BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1996

AC Pros

Phone: (972) 664-0055Fax: (972) 664-9687

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/05/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a system with a 10 year warranty and the company is not honoring the warranty after several attempts to rectify this situation with them.
I purchased the system on May 2, 2006 and was given a 10 year parts and labor warranty as part of the purchase. On July 15, 2015, the unit stop cooling making a humming noise on the outside unit. I knew it was the starting capacitor and told the technician when he came out that it was probably the starting capacitor but with the system under warranty it was better for a certified technician to perform the repairs as I did not want to do anything that would void the warranty even though it only has a year left.

The repair person charged me a $79.95 diagnostic charge and parts of $118, for a total cost of 197.95. I paid the bill as the technician would not have known the warranty status and it was later in the afternoon. I told him I would work with the office to get reimbursed. I want the company to honor their warranty as described to me when I purchased the system.

I contacted ******* ****** at AC Pros and he requested maintenance data for the past 3 years. I supplied this to him as it covered what was described to me to do when I purchased the system on May2, 2006. In addition I sent ******* ****** the warranty sheet, #XXXXX that shoed the model number and serial numbers of the units covered as well as the date the coverage ends, 5/2/2016. I also sent him a copy of the backside of the warranty that states what is not covered, e.g. Routine maintenance or any repairs which are made necessary because the routine maintenance was not performed by the EQUIPMENT OWNER. I performed the routine maintenance and also the starting capacitor was not a routine maintenance item anyhow.

I have made at least two proposals to solve this issue with AC Pros, ******* ******, but have not heard from them once I presented them with the data requested.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to refund my $197.95 and honor the remaining months on the 10 year warranty.

Business Response
A check for $118 was mailed to you. I will check to see if it was ever cashed, and if not I will have accounting issue another. Please call the office to confirm the receipt of the new check.

Consumer Response
The company did not provide refund according to the warranty agreement. They only covered the part that was bad on the labor. The 10 year warranty was to cover both parts and labor.

I am still waiting to be reimbursed the labor.

07/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* ****** with AC Pros deceptively got a contract for a 5 ton new AC unit signed and then installed a 4 ton unit without notifying customer.
******* ****** with AC Pros deceptively got a contract signed for a new Trane 5 ton AC system (Compressor/condenser, evaporator coil, and furnace) and then installed a 4 ton unit. He deceptively got a financial contract signed pre-dated from delivery, delivered product a day late, installed it on 6/10/14, then sent me an invoice by email for the wrong system he installed after installation had occurred. I called his personal cell phone immediately when I received the email that evening, and he never returned the call. I had to call him back the next day and he said he was sorry that he forgot to tell me but he did a "load calculation" that Saturday (6/7/14) after he left my house and decided on his own that a 4 ton system would work for me. However, he never notified me of any changes to the contract prior to installation. He never called to tell the customer of any price reduction and kept the same price even though the 4 ton system costs less. He never did offer to give me monies back, never sent me the "load calculation" he did, and never did a true engineering load calculation that Saturday as he was not there long enough. The offers he has made to make me happy are not recommended by three different AC Installation companies that install Trane products and they all recommended that I do not accept it. After his installation, there have been several rooms not registering correct temperatures through the registers (75 deg in some cases), there is condensation outside on pad of condenser (low charged system), and the condensation drain line from attic to sink is having too much air blowing down it making whistling sounds in my sink drain. I can't trust this man to even fix these issues. Since contacting him the day of installation on Tuesday 6/10/14, he has not offered to fix the problem to my satisfaction. Last Friday I called his office to discuss when he wants to remove the system and he never returned my call back. He deceptively installed a system not per contract. If it was not intentionally done hoping the customer would not find out, he would have offered to remove the system immediately and replace it. Instead he is making ridiculous offers to keep the system, make changes to outside compressor to 5 ton (not recommended by any of the AC companies I called, and only offered to pay back a minimal amount of money compared to what other companies offered to install a 4 ton system. We never even discussed a 4 ton system.

Desired Settlement
Business needs to remove their system from my house immediately. Because of the deceptive trade practices, I can't trust they won't do something to a new system installed. If they damage any components of the system (consisting of but not limited by ducts, plenums, AC lines, electrical lines) during removal, they will pay to have them fixed by an AC company chosen by myself.

Business Response
We are a Trane TCS dealer, and as part of that we do load calculations on all jobs before we install any system, in order to make sure it is sized correctly for maximum comfort,and efficiency. I also hold an engineering degree, and recently attended a refresher course on doing load calculations held by a local Professional Engineer. We use Wrightsoft which is the industry standard for load calculations. I arrived at a total load of 3.8 tons for this customers home, even though the builder had installed a 5 ton system. Since this transaction was being handled by financing thru a 3rd party we were going to simply adjust the price and amend the contract to the 4 ton system instead of the 5. We had to send the invoice via email since Mr. ******* was not present to sign the document upon completion of the job. When I had the conversation with Mr *******, about the 4 ton which I did apologise to him for not notifying him earler, he demanded that I discount it by $2000 which I told him was not going to be possible. He also demanded that I get a 3rd part to do a new load calculation and I was to pay for it, which I also refused. I have no problem if the customer want to have a 3rd part repeat my load calculation, and I would be happy to pay for it if he comes up with different results that would justify a 5 ton system. I have done thousands of these and am very proficient and getting it right, and also asked the customer to get Trane involved which he refused to do, and instead listen to the opinions of the 3 other companies that lost, and needless to say did not do load calculations either. I have apoligised to the customer 2 times verbally and once in writing, so I did make a mistake in informing him late, however he has the right sized system, and we would be happy to make the additional adjustments to address the condensation problem, as well as the whistling in the sink drain. Regarding the temperatures coming out of the other rooms where we did not eliminate the ductboard boxes, the customer was told that they needed replacement with sheet metal Y's however only accepted replacing one to two bedrooms that were not cooling properly. Those 2 rooms seem to be fine now, and one of my options was to replace the rest of the approximately 6 other ductboxes. I see no reason to remove a perfectly good system, that is functioning properly, and I did make earlier attempts to work with the customer, but my only options were the $2000 discount or remove it altogether. I will be happy to share my price list with the BBB, and make the refund of the difference in price, but that is assuming that I actually have gotten paid for this job, which to this day, our company has not billed the customer one penny. In addition after arriving Friday nite June 9th at 7PM, to help this customer out, I personally delivered to him a window unit to make him comfortable over the weekend, and split the cost for a hotel with him over Monday night, before we installed on Tuesday morning. I don't see that these things done for the customer would represent a dishonest individual or company. In addition after fixing the small issues to make Mr ******* happy with the new system, I will also be happy to refund his maintenance that was included with the new system, so that he can work with any other Trane dealer of his liking moving forward. In addition we will complete the process by having the city of Frisco come out and complete their work, and sign off officially on the installation to give him a sign of security that it meets all current mechanical codes. My offer still stands on the first 2 options as per my previous email. I cannot do the 5 ton system since this is not correct based on the load and TDLR would cite me if I were to do that even with customer approval. I still recommend that he contacts Trane to verify my calculations, and review the AHRI certificate that I sent via email to the customer as a bonafide 16 SEER system. I will be glad to provide a copy of the load calculation also, but he never asked me for it, and only demanded to replace with a 5 ton system.
Message sent June 16, 2014 2:08PM
*******,

I am sending you this email to clarify what I perceive to be the issues that are outstanding. I again apologize for the fact that I did not call you on the weekend after we met on Friday (June 6, 2014) to share the results of the Manual J calculation that yielded the results of a 4 ton system instead of the 5 ton that we originally thought based solely on the size of the initial unit that was installed when the home was built.

First we did install a 16 Seer unit consisting of the following items, 4/5 ton slab coil (4TXFH063), 4/5 ton variable speed furnace TUD2C080A9V4, 4 ton condenser (4TTR6049). We also replace the thermostat, and plenums with sheet metal, and installed dampers on all the outputs for future air balancing if required. In addition we fixed the airflow into the two back bedrooms by replacing the duct box with a sheet metal Y, and increasing the size of the feed duct to the Y, as well as running the 5" laundry room duct direct to the plenum. I did recommend the replacement of all the duct boxes since they are known for leaks, and highly inefficient relative to airflow also, however you said that due to cost concerns that you could not afford to do that at this time, but would deal with that later.

Post install you called me to tell me that due to the install of a 4 ton system you wanted a refund of $2000 which I told you was not a possibility, and you repeated that you wanted a 5 ton system like you had contracted for. I then told you that I would go ahead and install the 5 ton system which would consist of replacement of the condenser with a 5 ton XR16 (4TTR6060). You called me back the next day and for some reason thought I said I was replacing the compressor only and that would void the warranty, and I told you again that were doing the whole condenser on Saturday (June 14). The next day you called me again, and told me that the furnace and coil were not 5 ton units, and I said that we need to confirm what I told you about them being suitable with Trane, but you wanted a 3rd party involved at my expense which I did not want to do. I then told you that I will not do anything until you tell me specifically by model number what coil and furnace you think is acceptable for a 5 ton system, and I would review your findings, and proceed if in agreement. So far I do not have any inputs from you on acceptable units, so I suggest the following options.

1. Since 4 tons is more than adequate, it seems silly to replace it with a 5 ton unit that will potentially give you high humidity, but cool properly, so I suggest we will replace the rest of the duct boxes with sheet metal Y's to fix the air temperature issues that you have noted on the ducts that did not receive a sheet metal y. In addition seal all the boots to the attic to prevent airflow of humid attic air into the home.

2. Keep the 4 ton system, and I will give you a credit of $501, which is the difference between the 4 and 5 ton units from the pricelist that I quoted you from on Friday, which includes the maintenance credit of $199 since you already have a current contract.

3. Replace the condenser outside with a new 5 ton unit (prefer not to do since you may have high humidity problems) 4TTR6060, and review a suitable coil and furnace after you decide what is suitable and we agree on it.

I feel these are all reasonable options, and I do want to make you happy with the system that you have purchased. I would appreciate it if instead of talking to other people that may know be totally knowledgeable on Trane AC units and suitable matchups, and deal directly with Trane to get your inputs. I have copied the Trane Sales Person (**** ********* on this, and he has a Regional technical resource to call in if necessary to assist us to confirm opinions, and make sure that they are facts instead of simply opinions.

I have also attached a copy of the AHRI certificate for the system that is currently installed, and I have a copy of the manual J, which determined you need 3.8 tons of AC, and 50KBtu of heating. The current furnace has the airflow and total heat capacity to scale to 5 tons also. (64 Kbtu net heat)

Thanks,

******* ******



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business owner ******* ****** has lied about everything he states in his response to you. I am only allowed 9000 characters and can't do his lies justice for that amount of characters. He provided above . He fraudulently installed a lower sub-par system not per contract, deceitfully so without notifying customer, and lies about all instances of doing load calculations. He did not obtain a builders permit to install the system which violates his licensing act. He also violated 7 other parts of his licensing act and is being investigated by his licensing board Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). He is also under investigation by the Texas Attorny General for fraud and deceitful trade practices. He did not follow industry standards for installing the system. The system was not charged correctly causing condensation on the pad outside. This leads to shorter life of the compressor (fraud and deceit again). The drain line for the condenser coil in the attic is not done correctly either causing whistling in the drain of the sink and possible sewer gas expulsion into the home. There are several vents that are not putting out cold air which indicates poor air flow to those vents because of an inadequate blower/output of air. In short, this business owner has committed fraud and deceitful trade practices. Per BBB standards of conduct, this business should not be accredited by the BBB.

05/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In April 2012 I called Ac Pros to come out to service my AC Unit, which at the time did not seem to be cooling. They sent a technician and he brought the wrong part/motor and said that he would have to come back the next day. He returned the following day April 11, 2012 and installed the supposedly new motor. My Unit stop working in March 2014 and I contacted them, however they said the warranty had passed. I called another Air Condition company approximately a week later April 3rd, 2014 and they came out and examined the TRANE unit at my residence and determined that the motor had been installed incorrectly. I then called Ac Pros and explained to them what I had found out and they said and I quote "We can come out but there will be a service call charge of $79.99". I told them I should not have to pay for a service call since the Tech they had sent out didn't do the work correctly. I have lived here since December 2000 and the TRANE unit I have is one of the best made and has served me well, I have gotten it serviced as needed and this has been a nightmare dealing with Ac Pros. This is bad business and I was charged $600 only for the unit to go out 2 years later. This is Ludacris as if the unit was repaired correctly, the unit should still be working. To say the least it is bad customer service on the part of AC Pros.
Product_Or_Service: Air Condition Unit
Order_Number: Service Invoice 1496

Desired Settlement
I feel they owe me a refund of at least the partial amount I was charged because it is obvious they did not repair the unit correctly or it would not have broke down in 2 years. This unit has always worked perfectly since I have lived here in 2000 and now I get ripped off because of an incompetent technician that did not do his job correctly.

Business Response
Mr. *******,
After some investigation, I found that we replaced your condenser fan motor 2 years ago with a new Trane OEM motor. I was obviously installed correctly or your unit would not have been working properly the last 2 years, and it physically impossible to mount the motor backwards since there are 4 screws on the top side and the shaft that turns the fan blades is pointed down. When your originally called our office we told you we could send out a tech to verify the motor issue at no cost, however the motor is out of warranty, since we give a 1 year warranty on all of our repairs, and that is the norm in our industry, or many times only 90 days. It was also stated the motor had burned up, but was spinning backwards, this is usually because of the capcitor, and not the motor, if the motor is spinning backwards occasionally. On the 28th someone by the name of Mrs Chambers cancelled the appointment, and didn't say why, so at that point we closed the case. Since we didn't come out to verify, it is pretty hard for me to make you an adjustment on the motor unless you still have it so that I can test it here in our shop, so in order to be fair, I will give you a one time cleaning of your system, which includes a complete checkout of all the electrical components, and compressor, as well as a cleaning of the outdoor coil, so that your system operates at peak efficiency. I will also have the technician show you why it is physically impossible to mount the motor backwards so you can be confident that we originally did the job correctly.
Thanks,
AC Pros

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Systems, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Air Quality Service, Air Pollution Control, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating & Cooling Demolition, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.