak nothing but the TRUTH and this is what happened in GOD we Trust". ****** stated it was nothing he could do and told me to speak with ******* (I think that was his name). I spoke to ******* and I explained the entire situation. He apologized and told me he does not understand why they did not just give me my car back it was not a good deal for them in the first place! (It may have not been a good deal but it still counted toward a sale for those that understand the car buying business) He was a nice guy and he did apologize to me about my experience there. We discussed some options and he stated he would be willing to help me. He told me he would give me a call today 11/21/13 and we would discuss this further. At this point it is NOT resolved. Hopefully, he will give me a call.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

01/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: On February 14, 2013, I entered into a contract agreement with Clay Coole Nissan on the purchase of a 2013 Nissan Sentra.
On February 14, 2013 I enetered into Clay Cooley Nissan with an appointment set with Pedro to purchase a New 2013 Nissan Sentra. the first agreement was to put down a $1000.00 down payment which turned out to be false. After having hours of discussion about the down payment and agreeing on the monthly payment amount, a final agreement was set at $1500 down payment with monthly payments set at $445.42 monthly. After sitting in the dealership for a total of 8 hours, my Wife and Myself finally entered into the finance office to sign our conttract and to pay the $1500.00 down payment. The down payment was paid through my bank account and the contract was signed for the purchase of the vehicle. They refused to give us a copy of the contract and then eventually told us that thier machine was unable to print or contract copy. They also told us that we would not be able to get the 2nd key to the vehicle becuase of mechanical issue with the drawer that holds the keys. The only paper work we did recieve was the temporary tags and plastes to the vehicle. Two days later on the 17th of February, I recieved a TEXT MESSAGE from Pedro stating that a document was missing from our contract that we needed to sign and that my Wife and myself needed to return to the dealership and sign the document and that we could pick up a copy of the contract and the second key to the vehicle. After being excused from work early to hadnle this matter, my Wife and Myself and our two kids drove 2hours and 15 minutes to the dealerhsip to finalize our contract. Once we arrived Pedro greeted Us and informed us that within 10 minutes we would proceed to the finance room and complete the conract. After waiting 45 minutes, Pedro speaks with my Wife and Myself and informs us tghat we were not approved for the car and that they needed the car back and they would keep our down payment and finance us to purchase a used vehicle. We could not come to an understanding of why the contract agreement was being broken and the then informed my Wife and myself that the car had to stay at the dealership and that we could wait until Pedro completes his hourly shift and he would take us home or we could call a relative or friend in order to find a way to return home. They would not rerfund us our money for the down payment and the money that was paid on insurance premiums that was signed in agreement in the contrat that was required in order to purchase the vehicle. The also were not willing to compensate us for the gas and the inconvience they put my Family and myself in becuase of the false information. I told my family to go get in the car and I informed Pedro that unless they could produce the money that I gave them plus the money that I was out of, that we would keep the car and a my lawyer would contact their manager or their lawyer concerning this matter.

Business' Initial Response
We cannot respond or comment due to possible litigation.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no litigation process pending. The car was returned and my down payment was refunded. I am still out of pocket an estimated 1200 for having paid the insurance premiums, gas and traveling back and forth for falsifying a contract agreement, ****** ****** also attempted to take the car from my job and even had the East Texas recovery company come into my place of business and harrass me about the vehicle. I had to be excused from work and travel to Dallas, 2 hour drive, only to be told that they voided the contract and asked if my famil and myself could find a ride to return home which is 2 hours away. I prefer a check to be mailed in the amount of $1200. If I am unable to receive this amount through agreement, then a lawyer will be sought for this matter.

Business Response
We confirm Clay Cooley Nissan attempted to sell ******* **** a 2013 Nissan Sentra contingent on finance approval. The lender notified Clay Cooley that the information submitted by the applicant did not verify and therefore the loan was not approved. The customer was given his down payment back and we requested the return of the vehicle. Unfortunately we are not able to reimburse Mr. **** $4000 due to the above information.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Invalid or false contract

Complaint: Fraudlent contract information, not signed, no income provided
On May 15, 2013 my 72 year old father-in-law was ask by a 27 year old female to take her to look at a car about 1 hour later she left with a new 2013 Nissan Sentra and stated he was advised to sign to run his credit when I learned of this car ask dealership for help to get this car they refused until i complained more. When ask for his contract i was given one without a signature he left with no paperwork and No personal information was provided to dealership to send to finance company to seek approval for this loan.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: aaron hadnot/sales manage
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@comeseeclay.com
He came in and bought a car, and he signed the contract, and it was sent to the bank and we got our funds from the bank. The bank will not fund a deal if it is missing signatures on the contract. He was given all the copies of his paperwork. The real problem with this deal is after he bought the car, a few weeks later his girlfried took the car and she couldnt be found. His daughter in law then came in and wanting copies of the paper work. The girlfreind who took the car took all the paperwork out of it, and that was discovered when she finally gave it back to the boy friend

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My father in law was not given any paperwork and the dealership did not put in the car this young lady went to dealership completed all this paperwork and the dealership assisted her in exploitation of the elderly her pretending to care for him by cleaning was stealing from him saw a pre approval letter from capital one where he has an auto loan for 400.57 thought she could get a car clay Cooley sent in that pre approval and it was declined from there they inflated his income from $1700 a month to more I asked for the paperwork and was given a one page contract that it
S not signed clay cooler refuse to present this paperwork because it will show a signature but not that of my father in law and a $13,000 car does not end up to be $41,890.08

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2011Business started: 01/01/2010
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clay Cooley (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Groover
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Duncanville N, LLC
Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Clay Cooley Nissan

39690 LBJ Freeway

Dallas, TX 75237

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 39690 LBJ Freeway 

    Dallas, TX 75237(972) 709-2000
    (214) 357-5700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Clay Cooley Nissan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 357-5700
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.