BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1992

Texas Body Works, Inc.

Phone: (972) 250-6722Fax: (972) 250-6759

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete Job.
May 28 I dropped my car off. I was told i would be without my car for a week.I reserved a rental car from May 28- June 6.The day before my rental was due I called Texas Body Works and ***** answered. She told me they were putting my car back together and next week its getting painted. So, reserved my rental another week. The following Thursday rolls around & I still havent heard from Texas Body Works so I call them. Donna answered and I inquire about my car she tells me next week its going to get painted and should be ready early in the week. So I reserved my rental another week. The following Tuesday I call and she tells me my car is about to be painted. I said "You have said that to me the past 3 times Ive called." She said "Were busy". The next day I have a voice mail from ****** telling me my car is done and that he is going to drive my car to make sure there are no problems before I come pick it up. I take my rental back go pick up my car. I paid $3000 cash. My car looked good they detailed my car. I have a wind noise from my passenger mirror. The mirror is half on half off. The seal on the 2 passenger doors I had replaced is loose. The grill on the front of my car looked like it was about to fall off, but I pushed it back into place. Heres the email I sent ****** July 2.
Hi *******
Im sorry i have to email vs calling however the hours your open vs the hours I work makes it very difficult for me to have a detailed conversation about my car. Last week I picked up my 2009 Camry in which you replaced my right side front and back door panels. I noticed my passenger mirror is not on properly which is causing alot of wind noise. The stripping between the window and the door panel on both doors is loose fitting, and Im not so sure my windshield is sealed or even on properly. I was under the impression you drove my car, obviously to validate the job done to my car.
******* if I have to leave my car with you again...I hope you will give me a loaner to drive. I only say that because I just spent $668.98, out of pocket, on a rental for the 3 weeks you had my car. I paid you $3000 cash for the job done to my car. Please advise.
Its been 4 days and I have not heard anything from him. I know when i emailed him about having work done on my car he responded back the next day.
Since he test drove my car he had to of heard the wind noise. He still gave my car back to me as if there was nothing wrong.He had my car 3 weeks, there is no excuse for this job not being completed.

Desired Settlement
Either finish the job i paid for & provide me with a car while you have my car OR Ill settle for $668.98 for the rental car I had 3 weeks & 5 days while not completing the job on my car.

Business Response
August 12, 2014
******** ********
Better Business Bureau
1601 Elm Street Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201
RE: Case#********: **** *****
AUG f 4 2014
This complaint was a total surprise. Until ******* ****** called my office
On Friday August 8, I was unaware it existed. After talking with Mr. ******* it
became clear that the *** had incorrect email information for Texas Body Works.
As a result no notice of dispute was ever received.
In any case, the same week that Ms. ***** filed the complaint, 7/11-7/14, she
came by the shop and we were able to resolve to her satisfaction the issues put
forth in the complaint.
Sincerely,
******* ******
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is shady. Regardless of the reason upon receiving the complaint, you received the complaint FRIDAY AUG 8.On THURSDAY August 14, 2014 is when you responded. If this was such a surprise then why wait 4 business days to respond? I filed my complaint 07/07.I spoke to you 07/10 in which you told me you would get back to me ASAP.I did not hear from you until 07/15 & i brought my car to you 07/16.When i dropped my car off 07/16 you informed me that you were deaf in your rt ear so when you drove my car you couldn't hear the noise that was coming from the rt which was the side you repaired.Surely I am not the first to have the right side repaired by you along with that if you truly are deaf in your rt ear then why did you not have someone else test drive my car like you did after i dropped it back off for you to fix when you told me about your handicap? Aside from that just looking at the repair you couldn't miss how the passenger mirror was not inserted correctly.NO CAR HAS A PASSENGER MIRROR HALFWAY STICKING OUT FROM THE SEAL & HALFWAY IN THE SEAL.After bringing my car back to you so you could correct your wrongs. My original complaints the seal strips on both passenger front & back doors and the passenger mirror were not fixed. You attempted to correct the passenger mirror how ever I still heard wind and it wasn't sealed properly. I took my car to ****** in which I paid $125.00 to have the mirror installed correctly. No more wind noise & it wasn't a hassle. I should've had ****** repair my car in the first place. It wouldn't have taken 3 weeks to replace and paint my passenger front & back door panels & I wouldn't of had to pay $668.98 for a rental car or $125 to have someone else fix what I already paid you $3000 for.

08/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When walking through the door, the business has multiple BBB awards fixed on his main entry way, how he received these awards after receiving the customer service that I did, is beyond me. I needed to replace a bumper that I personally bought with the bumper that was currently already on my vehicle. I was quoted $60.00.Whenever I went to go pick up my car, the bill came out to nearly $300 (est.)! The shop owner said because it took longer than expected and not as easy as he thought was the reasoning for the increase. He stated he could have called to let me know of a price increase, but he just "assumed" that I knew because of the longer turn around time. I feel this is bad business and felt the need to report my experience.

Desired Settlement
I ended up paying the full amount because I needed to get my truck back so that I had a vehicle. I would like a refund of the difference of what I was quoted and what I actually paid because I was never notified of the pricing increase and did not sign a letter of authorization.

Business' Initial Response
Case# XXXXXXXX JM
June 2013
Secretary for JM called Texas Body Works wanting an estimate to replace a
bumper that JM had already purchased. We requested the vehicle be brought by
for a better assessment, but JM's secretary pressed for a quote over the phone.
Information on the vehicle was entered into out computer for year, make and
model. An estimate of 63.00 was given to remove and install new bumper.
No information was given by JM's secretary disclosing the extent of the front end
damage. Once the vehicle arrived, it was obvious that the front end was crushed.
JM was called and asked to come by and review the damage to the brackets that
were mangled and needed to be replaced, so that the bumper could be installed
properly.
He did and was given a price for the exact replacement parts on his vehicle, an
additional $793.69. He did not want to spend that much, so JM asked if we could
find less expensive brackets. We did and quoted and additional $418.22.
JM told us that he would rather we (/bang" out the brackets, so that the bumper
could be installed.
The brackets were heated and straighten, and shaped for the additional $260.00
as requested.
We are mindful of today's economy and strive to keep the cost of everyone's
repairs fair and reasonable. In this case we went from a professionally recommended repair of $856.69 to an average repair of$ 481.22, to what the customer requested of $325.83. JM was given all the options up front and we did
what the customer asked us to do.
Sincerely
******* ******
President
Texas Body Works

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Paintless Dent Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.