BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Reid Auto Group

Phone: (972) 594-8618

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unrealistic delay in repairing my vehicle.Excuses, excuses, excuses
I purchased a used Lincoln LS from this dealership mid to late March 2012. After having vehicle for a couple days, I made a complaint regarding the vehicles performance. The steering on the car was abnormally stiff, brakes not tight, and seemed to **** out of gear. The manager told me that this car was fine after they just drove it. I took it back home and tried to deal with it. After a couple weeks, I complained again about the car and this time **** ran a test on it and discovered that my brakes were bad and that my power steering wasnt working. **** even provided a loaner vehicle for this repair. After the repair the brakes did work better, but there was no change in the transmission or steering issues.After a few more days of driving the car I told **** that the car still doesn't run right. After being given the run around, I finally told them that I do not want the car if it isn;t operable. This was in November, and I was told that they wanted to work something out with me so that I could get car repaired. I dropped the car off and **** took it to a shop of their choice. Long story short the shop **** chose ripped us both off and didnt repair my car after having it for 2 plus months. **** finally allowed me to use a loaner car while they correct this issue. To bring matters current, my vehicle has been out of my possession since Nov 2012 and I'm still paying the note for the car but keep getting excuses from **** when asked whats going on with my car. I even asked them if we could swap cars since it appears that my car I purchased will ever be ready and my attempts fell on deaf ears.I just want the car I purchased back in good working condition. My car seemed to be a hunk of junk: transmission is bad and has been rebuild 6 times per ****, my passenger **** window fell down into the door, a piece of the interior lighting fell on my foot while driving, fog light cables have been cut, and steering is still abnormally tight.

Desired Settlement
either get my car fixed or trade me for something comparable.

Business' Initial Response
We have been continually working with Ms. **** on her repair issues.
On May 9, 2013, we traded her out of the Lincoln and put her into a Nissan Xterra. Ms. **** indicated she was happy with this resolution and at that time agreed to withdraw her complaint as the matter has been resolved.
Please let us know if you need any additional information.

**** Auto Sales

Business' Final Response
We have been continually working with Ms. **** on her repair issues.
On May 9, 2013, we traded her out of the Lincoln and put her into a Nissan Xterra. Ms. **** indicated she was happy with this resolution and at that time agreed to withdraw her complaint as the matter has been resolved.
Please let us know if you need any additional information.

**** Auto Sales

08/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold me a vehicle in 2012 and to date I have not received a title in order to register the vehicle.
FEBRUARY 2012
February 8, 2012 I saw a truck online for sale in Carrolton TX. I contacted the dealership and spoke with Mr. **** ******* He explained the vehicle and after seeing all the photos I liked it.
On February 15, 2012 I flew to Carrolton Texas to purchase the vehicle with the following description from **** AUTO SALES LLC.
2008 Ford Super Duty F-350 Crew Cab Diesel Lariat
VIN - 1FTWW33RX8EAXXXXX

The asking price was $27,964.00. The negotiated selling price was $27,000.00. Chase Bank approved my loan application. The sales manager, Mr. ****** *********** handled the transaction.
The down payment I provided was $12,000.00, leaving a balance of $15,000, financed through CHASE BANK.

**** AUTO provided a temporary registration with a temporary tag, valid until 04/14/2012, stating I would receive my registration via mail within 30 days from the lien-holder, Chase Bank. I took possession of the truck and left that same evening to drive back to California where I resided at that time.

After 30 days I called the dealership about the registration. They said they would speak with ******* ****** (of ****) about the registration and get back to me. Mrs. ****** called and said, "Be patient as the Texas DMV sometimes is delayed in handling these things. That's why we issued your tag for a 60 day period". She said if I had not received it by that time to give them a call and they would issue another temp tag if necessary.
It seemed reasonable to me. As the temp tag was about to expire and I wanted to register my truck I called the dealership to inquire. Mrs. ****** said I needed to contact my lien holder, but **** would provide another temp tag until the situation was resolved.
NOTE - The dealership continued to send temporary tags until September 2014. Two+ YEARS!

LIEN HOLDER - Chase Bank
In late February 2012 I began receiving statements from Chase Bank and began servicing my loan.
3/7/12 - made $6000.00 payment

I contacted my lien-holder Chase Bank regarding the title / registration. They told me they were working on obtaining it from the previous lien-holder and would get it to me as quick as they could. Throughout 2012 I made several inquiries of Chase Bank and received follow up letters for each call made to them. In all throughout 2012 I made the equivalent of $8,000.00 in payments, kept the vehicle serviced - Spent approximately $3,000.00 in maintenance. Fees:

11-02/12
Received a letter from Case Bank stating that my account was paid off in full!! Now I'm really confused because I had not made any such pay-off.

Assumptions:
****** ********** (Sales manager **** AUTO) sold his personal vehicle to me through the dealership. The vehicle was financed through **** by him. He had an outstanding balance with **** but I have no financial deal with ****. The vehicle was financed for me through CHASE BANK. Mr. Reckendorf was supposed to provide my down payment to **** to satisfy his debt to them thereby releasing the title so it could get to my lien holder, CHASE. Apparently, some or all of this did not happen. The responsibility to obtain my registration in CHASE'S hands. Chase was putting pressure on **** AUTO to get the tile for their customer (me). Mr. **** *******, owner of **** and Mr. Reckendorf it seems had some issues with the deals made by Mr. Reckendorf within the dealership. Apparently, and without my knowledge or concurrence it was Mr. Handcock of **** AUTO who satisfied the debt to Chase Bank. In essence, Mr. ******* paid Chase out of the deal, and I can only assume this because CHASE was in contact with **** continuously regarding the Title. **** apparently still owns the title to my vehicle and is suing Mr. Reckendorf over some outstanding balance relating to the truck. I believe **** AUTO has since closed and filed bankruptcy 15 and that, per Mr. *********** **** has placed my vehicle on its "repossession" list.

As a consumer all I want is to own my vehicle!

Desired Settlement
Since **** is still in possession of the title,I would like **** to investigate this matter, contact CHASE BANK if necessary, then work with me to resolve issues relating to my vehicle. It is my opinion that those funds (plus interest accrued) that were paid to CHASE were done so in error as they never owned a receivable. I am thinking that the funds paid to Chase would or should satisfy any debt to **** and **** can then issue my title to me.

Sir, Madame, as previously stated, I am in a consumer "victim" position. I have no way to get this resolved without ****'s intervention. And I am in possession of a vehicle (legally from my position) that I can neither register nor drive. Everything I have done has been legal. I signed up for a $27K debt of which I have paid $20+K. I am confident, at least where my vehicle's inclusion and I are concerned, that we can together find a "best-fit" solution to this situation.

To date, I have had no conversations with anyone at **** because matters relating to this vehicle are under Mr. Reckendorf's name and **** won't discuss the matter with me. I do not have account or contact information. I simply want to register, own, and legally drive the truck I paid for.
I need them to work with me.
I am drafting a letter to **** which will be copied to the BBB of Texas referencing this case number.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reid Auto failed to refund money due from Auto Warranty Cancellation.
I purchased a 2006 BMW from Reid Auto Group in 2011; in 2013 it was totaled by my insurance after a vehicle accident. Upon being totaled, money was collected from my insurance, as well from the gap and warranty policies that were contracted when the vehicle was purchased w/ Reid Auto on their behalf. Upon further review, and speaking with the agencys from the Auto Warranty policy (Alpha Warranty Services) due to the cancellation of the policy, I was due a refund total of $955.48; portions to be paid from the warranty & Reid Auto. I received a check from Alpha Warranty for $423.07, with the difference of $532.41 to be refunded from the seller Reid Auto to me. Reid Auto whom I've attempted to contact, speaking with the finance manager ******* ******* giving him the information; he had the owner contact me, who stated he would look into the information, I gave him the contact number and name to Alpha Warranty, but since then (6weeks) I haven't heard anything from the Reid Auto owner since his initial contact, in reference to the seller refund of the auto warranty cancellation contract.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of $532.41 from the seller, for the auto warranty cancellation.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Knowing sold a car with a non-working Air conditioner. Also, it's been 3 months since the car was paid in full, and I still havent received the title
I purchased the car on August 31st 2013 for ~$9000. Part of the contract was that if I paid the car off by December 31st, that they would reduce the price by $1000. I made the last payment on December 13, 2013 and was given a receipt that the car was paid in full. Since then I have not received the title for the car despite weekly calls to Reid Auto. Also, they knowingly sold me a car without a working air conditioner. I know this because when I picked up the license plates a month after purchasing the car I mentioned this to Shonda and she made the comment that when they bought the car at Auction, she had to drive it back to Carrollton with no A/C. I tried to resolve this and was told the only time they could fix the air conditioner was between normal business hours Monday through Thursday. My schedule did not allow this. I purchased the car on a Saturday, and expected them to repair it on a Saturday. My wife uses this car for work and I'd like to sell it and buy a car with a working Air Conditioner since it's going to be hot soon here in Texas. However, I can't sell the car without a title.

Desired Settlement
I'd like the title to the car as well as a refund for the amount it would cost to get the air conditioner working. I've already spent 100s of dollars trying to get it repaired, and they told me in order to go any further with the repairs it would be at least another $500. I'd rather sell the car and cut my losses at this point, but I can't do that without the title.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto & Truck Brokers, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.