BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/13/2012

Art Electric & HVAC, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 316-5944Fax: (214) 628-0090View Additional Phone Numbers3842 Pinebluff Ln, RockwallTX 75032-9211 Send email to Art Electric & HVAC, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Electrical contractor, Air conditioning & Heating contractor and Insulation & Ventilation products for residental attics. We carry radiant barrier and thermostatic roof vents. We offer electrical provider with low rates and 100% wind power.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/13/2012

BBB has determined that Art Electric & HVAC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Art Electric & HVAC, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Art Electric & HVAC, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***,Inc. searched for a leak in my HVAC. They didn't find it but they caused damage to my system (and walls) that I had to pay another company to fix.
FOLLOWING IS A COPY OF THE EMAIL SENT (7-30-14) TO ART, INC REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND THERE HAS BEEN NO RESPONSE:


In an attempt to resolve the issue regarding the work done by your company which not only did
not correct the problem but, in fact, increased our costs , we present the following facts and
timeline:


4-10-14 While on a service call to make some other repairs, your company installed a service valve in the attic at a cost of $125.00


5-19-14 After the AC unit's declining performance, I called your company again. ****
said he could find no leak, even after opening 3 holes in the sheetrock (which
had to be repaired at my expense). He said you told him the leak had to be in
the lineset and that this would cost $1200 to replace. He charged $380.00 for
this service call where he did NOT find the leak and for the Puron replacement.
**** also suggested a Dye-Leak Check which would have meant 2 trips/service
calls and a cost to me of $297.15.

X-XX-XX When bubbles in sight glass indicated the unit was still leaking, I called you and
was told that the problem must be the lineset and now the cost would be
$1500.00 for replacement.

I spoke with Joplin's A/C since they had originally installed the unit and was told that the lineset charge would be $1200 if it actually needed to be replaced but that they
would come to the property and if they could not find the leak, there would be
no charge to me for the service call.

6-4-14 The technician from Joplin A/C found the leak in less than 5 minutes

6-10-14 As I told you on the phone when I called to let you know where the leak actually
was, the Joplin technician tried a new Schrader Core, but it still leaked. He then
tried a sealant on the cap, but it again still leaked. His explanation was that the
port was overheated during your installation of the service valve in the attic. He
removed the port as you noted in the copy of their invoice which I provided you previously.

While I agree that their charge was high, they actually DID find and fix the problem.
And, if you examine their invoice more closely, you will see that their price was
reduced from $900.00 to $800.00.

The fact remains that I am out of pocket for the cost of 2 service calls for your company to
search unsuccessfully for a leak which was quickly found by the technician from Joplin's along
with the cost of replacing the 15 lbs of Puron that leaked out due to the faulty installation of
the port. In addition, I had to hire another contractor to make the repairs necessary to my
home which were caused by your company's search for the leak.

I understand that the Better Business Bureau prefers for the customer to make an attempt to
resolve matters with a business prior to filing a complaint. Please note that this is our attempt
to do so.

You can reach me via email at: **********@gmail.com or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
***, Inc. should reimburse my out of pocket expenses that were caused by his work (this does not include the sheetrock repair). These costs total $1305.00

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************@gmail.com
***,

I did not authorize removal of the port. The port was required to be installed by a Carrier Factory Rep. Tech. As to be a permanent part on the line set for testing purposes. The port could have be sealed by tighten the cap. You told me that the valve stem of the port was leaking and that the valve core needed replacement. All refrigeration equipment uses these type valve ports that are sealed on occasion with refrigerant thread sealer products, if needed due to slight leaks no one ever cuts them out and welds a coupling in its place they replace the cap! or due to valve core (this is a compression core)leaks they replace the valve core. The cap's are compression fitting that require nothing more than thigh ting. or compression cap replacement. Also I would have never approved $900.00 of work to fix a $1.00 cap replacement. Also you have these service caps on your outside unit for gauge attachments as well and we usually replace these caps as well on occasion at no charge to our customers. Also this is our part that we installed with a warranty why would you pay someone to replace something that was cover by our warranty.
Also if you were going to get someone else to leak test the system due to us not finding the leak with electronic equipment. Why would you let them replace our part that's covered under warranty?
This is what doesn't make any since if they will install a complete line set with armor flex for $1200.00 But Charge 900.00 for a .10 cent coupling install. I think it would have been better value to replace the line set. For 1200.00
I will tell you this we came out to replace a evaporator that you said was leaking because the other company tested it. We offer a lower price so you allowed us to do the replacement. Well after you called us back because the system was still leaking we performed a leak test on your old evaporator in our shop and today the evaporator is still hold 300 lbs. of pressure. So I showed you the video of us doing the leak test and not finding any leaks. I then told you that there was a some where and it would most likely be in the wall since we tested everything else. We have a expensive choice of installing the line set in the wall for 1500.00 or outside the wall for 1200.00.Then you said you had called some else they said they would cut pipes at the top and bottom of the wall and replace everything that was outside the wall and accessible for 1200.00.
I said well *** I will offer you a free refill of R-410a and a ultraviolet leak detection dye for free to solve the problem of where the leak is. You didn't call me back till the other company had found a leak in 5 minutes.
*** you had a leak before the evaporator replacement and you had a leak before the port install and you still have a leak if the port has been removed. Because no one has really found the leak yet. The port was not over heated and the internal valve was installed after welding and if the spring or nylon seal was leaking I would have replaced the internal valve. The guy that could not do it because he wasn't familiar with this type of product or didn't have a new one in his truck. Any way at all I would have installed a new port at no charge if you would have asked me to do it for any reason.
We called carrier on this issue due to low pressure reading at gauges the TXV valve was sticking The problem didn't seem to be a leak. After installing the ports the Carrier tech said go a head with TXV Replacement and run all the same test over again to verify the problem and at this time no leaks or other issues seem to be present.

*** I hate to tell you this but that company is over charging you for unnecessary work at your house on your ac system. I offered to come install dye in your system and do one more finial additional leak test on your system for free as a warranty of my work, and you expect me to pay a rip off bill for something that did not need to be to done. I am sorry but you have voided my warranty by letting him remove my part. It would have been a 2 minute repair to tighten this cap or at the most replace a cap, Or put refrigerant sealer on the threads of this cap.(all refrigerant caps are compression they don't go bad you just make it tighter to keep it from leaking)He could have stripped the threads or over tighten the cap or loosened the cap to show you it was leaking how would I know?

I said I would take care of it you misunderstood me! I didn't mean spend $900.00 on something I charge 125.00 to install. If you would have called me and told me that was what he was going to charge you $900.00 I would have jumped into my truck and drove over there asap. I was under the impression he was replacing a valve core which is not 900.00. I would be rich if I charged those type of prices for fixing valve cores and would have thousands of dollars in the bank to refund to everyone. The impression you gave me to fix this would have been a minimum service charge of 75.00 or something like that. I would have expected a approval of the costs first at any costs. I don't do this to my customers and its not ethical for anyone to do that to a customer or to a contractor either especially if they offered to do it at no charge under warranty. Any way its not fair for you to expect me to pay something without getting the cost approved first especially if it was more than $125.00! which was the cost. And especially since we were talking on the phone 5 minutes before he started a 900.00 port removal. I am sorry but it seems to me you are trying to get money from the wrong person. I respect you for the phone call and telling me you found a problem and I would have expected some respect from you for all my hard work and efforts from trying to find the leak and I am sorry for my frustration I might have expressed but at the end I was offering a free refill and dye charge to be ethical about the costs on you. A electronic detector is no good for ports anyway due to oil residue that escapes when connecting gauges. So that is not a confirmed leak without dye. or some other products like bubbles And if it was that serious I am sure jack would have detected.
The other company has provided me with all the service tickets so to your home as well as the one you mailed me and it says the tech would come back in 30 days to check for leaks again because he's still not sure its not leaking some where else.
I am sorry you have faced this type of issue as many people never find leaks due to screws and nails hitting pipes in un accessible areas.
I would offer you 125.00 back at this time. and I hope you understand the case at hand and see it from a different prospective.
Simply put it leaked before the evaporator it leaked before the TXV valve and it leaked before the port. I just don't believe that the port was the leak or the only leak. Time will tell!
Thank You, *** ****

Consumer Response
In response to the email from *** regarding our Better Business Bureau complaint:

We dispute the following in ***'s response:

You say it would have been a 2 minute repair to replace the core (valve stem) and/or tighten the cap with sealant. In truth, on June 10 I explained (via phone) that he tried the core replacement and also to tighten the cap and neither resolved the leaking problem. I supplied their invoice documenting this to you and you also report that you received this invoice directly from them so you should be aware of this fact.

You and **** both indicated that the problem had to be in the line set since **** could not find another cause for the leak even after putting holes in my wall. This did not turn out to be the case because the leak was actually determined by the other company to come from the port which you installed which was out in the open. It is inexplicable why **** did not find it.

**** stated that cost to replace the line set would be $1200 but he would also want to do a dye check for $297.15. When I spoke with you on 5-28, you told me the price of the line set would be $1500.00 but said the dye check would be free. This actually is the same cost **** quoted and you were not offering any free service. You also stated that in your response to BBB that you offered a free refill of R410A and this is NOT true. You did not make this offer to me.

The other company quoted a cost of $1200 for the line set; however, they stated that if they could not find the leak there would be no service charge. I chose to have them do this because I had already paid your company $380 to find the leak which you could not locate.

You also stated in your response that I spoke with you on the phone 5 minutes before the other company removed the port. This, again, is not true. I spoke with you on 5-28 and their service call was on 6-4 and I spoke to you again on 6-10 to explain the fact that they found the leak at the port, tried to replace the core and tried sealant on the cap, both to no avail.

The proposed settlement of $125 is not acceptable since I was out-of-pocket $1305 including money paid to the other company to fix a leak which was caused by your company. We would accept a settlement offer of $905.00. This amount covers what we paid you ($125.00 for installation of the port which actually caused the leak and $380.00 for a subsequent service call to look unsuccessfully for the leak). The above settlement figure of $905.00 shows our willingness to accept half of the cost of the work which we had to pay the other company ($400) to fix the problem your port installation caused. I would also point out to you that your $380 service call included 6# of R410A on 5-19 and when the other company fixed the problem on 6-4 it included 9# of R410A. (you mentioned that if the leak were serious **** would have detected it15# of R410A leakage is definitely a major leak) Since the repair on 6-4, we have been through the hot summer months with no further problems.

*** *******




Final Business Response
There is no warrant there for there is no complaint
The Work order presented to *** ******* (Customer) states the Terms and Conditions of Art Electric & HVAC Inc. (Contractor) to the customer the Limited Warranty and Notice of Defective Work.
In the terms and conditions of Contractors work order under Limited Warranty States: (There is no warranty on refrigerant leaks.) Also States:( This warranty is the only warranty by Contractor to Customer and is in lieu of all other warranties, expressed or implied. Customer shall telephone Contractor within twenty-four (24) hours of discovery of a warranty claim.
Also under Notice of Defective Work:
Upon completion of work, Customer agrees to exercise due diligence inspecting the work for defective workmanship and materials. Customer agrees to notify Contractor within 48 hours of completion of the work described herein, if there is any defective work. The failure to allow Contractor, who shall have the first opportunity to repair the allegedly defective work. The failure to allow Contractor the first opportunity to inspect and repair the allegedly defective work shall void all warranties, express and implied hereunder. Customer agrees and recognizes that they shall not withhold any payments for allegedly defective work. Contractor is not responsible for reimbursement for work performed by any other company or individual.

There for I wasn't able to help Customer because as he stated he waited six days to call me the (Contractor) after he had another contractor replaced my installed product with his coupling (Other Contractor). Which I misunderstood I thought the other Contractor was at his home when he called me (Contractor).
It seems that Customer misunderstood me (Contractor) when I offered to install refrigerant and die into his system at no charger after he reported his system not cooling again and before line set was to be repaired or replaced since the customer felt there was discrepancies of the line set leaking or not.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This claim is NOT considered settled due to the fact that ART, Inc is unwilling to accept responsibility for the fact that his installation of the port actually caused the leak which is the basis of this complaint. ART, Inc was paid $380 to find this leak and could not find it; thus, we lost faith in his ability to fix the problem and we hired a different company which did find and fix the leak he caused. The fine-print information on the reverse of his form stating that a warranty-claim must be reported within 24 hours is not applicable to this case since both ART, Inc and his employee stated that the problem was a line set and it would cost $1500, thus it was not a warranty claim. In addition, the fine-print warranty stated that customer needs to check work within 48 hours and that would not be enough time for a leak to be detected due to reduced performance of the HVAC unit. I further dispute his response regarding his offer to recharge Puron and do a dye-leak test at no charge. He offered the dye-leak test at no charge, but did not offer to recharge the Puron. We are disappointed in the reaction of ART, Inc to our request for a refund of some of the charges we incurred (both to him and the additional contractor) due to the negligence of his company and were in hopes that he would act responsibly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts, Solar Energy Products Service & Repair, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Insulation Contractors Equipment & Supplies, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Insulation Materials, Radiant Barrier Contractor, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Electricians

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/08/2007Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2010, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Art Pond (CEO)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts, Solar Energy Products Service & Repair, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Insulation Contractors Equipment & Supplies, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Insulation Materials, Radiant Barrier Contractor, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Electricians

Products & Services

Our company offers residental & commercial emergency services and new equipment installation services to the Dallas metroplex. We offer energy conservation products, high efficiency HVAC systems. Our goal is for your investment into your home to pay you.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSun: 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We offer 10 years parts & labor warranties on new equipment. All repairs have 1 year parts & labor warranties.

Service Area

Dallas, Collin, Rockwal, Hunt and Kaufman counties.

Alternate Business Names
Art's Service Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Art Electric & HVAC, Inc.

3842 Pinebluff Ln

Rockwall, TX 75032-9211

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 535 Buckingham Rd 

    Richardson, TX 75081

  • 3842 Pinebluff Ln 

    Rockwall, TX 75032-9211(214) 316-5944

  • 5014 Southport Dr 

    Rowlett, TX 75088

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Art Electric & HVAC, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 605-9172
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.