BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Audi Plano

Phone: (214) 452-3800Fax: (214) 576-1927View Additional Phone Numbers5930 W Plano Pkwy, PlanoTX 75093-4638http://www.audiplanotexas.comView Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Audi Plano is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Audi Plano

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Replaced Pressure regulator Value and few other components.Now resulted in additional damage due to new PRV blowing causing Rear main seal damage

Year 2012, Around : 45000 Miles, Oil Consumption issue was detected in my vehicle. Audi Plano replaced the Pressure Regulator Value and Few other components to fix the issue.Now at around 63,500Miles,Year 2014, that PRV blowed out and inturn causing damage to Rear Main Seal. My vehicle is currently in North Carolina and Audi Cary Dealer provided an estimate of roughly $2600 to fix the same. Audi Cary mentioned that this is has never occured before and my complaint with Audi Plano is that either the PRV part fitted in my vehicle has manufacturing defect or was not installed properly. I am filling this complaint to claim the service charge Audi Cary is asking for doing the same work again.

Desired Settlement
Year 2012, Around : 45000 Miles, Oil Consumption issue was detected in my vehicle. Audi Plano replaced the Pressure Regulator Value and Few other components to fix the issue.Now at around 63,500Miles,Year 2014, that PRV blowed out and inturn causing damage to Rear Main Seal. My vehicle is currently in North Carolina and Audi Cary Dealer provided an estimate of roughly $2600 to fix the same. Audi Cary mentioned that this is has never occured before and my complaint with Audi Plano is that either the PRV part fitted in my vehicle has manufacturing defect or was not installed properly. I am filling this complaint to claim the service charge Audi Cary is asking for doing the same work again.

Business Response
The vehicle in question appears to be a 2009 Audi A4 with a VIN ending in AXXXXXX. Our records indicate this vehicle was brought in for multiple issues on March 14, 2012 with 41,102 miles. The service concern referenced in the BBB document was that an oil consumption issue was detected in the referenced vehicle during the service. In reality the vehicle was brought to the service department with a complaint of the oil light continuously coming on. After a visual inspection of the vehicle, it was determined there was no visible oil leaks. Subsequently we performed an Audi issued technical service bulletin or TSB for this type of complaint/condition. The Audi TSB was #XXXXXXX/2 which involved replacing the crankcase valve and seal. This is the only physical work completed to address his particular concern. The car was brought into the dealership several more time for other concerns and conditions, but the oil level light was never one of them. All the repairs that were performed by Boardwalk Audi were covered under the manufactures warranty. We recommend that the client contact Audi of America through the current servicing dealer to seek their assistance. The TSB performed on this vehicle was a known issue at the time of the repair and the current dealer should be able to verify that fact with their local or regional Audi of America aftersales representative

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I agree with Audi Plano about the Oil Consumption issue and in March2012 they replaced the crankcase valve and Pressure regulator Valve (Verified records of this changed from Audi Cary based on my previous service records). As per Audi the Part warranty after replacement is 12Months but I don't think it specifies how many miles the part would be under warranty. This time the Pressure Regulator Valve that was replaced by Audi Plano was damaged again and in turn it damaged Rear main Seal which caused the Oil Leak - This can be verified with Audi Cary that Incorrect Damaging of Pressure Regulator Valve(PRV) resulted in all other issues in the vehicle this time. Audi Cary has also mentioned that this is a very rare thing to happen i.e. Damaging of PRV causing damage to Rear Main Seal. My whole argument is, a Audi Dealership or Audi America Part as crucial as PRV shouldn't just last for 22000Miles/2Years once replaced and even if it is damaged it shouldn't damage another parts in the car and as this was a rare incident of way PRV got damaged this is suppose to be a part manufacturing or incorrect fitting defect else every person who replaces this would have had the same issue that currently i am facing i.e. PRV damage causing damaging to Rear Mail seal and resulting in oil Leak.. I would recommend AUDI PLANO to contact AUDI CARY to verify what I am saying is true about PRV damaging Rear Main Seal and being very rare incident.This is a Part defect as it is a rare incident and I would recommend Audi Plano having discussion with Audi America if required to pay for the repairs as the last dealer who replaced the part was Audi Plano.. My vehicle is still in service with Audi Cary for this issue and they can discuss with them regarding the repair cost and other details.

Thank You.

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Maintained the vehicle service requirements, car engine need repairs because oil loss, lack of response for copies of lease & service information.
Leased vehicle - 2011 Audi A4 - Nov 2010. I co-signed to help my granddaughter. She was making all the payments and kept up with the regular maintenance covered under the warranty to include oil changes. Car required visits for adding oil about every 1,000 miles.

When she went to leave for work one day (Aug. 2013) the car wouldn't start. Paid to have the vehicle towed (from Sherman to Audi in Plano) and was advised the head had blown in the engine - $7-8,000 for repair.

Aug. 16, 2013, she and her mother went for face to face meeting at the dealership and were informed they would see what we could do to help as the car was no longer under warranty and the repairs would be quite expensive.

We explained that that the lease had not been anything like was represented at the start. During out meeting at Audi we were told they had hear that a lot with regards to the previous owners. (Warranty was to be for entire length of the lease - bumper to bumper) We also explained that she had been paying on the car Nov. 2010 - Aug. 2013 at 480 a month = $14,400.

When we requested copies of the lease and service tickets, we were told they didn't have them. The dealership had changed hands. We continued to follow up by phone and email. We were advised that they didn't have any of that information.

After numerous emails and phone calls, we finally received an estimate Sept. 6, 2013.

The estimate for paying off the lease, acquiring a new vehicle 2013 Audi A4 and rolling over the repair costs into the vehicle to the tune of 49,235.25 was the best they could do.

Although the vehicle is not in our possession, we have, in good faith continued to make payments.

I received through the mail some information about a class action lawsuit with this type of vehicle, loss of oil and requiring oil every 1,000 or so. Although I didn't purchase the vehicle, I do feel that I should receive something back from Audi in good faith. This poor handling of the situation has resulted in me being out a ton of money, no car and no way to afford another one. HELP! HELP! HELP!

Desired Settlement
Release from the original lien and no charge for the repairs and no dings to credit.

Business Response
Below is the timeline of events and our response to the complaint we received.

Please note that on Oct. 5th 2012 when the car was brought to us the maintenance and recommended services were DECLINED. On August 5th 2012 and with almost 20,000 more miles on the car it was towed to Audi Plano. The service department recommended an engine replacement. The owner again DECLINED. Our Sales Manager attempted to assist the owner by having her trade in her car in service and lease or purchase a different Audi. That offer was declined. Finally the service department asked the owner to provide proof of the claimed services done at 55,000 (declined at Audi Plano) 65,000 and 75,000 thousand mile recommended maintenances. The thought was with proof of those services we could ask Audi of America if they were willing to assist financially with the repair. No proof was provided for 55,65 or 75 thousand mile services.

The resolution that client is requesting could only come from Audi of America. Audi Plano attempted to assist the owner in every way possible to have the car repaired or replaced. The driver never provided the requested proof of services after the 45,000 mile service was performed here at Audi Plano. All other attempts to assist were declined by the owner/driver.



8/12/10 @ 10 miles, we performed PDI work
1/19/11 @ 7,745 miles, customer brought in for 5K service paid for by Audi.
4/20/11 @ 12,385 miles, customer brought in for 15K service covered under Audi Care and one complaint of the trunk not opening which was set to valet mode.
6/30/11 @ 15,516 miles, customer brought in car again for 15K service which we did not do because it was already completed.
12/27/11 @ 26,877 miles, customer brought in for 25K service covered under Audi Care.
5/3/12 @ 37,147 miles, customer brought in for 35K service covered under Audi Care and a tire pressure light on. We recommended 4 new tires due to wear but she declined the work.
7/2/12 @ 47,255 miles, customer brought in for 45K service covered under Audi Care (final one covered), check engine light on, 2 year brake flush covered under Audi Care, tire pressure light on, and electrical outlet in center console loose. The check engine light was on. The tire pressure light was due to low tire pressures but it was noted by the tech that all four tires were different and he recommended replacements again which was declined again. The center console outlet had to be ordered from Audi at the time but I do not see that brought the car back to have the part installed according to our history.
8/18/12 @ 52,493 miles, customer brought in for a brake check and both front power outlets not working. The brakes checked out good at 7mm thickness front and rear and the power outlets not working was a fuse that had blown. We replaced the fuse at no charge.
10/25/12 @ 58,954 miles, customer brought for 55K service and the center console electrical outlet loose again. She declined all the work because the car was now out of warranty and no longer covered under Audi Care.
8/5/13 @ 78,120 miles, customer has car towed in for a check engine light on and the car not starting. It was determined that the car needed an engine and a quote was given to the customer and declined.

We attempted to assist the owner multiple times and multiple times our efforts were declined.

Thank you,
********* **********
General Manager
Audi Plano
214.452.3800

05/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gap insurance and Service contract cancelation refund not received.
On 9/30/14, I personaly visited Audi of Plano and spoke with Mr. *********** **** to cancel the extended service contract and gap insurance for a recent 2014 AUDI A4 purchase made the month before. We completed and signed all the necesary documentation for the cancelation and Mr. **** advised me that I should received my refund within 8 to 10 week from that date. Around the end of December 2014, I called Mr. **** and left several messages inquiring about the status of my refund without a responce. At that time, I decided to contact the corporate offices known as Audi America at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, to try to get a resolution to this matter. I spoke with someone named **** from Audi America and he worked my case for a few weeks. He was able to get Mr. **** to contact me within a few weeks. When Mr. **** contacted me in January 2015, he asked me to resubmit a copy of the documentation that we signed back in September 2014 once again because he could not find my information due to a computer system upgraded. Mr. **** said that he will expedite the process and should receive refund within a few weeks. I did submitted the requested docuemntation once again and unfortunatelly, I did not received my refund as pomised. Around February 2015, I decided to contact Audi America one more time for assistance. Since then, I have been assisted by a lady named Rochelle with same results. Rochelle has been very helpful, she submitted messages to the dealer as well as talking to Mr. Hong about my situation. The last information received from Rochelle on 04/06/15, was that the dealership dropped the ball again and she was going to try to engage additional resources for a resoulution. It's been 6 months since I signed the proper documentation to cancel those services and I have not received my money back. This refund is overdue and I think that it is time for someone to step up and handle this situation appropiately.

Desired Settlement
I want to received my refund as soon as possible and with the correct amount.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/2004Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Corstiaan Westerhuis (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Ken Ambrose (Senior Vice President)Ms. Belinda Cox Mr. Brian Ongaro
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Boardwalk Audi, Boardwalk Automobiles, LLC, Boardwalk Auto Group, LLC
Industry Tips
Used Cars Sold As-Is
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5930 W Plano Pkwy 

    Plano, TX 75093-4638(214) 452-3800
    (214) 576-4001
    (214) 576-1982
    Fax: (214) 576-1927

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Audi Plano is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 576-4001
  • (214) 576-1982
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.boardwalkaudi.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars Sold As-Is
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.