BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1980

Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet Geo, Inc.

Phone: (972) 223-7611Fax: (972) 223-2204629 N Beckley Ave, DesotoTX 75115 Send email to Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet Geo, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1980

BBB has determined that Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet Geo, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet Geo, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my truck 2007 avalanche in for sensors and switches repair, when I received my truck back it had two large cracks on the dashboard that wasn't
My truck had no damage to the dashboard when I took it in, I only service my vehicle at Chuck Fairbank and purchase vehicle from them. I took my orange Avalanche in for services they been fixing on for years. ***** Service always check me in, I have never had a problem with them before into I received my truck in the dashboard was cracked in two place. ***** told me I needed to talk to **** the manager over the mechanics to see what had happen to my truck. **** been in a lot of meeting never gave me a call back to my complaint on my cracked dashboard. When I stated by for the third time to see **** he stated that the Chevrolet Avalanche 2005 and 2007 had problem with dashboard cracks and he said that they just to that. I once again told him that mine wasn't like that when I turned it in to Chuck Fairbanks. **** then said he will check with the recalls and he gave me a number to call Chevrolet, once again no return phone call or update. I had to go back up there o find out what was going on and if they would repair my truck, I talked to **** who said they cant do nothing for me, I would have to pay for them breaking my dashboard. I then talk to Duke a man who stated he was the Manager of Chuck Fairbanks, he was really rude and didn't listen just agreed that they wouldn't be responsible for fixing there mistake. I have been a member of this family car dealership since they had a small shop on Lancaster road and the business not the same no trust. If there lying about one thing they could have been lying about all they work they been doing on my truck.

Desired Settlement
They need to repair the damaged cracks they left on my dashboard and check there mechanics work. I expect the best of service because I pay your prices.

Business Response
The customer brought in his 2007 Avalanche in to the Service Department for us to run diagnostics on the check engine light. We found several sensors that needed replacing, the throttle sensor, tire pressure sensor, and the brake switch.
Our customer has complained that is dash was broken while we performed services on his vehicle. It was explained to him that the 2005 and 2007 Avalanche models have had similar dashboard issues. The repairs performed to his Avalanche took place under the hood, inside the wheel, and on the brake pad. None of these repairs would have caused the dash to crack.
This issue has been mutually resolved with the customer. We have the part in our inventory. We are waiting for the customer to bring the vehicle back so the repairs can be completed.

04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I attempted to purchase a vehicle and there were several issues with it. I haven't been given any assistance from the dealer.
I went to Chuck Fairbank Chevrolet to purchase a certain vehicle that I had found on their website. When I test drove the vehicle it was pulling to the right and I informed the salesman of this and he told me that it was just the road but it continued to pull to the right the entire time I had the vehicle. 1 day after purchasing the vehicle there was a strong smell of cat urine, which I found out from a body shop could be mold in the fabric and/or carpet. 2 days after purchasing the vehicle it rained and after driving in the rain there was a large amount of standing water in the passenger floor board (I have photos). I took it back to the dealer on Monday 3/17 to get the front end alignment checked (the pulling to the right issue) and told them about the water in the floor board. They told me that they would check it out and I told them that I didn't want the vehicle anymore because the water damaged would lower my resale value and the water came in around the fuse box which could cause problems in the future. The carpet was pulled away from this area so it was inspected by someone (I have photos). They sent me home in a loaner car and told me that they would talk to the manager and locate a different vehicle for me. After numerous conversations they told me that they had sold my trade-in and that would get it back to me. Since then no one will return my phone calls and the last time that I called the sales manager he heard my name and hung up on me. This isn't the type of service I was expecting from a Chevrolet dealer.

Desired Settlement
All I am asking is for them to return my Expedition or the $3500 they gave me for the trade-in.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* General Man
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@chuckfairbankschevy.com
The vehicle Ms. **** purchased was covered under factory warranty and all repairs have been completed, including replacement of the carpet and padding which she agreed to. We let her know that the vehicle has been completed and ready for her to pick up as of 04/07/2014. She is to return our loaner vehicle today 4/08/2014 and pick up her vehicle.

05/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THE COMPANY DID NOT REPAIR WHAT WAS REQUESTED TO BE REPAIRED.
TOOK VEHICLE IN ON MAR. 6TH TO SPECIFULLY TO GET A LUBRICANT LEAK REPAIRED. I SPECIFIED THAT SOME TYPE OF OIL WAS LEAKING ON MY DRIVEWAY, AND I NEEDED TO GET IT REPAIRED. THEY KEPT THE VEHICLE ALL DAY AND NEVER CALL ME THAT DAY. I HAD TO CALL THEM TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE.THEY SAID THEY WOULD LET ME KNOW IN ABOUT THIRTY MINUTES. SERVICEMAN CALLED ME AND SAID THAT THE SERVICEMAN SAID MY WATERPUMP WAS LEAKING. HE ALSO SAID THAT IT HAD ASMALL OIL LEAK. BUT HIS IMPRESSION WAS THAT THE WATERPUMP WAS THE PROMBLEM OF THE LEAK ON MY DRIVEWAY.SO NATURALLY I OKAYED HIM TO GO AHEAD AND REPAIR THE WATERPUMP , ME NOT BEING A MECHANIC THINKING THE WOULD TAKE CARE OF THE LEAK ON MY DRIVEWAY. THE. PAID FOR THE REPAIR ON THE WATERPUMP THINKING SENSE I TOOK IN FOR THAT LEAK ON MY DRIVEWAY,THAT WAS ALL TAKEN CARE OF. BUT ABOUT AN HOUR PARK IN MY DRIVEWAY IT WAS STILL LEAKING. CALLED THE SERVICE REP AND EXPLAINED. HE TOLD ME TO BRING IT BACK THE NEXT DAY. NOW IF YOU TOOK YOUR VEHICLE IN FOR A SPECIFIC REPAIR, WHY NOT PUT THAT AS YOUR MAIN TOPIC,SENSE THATS WHY THE I BROUGHT IT IN. THE REPAIR THEY MADE HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE LEAK ON MY DRIVEWAY. THEY TOLD THIS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH MY LEAK ON MY DRIVEWAY.I FELT I HAD BEEN MISINFORMED. COULD GET SATISFACTION.

Desired Settlement
REPAIR LEAK AND ONLY CHARGE ME HALF THE NORMAL PRICE, BECAUSE OF MISCOMMUNICATION ON THE PART OF THE SERVER, NOT EXPLAINING THAT I WOULD STILL HAVE THAT LEAK. HE MADE IT SOUND LIKE THE REPAIR OF THE WATERPUMP WOULD CURE THE LEAK. BEING THATS THE REASON I BROUGHT IT IN ANYWAY.

Business' Initial Response
Customer came in saying he thought his transmission was leaking. After checking the truck we found leaks at the water pump,oil pan,rear engine cover,cam sensor and oil cooler block off gasket. We gave him a estimate for all this and Mr ****** gave the ok for the water pump, which we agreed was the worst leak, and at this time declined the other repairs. This is not uncommon on older vehicles for the customers to do the work in stages so we didn't see anything wrong with starting here. We did note on his repair order that the truck still had leaks and check engine lamp was on.We also gave Mr. ****** a 10% discount and will gladly do that agin when he decides to complete the repairs needed.

05/23/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1980Business started: 06/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Fairbanks, Jr. (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet Geo, Inc.

629 N Beckley Ave

Desoto, TX 75115

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 629 N Beckley Ave 

    Desoto, TX 75115(972) 223-7611

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet Geo, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.