BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bob Stallings Hyundai, Inc.

Phone: (214) 694-2700

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not fulfilling promises, damaged car, horrible customer service
I have never sent in a complaint before but this is getting out of control. I bought my 2013Veloster from Bob Stallings Hyundai the last week of June from Billy Gibson. At first he was very kind and helped me with the car. The car had a lot of damage, it needed new tires, the wheels were all very scuffed up, there were dents and dings, the speakers were busted, and there was a large plastic part of the speaker missing, and there were stains all in the car. We had begun to talk to him about being interested in the car when we noticed all of the damage. He promised us that if we bought it that day then he would have all of those things fixed and sell the car to me for 13,200. I clarified with him several times that all of those things would be fixed at no expense to me, he agreed and promised that all 4 tires would also be replaced with these high end Hyundai tires. Out of the month and a half that I've owned this car I've had it in my possession for maybe 2 weeks because the rest of the time it's been in their shop being " fixed ". Every time I go pick up the car and they say everything is fixed, maybe one thing gets fixed and so I point it out and tell them everything else that still needs to be fixed and they tell me sorry and to call about it the next day. And they replaced my tires with cheap off brand tires and only fixed two of my wheels and won't fix the others. The rust and massive amount of paint missing is still at the bottom. There are still dents all over the car and a big chunk of plastic missing out of a speaker. I'm getting really tired of driving 2-3 hours round trip to take my car to Dallas and drop it off for weeks on end only to get it back with it still being incomplete. They're now telling me they aren't going to fix the rust either. And last time I picked my car up, there were more issues that when I dropped it off! Last time I got it, the sound system stopped working and none of the buttons or blue tooth would work so I went back inside and asked about it and the girl told me " yeah I was wondering about that. Call tomorrow. Sorry. " when they call me to come get my car, I name off everything that needed to be fixed and ask if it's ALL fixed and they tell me yes and it never is. My paper license plate it now past expired and I've still not gotten anything in the mail. After a month of having the car and getting no info, I texted Billy and asked him when my payment was due or how I could find that out, no response. He never returned my phone calls or messages. Every time that he has responded, he's told me that he would call the next day but never did. He told me his service manager would call yesterday but he never did. This is by far the worst customer service I've ever experienced and I feel ripped off.

Desired Settlement
All I want is for them to come get the car and finish fixing everything or for them to give me my money back and I'll give them the car back and I'll go buy another car else where.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@mydallashyundai.com
Ms. C has been working directly with the General Manager on this issue. We are sorry that this client has had a stressful situation which sometimes is out of everyone's control. The salesperson that sold this vehicle no longer works for the company and legally we can disclose the reason for his separation. There was nothing on the We-Owe document stating that we promised to complete any work. However, in accordance with our customer service standards, our GM has offered to un-wind the deal and buy the car back. The customer has decided that they like their car and opted to keep the car when offered that solution. We are currently in the process of obtaining bids for the customer to repair the vehicle.

At our dealership we strive to be above reproach in everything we do. We adhere to all Federal and State laws and ethical business practices. We are glad that we have had the opportunity to to assist this valued customer in getting their vehicle up to their preferences. Again, we sincerely apologize for any failure to communicate this information effectively throughout this process. Our GM is now involved and is monitoring the situation closely.

03/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The price on the Toyota Sequoia on yahoo auto's and the window sticker on the dealer lot was 15,999.00.
The sale price on the contract is #17,700.00.
On January X-XXXX I purchased a 2006 Toyota Sequoia VIN# 5TDZT38A76SXXXXXX from Zmax auto sales,1705 W. Division Street,Arlington,Texas XXXXX, (XXX) XXX-XXXX.I found the Sequoia on yahoo autos,it was listed at 15,999.The price of the Sequoia was also listed as $15,999.00 on the tag displayed on the Sequoia at Zmax.But on the contract it has $17,700.00 as the selling price.I should have looked over the contract more thoroughly,but it was the next day before I caught the $1,700.00 they added to the price of the Sequoia. On the extended warranty contract it has $16,000.00 as the selling price. On the contract they just added $1,700.00 t0 the selling price without anything listed on the contract for the reason why the increase. They make it look like the selling price $17,700.00 which is way over the book value.Because I made a down payment of $5,000.00, it brings the Sequoia way under book value,and the bank has no trouble financing it.I called **** Eachus the person who was the finance specialist for Zmax auto sales. **** told me the additional amount was for $700.00 in additional bank fees for financing the Sequoia, because my credit score was too low. **** said the additional $1,000.00 was for his fee for finding someone to finance the Sequoia.The auto was financed with Wells Fargo Bank.I called Wells Fargo Dealer Services to find out if there is any additional bank fee's. Wells Fargo told me that the interest on the loan is the only charges that the bank charges. I also talked to ****** ****** the person that sold me the Sequoia at Zmax auto. He told me that he knew about the fee's but it was **** Eachus the finance specialist that determined how much the fee's were. According to ****** the lower your credit score the higher the fees. Another thing to me I found odd was that I bought the Sequoia from Zmax auto sales. But almost all the documents show that I purchase the auto from *** ********* Hyundai at XXXXX LBJ Freeway South,Dallas Texas XXXXX,(XXX)XXX-XXXX.I called *** ********* Hyundai and talked to Luis Arteaga in finance and asked if there were any extra bank fees or other fees that is added when a person's credit score is not so good. Mr. Arteaga said there might be some small bank fees. I told him I had talked to the bank and was told that the bank charges no such fees. Mr. Arteaga then said it would depend on who is financing it. I then called back and talked to the general manager at *** ********* Hyundai,Mr. ****** ********.I ask him if they had any other smaller auto lots that they sold auto from. Mr ******** told me they did not. I then told him I had purchased a auto from Zmax auto sales but all the paper work including the contract had *** ********* Hyundai on it.Mr ******** said let me check and I call you right back.In less than five mins **** Eachus the finance specialist was calling me.It's seems odd to me that on Mr. **** Eachus card it says that he works for *** ********* Hyundai,but when you go to *** ********* web site he is not listed as working there.To me these people are running a scam,adding charges to the selling price without telling you anything. As long as the buyer doesn't catch it or if they don't catch it till the next day. It's money in somebody's pocket over the price of the sale.I would think a lot of people never know they been ripped off by these auto dealers.I think this scam only works with people making a large down payment. Without a large down payment the vehicle would be over the book value and would be hard to find anyone to finance a vehicle over book value. To me it's no different than the government prosecuting doctors and medical providers for charging for services that were never rendered.I have also filed a complaint with TXDMV enforcement division,dealer complaints. I hope I am able to help stop this scam from happening to someone else. ( Thank You For Your Help )

Desired Settlement
I would like to have back the $1,700.00 I was over charged on the Toyota Sequoia. It would be even better if criminal charges were made on all people involved it this type of scam practice. But I know that's never going to happen. I don't know if I am right but it used to be theft over $50.00 was a felony. These dealers commit felony's every day and nothing happens to them. You tell me who is the bigger criminal the person who steals $100.00 from walmart shoplifting and goes to prison,or the auto dealers who steal thousands from the poor guy who been saving up to put a down payment on a car only to have half of it stolen from him by the crooked dealer. Causing him to pay higher payments every month,because the dealer scammed him of out of part of his down payment. THANK YOU

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@mydallashyundai.com
February 2, 2015

Dear BBB,

Unfortunately, we had a lack of communication and some miscommunications regarding the sale of his 2006 Toyota Sequoia. Mr. ***** did find the vehicle listed for sale by another dealership. He was unable to obtain financing at this dealership for this vehicle and they were unable to complete the transaction. Bob Stallings Hyundai purchased this vehicle from ZMax, and we were able to complete the facilitation of the loan. Mr. ***** was unaware that we would have a different sales price than ZMax. At no time did Bob Stallings Hyundai list this vehicle on line for sale. The Retail Sales Price of the vehicle was clearly outlined on all agreements and sales orders. Our dealership did not sell Mr. ***** any sort of Extended Service Agreement or Warranty so we are unaware of what any terms or prices may be on any of those documents. The customer would need to contact whoever the seller of that product is, which we assume would be ZMax.

We are very sorry that this customer did not have a clear understanding of what he signed. As a result, we have clarified everything with Mr. Kohuk and offered to re-contract him on his purchase at a discounted rate in order to help make this right. Customer satisfaction is our utmost priority. We were in no way trying to deceive this customer and encourage anyone to read our Mission & Values statement available on our website. Mr. ***** has accepted our offer to re-contract and is a satisfied and happy customer of Bob Stallings Hyundai.

Sincerely,

******* E. ******
Vice President
Bob Stallings Hyundai


Consumer Response
****** ***** (Case# XXXXXXXX) I received your letter on Feb.XX-XXXX that was dated Feb X-XXXX.It,s hard to respond in five days when I didn't receive it till the eighth day.Bob Stallings Hyundai has not contacted me and offered to re-contract my purchase at a discounted rate, so how can I have accepted their offer.And I am not a happy customer of Bob Stallings Hyundai. This is what the reply in the complaint says from Bob Stallings Hyundai.I was contacted by **** ****** and was told that Bob Stallings had sent him to find out what it would take to satisfied me.I told him that returning the $1,700.00 dollars I was over charged would satisfied me. Mr. Eachus said that there was no way he could return the money,he said that the $1,700.00 was the price of doing business. Mr. Eachus said let me talk to Bob Stallings and see what he could do. Also Mr. Eachus wanted to make sure I didn't talk to anyone else or make any more complaints.Mr. Eachus called me back Feb 3 and ask if there was anything else beside giving back the $1,700.00 dollars that would satisfied me. I told him if he could get the bank to reducing the interest rate on the loan to allow me to save $1,700.00 from the interest paid on the term of the loan. Mr. Eachus was suppose to call me back on Feb X XXXX.I never heard from him again.I check my phone every day to make sure I didn,t miss his call,and there has been no calls from him or Bob Stallings Hyundai since Feb X XXXX.It says in Bob Stallings reply that they were in no way trying to deceive this customer.I think they deceived me and are trying to deceive the BBB by saying I have accepted their offer and is a satisfied customer of Bob Stallings Hyundai. I would like to know how this organized crime racket works.In Bob Stallings reply it says that Zmax auto sales was unable to find financing for the vehicle on a selling price of $15,999.00 minus the $5,000.00 I put down would have been $10,999.00. But Bob Stallings had no problems finding finance by selling the vehicle at $17,700.00. All the financing was done by the same person **** ******* It wasn't like Zmax auto sales had their own finance specialist who was unable to get financing, so they called in someone else. It was **** ****** the whole time during the finance. Then you come to the part that Bob Stallings says he bought the vehicle from Zmax and raised the price to $17,700.00 but no one thought it necessary to tell the customer that the price had just went up $1,700.00. To top it off he then talks about the service contract,if Bob Stallings bought the vehicle from Zmax auto why would Zmax be giving me a service contract on the vehicle. They do all of this and hope the customer dosn't catch it before signing the contract.This is the story they are saying now, but the orginal lies I was told was that $700.00 was for bank fees and $1,000.00 was the fee for **** ****** for finding finance. How does it make any sense that they could not find financing for $15,999.00 but could find financing for $17,700.00 on the same auto.Bob Stallings Hyundai and Zmax Auto not only deceive me but is trying to deceive the BBB also. I hope that the trust and faith that people have in the BBB is not failed by letting business practices by deception and flatout lies go uncorrected or dismissed. I would like to know something was done to keep the next customer from falling victim to Bob Stallings Hyundai or Zmax Auto. ****** *****

Final Business Response
We regret to say that after the last correspondence, we found that our employee had not communicated the facts with us. Our General Manager ****** ******** has called Mr. ***** and left several messages for him today and yesterday.

We sincerely apologize for mis-communicating in our last response. A portion of that response is still accurate but a portion, we have found is not. Being fair above reproach and having honesty in everything we do is paramount to our Mission Statement and core values. We unknowingly failed at giving the proper response on 2/2.

We stand by this portion of our 2/2/15 Response: "Unfortunately, we had a lack of communication and some miscommunications regarding the sale of his 2006 Toyota Sequoia. Mr. ***** did find the vehicle listed for sale by another dealership. He was unable to obtain financing at this dealership for this vehicle and they were unable to complete the transaction. Bob Stallings Hyundai purchased this vehicle from ZMax, and we were able to complete the facilitation of the loan. Mr. ***** was unaware that we would have a different sales price than ZMax. At no time did Bob Stallings Hyundai list this vehicle on line for sale. The Retail Sales Price of the vehicle was clearly outlined on all agreements and sales orders. Our dealership did not sell Mr. ***** any sort of Extended Service Agreement or Warranty so we are unaware of what any terms or prices may be on any of those documents. The customer would need to contact whoever the seller of that product is, which we assume would be ZMax. "

However, we have found upon further investigation that this statement is inaccurate: "...As a result, we have clarified everything with Mr. Kohuk and offered to re-contract him on his purchase at a discounted rate in order to help make this right....Mr. ***** has accepted our offer to re-contract and is a satisfied and happy customer of Bob Stallings Hyundai."

We can report to the BBB that as of today Mr. Eachus, the Sales and Finance Associate who worked with Mr. *****, is no longer with the company but we cannot disclose anything further regarding the separation. Mr. ********, our General Manager would love the ability to speak with Mr. ***** and discuss the refund options available.

****** ********- General Manager (XXX) XXX-XXXX

03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hyundai sells unsafe hi-end sedans contrasted w/ Lexus... Unsafe after 3 courteous attempts is clearly NOT # 1 per Bob Stallings & CORPORATE Hyundai
All four tires totally unsafe and, per Bob Stallings Hyundai in Dallas, TX AND California USA Hyundai Corporate office, too, safety and integrity are NOT #1 ... Lexus, though, for last 5 years based on our experience, for two G series sedan purchases, has been Very consistent. Safety is clearly not very important to Hyundai. BEWARE.

Desired Settlement
Four reasonably safe tires, NOT bald tires as was sold to us as acceptable. Again, be very careful with high-end Hyundai sedans... Quality is Very Very good, yet peripherals, to date, like tires for example, are HIGHLY inconsistent

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@mydallashyundai.com
The vehicle in question was certified on 8/23/2014. We performed all of the required tests to confirm that the car was a Certified Pre-Owned Hyundai. The tires were Rotated and Balanced and we completed the 4-wheel alignment on the vehicle. The tire tread was greater than 5/32nds which is the requirement for the vehicle to pass *** by Hyundai. The last correspondence that we are aware of was on 12/24/14 when Mr. **** communicated with Hyundai North America who also explained the situation to Mr. ****. We regret that Mr. **** is unhappy with his vehicle. However, unfortunately, wear and tear items, including tires after the sale of a CPO vehicle are out of our control. We wish very much that there is something we could do to make Mr. **** happy. Our best offer to remedy the situation is to invite Mr. **** to our Service Department where he will receive 10% OFF the purchase of 4 new tires w/ total tire replacement.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair and financing
This is my experience with the above referenced Hyundai dealer:
We found a car that we wanted to purchase and began working with the Director of Sales Operations on our loan. Once it was approved and the terms of the loan were to our satisfaction, we asked if we could take the loan docs to an attorney before signing them. We did (of course, we paid the attny's fees). In the interim, a leak had been found on the car that we had decided to purchase (of course, we paid for the mechanic to do the inspection), so we insisted that the leak be fixed and that the car be inspected afterward by a mechanic of our choosing. We were refused. We would have to sign the loan paperwork and take possession of the vehicle BEFORE repairs would be done to the car. We said we could not do this, unless we could be given written assurance that the car would be repaired after signing loan docs and then inspected to make sure that it was repaired properly. They SAID they could do this, but when it came down to it we couldn't seem to get the written agreement.

Finally, when push came to shove, we received a TEXT MESSAGE (they couldn't even have the professionalism to call us) that we were not the kind of customer they wanted to do business with, we were too much of a liability, and that they hope we had good luck in finding a car. Can you imagine? They actually expected us to acquiesce to buying a car that was not in working order without requiring any accountability of them?!!! Amazing!

We were floored by such un-professionalism! We called the Senior VP and General Manager and apprised him of the situation. He simply thanked us for our comments and opinions and wished us luck with our car shopping.

If this is the kind of service that Hyundai stands behind, I am disappointed and astounded. I will make sure that EVERYONE I know hears about this experience and I will post bad reviews on every venue I can find regarding it. I will also take my 'comments and opinions' to the Better Business Bureau to add emphasis to how unacceptable this is.

Desired Settlement
At this point, I would like the car repaired, inspected to my satisfaction, and a significant amount deducted from the sale price for all the hassle they have put me through.

Business Response
Greetings:
I guess you can say no good deed goes unpunished. Bob Stallings Hyundai was going to buy a vehicle from a reputable wholesaler and sell it to Mr. ******. After closer inspection, a defect was found and the wholesaler refused to make repairs. We decided not to buy the vehicle rather then sell a defective truck. How is that a disservice? We won't sell a vehicle with known defects. Period. We have not sold this customer anything and they are not out one penny.
I firmly believe we did the right thing by not selling a substandard product.

Kevin J. Coffey
Sr. VP and GM
Bob Stallings Hyundai

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.