BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

Advent Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (972) 221-4373Fax: (972) 221-1230

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had the tech come over and when told he could not use the restroom, he responded with a dirty look. The replacement tech called and was just rude.
On 8/28/14, I ordered the Honeywell Prestige IAQ thermostat for $705.44 via credit card with *************. She scheduled a technician to come out on 8/29/14 at 1pm. He arrived at approximately 330 pm. He spent an hour and 15 minutes installing the new thermostat, and did not seem to know everything that he needed to do. Because he had to stop and read the manual to figure out how to wire it in the attic. When he finally connected the thermostat to the internet, it failed. Then, he (*****) asked if he could use the restroom. I told him no, and he responded with a dirty look. I told him to leave. I called ************* and I told her what happened and that I wanted a refund and wanted my original thermostat put back on. She said another tech would be there later and he would be coming from Irving Texas. This was approximately 2 and a half hours ago. Then the new tech called approximately an hour and 20 minutes ago. It is 730 pm now. He asked what happened. I guess they did not tell him what was needed to be done. I told him the situation and he said that he was working on a job and would be over when finished. But, the interesting thing is he never told me his name and he was extremely rude. Calling me 'Man' and just had an attitude. It was just another disrespectful moment with Adventair. It has now been almost 3 hours since I spoke with Donna and I had to cancel my plans for the evening. This is how adventair treats their customers.

Desired Settlement
Please provide a refund.

Business Response
Advent Air Conditioning deeply regrets that we were unable to satisfy the customer's original request.

Mr. **** never was charged for the installation of the thermostat as we could never finish the installation of the thermostat. This is an advanced thermostat that requires detailed setup for proper operation of the heating and cooling system as well as appropriate alert settings.

The homeowner kicked the technician out of the home after use profanity towards him, the technician promptly exited the house as he was concerned of an escalation in anger.

I could only imagine the technicians look was not a "dirty" one but probably a look of disbelief in not allowing him to use the facilities after politely asking. We encourage (and supply) all of or field employees to drink lots of water and pay close attention to dehydration of the body.

Mr. **** called into the office to explain what had happened and the dispatcher notified him that the next closest technician was on another call and would head over and remove the thermostat and install the original one once he finished the call he was on. As we all know in the service industry, every call is different. We have no way of knowing how long each call will take based on repairs needed. Had we not been kicked out of the home we could have either finished the installation of the product or removed and installed the original one. He delayed his evening by his reaction.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect external AC Unit installed.

On June XX XXXX, Advent Air Conditioning Inc. installed the following items in my house located at ********************** TX XXXXX.

24ANB736 - Infinity 17
58-CVA090 V/s - Furnace Infinity
CNPHP4821 - Cased Coil
SSYSTXCCVID01 - Thermostat

These items were specifically listed by model number on the proposal presented to me on June 9th 2012.
The invoice that I signed once the work was done by Advent also listed the items above mentioned identically to Advent's proposal presented to me.

I was offered and presented very specific equipment. The entire sales transaction from start to end was based on that very specific equipment custom tailored for my home a/c and heating needs by none other than Advent themselves. The proposal, quotes, pricing, financing and contract were all based on that specific equipment. Upon a careful review and inspection of the machines installed at my home by Advent it was discovered that the model numbers were different from the ones that were presented to me by Advent. This was a misrepresentation of facts. This is clearly a misleading and fraudulent business practice.

The model that is installed in my house is 24APA736A300. This model number belongs to an older series.
The model that I was invoiced is a ********* This model number belongs to the newer series which was the one that was offered to me and invoiced by Advent.
The model that was installed in my house was not the same one that I was invoiced for.

Additionally upon a more careful inspection of the equipment it is evident that the equipment (interior coils) are damaged. The equipment sold to me by Advent was in damaged condition.
I contacted Mr. ******* Sales and Marketing Manager in Advent on August 1st 2013 to advise him about this. He didn't return my call. I continued to contact Mr. ******* but he didn't respond to any of the following emails and phone calls:

Sent email, Mr. ******* didn't respond 7/31/2013
Office phone call, left a voice mail, Mr. ******* didn't return call 8/1/2013
Office phone call, left a voice mail. Mr. ******* didn't return call. 8/7/2013
Call on his cell phone XXX XXX XXXX. Mr. ******* answered the call and said he would be checking the file and contacting me back on Friday. He never called back. 8/8/2013
Left voice mail on cell phone, Mr. ******* didn't return call. 8/12/2013
Left voice mail on cell phone, Mr. ******* didn't return call. 8/13/2013
Left voice mail on cell phone, Mr. ******* didn't return call. 8/14/2013

On August 22nd I sent an email to Mr. ******* stating that if I didn't get a response back I would contact the Better Business Bureau. After many ignored attempts by me to communicate with Advent, he responded soon after. We scheduled a meeting for Thursday August 29 at 4:00 in my home so he could check the unit.

Upon arrival he quickly checked the unit from far away.
I had to show him the visible damage at the bottom of the unit. Mr. ******* hastily said that the damage wasn't done by Advent. Then I showed him further damage on one of the corners of the unit. To this he said that was how the unit is designed. I advised him that the other corners were not squashed or dented like that one. After it became obvious that the unit they had installed was in fact damaged after I exposed it, he again hastily responded that Advent wasn't responsible for anything. Mr. ******* stated he would not help me and that I had to deal with what I got.

At that time I requested that Advent replace the unit based on these facts. Mr. ******* stated that would not happen. That it wasn't his problem. I kindly requested that Advent consider resolving this issue in a professional way by taking mitigating corrective actions. Mr. ******* left immediately after.

Desired Settlement
Replace the external AC with the one stated in the invoice at no extra cost to the customer.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* - Sales Manag
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@adventair.com
Mr. ********* did purchase an HVAC from Advent Air Conditioning, Inc.in June 2012.
The quote for Mr. ********* system was originally $10,398.51. Mr. ********* requested a significant discount from the original quote. Mr. ********* was offered a Carrier Performance APA7 system that was retagged as an Infinity system a few months prior. Same equipment as an Infinity17 just retagged by the manufacturer. This was still a 17 SEER 2 stage piece of equipment that carried a full Advent and Carrier warranty.
This unit had previously been installed and used for a short time before returning it to our warehouse. Mr. ********* was offered this outdoor equipment with new indoor equipment with a $1,398.51 discount. He accepted.
A short time after the installation Mr. ********* requested additional work to be done to his residence that was not included in the original agreement. Advent representatives advised Mr. ********* that additional charges would apply. This is when Mr. ********* first started making threats about reporting us to BBB. We had fully lived up to our agreement as our company always has and will.
In late July of 2013 I started receiving calls and e-mail from Mr. ********* while I was out of the country. After numerous calls I responded to Mr. ********* and advised him that we would set up a date upon my return date in mid August. Upon my return I set a date of August 29th to personally go and look at the unit Mr. ********* wanted replaced.
Upon My arrival Mr. ********* explained to me that he had disassemble his out door unit APA736 and that it was damaged. It is never recommended that a homeowner take these units apart for cleaning , it should only be done by a licensed contractor. Upon inspection of the unit, Mr. ********* had not put the outer panels of the unit on correctly causing small indentations in the condensing coil. Although he did not reassemble the unit correctly, he insisted that Advent replace this unit at no cost to him. I explained for a fee we would come out and reassemble the unit. He again made this threats. It was explained that the damage that occurred was caused by his dismantling of the unit and that Advent would not cover this under his warranty.
Advent takes great pride in providing quality products and standing behind them with our excellent customer service. We cannot take responsibility for a homeowner who does damage to his own unit to save a few dollars on annual cleaning.
Advent has lived up to every portion of our agreement and will continue to so for all of our clients.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Advent's response is unsatisfactory.

Advent's invoice states new equipment 24ANB736 was to be installed at my home.
Advent installed different equipment, 24APA736A300, which according to Advent is a used one and was stored in a warehouse.
I didn't agree to buy used equipment as Advent falsely states.

All other Advent's false allegations are design to avoid living up to their agreement.

Advent's obviously considers a threat contacting the BBB, since they are not a serious or ethical company.

Advent hasn't lived up to their agreement.
Advent's service and customer service is extremely low and unethical.

06/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advent has not followed through with successful completion of repairs
Advent was contracted to complete the air conditioning and heating in our house. They have not completed the balancing of the systems, and it's clear that there are issues with other rooms that do not heat/AC correctly. From having another licensed vendor, we seem to be missing return vents, and there are issues with zoning and thermostats. Advent refuses to return calls or deliver to us plans of the house, so to get this remedied from a licensed contractor will cost significantly more than if we had the plans.
At this point, we're asking for the $40,000 to get a licensed Vendor to fix the issues caused by Advent, and also the full detailed plans for which they have been paid.

Desired Settlement
At this point we need the system fixed, so Advent can come and do all the repairs and get the system working as a normal house should, as well as deliver to us all the testing results and diagrams. If not, the other option is to pay us $40,000 so we can have a licensed vendor complete these tasks.

Business' Initial Response
Representatives from Advent Air Conditioning, Inc met with the builder who contracted with us and his homeowner Mr. ******** prior to the installation of the HHAC to review the design layout. At that time all parties were in agreement how they wanted the HVAC systems laid out. Prior to the installation the house was walked and the loay-out reviewed once again.The systems were installed per our meetings with Mr. ******** and the homebuilder. Since Mr. ******** has moved into this home he has made several request to change the original design of the zoning systems for the HVAC systems. Mr. ******** was given an estimated cost to make some of the changes he requested. Other changes are not possible without opening up walls and reconfiguring a portion of the duct work and control system. Mr. Rappot believes that this should be part of his warranty. The systems are performiong as per the requested installation from the pre-construction meetings.To make modification to the system Advent feels that they have given the homeowner resonable cost to make these changes. The cost was only a small portion of the 40K Mr. ******** has stated in his complaint.
Any time a warranty issue pertaining to equipment failure or workmanship Advent has responded in a proper and proffessional manner.
Mr. ******** has also requested the original design drawings of the HVAC system. The policy at Advent is the load calculations and drawings are the property of the person contracting with Advent AIr Conditioning, Inc. In this case our contract agreement is with the homebuilder and the drawings and load calculation belong to them. In the event a homeowner request this type of information it must be obtain from the person or company that has contracted with our organization.
Mr. ******** is referring to repairs as changes to the original agreed design of his systems. In order to make these changes additional charges would apply.

Consumer's Final Response
Is the bbb going to do anything? At a minimum you need to lower their rating for failure to resolve the issue.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.