BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Saltex Contracting LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 757-7998Fax: (972) 732-105517800 Dickerson St Ste 105, DallasTX 75252-3017http://www.saltex-hvac.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Serving the Dallas/Ft. Worth area, we are ready to work on whatever it is that you need done to improve, heat up, or cool down your home. We want to be your one-stop shop for every aspect of your home improvement, remodeling, roofing, and ac/heating.

BBB Accreditation

Saltex Contracting LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Saltex Contracting LLC's rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Saltex Contracting LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Abandoned job before completion of work agreed to, cashed check for new job--never seen again
Signed contract for renovation of property -labor only 30K. Contractor abandoned job before completing work agreed to on signed contract, (install shower glass, kitchen & bath faucets, fence casing, secure carport etc. 30 day timeline drawn out 8 weeks, damaged materials purchased for job by EsTex, removed materials from job owned by EsTex (appliances, sink, granite backsplash. Prior to this I offered additional work on a separate property. We agreed to scope of work and he asked for first payment $8800. To date, no signed contract, no work done. Asked Owner, ******* ******* how he wanted to proceed, he responded to take him to court.

Desired Settlement
Monetary for materials damaged and removed from property, (double oven, granite, faucets for baths & kitchen) repair items correctly that were not done or done poorly, (master shower will not drain due to cement in drain, shower glass not installed, casing on fence, secure carport, fix tiles on backsplash, damage to countertop from dishwasher, light fixture in master bath replaced and installed properly, removal of all debris in back yard and driveway from employees refund for $8800 for the second job as job was never done and relationship is past being salvaged for future business dealings.

Business Response
We began 30K job on agreed upon date. Was informed of the 30 day deadline. We were on schedule then customer began adding change orders to original contract. She added roof repair, sod for front yard, fireplace repair, and tile to the foyer. We also repaired the fence for free. The customer and I also agreed to a tile pattern to be installed in the living, dining, hallway,hall closet and foyer. We installed 163 tiles, about halfway, and customer informed my workers that the pattern was wrong. We pulled up and laid tile again only to find that the customer had not provided enough tile to finish the job. We then had to purchase more tile to finish job. Customer had only purchased 600 sqft when 778 sqft should have been purchased. At that point The customer verbally abused the workers, she used offensive profanity, and said that they have no idea what they are doing. She also accused my workers of wasting material and stealing it. The backsplash in the kitchen was the same scenario. Pattern was agreed upon by photo, installed and then pulled out because she changed her mind. The granite was installed by a separate contractor. He was not told to leave the granite remnants, so he took them with him when he completed the job. They were not removed by my employees. The drain in the master bathroom had no problems, it was tested/inspected by the City of Plano and passed **** no problems. Customer was also responsible for supplying a shower door and having it installed by a third party. All this time there was constant communication via text messages and email between the customer and myself. She was also supposed to visit the work site twice a week, but only showed up at her leisure. She arrived after work hours one evening, removed safety tape and walked across a freshly tiled floor, which then need to be repaired. The customer never supplied materials on a timely basis which of course delayed work.
Concerning the $8800 job, there was an existing contract which was provided for her, but she never signed. Numerous emails, text messages and phone calls were traded and we began the job. Three quarters of the fence was installed and we were told to get off the job site.
We can complete the 30K job in two days if allowed back on the premises. There are $7500 worth of unpaid change orders for 30K job and the fence work at the $8800 job only cost $2000 so the money issue is a wash between the work done and the money owed. We will gladly continue a business relationship with Estex Properties, but we will not deal with **** ********, only her financial backer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
EVERY add on listed were at SALTEX suggestion--none from me. Additional time is expected w add ons & change orders-regarding tile design-the design cd be overlooked had his tile guy used spacers to ensure installation was accurate-not the case-as far as workers wasting tile-I was told his guys don't make more than one cut- tiles were cut&thrown away whether necessary or not. Found 3 boxes of tile in dirt/yard after asking for 5 more boxes?? They cover the floor with brown paper to 'protect it", only to discover when i remove the paper they did not grout ANY of the wood tile laid! Turn on water in master shower ortar down the drain and now cement is all in the drain under shower - they built and tiled and his tile guy rinsed the mI have the original email from Mr. ******* with the proposal we both signed. Email lists sq ft needed for each flooring or material needed. He& his foreman said measured 600 sq ft., wanted 700 sq ft to cover breaks etc. I bought 726 sq ft to be sure. I have attached signed proposal, email with material amounts for review. Regarding abusive to worker, we received a call from Mr. ******* at 7:00 a.m. cursing telling us "he wasn't effing changing anything". I would think additional labor fee would be a better solution than calling cursing a client about what you WONT do. Our contract signed by us both states he will complete the job,put casing on fence, install shower glass, and other items not completed. I'd settle for the tile to be grouted, the shower his tile guy rinsed cement down fixed properly, the granite countertops installed RIGHT and all the materials they took returned (double oven, granite, tile, etc. Also would like copies of all unpaid change orders requested by EsTex Properties that = $7500 because that is completely FALSE Mr. ******* guaranteed his work with 2 year warranty but wont finish the job he was paid $30K to do. As far as the OTHER PROPERTY - He was paid $8800 for first installment of a new property that he never did anything other than install 2 sides of a fence. Had he completed the job at original property, the balance owed ($6000) would have been paid if we didn't catch the tile w no grout, cement in shower drain etc. Plumbing - no permits, etc etc I just want the parts of the job his crew did wrong or caused damage to--repaired by someone we know will do it RIGHT and would like the appliances he took returned or compensation for them.

04/07/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested blue print for house plans from contractor. Paid the contractor in advance for prints per their request but we never received prints.
Saltex Contracting agreed to provide blue prints that were to be used for construction of house. Mike Saulino requested to be paid in advance for the house plans and I complied by sending him a cheque in the amount of $2300.00. Mike cashed the cheque December 26, 2013 and promised to have the blue prints completed within several weeks. I communicated with Mike numerous times regarding the progress relating to the print design. He assured me that the prints would be completed in a timely manner. However, after a period of time, Mike quit returning my calls or responding to my text messages and emails. Two weeks ago (02/21/2014)I sent him a threating text stating that I was going to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and he responded and stated that he had been in Germany and did not have phone access there and that he would have prints completed by 03/01/2014. I have not heard from him since 02/21/2014 and that at this juncture I can only assume that I am not going to receive the prints. At this time I just want my money back. I have a copy of the agreement with his company and I also have a copy of the check that he cashed. The person in question is Mike Saulino and his phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. His email address is **************@hotmail.com. He has another business called Honeydooers Home Remodeling and the address is *** **** ******* ***** Lafitte LA XXXXX. Thank you for your assistance regarding this matter **** *****.

Desired Settlement
At this juncture, I want Mike Saulino to return the $2300.00 that I gave him to complete blue prints for house plans. I sincerely hope that you can get him to return the money that he received. Mike presented himself as a honest business person, however, at this point I say otherwise.

03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired SalTex,LLC Contracting to build, attach & secure( working with HOA & getting required city permits, a 10 foot by 12 foot deck with railing.Received call from the company supervisor on job site that he has not received payment from SalTex to finish completing the deck.**** ******* /owner and or partner with SalTex can not be reached & fails to acknowledge any correspondence.
Product_Or_Service: build deck
Order_Number: na
Account_Number: invoice only

Desired Settlement
Saltex Contracting,llc and or **** ******* has cashed(2)checks totaling $2,850.00.One of which was illegally cashed in the amount of $1,450.00.The work that has been done is only the base, approximately cost $1,000.To tear down & start over, which is what is advised, then I want my $2800. plus the cost of the tear down to start over cost which is approximately $500-$600.

12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor has drug out construction of a two car garage to 6 months and has abandoned jobsite without completion.
Signed contract with **** ******* of Saltex on 4/30/13 in amount of $31,725.00 for a two car garage with electricity including new electrical panel, sink, toilet, 2 overhead garage doors, floor painted with epoxy, mini split A/C heating unit, and side slab. Have paid Saltex $29,130.00 to date. At this time, the garage itself is constructed but we have had to hire a garage door company to fishish installing the doors in the amount of $1,200.00, the electric installation is not complete and we have paid the electrician out of pocket for the panel and other installation fees totaling an estimated $850.00. The side slab and concrete drive from the alley has not been poured, the water lines and toilet not installed, and the HVAC unit not installed. Mr. ******* has repeatedly ignored and not responded to calls, has given many excuses, and has effectively abandoned the jobsite. We reported him to Red Beacon affiliated with Home Depot, and they attempted to get him to complete the job in a timely manner, but to no avail. The last payment to Mr. ******* of $3,000.00 was due to a plea from him that he needed money because he needed money for legal fees because of a pending divorce. We paid the draw because fearing that if we didn't that construction would slow down further, however, after we gave the draw it slowed down even more. Weeks at a time would go by before any activity would occur at the site. We are now going forward to hire subcontractors to finish the job, although it will be a substantial out of pocket cost when we have already paid Saltex 92% of the contract but have not achieved that amount of completion.

Desired Settlement
We would like him to fulfill the remainder of the contract items within the next two weeks.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Contractor - Commercial, Screen Enclosures, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Fence Contractors, Ornamental Metal Work, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Roof Repairs, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Remodeling Services, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Plastering Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Heating Contractors, Garage Builders, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General, Concrete Contractors, Carports, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/11/2006Business started: 01/01/1980Business started locally: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Saulino (Owner)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Contractor - Commercial, Screen Enclosures, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Fence Contractors, Ornamental Metal Work, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Roof Repairs, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Remodeling Services, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Tile Roofing, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Plastering Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Heating Contractors, Garage Builders, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General, Concrete Contractors, Carports, Carpenters

Products & Services

We are a general contractor and HVAC company that offers: AC/heating repair and installation,Air duct cleaning, Scheduled maintenance discounts, Complete home remodeling, General contracting services, Roofing, Construction, and Pool/Spa resurfacing.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMSun: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PM
Service Area

Dallas/Ft Worth and surrounding areas.

Alternate Business Names
Ari & Associates, Inc, Saltex Contracting LLC, Saltex/Ari & Associates, LLC, Saltex-HVAC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Saltex Contracting LLC

17800 Dickerson St Ste 105

Dallas, TX 75252-3017

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 17800 Dickerson St Ste 105 

    Dallas, TX 75252-3017

  • 7335 Debbe Dr 

    Dallas, TX 75252-6323(972) 757-7998
    (972) 733-1733
    Fax: (972) 732-1055
    Fax: (972) 732-1055

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Saltex Contracting LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.