BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2004

Pepper Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc.

Phone: (940) 648-2692

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They worked on my ac unit and didn't fix the problem of it running all the time and when I got home it wasn't even put all the way back together.
Not sure of the date of service, around 7/18/15. I called them but did not get my issues resolved. It turned out the points on my ac unit were froze shut. Their tech seen that and didn't fix it. He took the cover off the points and never even put it back on so when I got home I had to fix his work. I shouldn't have to fix a repairman a work. He should also put everything back together.

Desired Settlement
I shouldn't have to pay for a service call when I have to go behind the service man and fix his work. I should be refunded for the service call. He add freon, so he says, but after I seen his work, who knows.

Business Response
The service was on 7-23-2015. Mr. ***** did not call but emailed his complaint and I responded upon receipt. He emailed originally for an estimate but his wife called into the office for service. The technician told Mrs. ***** what all was in need of repair other than the refrigerant and the repairs were denied until she spoke with her husband. Attached is the email conversation.
On Jul 24, 2015, at 9:37 AM, ******* ******* <*********************@verizon.net> wrote:
<*********************@verizon.net> wrote:

Jeff,
The tech told your wife that the system was need of multiple repairs
and she denied the repairs and told him that she wanted to talk with
you before any more work was performed other than getting the system
These items were brought up to her attention.
1. system has a leak (refrigerant was added).
2. Contactor (points) and capacitor in poor condition and should be
replaced.
3. The inside evap. coil needs to be cleaned.

To locate the leak a dye injection will need to be performed.
$63.0010 days later a dye inspection $125.00. Cost of repair
pending on if it is repairable or if it needs to be replaced. If
leak is in the evaporator coil
$1500.00 for replacement.
Trip Charge 35.00
Contactor is 98.00
Capacitor is 106.00
To remove and clean evap. coil 475.00

Basically the system needs multiple repairs or replacement. Due to
the age and condition, system replacement should be considered. Tech
discussed replacement with your wife and was told possibly in
September as a replacement date. I will be happy to come out and give
a quote for a new system, should you choose that option.

Thank You,

******* *******
Pepper Air Conditioning & Heating, Inc.
112 Leuty Avenue
P.O.Box 307
Justin, Texas XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX phone
XXX-XXX-XXXX fax
TACLBXXXXXXE



Original Message
From: ******* ***** mailto:************@aol.com
Sent: Thursday, July 23, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: ******* *******
Subject: Re: Ac unite

You checked out our ac unit Thursday afternoon. I got home Thursday
night and it was doing the same thing. The points welded together,
your tech took off the points cover and didn't put it back on. He
also didn't fix the problem. I fixed but not sure how long it will last.
Since I payed $184.90 I think you should come change the points free.
It needs to be done by tomorrow.

Thx Jeff

Sent from my iPhone

On Jul 23, 2015, at 8:05 AM, ******* *******
wrote:
vent added.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They came and took apart my ac unit and didn't put it back together. The left and my ac unit was running continuously and didn't mention that to my wife. If they would of told my wife that the a. Unit will not shut off till the part is changed, she would of had them change it. But regardless, you don't take a persons ac unit apart and not put it all the way back together.

Final Business Response
The AC unit was not left apart, in the email sent to me, it stated the inspection cover on the points was left off, not the unit. This is the one of the components that the technician had recommended repair and was declined.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because nothing is being done. If you leave a cover off, that means you didn't put the unit back together like you found it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.