BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2013

Dex Media (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(844) 339-6334PO Box 619810, Corporate Office, DallasTX 75261-9810 Send email to Dex Media

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2013

BBB has determined that Dex Media meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

BBB is evaluating a pattern of complaints before issuing a rating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

669 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 366 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues157
Billing / Collection Issues258
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service249
Total Closed Complaints 669

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints are regarding dissatisfaction with billing or collection issues. Specifically, customers complain that advertisements in the company's yellow page directory are automatically renewed without the customers consent. This results in the company acting to bill the customer for an additional 12 month period contrary to the customer's wishes.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dex Media

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 13
Total Customer Reviews 13 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (669)
09/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told us via email they would cancel print billing. Never did. They lied to us to get the contract
In Aug 2015 we discusses a new contract. The amt they quoted was 120 per month. Told them we didn't want to spend over $99 per mo. Sales rep Greg ********* told us he could enter contract as is and once the new contract went into effect, he would stop the billing of $20.00 per month for the print ad and issue a credit. Here we are 7 mos later and nothing has been done. I reached out to them via email each month we got a bill. Nothing happened. Next thing you know we are getting calls from collections. I contacted them and explained the problem. They enter the notes and sent an email to rep. Since the rep has no intention of standing by his word, we decided to pay the bill to keep our credit clear.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of all monies paid on ac #6603811498

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** Alley, Clt Rel Adv
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@dexmedia.com
Good Afternoon,
After speaking directly with our client we have agreed to adjust the billing for the additional $20 per month as a matter of public relations. Once our client's payment is received we will issue a refund back for that amount. There will be no further billing on this account number. We appreciate the opportunity to address our client's concerns.

Thank you,
****** Alley
Client Relations Advocate
Dex Media

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This decision is 100% conditional. That condition is based on the premise of Dex Media following thru on their actions as listed above. Remember, 7 months of broken promises is what got us here in the 1st place.

If they do not keep their word I will reopen this case.

09/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Just want to cancel my account and owe nothing
I signed up for a free trial and wanted to cancel after that. Now I keep getting new charges every month. I talk to customer care. They say we will put it in the computer as canceled but you have to talk to your Rep. So I call my Rep and he conveniently has to go into a meeting and tells me to call the office. Today I receive yet another charge and when I tried to call their system was down. I tried to get this resolved but Dex Media keeps sending me new charges. I have not received any phone call from new clients because of Dex Media and am very dissatisfied with the service.

Desired Settlement
I just want my account canceled and to owe them nothing

Business Response
Dex Media contacted the client to discuss this issue and resolve the complaint. Our records indicate the client was sold on a trial agreement in error. We have as requested taken the online product down and adjusted all fees associated. We have also as requested placed a cancel request on file for the upcoming print advertising. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


09/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PAID 598.00 WEBSITE SET UP FEE AND NOTHING WAS EVER COMPLETED. PROMISED REFUND, NEVER HAPPENED.
WAS CONTACTED BY DEX MEDIA ABOUT SETTING UP OUR WEBSITE AND ADVERTISING FOR A 598.00 SET UP FEE AND A MONTHLY FEE THERE AFTER.THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO BE COMPLETED WITHIN 30 DAYS AND RAN ON FOR MONTHS! THE WEBSITE WAS NEVER COMPLETED WITH CORRECTIONS I WANTED,NOR WOULD MY VEHICLE INVENTORY EVEN PULL, AFTER 3 MTHS OF BEING PATIENT AND GETTING ONE EXCUSE AFTER ANOTHER FROM MY REP, SHE BROUGHT HER SUPERVISOR IN TO MEET ME. THEY WERE BOTH APOLOGETIC AND WAS TELLING ME HOW THEY " DEX MEDIA" HAD DROPPED THE BALL ON THIS ARRANGEMENT. THEY TOLD ME THE WHOLE AMOUNT WOULD BE REFUNDED BACK TO US. NEVER HAPPENED! I CALLED A MONTH AND HALF AGO TO FOLLOW UP, THEY SAID IT WAS IN PROCESS. I GET ANOTHER STATEMENT TODAY FROM THEM. I CALLED ASKING FOR THE REFUND, WAS TOLD THEY DECIDED NOT TO GIVE IT TO US ON 6/26/16 AND WE COULD ONLY USE IT FOR A CREDIT NOW! WHY WOULD I DEAL WITH THEM IN A CONTRACT ANYWAY! THEY DID NOT DO WHAT THEY WERE PAID TO DO. ASKED TO TALK TO SUPERVISOR AND WAS HUNG UP ON. VERY POOR BUSINESS PRACTICE.NOT TO MENTION MONEY LOST WITHOUT HAVING A WEBSITE.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE A FULL REFUND PLUS SOME FOR THE TIME AND FRUSTRATION THAT HAS BEEN CAUSED BY THIS WHOLE ORDEAL.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Amanda ****** Clt Rel Adv
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@dexmedia.com
Good Afternoon,
Although we are not able to offer any additional compensation to our client for time and frustration, all monies paid to Dex Media have been refunded. The advertisement has been canceled and no further charges or payments will appear. We appreciate the opportunity to address our client's concerns.

Thank you,
****** Alley
Client Relations Advocate
Dex Media

Consumer Response
Per consumer's e-mail:
Everything was taken care of in timely manner. Satisfied!!

09/19/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have a 12 month contract with Dex, and were incorrectly billed the entire duration, resulting in overpayment of $2104.39. No one will call back.
Our contract with Dex is three facilities: Apple Village, Apple Tree, and Gardens. Account XXXXXXXX, Account XXXXXXXXX, and XXXXXXXXX. We signed a contract for $679.50 for 12 months. Dex Media split the bill and billed each facility separately. The split amount was never correct, which I called and informed them over and over. They would credit one of the bills a random amount, but then go back to an incorrect billing.

I requested amounts paid to Dex over the life of the contract, and made a spreadsheet to get totals.

We have overpaid on our current XXXX-XXXX contract by $2104.39. This is determined by taking our monthly investments, as stated on page 2 of the Dex Advertising Proposal and signed 3/19/15, as well as the Shared UDAC Split Billing Request, signed 3/19/15. The Monthly investment is $679.50. Times that by 12 months, as stated on page 1 of the Dex Advertising Proposal proposed start/end date/term. This 12 month investment total is $8154.00.

We have paid $3,366.30 from Gardens, $3,139.97 from Apple Tree, and $3,752.12 from Apple Village. The total of the three facilities is $10,258.39.

Taking the yearly payments minus the signed monthly/yearly investment results in an overpayment of $2,104.39.

Here are the monthly totals paid:
Jul-15 $320.58 $422.25 $485.35
Aug-15 $169.20 $69.72 $57.84
Sep-15 $327.51 $327.50 $378.48
Oct-15 $261.75 $261.75 $301.25
Nov-15 $261.75 $35.25 $301.25
Dec-15 $- $261.75 $301.25
Jan-16 $525.51 $261.75 $301.25
Feb-16 $261.75 $261.75 $239.10
Mar-16 $261.75 $261.75 $291.37
Apr-16 $261.75 $261.75 $291.37
May-16 $261.75 $261.75 $291.37
Jun-16 $226.50 $226.50 $256.12
Jul-16 $226.50 $226.50 $256.12
TOTALS $3,366.30 $3,139.97 $3,752.12


I have sent this information over email and online chat, and still nothing has happened. This is what I asked for:
I am requesting that a careful investigation be conducted on these accounts, and we are disputing any further invoices at this time. I have instructed all three facilities to not pay any invoices until we can come to an agreement on refunding our overpayment, and ensure that our invoices/bills are correct going forward.

Since being notified, my requests have been ignored, and they proceed to bill us amounts that don't even correspond with our new contract, which states we pay $139 total between the three buildings. The most recent bill sent to Apple Tree is $463. Where this amount came from and what in the world they are now billing us for now is unknown, since every time I try and call them, they send me to Customer Dispute, and that person says they will call me back and never do.

I am filing this complaint because I can't get anyone to answer me at Dex, no one will fix the billing amounts, and if I get someone to look at it, they don't fix the actual problem, but send me to another department, despite my requests to talk to a manager or supervisor.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of my overpayment on contract 2015-2016 for $2104.39. I am also seeking correct billing for the new contract for 2016-2017, which is $139/monthly.

Business Response
Dex Media contacted the client to discuss this issue and resolve the complaint. Our records indicate the client was billed $709.13 x 13 months for print and $105.00 a month digital for 12 months for the prior agreement. We reviewed the payments made and sent the contracts to the client as requested. The client was billed the correctly for the contracted rate but we have processed an adjustment as a matter of public relations for the confusion. Client requested to be billed on 1 account instead of 3 for the new issue so as requested se have sent to have these combined. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The person who called it help to resolve the issue, I appreciate how he was able to provide the right information, he assured me that the billing will be correct going forward, and apologized for all of the confusion. There were two contracts that have never been produced, and no one else at the company had given them to me after I had requested them. But he was able to give me the request of contracts, and satisfied the issue .

09/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overbilled my credit card repeatedly despite numerous attempts to straighten it out. Was told over and over how the billing would be right, never was
I had a longstanding relationship with SuperMedia for yellow pages ads. In December of 2015 or so, Dex Media bought them out. I had auto charge to my credit card on my account. In Feb, I received a nasty letter, telling me I was in arrears on the account, which was supposed to automatically charged every month. I called the company and thought I had everything straightened out.
I was to be charged $43/month.
I never received a copy of the contract.
Starting in March 2016, Dex Media began charging my account random amounts. 3/1 I was charged $134, then I began being charged $67.25/month. I contacted them after about 7 unsuccessful attempts (their customer service reps were working "offline"). Finally got to speak with someone and was told the billing issue was resolved.
Next month, I was overcharged again. Attempted to contact someone and finally got to speak with someone after six or seven attempts. Was told they were charging the correct amount according to the contract that I signed. She finally sent me a copy. I could easily see that it was not my signature. It had been forged. I responded to the customer service rep's email, telling her that my signature had been forged and now noone will speak to me at all. I had also contacted my local rep twice, to no avail. Finally, I contacted Capital One and disputed the last two charges and put a block against any further charges from Dex Media.

Desired Settlement
I want our relationship to come to an end. They breached the contract that my name was forged on and I want nothing further to do with them.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue. We spoke with our client & agreed to clear the current balance. We also agreed to change the billing rate to the $43/mo going forward. We put in a cancellation request for the future issues so that they don't auto renew, which will give the client the opportunity to discuss the future rates prior to doing a new contract. We have also changed the client from ebill to paper billing. I've given her my direct contact information should she have any issues going forward. Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This will be acceptable provided that they actually do what they say they will do. That remains to be seen and I will not know if they have done so or not until next month.

Page 1 of 45
09/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dex Media continues to send bills and refuses to cancel account even though we have a cancellation confirmation number.
We have continued to receive bills from Dex Media even though we have cancelled our account and have a confirmation number. They automatically renew businesses without notifying them and then refuse to let you cancel. We have paid the year that we were unknowingly automatically renewed for ($99/mo) because they said they wouldn't cancel that account until we finished our contract. That contract, which I believe should be invalid anyway, is up but they continue to bill us. When I call to discuss our billing situation I am repeatedly left on hold for extended periods of time until it is obvious I am not going to be talked to. After doing very little looking on the internet, it is obvious there is an ongoing issue with this company and if it involved scamming people out of money, it is criminal. We simply want them to stop billing us and to cancel our account like they were supposed to and hopefully other people can get their issues resolved as well.

Desired Settlement
We would like our account canceled and the bills to stop. We have a confirmation number of our cancellation but the bills continue.

Business Response
Dex Media contacted the client to discuss this issue and resolve the complaint. Our records indicate the cancellation was received but the advertising was not pulled from our records. As requested, we have cancelled as well as adjusted for all fees billed after the cancel was received and outside of the Management Fee that client agreed to. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

09/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We canceled are business account in the yellow pages in 10/15. They said it wound end in 3/16.
We are still getting bills.
We have been paying on time for years.

Desired Settlement
To cancel and no more bills.

Business Response
Dex Media contacted the client to discuss this issue and resolve the complaint. Our records indicate the cancellation was received but the advertising was not pulled from our records. As requested, we have cancelled as well as adjusted for all fees billed after the original agreement. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

09/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dex Media will not let me cancel my service with them.
I called dex media in 2015 to cancel, and they told me it was to late the contract already renewed. So I called back in 2016 and they told me okay somebody will call you. No call back. So I kept calling them to cancel so they told me okay, l am no longer going to receive any more bills. And my contract ends in July of 2016. I have not received any bills, so I was thinking everything was taken care of. Now it's September and I just received another bill like it was never cancelled. So I called dex media back on 9/12/16 and customer service told me she did not know what I was talking about, and my account was still active. Not sure on what else to do.

Desired Settlement
Would like my account XXXXXXXXX Just Lawns to be canceled and no more services with dex.

Business Response
Dex Media contacted the client to discuss this issue and resolve the complaint. Our records indicate the cancellation was received but the advertising was not pulled from our records. As requested, we have cancelled as well as adjusted for all fees billed after the original agreement. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

09/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled account in April then never heard anything until this month with a collection notice.
Called in Nov 2015 to cancel account said I couldn't cancel until January. Called January 2016 said I couldn't cancel until April. Called April paid balanced due and was assured account cancelled. We got NO business from the advertising and when I tried to change the type of account I had since it wasn't working, emailed, left messages with my account rep and never got a return call. Only billing would ever respond to me.

Desired Settlement
Need the 565.84 removed from collections and cancel account FOR REAL this time.

Business Response
Dex Media contacted the client to discuss this issue and resolve the complaint. Our records indicate the cancellation was received and the advertising was cancelled Effective in January as requested. The billing the client is referring to is the balance of print advertising from a book back in XXXX-XXXX. The client advised she did not purchase the business until January 2014 and this was prior to the agreement. Client is sending in the required paperwork to show she is not responsible for the debt and we have noted for collections to stop contact for that balance. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

09/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have had website and email issues since the start of 2016 when all of these things were supposed to be updated and new.
I have been a long time customer with Dex advertising. 5 years ago I decided to have them build a website for me. At the end of 2015 I met with them to discuss the following year. I was told my website was dated and they had to build a new one. As 2016 started with the new website I noticed I was not receiving any emails from my contact form from my website. It is my slower time in the beginning of the year so I did not think much of it. As the year went on I was busy with work but was still not getting any emails from my website. I filled out the contact form a number of times and received no email back. I contacted dex and was bounced around tech support for awhile and was fed up. Decided to contact local sales rep and she said she would get it fixed. It is now end of August and still nothing. They stopped billing me for part of the service but this month my bill came and they said they had been having billing issues and said I owed them 1,019.00 I have had a number of customers call me this year saying they tried to get a hold of me through form on website but I never received their request. Also had a 2 week period where I did not even have access to my email at all. I have been told several things that there was a migration issue, that my email was old and needed to be updated. They updated it and contact form still did not work. After months of going back and forth a new guy was assigned to me and in the end he told me the same thing my email needed to be updated. I have paid my bill every month and I was told I would be compensated that I would get some kind of credit. None of this ever happened and now they send me this huge bill. I paid for an advertising package that is not working. My account number for dex is XXXXXXXXX Thank You for your time.

Desired Settlement
Termination of contract this is the worst service I have ever experienced.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue. We spoke with our client & agreed to process adjustments to his account due to the issues that occurred. We also took down the Search Engine Marketing Program as he requested. The website is working properly now & our client is getting his emails as he should. Thank you

Page 1 of 89
03/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
03/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
07/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Advertising - Directory & Guide, Yellow Page Advertising

Additional Information

top

On May 16, 2016, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 16-11200.

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Delaware District Court CM/ECF, 824 Market St. 3rd Fl, Wilmington, DE, 19801 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

BBB file opened: 06/22/2007Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2006, TX

Business Management
Principal: Kathy Barker (Manager Client Care)
Contact Information
Joe Walsh (President/CEO)
Business Category

Advertising - Directory & Guide, Yellow Page Advertising

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1615 Bluff City Hwy 

    Bristol, TN 37620

  • PO Box 619810
    Corporate Office 

    Dallas, TX 75261-9810

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dex Media is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Advertising - Directory & Guide

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On May 16, 2016, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 16-11200.

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Delaware District Court CM/ECF, 824 Market St. 3rd Fl, Wilmington, DE, 19801 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.