BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2014

North Texas Air and Plumbing

(972) 535-48582201 Midway Rd STE 304, CarrolltonTX 75006-5161 Send email to North Texas Air and Plumbing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

North Texas Air and Plumbing was founded on one principal, honesty! We pride ourselves on integrity and great customer service in the air conditioning, heating and plumbing services we offer.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2014

BBB has determined that North Texas Air and Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered North Texas Air and Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised North Texas Air and Plumbing's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not provide services in a responsible, accountable manner. Negligent in ordering needed repair in time, as the forgot to put in the order
Technician came out to fix an A/C unit that wasn't working. He said a new part was needed to be order

Desired Settlement
Service was first requested on 6/25/14 for nonfunctional A/C unit. Technician indicated that a part needed to be ordered and he couldn't come out till after the weekend. Once part came in, he promised to call to notify. When no follow-up occurred I contacted company. They had no knowledge of my repair status. When I then spoke with technician he said he forgot to put in the order. I then contacted the office and told them of the situation, they said that the part did not even need to be ordered, that it was available off the shelf. We were out A/C for over 1 week due to incompentency by the company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****- Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********************
Upon further review of this claim, We have determined that our technician did, in fact, not have the correct blower motor on his truck. This particular blower motor was not in stock at our primary supplier, and he had to order it from a different supplier. Being the middle of the busy AC season, this process took a little longer than desired. I have informed this particular technician of this customers complaint, and this will not happen again.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
simple repair on water heater is taking 2 weeks to be resolved, and still not fixed!!
On Wednesday September 3, 2014, a technician from North Texas Air visited my house to look at a my water heater that did not stay on. Technician appeared to be under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Technician removed an assembly board from the water heater because he did not know what the problem was. On Friday Sept-5 I called North Texas Air because I had not hear from them, and they told me that they did not know what part was taken from my water heater because the employee was no longer with them; No one called me to let me know that they did not know what part to look for, I had to call them to find out. A WEEK AFTER, they called to schedule another technician to look at the water heater and identify the part needed. Before his arrival, they called me again to say they had found the original paperwork and were looking for the part.
A day later, technician arrives with THE WRONG PART. Technician said he was going to talk to the owner of North Texas Air to resolve this. Today is September 16 (tomorrow will be two weeks from the first visit) and I have not heard from North Texas Air. Now I don't have hot water and I don't have the assembly (that their technician took with him) to repair myself.
This claim is being performed through First American Home Warranty and they have told me 3 times already that "my claim is being escalated" to the whatever level of authority comes next, but they are not calling me either. First American says they are talking to North Texas Air, but I don't know what the hold up is.
North Texas Air provides terrible service and they do not seem to care that they left my water heater inoperable and irreparable since they took parts they should not have taken with them.

Desired Settlement
At this point, two weeks after they first went to look at the water heater, there has been no response as to what repairs are going to be performed, or when such repairs will be performed.
Since they removed more parts than they needed to remove from the water heater, and since they don't seem to know what parts are those, I am requesting a full replacement of the water heater with a new unit of the same brand, capacity, model, etc.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****- Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@northtxair.com
This is absolutely our fault. Our technician that we originally sent out to look at the water heater took the part and did not inform the office. We have an internal form that we use, called a "parts order form" in which that technician did not follow policy and failed to turn one in to the office. Shortly after that, he was let go due to lack of professionalism and customer service. He is not a reflection on our company, or the way we do business. The part was lost during the process of cleaning out his truck and by the time we realized it, it was too late. We contacted our local distributor and ordered a new part. We were told it would be available for pickup in 3-5 days. When we called to make sure the part was in, we were told it never got ordered! As it turns out, the distributor did not place the order. At this point, we told Mr. ***** we would like to just replace his water heater for him in an effort to make this right with him. The warranty company did not offer to buy the water heater or pay labor, we were going to absorb that cost. We dispatched two technicians with a brand new water heater to Mr. *****' house. When they arrived, Mr. ***** would not accept the new water heater because it was not the same brand. In our opinion, the brand we sent (Lochinvar) is just as good or better than the brand he had currently, and it carried the same warranty. We made every effort to make this right with the customer and he would not let us. We would have went and purchased the same brand he had, but he told us he did not want us to anything else. We have tightened our policies and procedures as a result of this incident, and this will not happen again.

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The repair people from this company misdiagnosed water heater problems and visited my house 3 times to try to repair a non functioning water heater.
The 3 different repair technicians came and all of them XXXXXXXXXXmeddled around with 2 switches and did not properly find out what was wrong. In spite of telling then that the water heater is probably going out, they kept replacing switches that had nothing to do with a bad water heater. After the 3rd attempt to fix, 2 days later the water heater busted and left my house flooded. The bathroom upstairs and the garage are damaged and rusty hot water also fell on my new Mercedes parked in the garage.

The technicians were incompetent and did not know what or how to fix this problem. The water heater had gone bad and was going to bust but all they knew was to replace switches.

Desired Settlement
I would like this company to fix the secondary damage caused by this item malfunctioning. They should have diagnosed the problem accurately and replaced the unit rather than mess around with a gas water heater that was just about to flood my house.

Business Response
Mr. ******** is under contract with a home warranty company. We are only allowed to repair what is actually broken per our contract with this home warranty company. The warranty company will not allow us to replace a water heater that is not leaking. Every part on a water heater is replaceable, the only time you absolutely have to replace a water heater is when it is leaking. The first trip out we found a bad thermocouple on the water heater and replaced it. The water heater was working when we left. The second trip out we found the thermal overload safety switch tripped. We cleaned the inlet carbon filter on the bottom of the water heater and reset the switch. When a carbon filter is clogged it will trip the thermal safety switch. The water heater was working when we left. The third trip out we brought a new thermal overload safety switch with us and replaced it. The water heater was working when we left. We never received another call from the customer until it leaked. So we fixed the original problem. This water heater was manufactured in 2006. There was nothing we did that would have caused it to leak as we never even worked on any water connections to the water heater. Everything we did was on the bottom burner assembly and wiring system. This water heater leaked as a result of old age. There is no way to know when a water heater is going to leak. We followed protocol per our contract, if Mr. ******** wanted his water heater replaced he should have asked us for an estimate to do so, which he never did.

04/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Embarrassing customer service (or lack thereof) by North Texas Air.
North Texas Air sent their technician to service a shower diverter leak on 2/21. The technician didn't have the necessary parts so he promised to order the parts and come at a later date. I said I can't afford to take another day off so he said "no problem, we can come next Saturday". He documented this on their invoice #XXXXX, "Call H/O to schedule a SAT ONLY". I asked him if he works Saturdays and he replied "absolutely".

When I spoke to ***** on Monday, 2/24, she said they don't work Saturdays. I later found out through my home warranty company, First American, that in fact they do work Saturdays. I let ***** know that her technician *** had promised me a Saturday repair and she continued to say "we don't service on Saturdays". She then said, "let me talk to my supervisor and I will get back to you". I never heard from her or her supervisor.

First American called ***** on my behalf Tuesday 2/25, Wednesday 2/26, Thursday 2/27 and Friday 2/28. Each time ***** promised to call me back with a status update. NOT ONCE did she call me back.

I am selling my house next weekend and one of my mandatory requirements is for me to fix this leak before moving out.

I am shocked at the lack of customer service from North Texas Air. First for lying that they don't service on Saturdays, for having a lack of urgency for getting this issue resolved and for not bothering to call my ONCE to give me a status update.

I am helpless and incredibly frustrated this has dragged on. I am running out of time and I need this fixed asap.

Desired Settlement
I need resolution NOW. Either give me back my money or fix this TODAY.

Business Response
Hello,

As the owner of the company, I am very disturbed by the claims our customer has made about the lack of communication on our part. ***** is no longer with our company, so I cannot speak to her to determine why she stated that we do not service Saturdays. That's not true. I was unaware of all of this as I left it up to my service manager to handle. I will speak with our whole team and implement changes in communication policies to make sure that this never happens again.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heater - Tankless, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing Contractors New Construction, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/22/2014Business started: 05/16/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Texas Board of Plumbing Examiners
PO Box 4200
Austin, TX78765-4200
(512) 936-5200
http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/index.html

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Dean (Owner)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heater - Tankless, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing Contractors New Construction, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

Products & Services

We proudly represent American Standard heating and air conditioning products, among many more. We offer a complete one time solution for all your air conditioning, heating and plumbing needs.

Hours of Operation

7 am - 5 pm

Refund and Exchange Policy

We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee! If your not satisfied with our services or products, we will fix it to your satisfaction or reimburse you completely. No hassle, just great customer service!

Service Area

North Texas

Alternate Business Names
North Texas Air, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for North Texas Air and Plumbing

2201 Midway Rd STE 304

Carrollton, TX 75006-5161

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2201 Midway Rd STE 304 

    Carrollton, TX 75006-5161(972) 535-4858

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*North Texas Air and Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.