BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2009

Spoiler Express

Phone: (214) 762-8715Fax: (866) 230-00469814 Highland Prairie Ln, ForneyTX 75126-9569 Send email to Spoiler Express

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2009

BBB has determined that Spoiler Express meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Spoiler Express' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Spoiler purchased 5 years ago, clear coat blistering and coming off
The spoiler was purchased in October 2009 on order no. XXXXXXX. In October 2014 I noticed blisters appearing on the spoiler. The paint on the car is fine, just the spoiler is blistering. I contacted Spoiler Express after looking at their website, which states: All Spoiler Express products are warranted to be free of defects in material and workmanship for the life of the spoiler. We are very confident that you will be completely satisfied that we stand behind our spoilers with a three year warranty against defects in the paint and a one year warranty of the light on a lighted spoiler. This warranty covers products that are properly installed. This warranty shall be void if product failure is due to misuse, abuse, neglect, accident, improper installation, acts of God, or war.

The response I got back from them said that there is only a 3-year warranty on paint. To me, paint qualifies as "materials" used to make the spoiler. I think that 5 years is too short a time for their materials and workmanship to fail. My car is garage-kept when I am not at work, and the rest of the car is fine.

Desired Settlement
I think Spoiler Express should replace the spoiler due to the poor quality of paint resulting in blistering.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@******************
We do specify specifically that there is a three year warranty on paint. To help out the customer, I would be willing to sell her another painted spoiler at a discount.

07/31/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a spolier from this company that I never received. I called them and they wont refund me because fed ex wont refund them
I ordered a spoiler from spoilerexpress.com on 5/12/2013 for $159.00. I received a email on May 16, 2013 stating it was delivered. I contacted Fed Ex that day to let them know that I have not received the package. On May 20 I had filed a despite for a lost package, on June 5 the package was considered lost and I filed a claim with Fed Ex. The Fed Ex driver came to my house and I told him that the package was not delivered here. Fed Ex denied my claim because the shipper ( spoiler express) did not require a signature. Everytime I call fed ex they tell me to call Spoiler Express and Spoiler Express tells me to call fed ex. I feel Spoiler Express should refund me because I paid them for the spoiler.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the amount I paid them for the spoiler I did not receive.

Business' Initial Response
We shipped the spoiler to our customer and it was delivered by Fedex. We were notified by the customer that it was not received and we had Fedex trace the package. The driver actually went back to the home of ****** *********** and spoke with her. He delivered it to the correct address therefore we can only assume that it was received or someone took it off her front porch. Either case, it was delivered to her address as promised. We, did offer to send another spoiler while we were processing the claim with Fedex and she said that she already had another spoiler from someone else so we did not need to send her one. But, with that said. Currently, the money has been fully refunded.

10/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item sold not as describe
I ordered a spoiler for my g37 coupe spoiler express takes good pictures for the item they sell its all fake I receive the spoiler on 6/7/13 I was happy at first it came painted and it match the color of my car satisfied with that I proceeded to installed the spoiler but it did not match up the camera hole was way to big so it left gaps around it then there was no mounting brackets for the camera so the spoiler was useless there's no way to drill on the spoiler it will end up ruined basically I was sold an item that is not complete misrepresenting.

Desired Settlement
After emailing 2-3 times with no response I had to call spoke with reception 2-3 times asking to speak with owner still he never returned a call so finally I called again and was able to speak with owner told him my issue with the defective item he proceeded to tell me how I should find ways to fix the spoiler he did not want me to return the item I explains I was not happy and did not want the defective spoiler. They receive the item so I called to inquire about my refund never receive a call I was avoided until I called my credit card company and it explained the situation so on 6/25/13 I was issued a refund from spoiler express that was partial for 127.20 they charge me a 20% restocking fee for a defective and misrepresenting item I feel I was lied and taken advantage off I believe this is there way of business theft charging restocking fees for fake and defective items that a consumer has no way of knowing until item is receive.

Business Response
In his personal opinion he did not like the design of it. The square for the camera hole in the spoiler is made so that it does not interfere with the camera on the car. We have sold many of this spoiler to dealers and individuals across the country and they have been very happy and satisfied with the product. I explained how it works and gave him a few ideas to what he could do to make it more to his liking but this is a very good spoiler as it is. The spoiler is not defective in any way.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The spoiler that they are selling does not come close to an oem part it's a joke that upon me calling company and describing my concerns with the product that is not as describe the owner proceeds to give me ideas on how to modify his fake product he sells as a consumer I shouldn't have to make any changes to their spoiler that its sold as an a accessory. So this company scheme is very good so it can line their pockets they sell you a product that doesn't work or really won't fit or look good so when you call and complain about your item they want you to return it then they ripe you off and charge you a 20% fee when they know that the product is difficult to install when it's incomplete and faulty owner is 100% deceiving and his service was very poor I email and called several times he never responded I had to call my credit card company to deal with this unprofessional company and if he really believe in his product as he describing he wouldn't have any problems on his spoiler being return but he tried his best on telling me how to deal with his fake item. Basically he's a thief that keeps 20% of your money selling incomplete and usable product. Believe me this is a terrible company don't buy from them and as for his fake website don't fall for those fake happy customer reviews I'm sure he sits on his *** coming up with his own fake product review. If he's selling a good product then I should have receive my money in full not less 20% for deceptive sell tactics on spoiler express.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles, Auto Customizing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/04/2007Business started: 10/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Travis Ruzicka (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles, Auto Customizing

Products & Services

Sales of car spoilers and other auto accessories

Alternate Business Names
Accent Spoilers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Spoiler Express

9814 Highland Prairie Ln

Forney, TX 75126-9569

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9814 Highland Prairie Ln 

    Forney, TX 75126-9569(214) 762-8715

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Spoiler Express is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.