BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1988

Mr. Transmission - Hoover

Phone: (205) 979-3090Fax: (205) 979-3696

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello,

I recently had my car repaired and paid $3300. I have not had my car for a month.
I have been patient calling my advisor ***** but I am been told that my car is beeping take to *****. The fixed my valve body and other items. I got my car back 2 days and I had the same issue when I took my car in. I was told it's my anti theft. I had no problems with my anti theft before. I told it a mercedes and the hard to work on. If this was the case I s ***** have been told upfront. I was told last week my car has been towed. I would like for my car to fixed in a timely manner and have them honor my warranty. I should not have to pay more money for issues that I was not having.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my car fixed in a timely manner and covered by Mr ************ with no cost out of my pocket. I need transportation while my car is in the shop. I have paid a month car payment for a car I can't drive.

Final Consumer Response
email from: ****** ********
1/13/15 6:30 PM
to: *********@csal.bbb.org
from: **************@yahoo.com

Yes sir I'm happy with the resolution.

10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A water pump was needed to satisfy my engine overheat. They disassemble my engine and my timing chain without authorization and motor has locked up.
Amberly contacted my wife to inform us that the cause of the vehicle overheating was the water pump and it need replacing. I then contacted Amberly to get clarification and she told me the same, but I was told that the mechanic would like to check the timing chain. I immediately requested that Mr. Transmission do not inspect the timing because that would be something that I would like the Dodge dealership to inspect and the vehicle is running fine. Furthermore, I asked that Mr. Transmission no longer contact my wife about my vehicle and contact me instead. We authorized the company to replace the water pump and that would satisfy my original problem that occurred on September 8th. Amberly put in the work order to start the installation of the water pump on September 14th and it was guaranteed that the vehicle would be ready by September 16th if the pressure test to check the heads were satisfactory. The service estimate was $639.30.

Amberly contacted my wife to inform her that the vehicle needed spark plugs, two overhead camshaft chains, a coolant housing, valve cover gaskets, and a new timing chain; in addition to, a timing chain belt tensioner, and timing chain guides. Amberly then quotes my wife and new service estimate of $1,830 and ask my wife to make an emergency authorization to perform the extended service. My wife then ask Amberly to contact me, but she never called. At 4:13 p.m., I contacted Amberly and reminded her that her staff was not to perform any inspections on my timing chains and question why was she continuing to contact my wife concerning my vehicle. In October 2015, Jim Burke Dodge performed tune-up service and guaranteed 75,000 miles on new spark plugs. In January 2015, new ignition coils were installed. I explained to Amberly that I needed my water pump replaced only because that was the only issue with my vehicle and the car was running fine before this happened. Amberly also state that the two overhead camshaft chains were OK and needed no replacing. Then I asked, "Why did you tell my wife that the chains needed replacing and attempting to persuade and emergency authorization?" After our conversation, I requested that Mr. Transmission and its mechanic cease all further inspections and labor on my vehicle. Due to the fact we authorized the installation of the water pump, we were still obligated for this service.

Arrived at Mr. Transmission to inspect my vehicle before rendering payment. The car was cranking and they fill my vehicle with new antifreeze. Amberly recommended and oil change because it was found that my oil was low and 1,000 miles over recommended maintenance. I then ask Amberly if your mechanics have possibly drained any oil because the car was max full before it was towed to the company. She claim that the mechanics have not done anything to drain any oil. Amberly showed me pictures of one spark plug that is 75% worn and the engine cover, gasket, and the timing chain which was lying on the ground. I asked why is the chain on the ground and is this timing chain back in correct timing. She said we had to take off the chain, but I have asked her on two occasions to not inspect or perform any service regarding my chains. As I began to leave and do a test drive around the Hoover area, I noticed a slight delay when I arrived home. Another test crank and oil level check and it is low. I had an instinct that my timing may be off. As I began to leave my home for work, my oil kettle light comes on and that has never happened since the car was purchased back in 2009. I immediately went to Autozone and the technician also concluded that your oil is low and I explain that I just left Mr. Transmission and I suspect something has been done to my vehicle because the oil was at full level before they received the vehicle. It was recommended to put 3 quarts of synthetic oil into the engine and the car would be at max level. After the quarts of oil was placed into the vehi

Desired Settlement
Legal action to compensation for lost wages and the payoff amount for my vehicle that was to be paid in full by December 2015.

Business Response
Mr. ******** wife was the initial contact prior to vehicle being towed into our location. His wife was the one who called ******* for updates on vehicle. Mrs ***** called to check if the car was checked to verify where the coolant leak was coming from once the water pump was confirmed that it was leaking and needed replacing ******* then called Mrs. ***** back to let her know and how much it would be for the repairs. Mrs. ***** said she would call amberly back after talking to her husband. Mr. ***** called ******* back after repairs were authorized to replace water pump asking if we could also check if we could hear a rattle/ chain noise and to confirm if that is where the noise was coming from. ******* then called Mr. ***** to let him know that there was a noise coming from motor and once we got the water pump off we would be able to see if anything additional would need to be replaced due to the noise. Once we got to the water pump Mrs. ***** was contacted to let her know that we recommend replacing the timing components and one of the chains on the right side of water pump that it was bad and we recommended replacing that along with the spark plugs due to them being worn out and the coil for engine misfire code that the vehicle had when it came in, we recommended oil change due to motor being sludge up and over heated oil and it was 1,100 past due by the sticker and also recommended replacing the valve cover and intake gasket sets since the valve covers had to come off to get to the water pump, at that point Mrs. ***** said she would call Mr. ***** and would call ******* back. Mr. ***** then called ******* asking why would those items needed to be replaced he was explained that the motor was sludged up really bad and why we recommend replacing the tensioner guide/ tensioners and chain on the right side of motor. We recommend the spark plugs due to being worn and that the labor was already there to replace them. Mr. ***** declined replacing any additional recommended parts.
We only took off necessary parts that require replacing the water pump and the water pump is chain driven which is the only chain that came off to complete authorized repairs. When the customer picked up the car he was told the oil level came in about 1/2 to 1 quart low which the customer declined doing a oil change. When the customer left our location he went to ******** and they put 3 quarts of fully synthetic motor oil on top of the old overheated broke down oil. After the customer left ******** he then called us and said he got 10 miles down the road and said something is not right with the engine and that is felt like it was locked up.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
"Mr. ***** called ******* back after repairs were authorized to replace water pump asking if we could also check if we could hear a rattle/ chain noise and to confirm if that is where the noise was coming from. ******* then called Mr. ***** to let him know that there was a noise coming from motor and once we got the water pump off we would be able to see if anything additional would need to be replaced due to the noise."

On 9/12/2015, I spoke with ******* and authorized the installation of the water pump. However, ******* states that the mechanic would like to check the timing chain. I immediately requested that Mr. Transmission do not inspect the timing chains because if there was a problem with my chain, I rather the Dodge dealership inspect, plus the vehicle had no prior engine problems and was running fine. Furthermore, I asked that Mr. Transmission no longer contact my wife about my vehicle and contact me instead. ******* put in the work order to start installing the water pump on September 14th and it was guaranteed that the vehicle would be ready by September 16th if the pressure test to check the heads were satisfactory. On two occasions, I told ******* and her crew not to work on my timing chains, nor anything else on the engine. They ignored my request and continued to disassemble engine components.

On 9/16/2015, ******* ignored my previous request and continued to contact my wife and informed her that they took off the timing chain and it needed replacing. In addition to spark plugs, belt guides and tensioners. She also state that both chains on the DOHC need replacing. I became furious due to the fact that all of my requests had been ignored and I immediately ask Mr. Transmission to cease all labor on my vehicle and have it towed to another mechanic and requested that whatever had been taken apart be put in a box. Keep in mind, the water pump has not been installed by the day that ******* guaranteed which was 9/16/2015.

"We only took off necessary parts that require replacing the water pump and the water pump is chain driven which is the only chain that came off to complete authorized repairs."

According to a certified mechanic at Hoover Toyota, he explained that it is not necessary to take off the timing chain to replace a water pump on a 2008 Dodge Charger, plus once a timing chain has been removed, oil is drained from the engine. According to mechanic consultant with 45 years of experience in the Atlanta and Birmingham area, he also stated that removing the timing chain was unnecessary to install a water pump.


On 9/21/2015, I arrived at Mr. Transmission to inspect my vehicle before rendering payment. The car was cranking and they fill my vehicle with new antifreeze. ******* recommended and oil change because it was found that my oil was low and 1,000 miles over recommended maintenance. I then ask ******* if your mechanics have possibly drained any oil because the car was max full before it was towed to the company. She claims that the mechanics have not done anything to drain any oil. ******* showed me photos of a spark plug that is 75% worn, the engine cover, and my timing chain, which was lying on the ground. I questioned here as to why my timing chain on the ground when I ask repeated not to inspect critical engine component. She said we had to take off the chain, but I have asked her on two occasions to not inspect or perform any service regarding my chains. As I began to leave my home for work, my oil kettle light comes on and that has never happened since the car was purchased back in 2009. I immediately went to Autozone and the technician also concluded that your oil is low and I explain that I just left Mr. Transmission and I suspect something has been done to my vehicle because the oil was at full level before they received the vehicle. It was recommended to put 3 quarts of synthetic oil into the engine and the car would be at max level. After the quarts of oil were placed into the vehicle that oil was back at max and the light was no longer visible. After driving ten miles, the oil light comes back on and the motor locks up.

I contacted ******* to let her know what has happened and further ask if her mechanics has done something wrong, i.e. timing, oil and etc. because the car no longer starts. ******* still makes claim that they have not done anything wrong, but the car was running excellent until Mr. Transmission took the engine components apart and failed to replace my oil after removing the timing chain. ******* claims no liability and states that engine sludge locked my motor. I was not made aware of an oil change until after payment was tendered and I question as to why would I need oil change and it was at full level when the vehicle was towed to her company. As of today, the lights are visible and the oil kettle light is on. I have two witnesses that will testify that I asked ******* over the phone, not to do any labor on my timing chains.

***** ******* (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Please see link for complaints around the country that is similar to what I have went through with Mr. Transmission.

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/mr transmission.html
http://ecorporateoffices.com/MrTransmission-2922

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took SUV to Mr Transmission on 12/31/2014 and had to contact them almost every business day to verify status of repairs, not a professional mechanics.
My son and I took his SUV (co-buyer) to Mr. Transmission on 12/31/2014 around 8am and were told by ******* that there was a free inspection of the vehicle and that we may here something by the end of the day or first thing Friday morning. We asked how long it would take to inspect and we were told his car was the FOURTH car in line... Friday morning came and I called around 2pm that day to verify status and was told that the Builders were OUT and that it would be on Monday morning or afternoon before they could inspect and they would call. Monday came and I called that afternoon, vehicle had NOT been inspected. I called on 01/06 and was told that they were busy and they had not had the opportunity to inspect because they were behind and that I did not have to call, they would call me. I had to continually call until they finally called my son on 01/07/2015 to SAY that they needed to INSPECT the vehicle further and it would cost $425 to tear it down or disassemble. I called her BACK to discuss with her the conversation about the price and ask if it was $425 and she said yes. I asked how would it be applied she said to the cost of repair, if we choose them to repair it. I said so it is $425. She said, yes.... We approved for it to be tore down and was told that we would know something by 01/08/2015. There was NO discussion with me or my son about a reassembly price. ******* called my son on 01/08/2015 and gave him the dianostics of the tear down and gave a cost of $4230.53 to discuss with me. 01/09 I called ******* back and in full discussion, told her we would not be able to afford the repair work and asked what needs to be done to get his car so that we could come pick it up. Amberly went into how much did he owe, where was his car financed, to see if maybe a Wholesaler could come and purchase and have the repairs done. I discussed that too much was owed and he would be out too much money with bank and what we had already paid for past repairs. She said that maybe they could come down a little bit and get it to run where he could possibly sell it, again I told her he could not afford any other repairs. She said she would get with Wholesaler and call back. 01/14, I called and spoke with ******** she said that they had been busy and she had not had time to follow up with a Wholesaler. I told her that it would be best to come pick up car and pay the $425 because we could not afford the repairs. She said that she would call my son and disucss the Wholesaler situation with him. 01/15-She called and discussed with my son and he told her he could not afford and we would come and pick up the car and that he was having teeth extacted and it may be around Friday or Saturday. 01/19-I called Amberly to pick up the SUV and was told that it was $425 and an additional $425 to put the transmission BACK in the car for my son to drive off or we could have a tow truck to pick up the SUV. He called to verify and was told that, they only disassemble car or tear down but there is an additional price to reassemble the SUV. He made arrangements for a tow truck and was told that the tow truck could NOT pick up because the parts were not ready and prepared to be picked up. 01/20 - In my frustration I went to pick up the SUV and had a tow truck on the way. They would not allow me to pay over the phone, so I went to pick up my son. My frustration IS, in NO way was there talk of an additional price to reassamble the SUV, not at time of tear down nor in ANY conversation to pick the car up ONLY $425 was discussed. Reassembly was not discussed nor were we told. The tow truck was on his way to pick up the SUV and was turned around because they had to put on a belt, so double the cost of towing. I feel Mr Transmission and his crew are total crooks and they know full well of what they charge and how to get AWAY with it. They are not forthright and to me are not an honest business. I am out of a tow

Desired Settlement
The towing cost

Business Response
Case# XXXXXXXX
On or about 12/31/14 ***** ******** brought the vehicle into Mr. Transmission for a free performance check. The authorized contact for any discussion regarding the vehicle listed is ***** ********.
***** ******** was informed of the free performance check findings and he was advised of an internal transmission problem. At this time, an internal inspection service was recommended. An internal inspection service consists of removing, dismantling, and inspecting the transmission internally. This service allows the worn and damaged parts list to be constructed. This worn and damaged parts list is necessary to determine the exact cost of repairing the vehicles transmission. The cost of the inspection service is approximately half of the labor of the total repair. The cost of the inspection service is applied to the repair if authorized. If the customer decides against the repair, then just the cost of the inspection service is charged due half of the labor being performed. It is our company's policy and procedure after a complete inspection service, when a customer declines recommended repairs to a vehicle the vehicle is delivered with a removed dismantled and inspected transmission. Mr. Transmission is an ethical business who strives to insure customer satisfaction.

12/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle repairs resulted in additional damage to car and we feel Mr. Transmission is completely incompetent.
The vehicle was dropped off on Monday July 7 due to a possible transmission related issue. The vehicle was ONLY taken there because at the time I could not find another place that would deal with my brand of car in close proximity and my vehicle was quickly becoming undrivable.
When the wheel would turn all the way left or right, something was catching and would only move if the gas was pressed very hard.It felt like it was stuck in AWD. The problem had just begun days before it went in for service. We have only had the car since 10/2013. The only issues to this point have been, O2 sensor, new tires, and suspension air bag needing replacement. For two weeks we were getting no information unless we called them. There was no customer service at all. Around the two week mark, we began calling almost daily to inquire about our car. We were promised our car 3 different days and were told every time the cause of our problem was "something else." We were told several times the wrong parts had been ordered/ delay on parts. On Friday July 25, the owner spoke with my husband for a long time and said the problem was in the back of the car and they couldn't match parts b/c some part of it had been replaced before. At that point they were sanding down gears to try and make something fit. HUGE RED FLAG!I received a phone call on Monday July 28 around 7 pm and guess what, the problems wasn't in the back end it is in the transfer case! I explained my displeasure once again and restated that I must have my car by Monday August 4. School would be starting and I had to return to work. Spoke with them Wednesday and Friday of that week. Friday at 5:45 pm a mechanic called and said my car was ready. They closed at 6 and are not open on weekends. I explained that my husband was not in a place where I could get in contact with him and my son was gone for the weekend with his car so I had no way of getting to it. I told him I would try to reach my husband. The mechanic called back and said I could pay over the phone and he could leave the car out front for me so we could pick it up. I only agreed to that b/c I don't trust this place at all and I really wanted to get my car before Monday so we could drive it and make sure it was really fixed before I needed to return to work. Immediately from driving away I knew they had screwed it up worse! I called my husband who was in the car in front of me and told him right away it was NOT FIXED. It now feels like the suspension was messed with. Every little bump or dip in the road now causes noises and bumping from the rear as if the air lines have a leak or suspension is gone. THe suspension was fine upon leaving my car with Mr. Transmission. We just spent close to $900 to have the air bags in the suspension replaced this past April! I continued to drive it home (approx. 2.5 miles from Mr. Transmission). Before I got home the check engine light came on. We immediately drove it to Advanced Auto Parts and had them check the code. The code came back as "camshaft phase angle has exceeded its tolerance value." Whatever that is. We drove the car just around the area to see if we could figure out what was going on with it. We then returned home. This morning I went to start the car and it wouldn't start. It cranks, then it intermittently revs up and down and the interior lights go on and off, then the car shuts off. After a few attempts the car stopped reving up and down and would actually stay on. The check engine light is still on. I have not driven it as it does not feel safe to do so. Mr. Transmission had my car for a total of 27 days. Our cost was over $1800 and our car was given back to us still in disrepair and not safe to drive.We do not trust them at all and do not want to return there with our car HOWEVER they need to be financially responsible for having our car repaired since they have made it worse. This whole ordeal has caused myself and my husband and immense amount of stress.

Desired Settlement
We want our car towed/ repaired by a competent mechanic of our choosing at their( Mr. Transmission) expense. We would also like a refund.

Business Response
The vehicle was dropped off at Mr. Transmission Hoover on or about July 7, 2014 for a complete performance check. Customer (**********) advised us at the time of dropping the vehicle off, she was in no hurry for the vehicle and to take our time locating the problem and making the needed repairs. The customer's remarks at the time of drop off was when backing out of a parking space with the wheel turned the vehicle stops, it does not matter forward or backward the vehicle stops. The check engine light was on, and the airbags rattled until the vehicle ran for a while.

After a complete performance check by an ASE certified mechanic, the customer was advised that this was going to be a process of elimination and that the problem could possibly be coming from the rear differential. At this point the customer authorized a RDI on the rear differential. RDI is removing, dismantling, and internally inspecting the rear differential. After determining what parts was need and checking the availability of these parts the customer was contacted. The customer was advised that the needed parts would take approximately two weeks to be delivered. Our technician ordered the parts according to OEM guidelines set by the manufacture. The needed parts were delivered and inspected finding that the parts order from OEM guidelines was not the compatible parts for this differential. The Customer was then informed of the delivery of parts and after inspection the parts were not compatible with the differential. This is due to the differential not being the original one that came from the manufacturer. Whoever owned the vehicle prior to the customers completely changed the differential from the original OEM manufacturer. The gear ratio was different. The front and rear need the same gear ratio. The Customer was advised of the findings and authorized a RDI of the transfer case. After inspection of the transfer case, the planetary gear in the transfer case was replaced. The needed repairs were completed. The Customer was advised the vehicle was ready for pick-up. In video one Mr. Cheek states the problem is fixed.

After reviewing the included video, any and all questions or concerns should be cleared.
Attention *********: Look for a complete package in the mail.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In no way did I ever indicate that I was not in a rush to have my car repaired. When I spoke to the man on the phone asking if they were able to work on my car my exact words were " please do right by me." When I dropped off the car there were no engine lights on and never did I say anything about air bags. I also repeated to the man writing up the paperwork to please treat me right. I stand by what I said before. I was not given proper communication or service and these guys knew that things were still messed up on my car when they turned it over. They knew it was going to be an issue and arranged for me to pick it up after hours. The mechanic had initially told me there would be someone there on Saturday ( not open for business but there working) and I
could come then. He then promptly called back to say no one would be there so arrangements were made for me to get it after closing Friday. Saturday morning when we drove past their shop, all the bay's were open and even the owner was there. That is when my husband went in to talk to them. These guys knew exactly what they were doing in ripping us off.

02/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Manager ***** would not honor warranty to fix an issue that was repaired at his location 2 months ago.
I took my car into *****'s shop on October 19, 2013 where he repaired thermostat housing, replaced battery, and did a transmission flush. Exactly 2 months on december 19th my car over heated and steam bellowed from under the hood. i called mr. transmission to come get car since they are the ones who repaired it. It was initially towed to pelham location then towed to hoover location. once it gets there ***** stated he does not know what is wrong with the car because it would not start. He then continued to say that if i pay $130 he can take a look at my car and then determine what is wrong with it. I advised that the receipt i got from 2 months ago stated i had a warranty on parts and labor and he continued to get loud and then say that i was acting in a way he did not want to say. I then told him that i would like to come and get my car so i can take it to another facility because at this point i am not comfortable with the level of service i am receiving then he started to yell again and say if i just give him $130 he can tell me whats wrong with it. I adivsed that when i first brought the car to him he only told me it would be $90 to diagnose my car and how did the price increase to $130. He did not acknowledge that and he moved on to say that i would need to pay the tow cost before i could get my car. I advised him this past saturday 12/28/2013 that i would get my car and he declined because he stated he did not know how much the tow fee was and it would be Monday before he knows. I stated that the other facility is waiting on my car and now it has been 9 days and i am still without a car and i would like to get my car. needless to say today is 12/30/2013 and i still have not gotten my car repair or my car in my possession and this has been the worst customer service experience i have ever received. My warranty was for 90 days and he refused to honor that by not looking at my car until he received more money and i don't feel like i should since i have another month left on the first service i received.

Desired Settlement
Initially i just wanted my car fixed and to be done with it. But now i would like a full refund for all service excluding battery replacement. I would like refund for towing and for the repair of thermostat housing and all labor cost.
Total requested $450

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
******** ******** originally requested the alternator be replaced. After a free performance check our technicians determined the problem was a leaking thermostat housing, defective battery, and a transmission flush. *** or **** ******** approved these repairs with a 90 day warranty on the parts replaced and labor only. *** or **** ******** originally requested the vehicle be towed to the ****** location. *** or **** ******** went to the Hoover location to speak with *****. He or she requested only ***** inspect the vehicle and requested the vehicle be towed to the ****** location. After a free performance check our technicians found the vehicle would not crank and also had a spell of burned wires. This is an indication of a electrical problem. Our detailed inspection fee of electrical problems is a flat rate of $130. *** or **** ******** stated they would get back with us regarding their decision. They then contacted our home office ***** *********** *** or **** ******** called on Saturday. Both of our locations are closed on Saturday; however, we do transfer the phone over to help our customers in emergency situations. *** or **** ******** asked how much they owed for the tow bills. He or She was informed that out locations are closed on Saturdays, and we would contact them on Monday with an exact tow cost. *** or **** ******** paid the tow bills, picked up the vehicle, and took it to the dealership. The dealership found the starter shorted out and caused the starter relay (which is under the hood) to short out and burn. Which enhanced the smoke to come out from under the hood and that is also the electrical smell we smelled. The dealership installed a new starter and starter relay. These parts that the dealership installed is not covered under the original 90 day warranty on parts installed and labor because they were never installed on the vehicle. We strive to exceed customer expectations and provided excellent customer service. If *** or **** ******** have any problems in the future both locations will preform an complete free performance check to inform them of the issues the vehicle is experiencing at that time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Reason number 1 I am not satisfied with response is I did not request alternator be replace, I had no idea the alternator had an issue. When I called ***** I was at auto zone getting the free testing and it came back as electrical voltage which they said was the battery and coolant issue which we leaned towards the thermostat housing being an issue. It was a Saturday around 11 am when we called and ***** said bring the car on in so I was never aware that they were not open on Saturdays since that is the day he repaired my car, which was October 19, 2013. ***** states he did a free performance check but stated to me that it would be $90 to look at my car but if we allowed them to fix it they would put that amount towards repairs. I called the number that was provided to me now what location I called I was not sure and when the tow guy came he looked under the hood and stated it looked like the thermostat housing was leaking because pink liquid was all around it which was not when I left Mr. transmission and did mention something about the Pelham location and I stated that I had it fixed in hoover could he tow it there and he said that *** *** was expecting the car and it should be fine since it was the same line of business. I later learned my fiance might have advised to have it towed back to hoover location. I only wanted my car fixed. The second problem I have with Mr. Transmission is not that he was going to charge $130 to diagnose electrical problems. It's the service I got behind it. ***** first stated he could not tell me what's wrong with the car because it would not start and it would cost $130 for him to check and I did not feel like I needed to pay another $130 when you did not rule out the thermostat housing. He told me that he could not do anything with my car and granted it was 2 months since repairs were done I would think you would want to rule out the parts and labor that was done there. After I decided I was not going to let them work on my car my fiance called for tow fees and yes it was on a Saturday because we are off on the weekend and that is when I had time to pick up my car and like I said it was a Saturday when my car was fixed so I was none the wiser that they were not open. My car had been at that location all week prior, why would you not already have the tow charges on hand. The last thing that really puzzles me is when I took my car to dodge that the guy there and ***** were friends and although I was unsure, he assured me he would fix my car and diagnose it first and give me the fees, however what he could never tell me is where the smoke came from, on 3 different occasions he stated he could not find out why it was steaming from under the hood but stated he only replaced starter and relay but ***** seems to know a lot about what caused the steam from under my hood that the dealership could not provide for me. I feel like something at this point was covered up. After I picked my car from the dealer they still could not tell me where the steam came from. The guy there stated he had his guys do a thorough check and they did not know what caused it, but ***** now seems to have all the answers. After this experience I goggled Mr. Transmission hoover and come to find out the rating was 2.7 out of 5 on this one site and couple people had similar experiences or worst. I do appreciate the offer but I will not be doing business with this company nor would any of my friends, family or coworkers. One of the sites with reviews, https://www.google.com/#q=mr.+transmission+hoover&lrd=lrd

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was deceived about the total cost of car diagnostics/uninstalling/reinstalling transmission. Was refused contact acccess to owner to voice complaints
I took my vehicle to their location on Monday, 11/11/2013 to be inspected. Informed intake coordinator that I need to have the car checked out. He told me to diagnose problem, there was a fee of 425.00 to uninstall transmission and verify. He also stated that I would be contacted the next day with an estimate of the problem. I informed him that if the repairs were costly, it was probably not something I could afford to have fixed immediately. At no time during this conversation was I informed that if I elected not to repair the vehicle due to financial limitations, that I would be charged an additional 425.00 for labor/re-installing transmission. I was made to believe by intake coordinator that the original 425.00 fee would be all I was expected to pay in the event I did not elect to repair the vehicle. I was never contacted the next day in order to to be informed of what the problem was. I called every day from 11/12/13-11/15/13 in order to check on the status of the vehicle and either had my phone calls unreturned, or was told to call back the next day, only to receive the same message. Finally on Friday 11/15/2013 at 8:00 am I went up to the location to assess the situation with my vehicle and was given many excuses as to why I had received no updates and was advised to follow up with them at 10:30 am. I called at 10:30 am and was given more excuses as to why I had not be updated on my vehicle. Finally at 5 pm I called and asked for my vehicle to just be restored back to the previous condition in which I turned it in, so as to take my vehicle somewhere else to be worked on, and was for the first time in an entire week informed that for them to put my vehicle back to to the previous condition it was brought in as, it would be an additional 425.00 fee totaling 850.00 in diagnostic/labor fees and resulting in no repairs whatsoever being made to my vehicle. When I question why I was not informed in advance of the separate fee (after I had been made to believe that the only agreement I signed which was for 425.00 total), I was told that it was my fault because I did not ask about the separate fee, which I could have never been aware of unless being informed about from the intake coordinator. I asked to speak to the owner to make him aware of the situation and was refused any contact access to him (including email) because allegedly he was "out of town". I asked when my vehicle would be ready for me to pick up, and was told Monday 11/18/13. I contacted the location on that day, and was told it would for sure be ready to pick up 11/19/2013. It is now that date at 3:28 pm, I have called the location and not received any update regarding my vehicle, and still have been unable to take possession of it, even after agreeing to pay the outrageous charges I'm being asked to.I'm reporting this incident because I don't want anyone else to be taken advantage of and swindled by this company due to a lack of purposeful misleading and miscommunicating on the part of its employees. Had I been informed at the onset when I explained my financial limitations and situation (of this vehicle being my only one, and of not being able to afford costly repairs and just wanting to know what was wrong with it), that it would be an additional 425.00 fee in the event I elected not repair the vehicle, we could've avoided this situation and I would've never authorized them to work on my vehicle. I cannot even be sure that I have been honestly charged for labor costs seeing as how I have receive no updates on my vehicle's status at any time they were told to me they would do so originally.

Desired Settlement
I would, at a bare minimum, desire for Mr. Transmission to refund the unexpected extra additional 425.00 fee they charged to me to restore the vehicle back to its previous condition, because they misled me on the original total cost of 425.00, and it ended up being 850.00 in diagnostics and "labor fees" resulting in no repairs being made to the vehicle. I don't see how its good business practice to charge someone almost 1,000.00 when my vehicle was not even repaired, nor was I ever updated on my vehicle status at any time when promised, and in fact I have still not been able to recover my vehicle in a timely manner. I also have no way of being sure that I'm being honestly charged for "labor hours" when It has now been 9 days, and no repairs were even made. I'm submitting this request in order to keep from pursuing further legal action.

Business Response
When *** ******* brought his vehicle to Mr. Transmission a free performance was preformed. At that time *** ******* was advised of internal transmission failure or transfer case problems. A internal inspection was recommended and approved by *** *******. A internal transmission inspection cost $425.00 which includes removing and dismantling the transmission and transfer case. *** ******* was advised of this. Our technician recommended a used transmission to replace the damaged transmission at the time of authorization of the internal inspection. This is the most cost effective choice. This recommendation was due to the cost of repair/reconditioning the original damaged transmission. The $425.00 cost of the internal transmission inspection will be applied to any repairs authorized by the customer. Transmission repairs or transmission work is a extremely timely repair due to the complexaty of transmissions. *** ******* declined installing a used transmission or rebuilding the original damaged transmission. The president of the company was unreachable and out of town during this time. *** ******* was advised he could contact the president of Mr. Transmission when he returned. Mr. Transmission strives to provide excellent customer service and quality work. *** ******* declined all recommended repairs and requested the vehicle be put back together. The technicians that preformed the work must be compensated for their time and effort to provide *** ******* quality service and repairs. *** ******* was informed and authorized the removal of the transmission and transfer case for the cost of $425 for a internal inspection service. He also was advised that the $425 would be applied to repairs authorized. *** ******* declined the repairs and choose to have the damaged transmission installed back into the vehicle. This labor cost would have been the same if *** ******* provided another transmission to be installed.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.