BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/28/2011

Elite Appliance

Phone: (877) 510-4781

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
07/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The unit came damaged,elite sent 2 repair co. One said it had frame damage the other fixed door. doesn't cook right. won't return my emails
I purchased a floor model that was only supposed to have a couple of scratches. Viking said they sold this outside the 5 year old period so I can't even buy a warranty from them to get it fixed it was 7915.00 on floor model sale The doors do not line up or close correctly so the food cooks uneven. The first repair place they sent said it had frame damage and would never work correctly. They sent another guy who replaced the crooked door almost straight and it has never been right or cooked right. They will not answer my emails trying to get it replaced or fixed correctly.

Desired Settlement
either get appliance to work properly or replace it

Business Response
We had originally assisted this customer with repair of some freight damage issues and, by our last communication in August 2015, believed all her concerns were resolved.

We have now reengaged the customer to follow up on her additional concerns.

We have offered to allow a product return and refund monies paid or exchange for a unit with similar functions and price point.

We will continue to work closely with this customer to bring her concerns to closure.


Consumer Response
The company has been in contact again but when I call back I have to leave a message. I left a message on Wednesday June 29. Waiting to hear back from them.

Final Business Response
We have tried to reach the customer and left several voice mails in response to her call on 6/29.

As stated previously we have offered to allow a return and give her a full refund.

We have offered her similar products to replace her damaged unit however she has not been willing to accept any of the products we have available.

The unit she purchased was a showroom model and a unique an deeply discounted sale. Due the nature of purchasing a open good product we are not able to replace her product with an identical unit at the same price given we do not have a unit of similar condition in stock.


Below is a copy of an e-mail we just sent her with an option to replace her current Viking unit.

*****,

My name is ****** ***** and I will be your direct point of contact for getting this issue with your range resolved. I have attempted to contact you via phone a few times over the last few weeks and have left voicemails on both occasions. Below I have attached pictures of an option I currently have in stock that we can swap out for that Viking range. Capital is another high end brand I carry that I have heard nothing but positive feedback on. They are manufactured here in the United States and have certified service providers located across the nation. If there are other brands you would consider please let me know and I can put together some alternate options. Let me know what you think!


****** *****
Showroom Sales
Elite Appliance/Designer Home Surplus
XXX-XXX-XXXX *******
************@eliteappliance.com


Capital Connoisseurian Series Range *********

Damage Description: The unit has some light scuffs throughout the cooking surface that can only be seen in certain angles. The control panel has some light scuffs on the right side . The exterior door panels has some light scuffs on the bottom center area. The interior is as new. The side panels have some minor scuffs from the previous showroom install.


We will continue to work with this customer to either replace her unit with one of similar value or' as previously offered' we will pick the current product up and give her a full refund.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes they called and left a message. I called back on two separate occasions andleft two messages back. I Responded to bbb then I received an email with one item to look at . On their website they have several viking stoves on clearance but they were not offered to me. Item XXXXXX item XXXXXX At this point they stated they would come get the stove and give me a refund. I am hoping the contact person calls soon. Thank you

06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 7/7/2015 we purchased $9500.02 of Appliances, with $750 rebate. Marvin ****** was suppose to get our rebate. Months of calling him still NO REBATE
On 7/7/2015 we purchase 7 GE products from Elite Appliance. According to Marvin ****** at Elite Appliance there was a $750 rebate from GE that he would file for us upon payment of the total ****. The bill was paid on 7/14/15 with check number ***** We have been in steady contact with Marvin for the past 7 months trying to get this rebate. Marvin now no longer takes our call and we are sent to his voice mail and he does not call us back. On 2/16 we got a call from Lynsey Paine who said she was working with GE rep to get the paperwork filed and would get back with us in a couple of days. But that the rebate had already expired since it has been 7 months, but she will try to get it for us since Marvin appears to not have filed it. Still no word back.
We are also waiting on them to return a signed Final Waiver of lien, which we sent to them on 7/14/15, 8/13/2015, 9/1/15, 11/5/15 and 1/8/16. this should had signed as soon as they received our payment.
Per an e-mail from Marvin ****** (*************@eliteappliance.com) dated 6/30/2015 "The initial payment will be $9500 and you will get a Visa back for $750. I'll go ahead and place the order now." We never received the Visa card.
Elite Appliance has for the last 7 months told us that they are working on this rebate and yet they have not been able to accomplish what they promise.
the model numbers of our purchase are: *********** ************ *********** ************ *********** *********** ********* Total purchase price before rebate $9500

Desired Settlement
we want our $750 and our signed Final Waiver of Lein

Business Response
Date: June 10, 2016
To: Dallas BBB
From: *** *********, President, Elite Appliance Group

Subject: BBB Complaint filed by *** ***** on 2/26/2016

This complaint was directly related to the complaint filed by the consumer Wayne Leek on 2/26/2016 and amicably resolved, then closed by the consumer.
This duplicate complaint was filed by the builder (*** *****) in parallel with the consumer's complaint. *** ***** was sent and acknowledged the receipt of the lien release and has stated that as soon as we respond to the compliant he would finalize and close his complaint. (See copy of email below)
History of issue:
The builder purchased the appliances for the consumer to install in their home. GE was running a "Consumer Rebate" in association with the purchase of these specific appliances. Elite Appliance is not authorized to file for the consumer's rebate and neither the consumer nor the builder filed for the rebate within the manufactures time frame to process the rebate. I believe there was a misunderstand as to whom should file the rebate and once the was identified Elite Appliance lobbied with GE (the manufacture) on behalf of the consumer to honor the rebate even though it was outside of the program filing deadline. GE agreed to process the rebate however due to the initial delays, the processing time required by GE was not acceptable to the consumer. At that point Elite Appliance sent $750 directly to the consumer to abate the customers concern. The customer should also receive an additional $750 from the GE rebate center once processed through their normal channel.
Please find the email from Mr. *** *****'s administrator regarding the final disposition of his complaint.

From: **** ****
Sent: Wednesday, May 25, XXXX X:XX AM
To: ******* ***** <*************@eliteappliance.com>
Subject: RE: ***** **** **** **** Bend ******* ** XXXXX
Hi ******** I did hear that ***** **** had received his money, thank you for taking care of that. And I also received the signed "final waiver of lien" a couple of weeks ago. I really appreciate your help in getting this taken care of, for without your attention I'm not sure this would have ever been resolved.
Thanks again

****



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Appliance purchased July 2015 and installed in new house. Elite sold appliances with 750.00 rebate. As of date, have not received.
Appliance purchased by builder - MACBUILT Homes. Sales rep (Marvin ******* stated that is would be sent. I talked to Mr. McNeil several times and he stated that it was on the way. Made my way in contact with VP over sales and he became involved - same answers. Then forwarded to Customer Service Rep (Lindsay) and was told that it would be taken care of. GE Rep for Texas was contacted by Lindsay and he stated on Feb. 26 that it would be another 3-4 weeks. 30 days passed *** no rebate. I have contacted again and emailed GE. Was told that it was validated and **** be mailed 8-10 weeks. Continue to be told that it is on the way but as a consumer that has been made many promises with no results to date. 8 months for a rebate?????? Have probably contacted ELITE appliance 50-70 times by email and phone.

Desired Settlement
Immediate rebate, phone call from president of company, issue resolved, retribution for time spent making contacts and phone use???? Probably not going to happen bu

Final Consumer Response
Elite Appliance has since mailed a check for the rebate amount and I have received this check. Corey ***** with Elite Appliance has been more than helpful in resolving this issue. Complaint case needs to be closed.
Wayne ****

11/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase date 8/28/15. Was told the merch would arrive 9/15/15. Then was told it went to the warehouse and would arrive on 9/16. Never delivered
Contacted Elite Appl on 9/17 at 5:18pm. Still had no date of delivery confirmed. I was told an operations manager would issue the refund on 9/18 bc she had left for the day and we would receive an email to verify the refund was completed. 9/18 called Elite Appl at 3:16pm to let them know I had not received an email verifying the refund. Was told that the salesman would be issuing the refund; I explained that the day before, they told me that the operations manager would be completing the refund and to please transfer me to that person. After remaining on hold for 5 minutes I was told that the operations manager was not in and that they would call me back that day. Never received a call back and have not received a refund. It has been 5 days.

Desired Settlement
full refund

Final Consumer Response
Per consumer's e-mail dispute resolved:
Hi John-
I did finally receive the refund. It took a while. Thank you for the email.
Sincerely,
*****

Sent from *****'s iPhone
***** *******
Texas Realtor

12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Appliances ordered, never received, order cancelled. Elite refunded13k but kept 2K.
Email to American Express Please be advised that I am writing in regards to the above referenced dispute concerning charges totaling $15, 250 with Elite Appliance.
As you **** note, my first payment to this merchant was on October 4, 2013 as deposit for appliances. For the time period October 2013 through January 2014 I was selecting appliances for a home I would be constructing in South Carolina. I was currently marketing my home in New Jersey.
Not all appliances were available as some were back ordered and not due to Elite Appliance until February/March 2014. Sales representative stated that they would hold all appliances. I had advised them that I was not certain when my home in NJ would be sold.
I had phoned Elite Appliance a few times in March to discuss cancellation of order as my home has not sold and construction would not begin in South Carolina until my NJ property was sold... Did not receive return calls.
On April 11th, 13th and 15th 2014 I emailed Sales Rep to question canceling the order. I did not receive a reply.
On May 6th, 2014 I phoned Sales Rep again, no reply.
On May 7th, 2014 I sent email to sales rep requesting call back - no return call. I then phoned and was able to speak to rep - informed him that my house was not sold and that I had been trying to contact them for quite some time to cancel order and find out what the procedure was. Rep stated he would have to speak with his Manager and get back to me. Did not hear back.
On May 8th, 2014 I sent another email to sales rep to follow up on his conversation with manager. No response. I phoned rep who stated "Manager said if you cancel there **** be a 25% restocking fee. I reminded sales rep that I do not have possession of appliances nor are they scheduled for delivery - therefore how can you charge a restocking fee?! Rep quickly added "well cancellation fee". Sales Rep further advised that Manager stated they could reimburse me once they sold the appliances?! At what price?! So now I'm an appliance dealer?! I told rep that those options are not options and I would request a full refund. (Which I did - via email dated 5/8/2014 at 7:22PM) Sales Rep said he **** talk with Manager again and contact me no later than noon the following day, Friday - May 9th. Today is Saturday, May 10th and still no call.
I thoroughly reviewed Elite Appliance website, specifically policies. The only policies published on website are:
Privacy
Shipping
Return
Elite Appliance Return Policy
No Questions Asked
Our goal is to have happy customers and build long term relationships. If you bought something from us and you are unsatisfied, return it within 7 days of receipt, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. All returning units are subject to re-stocking fees. Items must be returned with all parts, packing materials and documentation, and must be returned in the same condition they were received. Buyer is responsible for all return shipping and freight costs. All freight items must be returned using our approved freight carriers.
Obviously these policies do not relate to me as this is not a return since I am not in receipt of any of this merchandise nor is it scheduled for delivery. I also find it odd that their policy does not specifically state 25%. Regardless - does not apply to me.
I am enclosing all the quotes prepared and sent to me from Elite Appliance - none of which state any policies regarding cancellation. I do not have any signed paperwork with this merchant.
I believe I have made every effort to resolve this issue with merchant directly, however, that is quite difficult when they do not respond.
To date they have not even acknowledged cancellation!
Update: 5/19/14 - No response to date.
On Aug 23, 2014, at 12:30 PM, **** ******* <****@eliteappliance.com> wrote:
*******,
We cancelled your entire order and refunded it all back to your card. I don't have any product on hold for you currently. The cancelled Sale ID is XXXXX.
**** *******

Desired Settlement
I would like the balance of $2000 returned to my American Express or a check directly made out to me...
They stated "full amount was refunded" it was not.

From: ******* ******* <*******@icloud.com>
Subject: Fwd: Price Quote/Order
Date: August 26, 2014 10:54:41 AM EDT
To: **** ******* <****@eliteappliance.com>

Hi Eddy -

Just spoke with Amex... They do not show $2,000 credit... Can you tell me when this was credited back? If it was in the past few days they said it will not show for 7-10 days.

Thanks -

******* Stanzione-*******, MSW, LCSW
*******@iCloud.com

September 3, 2014

**** -

Please respond...

Date of credit


NO RESPONSE

Business Response
The customer cancelled their order and contacted their credit card company before we had a chance to refund the credit card. Once their credit card company initiated a chargeback with our credit card processor, we could not refund the funds. We did not dispute the refund and the funds were withdrawn from our account. We thought that was the final resolution. However, our payment processor denied the final claim due to the amount of time that had passed form the original charge. We have mailed a check to the customer for $2000. 00 and have resolved the issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Check has not been received. I would appreciate the date check was supposedly written and mailed. Also, was check sent certified mail? Fedex? Tracking number? Unfortunately I do not trust their word...

Final Business Response
The check was mailed to the shipping address that we have on file for the customer. Check number 5800 in the amount of $2000. I will follow up this response with a phone call to the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The shipping address was South Carolina... My address is NJ.

Page 1 of 2
06/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company delivered the wrong viking range and made promises to repair said range to meet quality of item purchased. Now the are refusing to do so.
I purchased a 48" Viking range in July of 2015 from ****** ****** and as of April 27, 2016 I am still trying to get what I ordered. When I purchased the range I had them hold it until the end of October while my home was being remodeled. When they finally delivered my range it was not the right range, not even the right model. I notified them immediately of the problem. The salesman was very responsive and even came out to see what was delivered. He agreed that it was completely wrong and offered two options to correct the issue. The first was to replace the used and damaged parts to bring this item up to the same quality as what I purchased. The second was to take it back and find something equivalent. As the second had no promised time frame I decided to go with what he said would be the easier option of replacing the damaged control panel, kick plate, grates, burners, igniters, and black enamel top. Everything was going fine with this plan and then the company changed service providers. The new servicer refused to make any of the promised repairs. The sales rep promised to work this out and get the parts. It has been 5 long months of going back and forth of promise after promise with no results. This is just the tip of the spear so to speak as I could write a book over this whole ordeal. I am still dealing with the company getting nowhere while living with a very expensive range that is incomplete and in poor shape.

Desired Settlement
I just want the parts that were promised. One Kick Plate, 8 igniter plates, One base burner, *** ** knob control panel, and the black enamel top.

Business Response
The customer was delivered the actual product he viewed prior to purchase in our facility and then purchased it. This product was a used and reconditioned range that was clearly identified as such at the time of purchase and deeply discounted from typical market pricing for this product. The product was held for the consumer while his construction was taking place and he was ready to take delivery.

Once he took delivery, he then stated he was unhappy with the product's condition. We offered him to return the product however he opted to keep the product and replace the parts he was concerned with. There was no offer by us to wholesale replace the parts identified or to pay for the parts to be installed on his range. We did however provide a number of the requested parts we had available in stock, at no charge as a concession, to the customer. We do have one additional part on backorder with the manufacture and are trying to expedite its delivery.

We **** continue to work with the customer to get his product upgraded to meet his expatiations and try to minimize his expense. We do however feel the customer is asking for us to carry the expense of upgrading a product he fully understood was not in a new pristine condition when purchased at a substantial discount based on its condition.

Please let us know if you require additional information to resolve this complaint.

04/27/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refrigerator ordered on 2/24 to be white glove delivered by 3/3. Item still not delivered on 3/23. On 6 occasions, promised callbacks weren't made.
On 2/24/2015, I spoke with **** Evans to order a new Viking refrigerator (model number VCFF236SS). The order number is XXXXX. During the call, I confirmed with **** that:
* The refrigerator would be shipped within 2-3 days (he said it was impossible to ship on the 2/24 day since there had been a snowstorm in Dallas), and would arrive at our apartment by "Monday or Tuesday 3/2 or 3/3 at the latest"
* The delivery company would do 'white glove' delivery, which included bringing the refrigerator into my apartment and into the kitchen, but not installation. I confirmed this specifically because the dimensions of the box would not fit through the door of our apartment, and hence it would need to be removed from the box to be able to come into our apartment.
* If I were to need installation, it would cost an additional $300, but it could not be arranged for ~3 weeks as the service provider is booked up
* The shipping company would call a couple of days in advance of delivery to confirm timing

After not hearing anything re: delivery, on 3/3 I checked the Elite Appliance order number to find that the unit was only actually shipped on 3/2. My wife called Elite Appliance that afternoon to find out when we should expect delivery - she was given a tracking number for New England Motor Freight, and told that someone from Elite Appliance would call her back that afternoon to give an estimated delivery date and time, and that nonetheless, the delivery company would call in advance to give a delivery window. Neither my wife nor I received a call back.

In the late afternoon on 3/3, my wife called New England Motor Freight and spoke with ******, who said that the refrigerator was coming in, and that she would get a call on the morning of 3/4 with delivery times.

On 3/4/2014 at approximately noon, my wife had a call from our building superintendant that a refrigerator was being delivered. We had not received any advance notice of this. My wife rushed home from work to meet the delivery, who told her that they were not a white glove delivery company, and they could not remove the unit from the box. We did not have sufficient space elsewhere in the building to store the box, hence my wife told the delivery personnel to take the refrigerator back.

On 3/5/2014 at approximately 9:00am, I called Elite Appliance to arrange for the situation to be resolved. The customer service person I spoke to said that she would need to arrange for the shipping department to call me back. I never received a call back.

On 3/10/2014 at approximately 1:30pm, I called Elite Appliance again to arrange for the situation to be resolved. The customer service person I spoke to told me that we had not paid for White Glove shipping, which is an extra $300. I asked her to arrange for the unit to be transferred to a new White Glove provider, and to bill me for the $300 fee. I told her that I would approach Elite Appliance to have the fee waived at a later date, but for the moment it is essential just to get the unit delivered. She said that someone from the shipping department would call me back that afternoon to arrange delivery times. $300 was billed to my credit card that afternoon. I never received a call back.

On 3/16/2014 at approximately 2:00pm, I called Elite Appliance again to arrange for the situation to be resolved. The customer service person I spoke to was very apologetic, and said that I would receive a call back that afternoon to arrange for delivery. I never received a call back.

On 3/23/2014 at approximately noon, I called Elite Appliance again to arrange for the situation to be resolved. I spoke with ****** Cash in the shipping department, who said that he would look into it and call me back. I called back at approximately 1:45 and spoke again with ****** Cash, who said he would call again to check. ****** called me back at 1:50 to tell me that he was going to switch our shipment to another delivery company.

Desired Settlement
I would like the unit to be delivered, and the $300 charge for white glove delivery to be refunded.

Business Response
We have resolved this complaint by refunding the $300 charge for the white glove delivery as requested by the customer. The customer has received all merchandise that he purchased from us.

Here is our explanation of the circumstances that led the customer file the complaint. The customer made a transaction from us on 02/24/15 with one of our sales associates via phone. The transaction was for a refrigerator and a trim kit. Normal processing of orders from the time the order is placed until it is delivered is 5 to 7 business days depending on the carrier. In this circumstance the order was shipped out on 03/02/15 via New England Motor Freight with tracking number XXXXXXXX. This shipment was not a white glove shipment. There was no communication between the sales associate and the customer that this should have been a white glove delivery. We received an inbound phone call from the customer on 03/10/15 stating that this should have a white glove delivery. Our customer service associate informed the customer that he did not have a white glove delivery and charged the customer $300 for the white glove delivery service. We do not keep customer credit card numbers on file therefore the customer had to provide this information. At this point we had to intercept the original shipment to re-consign to a different agent in that geographical area. The re-consignment process is handled through the freight company, and is out of our hands, could take an additional 5 to 7 business days. Our shipping is free for orders over $1199 unless they request a white glove delivery service. Typically white glove service transit time is 15 to 21 business days.

09/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product advertised with picture and price shown not the actual product sold.
Purchase date 7/01/14 Purchased thru Elite Appliance website. Unit purchased with "picture shown" U-Line 2000 Series 2115R for price of $1269.00 Received "Purchase Receipt" on 7/10/14 for Order # XXXXX...Which I did make a copy of at that time. The receipt shows same picture of the stainless front door mini refigerator as was on the website. Spoke with a John Miller who transferred me to a **** **** who hung up on me as a was still talking to her. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!! Payment was made thru the Human Resources Manager (***** Freibott)and corporate American Express here at our nationwide company. American Express **** also be recieving this complaint. I am the Facilities Manager foe Allied International Holdings.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the silver door I thought I was ordering and sent a receipt with a picture of.

Business Response
The image for the model that was purchased showed stainless steel finish even though the model was the black finish version. There are a large number of models in our system that the manufacturers do not have images for all of the finishes available. This is why we include the finish in the description of the product on every page of the checkout process (4 pages they have to go through). This was purchased online, so the buyer would have had that in front of them repeatedly.

Thus, the customer is correct that the image shown was not accurate but the description of the product (during checkout) described the finish.

This issue made us aware that the receipt page did not contain the extra option details in the short descriptions, so we have added those to the receipt for future situation.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Elite Applience absolutely wrong on the description of the item given during checkout. The " Purchase Receipt " I was issued when I bought the item showed the picture of the item with the silver door and description of the item. Quote from the " Purchase Receipt" itself : U-Line 15" Refrigerator with 3 cu. ft. capacity, Automatic Defrost, Digital Touch Control.
Shipped on 07/10/14. I did make a paper copy of this receipt when I received it, and have it available for view, as Elite Appliance changed the email copy after I lodged a complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath Design

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.