BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Body Works

Phone: (972) 221-4355Fax: (972) 436-4328420 S Mill St, LewisvilleTX 75057-3948 Send email to American Body Workshttp://www.americanbody-works.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

American Body Works is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Body Works' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Body Works

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American Body Works, Manager Pat, worked on my car for an insurance claim, the repairs were not done properly causing more damage to my car.
My car was involved in an accident November 1,2011. I had it repaired at American Body Works. After two months in the shop, I got my car back, I noticed it want driving properly and called Pat. He dismissed my concerns. My car was not driven for the next eight months, once I began driving again I noticed that the tires were wearing unevenly. I immediately called Pat, again he dismissed my concerns. Meanwhile my car was vandalized and needed repair. I brought it back to American for repairs and to have the life time warranty honored on the original repairs, after a month in the shop, Pat continued to argue that he would not warranty the work. He replaced the cambers, bolts and had the car aligned but would not replace the tires that were ruined sure to the first repair. I had my car towed to another shop from american body works, it was ar this time that I learned that the cambers he put on my car twice now, were not the proper part. The dealership called to tell me that not only the cambers were not correctly installed but that all of the bolts were loose and the alignment completely off. Please note that the repairs were done on monday july 31, 2013, & the car was not driven, but towed on a flat bed to the new shop on August 1. This proved that the original and second parts American Body Works were in fact causing the issues with my allotment and damaging my tires. I have tried to contact American several times with no response.

Desired Settlement
I expect American body works to pay the deductible on the claim on insurance for the repairs on his faulty work. $250 at a minimum. The total damages were over $800 & my insurance rates will now increase for the claim.

Business' Initial Response
-December of 2011 vehicle was picked up (not by the owner) by a friend of the owner after we had completed the repairs to the left front suspension and roof of the vehicle. The vehicle was in all correct specs and was driving straight before leaving the shop.
-Customer stated in June 2013 that the vehicle is wearing tires after she went underneath the car and saw the inner tires. We had recommended her to bring it in for us to check out, and if it was something that we had done that caused the tires to wear we would take care of it. After the car arriving we took it down to the alignment shop and on the way down there we noticed the steering wheel positioned at 1 o'clock which is not normal at all. After getting it on the rack and diagnosing the problem which was the right front wheel was between 1/8" to almost 1/4" pushed back compared to the left side. After diagnosing that we had a verbal conversation with the customer explaining the problem and that with the new vehicles anything from a pothole to a rut in the road can cause the alignment to change but she was persistent to say she NEVER hit anything on the road. So in an attempt to help the customer out even knowing we are not at fault, we offered to realign the vehicle at no charge to her if she would get new tires. Then the discussion came to her getting into another wreck a month or two after her getting the car from us and the vehicle had to have the quarter panel replaced and the wheel fixed and another alignment. At that time another alignment was performed which alters all that adjustments that have been previously done.
- As the argument moved to the other shop, which I was forced by the vehicle owner to call another shop and discuss this vehicle with them. A gentleman by the name of Kevin told me that they performed an alignment on the vehicle and it was driving straight when it left their shop. After a few days the story changed again saying that the people that worked on her vehicle do not work there any longer and it was also said that no alignment was performed on her car. At this point there is no line to decipher what was and wasn't performed on the vehicle.
-As there was no further progress we had decided to put a supplement in with the original claim that was put in when the car was hit originally. This was the insurance company can be the deciding factor if we are at fault and need to cover the tires or not, and as the insurance went over the supplement they determined that they could not cover the tires in this claim. They recommended to start a new claim and get it all fixed under a new claim. We had refused to work on her car anymore due to how the situation was, with not getting truthful answers and the constant phone calls and emails blaming us for something that was done almost 2 years ago and 13,368 miles ago. Since we had done an alignment for her at no charge and requested her to bring it back to realign it with the new tires to get a correct reading with the correct tread and such, she believes the damage is now our fault because once the new tires were installed the alignment was not in correct specs. The vehicle was not driven since we performed the alignment; the vehicle was towed to the next shop so absolutely no damage could have occurred. She had called and emailed us threatening us if we do not pay her deductible for the work this last claim she will take us to court and so forth. If we were proven by the insurance company we were at fault then there would be no question upon fixing this vehicle, but replacing parts that were worn out by other impacts or even possible work done by other shops will not be replaced under those circumstances.
- To go back on her comment of her noticing that the vehicle was not driving right 2 months after picking the vehicle up, we have no record of her calling back on the vehicle not driving correctly. If she would have contacted us then we would have told her to bring it back immediately and also 2 months after she picked it up from us it was apparently in another shop for another accident she was in with that vehicle.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My car was moved to the chevrolet dealership from american body works on a flat bed trailer where they noted that the cambers were the wrong size, and the bolts were too small and could not be tightened properly they were just spinning in place. I have pictures and written statement. Since the bolts and cambers were the incorrect, not factory parts, the wheel could actually be moved out of alignment with a single touch of your hands. Being as the wrong parts were put on the car none of the arguments from american body works are valid. The car was towed directly from American body works to the dealership after they reviewed their work and guaranteed that everything was in spec, upon arrival at the dealership the alignment was completely off spec (1 day after american said it was perfect), and that none of the parts placed on the car by american fit properly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Customizing, Auto Alarms & Security Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/2010Business started: 03/01/1984
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Mistry (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Pratish Mistry (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Customizing, Auto Alarms & Security Systems

Alternate Business Names
Texas American Body Works, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Body Works

420 S Mill St

Lewisville, TX 75057-3948

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 420 S Mill St 

    Lewisville, TX 75057-3948(972) 221-4355

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Body Works is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.