BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1998

A # 1 Air, Inc.

Phone: (972) 242-9406Fax: (972) 242-9579View Additional Phone Numbers601 E Corporate Dr, LewisvilleTX 75057-6403 Send email to A # 1 Air, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1998

BBB has determined that A # 1 Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A # 1 Air, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A#1 Air prides themselves on being accurate when providing services, unfortunately for me i was not able to receive that.
I heard a strange noise in the walls of my bathrooms that sounded like water running, although all of sources for water were turned off in my home. So i looked online for a reputable company and came across A#1 Air; i gave them a call and set up an appointment to have someone come take a look to locate the problem. Two plumbers arrived at my house a few days later and found the source of the problem, a slab leak. So that day i decided to set up another appointment for a separate service which covers a leak location team with special equipment to specifically find the leak. On November 4, 2014 the team showed up and started the process; 25 minutes later they had "pinpointed the exact location" of the leak. I had lots of questions specifically about an actual mapping or some type of document showing where the "leak" is; the head plumber who provided the service reassured me that i would get the information involving the exact leak location in my invoice. He then quoted me a price for repairs that would be needed to correct the slab leak. Provided that information i decided to obtain additional quotes from other companies in the area. The leak location document was critical to to have because i would not need to pay for the leak location services again when obtaining additonal quotes. When I asked him about how accurate the equipment was he informed me that "he has only missed 1 leak location in 10 years" I decided to trust his confidence being he works for a highly professional company. A few days later after not receiving an invoice for the services i paid for i gave A#1 Air a call and requested a invoice, at that time i was in the process of getting additional quotes. I finally received the invoice and gave the information to the plumber i decided to hire who had the better quote. When he came to start the dig under my house a few days later in the area that the equipment A#1 Air provided, he was not able to find it. So he informed us that he was going to have to dig a new tunnel resulting in more mess, inconviniece and most of all more money coming out of my pocket all because the "accurate equipment" was not accurate after all. The slab leak ended up being located about 12 feet away from the previous documented location that A#1 Air provided me. The digging created a huge mess in my yard, excess dirt (mud) enabling me to decorate for the holidays. Very unnecessary! I alerted the company about the extra mud and let them know that my yard was a mess because of the failed actual location and that did not seem to be a problem to them. I live in a neighborhood that prides themselves on nice landscaping not to mention HOA, and this is simply not acceptable to me.

Desired Settlement
I would have appreciated if the company would have rectified the problem involving my beautiful yard since the company failed me on the services they promised to provide. The plumber who i hired was requesting additional money to fix everything and i don't think that was very fair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** - Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@anumber1air.com
Customer was refunded the full amount $242.53 within 4 days of the initial service provided. We have attempted contact by phone and email to the customer. We want to speak with them about the concerns they have regarding the repair cost and damages incurred after the second plumbing company was there and contracted to do the work on the slab leak. We are very open to speak with them about a resolution to their concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have returned the call from A#1 Air, and are currently waiting for the resolution of the problem to occur.

Final Business Response
Since our last update we've had correspondence with the customer. We have removed all dirt from their yard, and have assured them we will cover mulch for all areas both the area we dug as well as the area the other company dug.

The homeowner has stated they are satisfied with this resolution which is always our goal, to make the customer happy.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are still working closely with A#1 regarding the final resolution discussed involving our loses. According to the comment left by A#1 Air "We have removed all dirt from their yard, and have assured them we will cover mulch for all areas both the area we dug as well as the area the other company dug." A#1 was not involved in any digging to resolve the slab leak.

09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted A#1 Air in 6/13/13 to come and remove my old A/C unit & replace with a new unit (inside & outside unit). They replaced it with a 5 ton Lennox. About 2-4 weeks after it was installed the inside unit started to leak and water was coming down my first floor ceiling. That's when all the issues started to occur. It all has been different issues with the new A/C machine. My unit outside freezes completely in the winter & shuts off the Heater & in the summer it shuts off the A/C cool system. Many technicians have been out here & they tell me that something specific is wrong & they replace it, but that never solves the problem. All during last year & this year, A#1 Air have been coming out to supposedly fix different issues, they have replaced a bad outdoor control board, replaced zone control board (7/22/14)(of which I had to pay out of pocket & they said that this was going to fix the problem,switched out wires, ect.), but still my A/C unit keeps on shutting down and leaving me & my family without A/C during this hot weather. My main concern is that I have a 3 month old baby at home that is suffering this hot weather, when she shouldn't have to because this is a new unit. On Sunday, 8/10/14, my ceiling was leaking again, it was the upstairs unit again & when we came back home the A/C unit was not working again. I called the A#1 Air, told them that the A/C was leaking, They couldn't tell me a time that they can be out here, I was really upset,so I told them to don't even bother that I was going to call another company. I have been trying to speak to the owner & they give me the run around & till this date i haven't spoken to him. The other company that came out today is telling me that we need to replace the motor on the inside unit & the whole damper on it, at this point I just want this whole machine to be replaced with a new complete unit. It has had so many problems that it will continue to give more problems.
Product_Or_Service: Lennox Merit Series 13HPX Units
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like for the whole inside & outside unit to be replaced with a new unit, of the same or better quality unit.

Business Response
We have reached out to the homeowner apologized for the issues. We are also covering all expenses involved with the issues they have experienced. The homeowner expressed their satisfaction with the resolution.

08/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called 9am, was called back at 7pm being told they were on a call and had 1 after that before me. They are not fast or timely as they advertise.
Called at 9am, was called back at 7pm, being told they were on a call and there was still 1 call ahead of me. They advertise fast reliable service and at this rate I may never even see them since I have to work in the morning. Yelp has numerous complaints listed for this company and I should have looked there first before calling them. The person who called didnt seem to even care how long I have been waiting and actually seemed annoyed when I said something. I am telling everyone I know not to use them and I left a review on Yelp as well.

Desired Settlement
If they ever show up I really don't feel I should pay much since I should have called another company.

Business Response
The customer called us at 9:27 am on 07/29/2014 because he was having an issue with her air conditioning unit. At 11:50 am one of our representatives called to let the customer know it would be late in the evening before we would be able to make it out to her home. At 12:43 pm the customer called in and stated she would not be available until after 6 pm. At 7:15 pm we called to let the customer know they were next in line.. At 8:24 pm the customer called the office and cancelled because they were able to get someone else out sooner. We have apologized to the customer and explained our membership program which comes with priority service. We have not yet had the opportunity to provide services to the homeowner however would offer a free service in the future should she choose to take advantage of it in the future. Thank you, A#1 Air Management Team

08/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product and Services Scam / Unprofessionalism
We live in the Dallas metroplex and have used A #1 Air's services last year. Last week, two technicians came to our house to assess our air conditioning problem. The first technician determined that we needed a new a/c system without even going upstairs in our attic and taking the time to really assess the problem. He said it would cost $6500. The second technician determined that we needed a new compressor and was so unprofessional by telling my husband his life problems. He said it would cost over $2000. Even though we had a warranty that would cover the system, we would still have had to pay for the labor that costs over $1500. We wondered why two of the technicians had two different assessments (red flag). They stated that they would call us on Saturday but we did not hear from anyone from the company until today, Wednesday, July, 23, 2014.
We ended up calling two other companies and had one of them repair a Freon problem costing less than $300, way less than the cost of the labor A #1 Air was going to charge. We are consumers that do research by reading reviews and contacting the BBB for their feedback. There is a similar complaint in the BBB page that I read before we called the company, and yet, we still gave them a chance. The company tried to scam us and failed to show professionalism in their job capacities. We are totally disappointed in a company that professes that they treat people like family. We will not use this company again and will definitely use the "word of mouth" method. If I were you, I would not use them either.

Desired Settlement
We would like a refund of the money we paid to the technicians that came out to assess our a/c problem.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and addressed all their concerns. We have also processed a refund check and sending out priority mail this morning.
As always our goal is that each customer be 100% satisfied with the services we provide and do whatever necessary to accomplish that.

Thank you!

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to show up for scheduled services even after two days of promised arrival.
Failure to show up for scheduled services even after two days of promised arrival. Called for service 1 week in advance and still on the day of service no one came. Then they promised we would be first in line on the second day and no one came.

Desired Settlement
An appology and buy one service and receive the second one free.

Business Response
We understand that every customer's time is valuable and would be more than happy to perform 2 tune ups for the price of 1. Our goal is to ensure the customer is 100% satisfied with our service.

Page 1 of 3
05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not showing up for the schedule appointment.
Just want to let other people know that A#1 air does not honor there appointment times. I made an appointment 3 weeks ago for a spring tune up as this was the earliest time they could see me they gave me a 10-2 window for my appt date. My date arrived as i waited for them to show up between 10-2 they didn't show up. There solution was to reschedule after i called to find out when the tech would arrive.

Desired Settlement
My settlement request? How do I request my time energy and frustration refunded.If people are looking for a reputable company i suggest looking else where.There obviously to busy making commercials and don't have enough techs on hand to fulfill the long awaited appt times.

Business Response
We have apologized to the customer and understand their time is valuable. We would be more than happy to perform the tune ups at no charge to the customer at their convenience. If they would like an exact time of arrival we would be happy to honor that for them. We strive to ensure every one of our customers are 100 satisfied with the service they receive from A#1 Air.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To little to late! That should have been A#1 response before having to get the BBB involved.I have already found a company and had my tune up preformed.If A#1 would like to reimburse me for the cost of hiring a different company to preform my tune.I would consider the issue closed.

08/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/30/1998Business started: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Sherry Green (Vice President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

Alternate Business Names
A#1 Appliance, A Number 1 Air & Appliance, A # 1 Air & Appliance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A # 1 Air, Inc.

601 E Corporate Dr

Lewisville, TX 75057-6403

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 601 E Corporate Dr 

    Lewisville, TX 75057-6403

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A # 1 Air, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 243-4848
  • (214) 221-8500
  • (972) 317-0078
  • (817) 261-6501
  • (972) 939-8500
  • (972) 985-1104
  • (972) 242-8600
  • (972) 242-4800
  • (972) 746-2224
  • (972) 893-1968
  • (972) 464-2762
  • (972) 984-7282
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.