BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/2012

U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 780-9096Fax: (817) 784-2527View Additional Phone Numbers7405 S Westmoreland Rd, DallasTX 75237-3307 Send email to U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/2012

BBB has determined that U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to Accept Return and Refund for U Fix It Reommended Part
I went into this U Fix It store location requesting a Start switch for a Kenmore dryer. The salesman asked me what the problem was and I explained the problem. The salesman told me that it sounds like a Timer issue and suggested that I order the Timer instead. I said that it doesn't sound like a Timer issue and stated that I think it is a Start switch. This salesman asks another salesman for his recommendation which he states that its the Timer as well. So I trusted the experience of the sales staff and ordered the Timer switch on Tuesday 8/13/13. The Timer switch arrived on 8/14/13 and I picked up the part and installed it that evening. The dryer still had the same exact symptoms as with the original Timer so I reinstalled the original Timer. On 8/15/13, I went to the store and tried to return the Timer part. I was met by the same salesman that I had talked to on 8/13 and refreshed his memory of the discussion describing the problem with my dryer and what he and the other salesman recommended instead of the Start switch I had requested. I wanted to return the Timer and order a Start switch as I had originally requested. The salesman told me twice with a SMILE that it is irrelevant that they had suggested a different part than I had requested but I CANNOT return the Timer.

I was absolutely filled with fury when he was smiling and telling me this since he had absolutely NO concern or compassion. I had made a request for a Start switch and two of the salesman convinced me to spend way more money on a Timer that they had to have known would not resolve the problem.

Desired Settlement
My original intent was to return the Timer switch for the $138.05 and then order the Start switch for my dryer. At this point, I am just seeking a refund of the $138.05.

Business' Initial Response
This problem has been resolved with the customer to their satisfaction. The customer was invited to bring the start switch to the store for free testing. When the switch tested bad, we refunded the customer's money for the timer and provided the needed switch. We apologized to the customer for the inconvenience we caused.

Consumer's Final Response
This complaint is against their east Dallas location at 9919 Garland Rd Dallas, TX, 75218.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Washing Machines & Dryers - Supplies & Parts, Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair, Washing Machines & Dryers - Dealers, Refrigerators & Freezers - Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/2004Business started: 08/25/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1993, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Plummer (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Wade (Manager Westmoreland)Mr. Chris Hatcher (Manager Garland Road)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Washing Machines & Dryers - Supplies & Parts, Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair, Washing Machines & Dryers - Dealers, Refrigerators & Freezers - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts offers repair parts, free troubleshooting assistance, and free tech tips to the "Do it yourselfer" for washers, dryers, dishwashers, ranges, refrigerators, air conditioning,and heating.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

30 day refund on non-installed, non special order parts with restocking fee. Complete guarantee and return policy posted in stores.

Alternate Business Names
UFI Parts, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc.

7405 S Westmoreland Rd

Dallas, TX 75237-3307

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 7405 S Westmoreland Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75237-3307(972) 780-9096

  • 9919 Garland Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75218(214) 321-7054

  • 2606 E. 5th st 

    Tyler, TX 75701

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*U-FIX-IT Appliance Parts, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 780-0269
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.