BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2011

Efficient Home Solutions

(972) 235-26001105 E Plano Pkwy Ste 2, PlanoTX 75074-8585 Send email to Efficient Home Solutions

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2011

BBB has determined that Efficient Home Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Efficient Home Solutions' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Efficient Home Solutions

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New Trane air conditioner purchased 01/15 has
had multiple cooling problems since the beginning of summer and problems still not resolved.
I have been without air conditioning off and on for the entire summer. I don't have the model number for the A/C unit but can provide that later. It was purchase on 1/7/15. Efficient Home Solutions has been out to work on the unit multiple times. It works for a day or two then goes out again. EHS tells me that Trane will not allow them to replace until they have tried all options. I have had to miss multiple days from work to meet with EHS. I have had to move to my sister's home when the heat is unbearable. I have done everything requested of me including having a new breaker installed although my electrician tells me that there was nothing wrong with the old one. They said it could be too much voltage to the A/c. I had Oncor come out and they said voltage was fine. It seems that they continue to blame the problem on everything possible rather than replace the defective unit.

Desired Settlement
I need to have the A/C unit replaced as it is very apparent that Efficient Home Solutions is not capable of repairing the existing one. If Trane insists that EFH explore all possible problems, then a Trane technician should be on site to help rather than just telling EFH every time to try something different.

Business Response
Ms ******,

Per our conversation this morning 8/21/2015 thank you for asking BBB to remove your complaint against Efficient Home Solutions and addressing the concern with Trane directly. We have been and will continue to support you through this process of getting Trane to address these issues and repair or replace. We will continue to make their suggested repairs and /or replace components via their requirements in support of you at our expense per our agreement.

Thank you again for your understanding in this matter.

09/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
EHS charged me for 2 HVAC units that cost me $25,999. Told they are High Efficiency units -Not. Said - found out Consumer reports rates then low!
EHS told me and wife that ***** is rated top by consumer reports and they are the best rated! Not true! Overcharged for me $5000 dollars. Afterward checked on pricing and found out from 4 HVAC companies, I over grossly over paid and did not get the High Efficiency HVACs I was promised. I could of bought TRANE which is the best for what they sold me low end ***** and told me and my wife they are the best!
Found out that one of the furnace is registered to a person in Plano, TX! I want what the2 sales people told me I would pay for, top of the line High Efficiency HVACs. Not to be overcharged by $5000 dollars and get low end ***** HVACs.

Desired Settlement
Honor what you told me I was buying. The two EHS sales people told my wife and I that ***** is the best and it even says so in Consumer Reports. Four HVAC people said I grossly overpaid and that TRANE and AMerican Standard are the best in the HVAC industry. I want the units traded out for what i paid for. I also paid EHS $1600 dollars for baffles in the attic and R48 insulation! My wife and I will testify as to the truth of these words.

total spent on HVAC:$27,599

I want to know why one of the furnaces is registered to a person in Plano, TX. Is this unit a used furnace. Why would someone else have the registration of the unit in Plano, TX.

I trusted EHS in making sure that we bought the best in High Efficiency HVACs. What I sold was low end HVAC at high-end prices. $ HVAC companies told me that these units are not High Efficiency HVACs as told and that we grossly over paid. One HVAC company said that the HVAC has to get rid of these crooks and he has been active in exposing them!

The quotes from 4 HVAC companies are: $18,700 cash, $20,000, $20,595 and $19,500.

I trusted EHS and paid EHS for the best HVACs in the industry and they sold me low end HVACs. They lied to me and my wife! ***** corporate is trying to figure out why a furnace I bought is registered to a person in Plano TX? AS of right now I am out of a warranty for one of the furnaces!

If they do not agree to replace with american Standard or Trane, then I want my money back. They lied to me and my wife as representing ***** as the best in the industry! We paid for top of the line HVACs and got low end.

Business Response
We are very sorry to hear you are no longer happy with the purchase you made from us back in June. We were very excited to see your wonderful review on Facebook a few days after we installed your package of energy saving products and services.
To quote your review:
"Quick response and done wright! and I am picky! Knowledgeable sales team! Now my home is R60, baffles in the eves vents and totally efficient. Nice to cut my bill by 35%+ with a new HE air conditioner and furnace. You should talk to them about being a leader in LEAD energy saving."
The package we put together for you included:
1- 5 Ton ***** Prestige 16 SEER V/S and 2 stage complete system
2- 4 Ton ***** Prestige 16 SEER V/S and 2 stage complete system
3- Wifi Honeywell 8000's (later upgraded at your request to 2 Honeywell Wifi Lyrics)
4- 4" media filter racks added to both systems
5- New plenums and additional return air added to systems
6- 32 soffit baffles added to under eave soffit vents
7- Attic Access Tent Cover
8- 5" of blown in fiberglass added to 1200sf of attic
My Service Engineers met with you and your wife in your home, gave you repair quotes for your current equipment as well as prices for replacing both systems. You told my team you wanted to discuss it with your wife and you would get back with us. My Service Engineers left to continue providing service to other customers. You called us back later that day to ask us to come back to your home and get you set up for installation. We promptly did so and got you set-up for install the next day at your request.
Although I can empathize with your disappointment on finding a product or service that you had previously purchased for a higher price and later finding it at a lower price, I do not understand you creating a feeling of dissatisfaction with the company. Our price for the above listed products and services was fair.
You mention that you want us to trade out the units you paid for, but you already have the units you paid for. In regards to the comment being made about ***** being the best; Trane, ***** and American Standard are some of the top brands and so the comment you claim our techs made would hold true. As for the price you claim to have paid for HVAC being $27,599 this is entirely false. You paid a total of $25,991.12 for HVAC services itemized above. As an afterthought you requested additional attic insulation be installed, and we did install 2100sf of R-60 (not R48) to your home on 6/16/14.



You wanted to know why a unit is registered to a person in another city and if we sold you a used furnace. No we do not sell used equipment and any other concerns related to this will need to be addressed with ***** manufacturing and not Efficient Home Solutions. While we cannot presume to know the cost of business for other companies in the HVAC industry, we are quite familiar with our costs of business. Our quotes are competitive and comparable with other HVAC companies in the area. We in no way sold you low end equipment as you can see from the 16 SEER Rating, variable speed furnace, upgraded wifi thermostats, and media filters we installed for you at your request.
You signed off on and agreed to pay for the ***** brand equipment that you purchased and we installed at your request. We even have a photo of you in front of your new equipment celebrating on Facebook. So for this reason, and the many others we have outlined, we will not be replacing your equipment, or refunding your money. Neither my staff or I lied to you and at this time I am respectfully requesting you withdraw this unjustified complaint and immediately cease all contact with myself and my staff; this is to include the false accusations on all social media platforms. Since you felt the need to threaten to shoot me with your 45 pistol and have harassed my staff and other clients on social media; we will no longer be doing business with you. Should you have any further questions, concerns or complaints please feel free to submit them to me through email at ****@ehshvac.com. I will continue to document and forward all communications to the Plano Police Department.

***** ******
President
Efficient Home Solutions

09/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Istalled devise failed to work before warranty expiration. We have no A.C. Temp is 89 degrees. Company must replace part again.
First, we need A.C. system fixed, can't sleep w/o it. After returning to repair issue, the company left the unit broken.
Invoice 7613,serviced 7/6/14,tech Rocky.
Failed to work on 8/3/14. Attempt to repair it 8/4/14
Service call $200.
Parts and labor warranty is for 30 days.

Three days before warranty expiration, device installed failed to work leaving us w/o A.C. Second service call was requested, they came but left the unit still broken

Desired Settlement
Need broken part of A.C. unit replaced

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@ehshvac.com
On July 6th, 2014 at 9:03 Mr. ******* called EHS and requested a technician come out because his Trane XR12 was not cooling. We explained that there would be a $79 service call and scheduled ***** ***** to service his system with an arrival time between 10a.m and 12noon. Roque inspected the system and informed Mr. ******* that he had an ant problem and that the ants have infested his contactor and caused a short; in turn causing his system not to cool. ***** quoted the price of $383 for a new contactor and burnt wire repair to Mr. ******* and explained that the price included his service call as well as the part and labor to repair the damage the ants had done. Mr. ******* said he could only afford $200 so our technician offered Mr. ******* a substantial discount! Roque did the necessary repairs for the $200 instead of the $383 quoted price and explained to the client that if he didn't take care of this ant problem...the new contactor could have the same problem.
On August 4, 2014 we received a call from Mr. ******* saying that we were out there 30 days ago and that the outside unit is not working, and that the AC is not cooling. We explained to Mr. ******* that there would be a $99 service call. However, if the part we installed was faulty, he would not incur a service fee. The client agreed, and we dispatched ***** to go out to the client's home from9pm to 11p.m
Upon inspection of the outside condenser, he found that the contactor was once again infested with ants preventing the unit from working properly. ***** explained to the customer that he would clean out the ants for FREE since we installed the contactor about a month ago; but that he was still going to charge the $99 service call fee. Mr. ******* agreed to pay the service fee, so ***** got the unit in working order. ***** told Mr. ******* that he was going to his truck to do some paperwork and would be right back to collect payment. That is when Mr. ******* threw a twenty dollar bill at our technician and said "we're even." Roque explained that this is not acceptable, and that he needed to pay the service call as Mr. ******* walked back into his home, locked the door and turned off the porch light.
***** called the police and the Officer arrived and took a statement from both ***** and another technician that was working with ***** that night. The officer tried to knock on the door and speak with Mr. ******* but he didn't answer. The officer suggested taking the $20 and either leaving or putting the system back the way they had found it. ***** agreed to put the system back the way he found it upon arriving that night and handed the officer the twenty dollars. She wrote her information on a piece of paper and taped it along with the $20 bill to Mr. *******'s front door.
Efficient Home Solutions rebukes Mr. *******'s accusation that we installed a "devise failed to work before warranty expiration"; we installed a contactor and it was in working order until the ants on his property (which he had been warned about) damaged the contactor again. We will not be replacing the part again, as Mr. ******* demanded because the part would be and still is in working order! The only reason his unit isn't working is because he refuses to maintain the equipment properly. At this point we have given Mr. ******* a discount on a part because he claimed he couldn't afford the original price, ***** offered to clean out the ants from the contactor during his second visit...for FREE if the client paid the $99 service charge.
Roque did not get a report number from the Officer, however if one is needed we will be glad to work on getting one.

***** ******
President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Energy Service Companies, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Energy Management & Conservation Consultant, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Audits, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Radiant Barrier Contractor, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Ventilating Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/18/2011Business started: 07/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2010, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Rivera (President/CEO)
Business Category

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Energy Service Companies, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Energy Management & Conservation Consultant, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Audits, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Radiant Barrier Contractor, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Ventilating Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PMSat: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PMSun: 07:00 AM to 11:00 PM

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

13 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Efficient Home Solutions

1105 E Plano Pkwy Ste 2

Plano, TX 75074-8585

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1105 E Plano Pkwy Ste 2 

    Plano, TX 75074-8585(972) 235-2600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Efficient Home Solutions is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.