BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/03/2002

Dave's Heat and Air

Find a Location

Phone: (903) 356-0525Fax: (903) 356-0525View Additional Phone Numbers9752 Coit Rd, QuinlanTX 75474-4110 Send email to Dave's Heat and Air

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Rockwall, Hunt and Kaufman counties' Carrier factory dealer, we offer full service heating & air conditioning installation, repair & maintenance. We service all brands of HVAC 24/7 and also offer air duct cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/03/2002

BBB has determined that Dave's Heat and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dave's Heat and Air's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dave's Heat and Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ON JULY 1 2015 DAVES HEAT AND AIR CAME OUT TO HOOKUP AC UNIT TO MOBILE HOME THAT I HAD JUST HAD MOVED ONTO PROPERTY. AFTER THE SERVICE WAS COMPLETE THE AC PERSON SAID HE NEEDED TO TELL ME THAT THE UNIT WAS USED AND HAT THERE WAS NO GUARENTEE THAT IT WAS LAST. AND CONTINUED TO SAY THAT IT COULD LAST A WEEK IT MAY EVEN LAST 2 WEEKS AND GO COMPLETELY OUT. WELL I HAD PURCHASED THE MOBILE HOME USED AND AC UNIT CAME WITH IT AND WAS WORKING FINE WHEN IT WAS DISCONNECTED. ON JULY 9 THE AC UNIT STOPPED COOLING BUT THE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE UNIT WAS STILL WORKING. I CALLED DAVES AC AND INFORMED THEM OF THIS. THE LADY I SPOKE WITH TOLD ME THAT SOMETHING PROBALLY WENT OUT ON THE UNIT AS IT WAS USED AND SAID SOMEONE WOULD COME OUT ON JULY 10 TO CHECK. AFTER CAREFULLY THINKING ABOUT WHAT THE TECH HAD SAID THE DAY IT WAS HOOKED UP ABOUT IT COULD LAST A WEEK MAYBE TWO AND THEN BEING TOLD SOMETHING PROBALLY WENT OUT ON UNIT I WAS VERY SUSPIUOS OF THEM SO I CALLED ANOTHER AC PERSON TO COME OUT TO CHECK UNIT OUT. UPON HIM ARRIVING HE FIRST CHECK THE LINES ON THE OUTSIDE UNIT TO SEE IF THEY HAD BEEN PROPERLY ATTACHED, THEY HAD NOT THE LINE WAS LEAKING AND HAD LEAKED ALL THE FREON OUT OF THE UNIT. THE UNIT WAS DRY HAD NONE IN IT. AFTER HE DID ALL HE NEEDED TO DO TO THE UNIT TO PUT FREON BACK IN HE FOUND THAT THE UNIT ONLY WILL HOLD 5 POUNDS OF FREON. DAVES AC TECH CHARGED ME FOR 6 POUNDS OF FREON TO THE UNIT. HOW CAN THAT BE.... I CALLED DAVES AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED WITH THE UNIT LEAKING BECAUSE FITTINGS WAS NOT TIGHT THE LADY GOT IRRATE AND HUNGUP ON ME. **** CALLED ME HIMSELF AND SAID THAT THE AC PERSON THAT I CALLED OUT WAS A JACKLEG AND DIDNT KNOW WHAT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT THAT HE WAS GOING TO ADD FREON AND IT WOULD ALSO LEAK OUT AND THAT THE PROBLEM WITH THE UNIT WAS THAT IT IS OLD AND BROKEN. HE ALSO HUNG UP ON ME AFTER I REQUESTED MY MONEY BACK FOR THE FREON THAT HAD LEAKED OUT BECAUSE OF HIS TECH
Product_Or_Service: HOME AC HOOK UP

Desired Settlement
I FEEL THAT DAVES SCAMMED ME AND DELIBRITLY LEFT FITTING LOSE SO FREON WOULD LEAK OUT AND KNEW ABOUT HOW LONG IT WOULD TAKE. I WAS GIVING A TIME FRAME ON THE UNIT COULD GO OUT AND WITHIN THAT TIME FRAME IT HAPPENED TO STOP COOLING. I WAS TOLD BY THE LADY THAT SOMETHING INSIDE THE UNIT HAD PROBALY WENT OUT. I FEEL THAT IF DAVES CAME BACK OUT THEY WOULD HAVE DONE SOMETHING ELSE TO TOTALLY RUIN MY UNIT. I WAS CHARGED FOR 6 POUNDS OF FREON UNIT WILL ONLY HOLD 5 POUNDS I WANT ALL MY MONEY REFUNDED

Business Response
On 07/01/2015 Dave's Heat and Air went to 7753 Hollow court, Terrell, Tx 75161 and installed a used mobile home Frigidaire condenser unit to a mobile home. The equipment had previously been cut, moved, and was in poor condition. As a company it is our policy to inform the customer under these conditions we were not under any warranty guarantee. We did not sell the equipment to the customer or professionally move it to the new location, so we have not idea how the equipment would run in the future. Dave's proceeded to hook up copper line set, attached electrical, pulled vacuum, cleared drain line, recharged unit with six pounds of freon, and checked all lines with soap bubbles for leaks. The unit was working properly and customer paid $705.00 for materials, freon, and labor which are fair and reasonable charges for these services. On Thursday evening 07/09/2015, I received a call from Mrs. ****** that the unit was not cooling, I told her that Dave's would be out the very next morning 07/10/2015 to recheck the unit. I never told Mr. ****** that there would be any kind of service charge, she made these assumptions. The next morning on the 10th around 8:00 am she called to tell me she hired another person to come fix the AC. I explained that since she made that choice to have someone else look at the equipment then we couldn't help her, she should have given us the opportunity to look at it and fix it if there was a mistake on our part, first. We had no idea if it were a licensed AC technician making the repair and what repair was made. I did not hang up on her, I told her I was not going to listen to her yell at me, I was claim trying to explain procedure. ***** called her back with in minutes to speak to her and help her figure out the problem, but she was uncooperative and wanted money. We did not scam the customer, we did what we were hired to do and were willing the recheck the used unit and make repairs at no charge to the customer. She made a lot of assumptions and made the choice to not take advantage of these services. We did not scam or ignore her calls, we communicated with her promptly and made every effort to help her with her AC needs with in 24 hours. Thank you


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If the tech that came out did not stress the unit was not new and could go out within two weeks and then the lady I spoke with made the remark that something inside the unit had went out maybe I would not have been suspicious of them. Then after I called another tech out and it had no freon in it and only took five pounds to fill and I was charged for six pounds of freon by ****'s made my suspicion even more strong....

Final Business Response
I apologize, if the technicians explanation of our company's warranty policy regarding used equipment made you uneasy. That is standard procedure and we always make the customer aware of that policy. If the company had sold you the equipment then there would have been a warranty applied. But in this case, when I called you back Thursday evening I was being empathic and made the statement "I hope nothing went out in the unit" and I never told you there would be any kind to charges to you. I had very good communication with you and If you had questions or red flags about our company or employees explanations, those could have been address before we came back out to recheck the unit. You never indicated that you had a problem with our technician. As a company we should have been given the opportunity to recheck the unit and make it right, if the repair was our mistake. You made the choice to wave these free services to you and accuse us of something we did not do. We did not take your money and then ignore you, we made every effort to resolve the issue quickly and professionally. As a result of this situation our company will no longer install used or previously purchased equipment by a customer. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all your tech charged me for six pounds of freon in a unit that will only hold five pound... You keep avoiding this. Then you handled this like a true professional saying the other tech that came out was a jack leg and didn't know what he was talking about and hung up on me. Your company is the one that put the fear in me not to have you touch the unit again with all the suggesting something was wrong with the unit

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unresponsive on phone calls and take it or leave it attitude.
After paying 79.95 service call on May 1, 2014, he determined I needed the coils replaced. He was going to call me on Monday 4th about the part. Left a message on his cell on May 8th inquiring about the status. No call back. I called the main office on 11th to inquire about the status. Was told he would call me back. No call. Called on May 13th. Was assured he would call me that day. No Call. He finally called me back the next day and told me he could get the part in 5 days and there would be a $162 shipping charge on the part on top of the $600 service fee. He told me to call back if I want to do it or not and Hung Up. He did say good-bye (nice of him). I didn't have a chance to say anything. Tried to call him back and he didn't pick up. Unprofessional and I guess $762 was not worth it to him. Wasted $80. I did call the office back to verify he was the owner which she did. No recorse if your the owner.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my service call money back.

Business Response
We responded to customers request to have AC looked at on May 1,2015. Customer was complaining that another AC company he was using would not return his calls and the AC was not cooling. Upon inspection the AC coils had major leak and had low refrigerant, I suggested coil replacement and temporary recharge. The customer declined refrigerant recharge and asked if I could check to see if coils were under warranty and if I would look at heater that was not working, I did both. I communicated that the repair would probably run around $600-$800 and he was very unhappy and complaining. I needed to get warranty information from manufacturer and exact pricing, this would take a few days. I contacted 3 different suppliers for warranty and pricing, I have no control over how long it takes to get this information from the suppliers as they are very busy this time of year. As soon has I received the warranty information and prices I contacted Mr. ******. The manufacturer charges the $162 shipping charges for the warranty of the coil, that was not MY company charge, as I was trying to explain this to customer he was very unhappy and complaining. At this point I could not make his situation whole all I could do was offer him the installation of the warranty coils and manufacturer warranty prices to ship coil. I did not install the original coils nor had I ever repaired the unit. I was just trying to help the customer with his warranty situation. I did not hang up or act rude, I spent a lot time on the phone with suppliers trying to get warranty information for the customer. My last response to his aggravated attitude was for him to "call me back if he wanted to move forward with the repair, I would order the new coil, and to have a nice day". I acted very professional in my opinion and to tried to communicate with Mr. ******. Regarding the $79.95 standard service call, that was not wasted because I did my job by diagnosing the defect, recommending repair opinions, and prices. I strive for 100% customer satisfaction in my company, I was willing to do everything I could to help Mr. ****** but I cannot work for free and I cannot afford to pay the shipping charges that the manufacturer was charging the customer for his equipment.
Thank you, ***** ***********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a complete lie. I never complained about anything. I just wanted a phone called returned to get an update on the part and when it could be replaced. After 2 weeks he did finally call and this is all I said on the call. Hello, This is him, I wasn't expecting a shipping charge. And he hung up. That is not complaining. Why couldn't I get a phone call stating that he is waiting for response on the part. He just admitted that he didn't call me back. I told the lady at the business I just wanted an update. Not complaining and she (and *****) knows it. You did hang up on me and I called right back and you didn't answer. Hard to find honest working people any more. I will make sure all my friends know how this business is operated.

Final Business Response
****'s Heat and Air has a good standing with the BBB and we have hundreds of happy satisfied customers. We did everything we could in a timely fashion to get prices and warranty information to the customer. Yet again, we have zero control over when and how the manufacturers will return this information to us. The equipment manufacturers have thousands of customers and warranty situations and these things sometimes can take weeks to resolve. It is an unfortunate situation for everyone involved. As soon as we received the information we contacted the customer with a honest competitive price for the repair to the ac unit, we did nothing dishonest.
Thank you, ***** ***********



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is what it is. I understand parts and service can take some time and I was in no hurry to get it fixed. That has nothing to do with keeping your customer notified of the events. This would not have been an issue and I would have moved on if you would have not hung up on me. I already have someone else working on the issue and the coils that you said were the problem are not the issue. Let's this chalk this up to me not having to pay more money when the replacement coils didn't fix the problem.

11/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heat Pumps

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/24/2002Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Bartholomew (Owner) Rhonda Bartholomew (Contact)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heat Pumps

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial heating and air conditioning services. New installation and service. We are a Carrier brand CFAD dealer and certified. Licensed by the state of Texas.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PM
Service Area

Rockwall, Hunt and Kaufman counties including Greenville, Terrell, Quinlan, Rockwall, Forney, and Kaufman

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dave's Heat and Air

9752 Coit Rd

Quinlan, TX 75474-4110

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 9752 Coit Rd 

    Quinlan, TX 75474-4110

  • PO Box 205 

    Quinlan, TX 75474-5744(903) 356-0525
    Fax: (903) 356-0525

  • PO Box 947 

    Terrell, TX 75160-0016

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dave's Heat and Air is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 524-5996
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.