BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2011

Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC

Phone: (205) 470-2885Fax: (205) 685-0049View Additional Phone Numbers993 Yeager Pkwy, PelhamAL 35124-1833 Send email to Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2011

BBB has determined that Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
03/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for contracted roof flashing work that was not performed. Did not discover until squirrels found in attic.
Apex installed a new roof last August under contract that also included installing flashing over all areas where squirrels could enter attic. In January I heard noises in the attic and called our pest control company who came out to find squirrels in attic. While here the pest control person found that an approximately 40' area did not have flashing installed and was large enough for squirrels to easily enter. He stated the opening was large enough that he could clearly see our gutters through the opening from the attic. He also could not state with certainty that any portion of the roof had flashing installed. There was also evidence of chewed wiring, which I had repaired.

I then called Apex to have their crew come back to finish the job and was told they would. After a couple of days no one had contacted me so I called again. This went on for over a week until Apex stopped answering my calls and also would not respond to voice-mails that I left. I then contacted the original sales person for Apex who then had the person who answers their calls to contact me. She gave me the cell phone number of the person who does their flashing work. I called him several times before he finally came out to see what material would be needed. After several days I contacted him again and he stated that he was behind on his jobs due to rain but would get back with me to schedule. Over the next couple of weeks I contacted him and was given an excuse each time. More than once he has told me that he would be out and would even give me a day. Each time I stayed home but he never showed up. Once he even told me that they were wrapping up a job and were heading our way. Again he never showed up. I again called the sales person who intervened and told me that he would get us on the schedule. I was told last week that they would be out Friday, so again I stayed home. I emailed the sales person and he said it would be in the afternoon. I later received an email that said they were running behind on a job and would Monday be okay. Knowing that the forecast for Monday was heavy rain I responded by asking for a refund so that I can get someone else to do the job that I paid for six months ago. Eventually I agreed and of course it rained on Monday and they couldn't come out. The sales person emailed me and stated he would let me know Tuesday morning when they would be out. I assumed I was first in line, but Tuesday morning he emailed me and said he was going to contact the work team and get back to me with the time they would be out. I never received another contact from him.

It is obvious to me at this point that I am constantly being pushed to the back of the line since there is no new money involved with my job. My wife and I are tired of noises in the attic along with the possible damage the squirrels may be doing. It is also mating season for squirrels and I need this done before they create a nursery in our attic. I have been very patient with Apex in getting this issue resolved and no longer have confidence that they will complete it as written in the contract. At this point I just want a refund for that portion of the contract paid for flashing.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the portion of the contract included for flashing installation. I have given them over a month of time to correct, so I no longer want them to promise another "we will be out" date. I need to immediately get someone else out to correct the issue before more damage is done by the squirrels.

Business Response
We were not contractually obligated to do what he tried to make us do for free. A new roof does not guarantee a squirrel can't get in a house and it is ridiculous to think it would. Regardless, we are fixing his problem cost free.

Consumer Response


Final Consumer Response
Apex has issued a refund for the portion of the work indicated in the complaint, so I am now rescinding the complaint.

09/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HAD ROOF REPAIRED FOR LEAK 5 MONTNS AGO. LEAKING AGAIN IN SAME AREA ( CHILDS ROOM ). BEEN OVER A WEEK NOT REPAIRED AND THEY ARE NOT COMMUNICATING WITH
THEY REPAIRED MY ROOF FOR A LEAK 5 MONTHS AGO. IT WAS NOT REPAIRED PROPERLY . IT IS LEAKING IN THE EXACT SAME LOCATION. MY CHILDS ROOMS CEILING IS NOW DAMAGED AND NEEDS REPAIRS ALSO. MY HOPES IN WRITING THIS IS TO GET RESOLUTION. APEX SENT SOMEONE OUT TO INSPECT AND THE TECHNICIAN SAID HE PUT SILICONE ON IT TO HELP KEEP IT FROM LEAKING AND THAT THEY WOULD BE OUT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS TO REMOVE SHINGLES INSPECT FOR WOOD DAMAGE AND REPAIR PROPERLY. HE MENSIONED WOOD DAMAGE BECAUSE HE SAW WHERE WOOD HAS BEEN GETTING WET AND IS NOW NOT LAYING FLAT WHICH HAS MADE THE SHINGLES NOT LAY FLAT. THIS WAS OVER A WEEK AGO AND THEY HAVE NOT CALLED ME AND HAVE NOT COME BACK OUT TO REPAIR. WHEN I CALL I GET A VOICEMAIL AND CANNOT LEAVE A MESSAGE BECAUSE IT IS FULL. I GET THE IMPRESSION IF THIS WAS A 5 OR 6 THOUSAND DOLLAR ROOF JOB THEN I WOULD NOT BE HAVING THIS PROBLEM. EVERY DAY IT RAINS I THINK MY HOUSE IF BEING DAMAGED AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO FEEL THIS WAY. I PAID FOR A REPAIR AND I EXPECT JUST THAT. AT A MINIMUM I SHOULD BE GETTING PHONE CALLS FROM THEM TO GET THIS RESOLVED. EVERY CONVERSATION WE HAVE HAD IS FROM ME INITIATING A PHONE CALL. I WILL FOLLOW UP WITH A 3RD PARTY IF THIS DOES NOT GET RESOLVED IN A TIMELY MANNER. I AM HOPING, BY WRITING THIS THAT THIS WILL BE RESOLVED AND I CAN MOVE ON..

Desired Settlement
FIX MY ROOF ..I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR IT.

Final Consumer Response
Apex repaired leaking roof..

10/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The cost of the job was not adjusted correctly.
My chimney had water damage on two sides. Mr. ******* indicated to me that he could not price the job until the siding was removed and the damage was exposed. This was understandable to me. I then asked him to price the job to me in the worst case possible , with both sides being reframed and particle board replaced. His price was $1600.00. I then asked him if this price would be adjusted if the damage was not all the to the top and he agreed. After removing the siding it was clear that only half the work was going to be required . After the lob was complete I received a bill for $1300.00 . The bill should have been half of the original estimate since only half of the work was required or $800.00. His explanation to me was his labor cost would have been the same either way. This makes absolutely no sense.

Desired Settlement
I feel I am still owed $500.00 since I was only discounted $300.00 for the job.

Business Response
Mr. ********,

We have received your complaint and want to address in this forum. First, I want to thank you for your business. We understand that you were happy with the quality and timeliness of our work....but had issue with our pricing once the job was complete based on a few factors. Due to issues caused by a previous contractor, we were to remove and replace chimney siding, evaluate the decking and framing underneath, repair what was needed, seal and prevent further moisture damage. Our agreed upon pricing included a worst case scenario with a verbal agreement to reduce cost at the end of the job based on what framing repair and etc. had to be completed. Being that overhead in jobs has a lot do with the cost of labor by day, insurance, and standard overhead, we could have better communicated what
the bottom line overhead was and what the reduction could have been. I understand your wish was to have the job reduced by half but at that rate we would be operating at a loss. I believe our mutual issue is that communication of expectations on pricing reduction based on these factors could have been better outlined and executed. Being that this job was necessary due to a pending real estate transaction and inspection approval, there was little time to complete the project and timing was the most pressing issue. Since this complaint has been filed, we have spoken at length and come to an
amicable solution for all. Customer service is paramount to us and we endeavor to serve all of our customers with excellent results. We are blessed to have your business and thank you very much for a mutual resolution. This is our first complaint in thousands of customers and we will strive to keep it that way.
Thank You,

*************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We came to a mutual agreement but I have not yet been compensated.

Final Business Response
We have mailed customer compensation for our mutual agreement. It is our understanding that when the compensation is received this matter will be resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Payment has been received his shoe is resolved

04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Window Replacement, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Installation, Siding Contractors, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements - Additions, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/2011Business started: 01/01/2001Business started locally: 04/27/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
445 Herron Street
Montgomery, AL 36130-3605
(334) 242-2230
http://hblb.state.al.us

BBB records show a license number of 24005 for this company, issued by Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board. Their web address is http://hblb.state.al.us. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015. Apex Roofing and Restoration, LLC-Designated Qualifying Representative-John W. Rockett.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2010, AL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Grant Rockett (Owner)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Grant Rockett Jr. (President)Mr. John Rockett (Vice President)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Window Replacement, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Installation, Siding Contractors, Commercial Roofing, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements - Additions, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Contractors - General

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers residential and commercial roofing services.

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC

993 Yeager Pkwy

Pelham, AL 35124-1833

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 993 Yeager Pkwy 

    Pelham, AL 35124-1833(205) 470-2885
    (205) 685-0040
    Fax: (205) 685-0049

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Apex Roofing & Restoration, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 685-0040
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.