BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Park Place Bodywerks

Phone: (214) 443-8250Fax: (214) 443-82563316 Atwell St, DallasTX 75235-7102http://www.parkplacetexas.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Park Place Bodywerks is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Park Place Bodywerks' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Park Place Bodywerks

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A claim that originally was estimated about $1,600.00, escalated to $11,387.69 causing my premium to escalate enormously. Signatures was forged no POA
I was driving about 30 mph when I noticed an object on the street that may have caused bodily injury if hit, so I turned slightly to the left which caused me to hit the curb. I drove the car home and had it towed the next day 12/31/12 to Park Place Body Werks. The damages were initially estimated at about $1,600.00 the ending total came up to $11,387.69. I received 4 pages of itemized parts and labor and Allstate my insurance carrier received 10 pages of itemized details. I believe this is a fraudulent claim as well I believe Allstate and Park Place Body Werks worked in conspiracy on this claim. There was no power of attorney in place and Park Place Body Werks forged I and my husbands' name on a check in the amount of $7,909.75. I was always referred to contact Allstate when I called the service advisor James Tennyson on this claim leading me to believe he didn't want to be involved with what was going on. I've done business with them in the past on several occasions and the service advisor walked me through every step until the repairs were completed. The Allstate representative Fernando Meneses had a thick accent and was very hard to understand, so I asked to speak to someone else to ensure I was comprehending what I was being told. He always told me that he was the only one I could speak to as this claim was assigned to him. I later found out by calling the Allstate 800 number there was a team of representatives assigned to this claim due to the nature of the claim. After calling the 800 fraud line and leaving a message a call was returned to me from Shawn Hill who stated he was the supervisor and that he actually was present with Fernando Meneses at the initial evaluation of my car, and they estimated about $1,600.00 in damages. Mr. Hill also took the position of defense for his employee which leads me to believe that someone or several people received a kickback on this claim. I believe that to be closer to the truth than $11,387.69 in damages. I believe the repair shop and Allstate worked in conspiracy on this claim. I could even understand a few hundred dollars increase and I know for sure if I forge the name on a check I will be charged for a felony due to the amount of the check, and the names were not even spelled correctly on the forging. I submitted a complaint to the Insurance Commission for the state of Texas on 06/24/13. They are supposed to be investigating, however, they are delaying in time, and I cannot get an affordable rate on insurance. The premiums are literally taking me to the poor house. I don't have far to go I'm disabled, on a fixed income, and being taken advantage of because I'm an individual up against a large company with minimal weapons to fight with. If this claim was legitimate I would have the same 10 pages of itemization as Allstate instead of the mere 4 pages of false parts and repairs I was given from Body Works. Please investigate this claim to stop Park Place Body Werks and the insurance companies from practicing unlawful acts and hold them accountable just as society does the little man. And maybe this won't happen to the next person. While submitting this complaint I received a phone call from Sgt. Vilk with the Insurance Commission and she stated that the authorization has fine print included to give Park Place Body Werks permission to endorse my name on the check. Thanking you in advance for your attention concerning this matter. God Bless.

Desired Settlement
I would like the fine print to be regular print alleviating the deception. I would also like the itemized invoices to be reviewed to determine why there is such a big difference in the original estimate as opposed to the ending figure. If some light is shed on this claim maybe the Insurance company and the Body Shop will be hesitant on scamming the consumer.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Eric McKenzie, Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@parkplace.com
As Ms. ******* mentioned at the end of her complaint, our repair authorization that she signed, does in fact include a power of attorney allowing us to endorse any insurance checks that arrive for that specific repair. We have not had any complaints in the past about endorsing checks, since the POA is plainly written and explained above the area where our clients sign for their authorization to repair. As far as us working with Allstate to run up the repair, that is simply not true. If anything, we usually have to work harder to get Allstate or any other insurer to pay for everything needed to properly repair all the damages related to each claim that we handle. This is not unusual for our industry since any insurance company will typically seek to minimize its expenses related to each claim. Conversely, since we are a certified collision center for Mercedes-Benz as well as 9 other manufacturers, we diligently work to repair every vehicle per those manufacturer guidelines so that each of our repairs bring the vehicle back to original factory specifications. As far as the specific repairs to Ms. *******'s vehicle, there was a significant amount of hidden damage including suspension, wheels and tires and structure damage which included buckles in the roof. It is typical in these sorts of claims for the insurance company to only write what they can see before the vehicle is disassembled and the repair facility discovers any hidden damage which in this case and those similar to it was a lot. We do show where Ms. ******* received a copy of the final repair invoice and she should have received a final copy of the insurance estimate from Allstate. If there is any additional paperwork she feels she is missing we would gladly provide that.

10/03/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/20/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/07/1994Business started: 11/01/1987
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric McKenzie (Bodyshop Director)Customer Contact: Mr. Rob Sumner (Marketing Director)
Related Businesses
Park Place Motorcars - 6113 Lemmon Ave, Dallas, TX
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Park Place Bodywerks

3316 Atwell St

Dallas, TX 75235-7102

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3316 Atwell St 

    Dallas, TX 75235-7102(214) 443-8250

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Park Place Bodywerks is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.