BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1992

Texas Body Works, Inc.

Phone: (972) 250-6722Fax: (972) 250-67592415 Midway Rd Ste 111, CarrolltonTX 75006-2593 Send email to Texas Body Works, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1992

BBB has determined that Texas Body Works, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Texas Body Works, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Texas Body Works, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete Job.
May 28 I dropped my car off. I was told i would be without my car for a week.I reserved a rental car from May 28- June 6.The day before my rental was due I called Texas Body Works and ***** answered. She told me they were putting my car back together and next week its getting painted. So, reserved my rental another week. The following Thursday rolls around & I still havent heard from Texas Body Works so I call them. Donna answered and I inquire about my car she tells me next week its going to get painted and should be ready early in the week. So I reserved my rental another week. The following Tuesday I call and she tells me my car is about to be painted. I said "You have said that to me the past 3 times Ive called." She said "Were busy". The next day I have a voice mail from ****** telling me my car is done and that he is going to drive my car to make sure there are no problems before I come pick it up. I take my rental back go pick up my car. I paid $3000 cash. My car looked good they detailed my car. I have a wind noise from my passenger mirror. The mirror is half on half off. The seal on the 2 passenger doors I had replaced is loose. The grill on the front of my car looked like it was about to fall off, but I pushed it back into place. Heres the email I sent ****** July 2.
Hi *******
Im sorry i have to email vs calling however the hours your open vs the hours I work makes it very difficult for me to have a detailed conversation about my car. Last week I picked up my 2009 Camry in which you replaced my right side front and back door panels. I noticed my passenger mirror is not on properly which is causing alot of wind noise. The stripping between the window and the door panel on both doors is loose fitting, and Im not so sure my windshield is sealed or even on properly. I was under the impression you drove my car, obviously to validate the job done to my car.
******* if I have to leave my car with you again...I hope you will give me a loaner to drive. I only say that because I just spent $668.98, out of pocket, on a rental for the 3 weeks you had my car. I paid you $3000 cash for the job done to my car. Please advise.
Its been 4 days and I have not heard anything from him. I know when i emailed him about having work done on my car he responded back the next day.
Since he test drove my car he had to of heard the wind noise. He still gave my car back to me as if there was nothing wrong.He had my car 3 weeks, there is no excuse for this job not being completed.

Desired Settlement
Either finish the job i paid for & provide me with a car while you have my car OR Ill settle for $668.98 for the rental car I had 3 weeks & 5 days while not completing the job on my car.

Business Response
August 12, 2014
******** ********
Better Business Bureau
1601 Elm Street Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201
RE: Case#********: **** *****
AUG f 4 2014
This complaint was a total surprise. Until ******* ****** called my office
On Friday August 8, I was unaware it existed. After talking with Mr. ******* it
became clear that the *** had incorrect email information for Texas Body Works.
As a result no notice of dispute was ever received.
In any case, the same week that Ms. ***** filed the complaint, 7/11-7/14, she
came by the shop and we were able to resolve to her satisfaction the issues put
forth in the complaint.
Sincerely,
******* ******
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is shady. Regardless of the reason upon receiving the complaint, you received the complaint FRIDAY AUG 8.On THURSDAY August 14, 2014 is when you responded. If this was such a surprise then why wait 4 business days to respond? I filed my complaint 07/07.I spoke to you 07/10 in which you told me you would get back to me ASAP.I did not hear from you until 07/15 & i brought my car to you 07/16.When i dropped my car off 07/16 you informed me that you were deaf in your rt ear so when you drove my car you couldn't hear the noise that was coming from the rt which was the side you repaired.Surely I am not the first to have the right side repaired by you along with that if you truly are deaf in your rt ear then why did you not have someone else test drive my car like you did after i dropped it back off for you to fix when you told me about your handicap? Aside from that just looking at the repair you couldn't miss how the passenger mirror was not inserted correctly.NO CAR HAS A PASSENGER MIRROR HALFWAY STICKING OUT FROM THE SEAL & HALFWAY IN THE SEAL.After bringing my car back to you so you could correct your wrongs. My original complaints the seal strips on both passenger front & back doors and the passenger mirror were not fixed. You attempted to correct the passenger mirror how ever I still heard wind and it wasn't sealed properly. I took my car to ****** in which I paid $125.00 to have the mirror installed correctly. No more wind noise & it wasn't a hassle. I should've had ****** repair my car in the first place. It wouldn't have taken 3 weeks to replace and paint my passenger front & back door panels & I wouldn't of had to pay $668.98 for a rental car or $125 to have someone else fix what I already paid you $3000 for.

08/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When walking through the door, the business has multiple BBB awards fixed on his main entry way, how he received these awards after receiving the customer service that I did, is beyond me. I needed to replace a bumper that I personally bought with the bumper that was currently already on my vehicle. I was quoted $60.00.Whenever I went to go pick up my car, the bill came out to nearly $300 (est.)! The shop owner said because it took longer than expected and not as easy as he thought was the reasoning for the increase. He stated he could have called to let me know of a price increase, but he just "assumed" that I knew because of the longer turn around time. I feel this is bad business and felt the need to report my experience.

Desired Settlement
I ended up paying the full amount because I needed to get my truck back so that I had a vehicle. I would like a refund of the difference of what I was quoted and what I actually paid because I was never notified of the pricing increase and did not sign a letter of authorization.

Business' Initial Response
Case# XXXXXXXX JM
June 2013
Secretary for JM called Texas Body Works wanting an estimate to replace a
bumper that JM had already purchased. We requested the vehicle be brought by
for a better assessment, but JM's secretary pressed for a quote over the phone.
Information on the vehicle was entered into out computer for year, make and
model. An estimate of 63.00 was given to remove and install new bumper.
No information was given by JM's secretary disclosing the extent of the front end
damage. Once the vehicle arrived, it was obvious that the front end was crushed.
JM was called and asked to come by and review the damage to the brackets that
were mangled and needed to be replaced, so that the bumper could be installed
properly.
He did and was given a price for the exact replacement parts on his vehicle, an
additional $793.69. He did not want to spend that much, so JM asked if we could
find less expensive brackets. We did and quoted and additional $418.22.
JM told us that he would rather we (/bang" out the brackets, so that the bumper
could be installed.
The brackets were heated and straighten, and shaped for the additional $260.00
as requested.
We are mindful of today's economy and strive to keep the cost of everyone's
repairs fair and reasonable. In this case we went from a professionally recommended repair of $856.69 to an average repair of$ 481.22, to what the customer requested of $325.83. JM was given all the options up front and we did
what the customer asked us to do.
Sincerely
******* ******
President
Texas Body Works

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Paintless Dent Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/22/1992Business started: 11/01/1987
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell Prince (President)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Paintless Dent Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Texas Body Works, Inc.

2415 Midway Rd Ste 111

Carrollton, TX 75006-2593

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2415 Midway Rd Ste 111 

    Carrollton, TX 75006-2593(972) 250-6722

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Texas Body Works, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.