BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1991

Alltex Parker Mechanical Services

Phone: (214) 638-1002Fax: (214) 634-7315

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Company promised refund on January 24, 2014. I have called several times and have not received the refund.
On December 21, 2013, I wrote a check in the amount of $110.36 to Alltex Parker Services for a service call and diagnostic fee to repair my Bosch dishwasher. The invoice number is AXXXXXX and the technician diagnosed the reason for the service as "Found pressure switch not working properly" (as written on the invoice). He said part will be ordered as soon as business opens on Monday, Dec. 23. On Tues Dec 24, I called Alltex and receptionist said part was ordered and my cost is $441 plus labor. After three weeks of not hearing from Alltex, I called the Bosch Company and discussed my dishwasher with them. Their tech stated that my model dishwasher did not have a pressure switch and they would come out and take a look at the problem.
The Bosch tech diagnosed problen as a control panel malfunction and replaced it immediately for $206.
Next day I called Alltex to cancel their service and an employee stated that my part had come in that morning and they would be out that day to install. When I told him the repair had already been completed by Bosch and that there is no pressure switch on my model he sais "Oh, the tech just wrote that down a generic problem but planned to bring the right parts when he came to my home". He was very vague about the entire debacle. I told him that the control panel went out and he said Alltex still would have charged $441. When I told him that Bosch charged me $206, he said "Oh, you're right, I was looking at the wrong numbers".
I asked for a refund check of the diagnostic fee ($49) plus tax and he agreed. After waiting almost 3 weeks and phone calls on my part, I called again yesterday, Jan 11, 1014, and Beverly the bookkeeper told me that the lady who "does that" is out sick and she might be back this week and might get a check out Friday the 14th.
I have decided that I want a full refund of the entire invoice amount of $110.36. Almost 2 months and no satisfactory action from this company - only stalling tactics. This is an unsrcupulous company.

Initial Business Response
This would not pull up under complaint/view for me to online.

reference Mrs. ******** complaint on the Bosch Dishwasher. First of all there is a pressure switch on this unit. The other technician may use another term nut that is what it does. Most the time the pressure switch is the problem but sometimes it can be the board which we would have brought both of them out with us. The board alone was $206.60 for it. If it had been the pressure switch the part was $58.40, That doesn't include labor for us or the other company. We have been doing Bosch Warranty since 1996. We wrote up a refund on 1/23/14 and the check was mailed out 2/13/14 for the $53.04 for a courtesy refund. If Bosch came out 3 weeks after us on 12/23/14 that means there is no way we got a call on 1/11/14. The Bosch tech hadn't even been there yet. We got the info 1/23/14 to refund and yes the office person who does refunds was in the hospital during that time and the check was mailed out 2/13/14 which she should have already received.

Thanks
******


Consumer Response
Alltex Parker stated that my Bosch dishwasher does have a pressure switch but that it's called something else. Then why did their repairman write "defective pressure switch" on my invoice? And why did they refund the diagnostic fee if it was correct? My family has done business with Bob Parker (Parker Services) Alltex Parker since the 1970's and it is a shame to see the downfall of such a once fine company.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Cancelled service call the day of appointment after I took a half day off of work.
I had taken 2 half days off of work to get my washer fixed. The 2nd half day, they schedule service between noon and 5pm. At 4pm, they cancelled because their "technician got stuck at another location" and they couldn't make it. They didn't have anyone else to send. They would not reschedule around my working schedule even though they cancelled nor would they repair it on Saturday. I took the time off when they wanted the other 2 times, since they cancelled, they should reschedule around my time now.

Initial Business Response
Tech was on emergency call. We called him to reschedule and he told us no. We called American Home Shield and reported this. We called him and talked to American Home Shield several time to try and reschedule and he wouldn't. He requested Saturday service and we are not open on Saturdays. He called on 08.28.13 and scheduled for 09.05.13. Call was completed

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told first that the tech was "sick", and by another person that he "got stuck on a job". Why was I lied to and why couldn't someone have come out besides that worker? It was only 4pm and I had to take a half day of vacation to only get cancelled on. I think they need to pay me for the half day I had to take.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Failure to provide any due diligence/investigation of the issue that was not previously provided in before the tech's arrival to the property.
Invoice # AXXXXXX. Alltex Parker Mechanical Services was contacted to fix a Whirlpool Gold double oven which was displaying error codes of F2 E6. The tech who was asked by the company to come fix the problem on 3/4/13 did nothing but open the oven door, write down the model and serial numbers (GBD307PDS7, XLXXXXXXX) and call the office to get a quote on the part he assumed was broken. The oven was not taken apart to determine if it was a wiring issue, touchpad and control panel issue, control board failure, or if the connector needed cleaning. As a result, there was absolutely no point of having the tech come to the house and the quote should have been given over the phone. Instead, the company charged $77.40 for a trip charge and "work" performed to investigate the issue- although no actual work or investigation of the problem was actually performed by the tech. The tech's notes regarding work performed is "OVEN has a bad control screen has". The tech's name is Wren. I called the office on 3/11/13 to speak with the Appliance Service Manager Mike and explain the situation. Mike would do nothing to rectify the issue and I was given the impression that this is standard protocol for how the company operates - which is in an unethical and fraudulent/financially abusive manner.

Business' Initial Response
March 20, 2013
BBB
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, Texas XXXXX
RE: Case# XXXXXXXX: ****** ******
"Serving the Metroplex since 1.953''
On February 26,2013 at 2:56 P.M. our CSR ****** took a call from
Barbara ****** requesting service on a Whirpool oven. The
complaint was an error of F2 and a code of E6.
****** explained our rates and Mrs. ****** booked a service call
for March 4,2013 between 12:00 and 5:00P.M ..
****** explained, as always if we have to come back to do the repair,
there will not be another service charge. Mrs. ****** accepted
this information. When the technician arrived, Mr. ****** was
present. The technician tested the touch pad from the front of the unit
and the screen was blank. The technician called the parts department
to get the price of the needed part and listed the estimated repair
charges on the invoice. This customer was advised, if they elected to
repair the unit, the$ 77.50 would come off of the estimate. Mr.
****** SIGNED THE INVOICE and paid it with a credit card. Our
normal procedure is to look at a unit before giving an estimate. The
CSR'S are not technicians and can only quote the minimum charges for
the trip and labor. If for some reason, the quoted part did not fix the
problem, there would not be a charge for THAT part, but there would
be a charge for the part that fixed the problem. Mrs. ****** was quoted these charges when she called into the
office.
Our company has been in business since 1953 and our guide lines for
quoting rates has not changed.
Enclosed is a copy of the invoice showing the charges, the estimate, the
signature where the customer signed and his payment method.
Thank you,

****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is not accepted due to the fact that the CSR relayed to the technician prior to the trip, the fact that there were specific error codes and at times the oven was working sporadically. Again, no work was actually performed by the technician to investigate the cause of the problem as previously described in the complaint. The company's practice of allowing the technicians to guess what the repair issue is and to not actually perform any due diligence yet charge the customer for this is the issue at hand.

Business' Final Response
our techician went out and made sure the touch pad responded meaning it would need a board. When we go back to repair we DO NOT charge another trip charge so it doesn't matter wheather we make one trip or two trips there is only one trip charge. Again his wife was quoted our rates and she said to come out and Mr. ****** paid and signed the invoice and made no notation that he was not satisfied the wqay the techician checked the oven.I also think he is wanting a free service call because of the exspense to repair. The estimate given is $450.72 minus $77.40 that he already paid. He was only being charged $24.00 labor to go back and replace the part.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

06/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heat Exchangers, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.