BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/1998

Meyer Vacation Rentals

Phone: (251) 968-7516Fax: (251) 968-2926

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
06/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We rented a Condo ***** **** **** in orange beach, *** on *** 11th thru *** 17th 2015 for $2400.00.When we arrived it did not look very clean. We had already brought up all our bags and food and were totally exhausted. Upon going thru the condo we found the comforters had a bad smell, so we took them off the beds. Bathrooms had hair in showers and on floor. The living room furniture was so dirty we put some sheets over furniture so we could sit. We decided instead of calling and complaining because we were so tired did not want to move all our stuff to another place we would just clean it. So we did. Got to one of the bathrooms to wash a rug and found it was stuck to floor would not come up. In another bathroom when I flushed commode it got stuck so I removed back of commode to fix it and you would not believe what I found. Mode a lot of it. It was horrible. It had an Ice maker machine but it would not work. Couldn't have used it anyway because of mode. Getting back to bedrooms, found blankets in top of closets. Smelled so bad of body odor we washed them to have cover. There were old ceiling fans in closets along with clothes that someone left along with boxes (not sure what it was).Ironing board cover had a big burnt hole in it could not be used at all. Although this is all bad things I have to say that the queen bed mattress slept good and we loved the wrap around balcony. Thats the reason we stayed although we did leave three days early. Had all we could take. I did contact this company by email and let them know we checked out early and left complaints with them. A ******** called me took my complaints along with pictures of all of them that I had taken. Talked to someone, called me back gave me an apology and offered me $72.00 refund on the cleaning. I told her that was a insult to me and do not send the refund. I did not rent this condo for 2400.00 just to clean it. I still have pictures of how bad it was. You will not believe!
Product_Or_Service: Condo
Account_Number: XXXXXXX Confirmation

Desired Settlement
Some type of refund should have been offered to me. I'm not sure how much but what they offered is insulting.

Business Response
Ms. ***** please accept our sincere apologies for the conditions of the property you rented from us recently. We are truly sorry for all of the inconveniences you experienced.

***** ***** Guest Relations Manager, has made an offer to you today to refund three nights, which totals $1,002.33, and our records indicate that you have verbally accepted that offer.

Again we regret the situation ever occurred and are very sorry about the communication breakdown following your report of the situation. We do hope in the future that you will give us another chance to provide a vacation experience that will delight you and your family.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Finally someone not only sincerely apologized but recognized the severity of the problem. I am very satisfied with the response this time.

04/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I arrived to Meyers to check into rental property, it was asked to present a credit card, which was then photocopied. They said it was normal.
1.When I arrived to Meyers to check into rental property ***** ***** ******* on the ***** it was asked to present a credit/debit card, which was then photocopied. They said it was normal practice. This is not common practice. They would not let us check into property without a photocopy of my debit card. It is 2014, in which this particular rental was already paid for and in the books. All my information was already submitted securely and confidentially. NOT HAPPY about this practice. Even the cleaning people could walk by and get all my info right off of a piece of paper!!!(15:00 on 4/14)
2. Within 2 hrs of checking into the property, it was noted that the A/C was not working properly. It was approximately ~81* in the condo. It was set to 70*. We went outside for a couple of hrs to cool off. The A/C was still not working. Meyers was then contacted within 4 hrs of reaching the property. (20:00 on 4/14)
3. When speaking with Meyers about issue it was noted by ******** ********* since the weather was bad no one could look at the unit that night (20:00). The work order was issued and A/C contractor would look at it in the a.m. But some fans could be brought out to keep us "comfortable". ******** was very courteous.
4. When checking on the status of repairs on(11:00 on 4/15). Meyers customer service rep told me that the A/C man should be coming. He told me I should just "prop some doors open". If I wanted to prop doors open just to be comfortable, I would have went camping. I didn't pay ~275$ a night for my family to "camp". And I told him this was not an option because I had very small children with me.It was not safe to do this.He agreed that this was a bad idea.
5. (13:30 on 4/15) A/C contractor showed up and told me the A/C compressor was burnt up. I was then told to open the doors to cool it off in my room. This was not an option. Was then told by A/C men that they would get a compressor and try to get it on unit.Meanwhile temperatures in the unit was still ~80* with no A/C. It was however around 60* outside.
6. (00:30 on 4/16) Could not sleep due to being hot in unit. I contacted Meyers again to check on the status of the repairs to the a/c. Meyer's rep told me still waiting on parts.. " Have a nice night" and that's it. Just hung up.
7. Returned to unit on 4/16 in the evening expecting to have a comfortable unit. (A/C still bad order).
8. Left unit at 08:30 on 4/17 coming home to a/c that works. Not even one time was I called and asked if A/C was working and anything on the status of the repairs. WILL NOT BE USING MEYER AGAIN.
9. Have rented property at ******* on the *** for the last 4 years. Haven't had a bad experience until now. Will continue to stay there but not with Meyer.

Desired Settlement
-Refund on services due to situation with bad order A/C in unit not working the entire time my family (my wife and 4 children) was in unit ****** at ******* on the **** during our vacation.
- Photocopies of my "debit card" in their files to be destroyed. This is not a common practice ANYWHERE, I don't care what they say.

Business Response
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
I called *** ******* ***** this morning at 9:00 a.m.and apologized for his inconveniences regarding the A/C repair delays during his recent vacation. I advised that we are refunding one-half of his rent, plus tax for a total refund of $239.76 and we are issuing a future stay certificate in the amount of $300 that is valid for two years. *** ***** was satisfied with the refund and future stay certificate.

I also personally pulled his arrival paperwork containing an imprint of his debit card and had a co-worker witness my action of shredding that paperwork. I advised *** ***** that the paperwork, which had been stored under lock and key, was now destroyed. He was satisfied with my actions in this regard as well.

Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation with *** ***** in a satisfactory manner.

***** *****
Guest Relations Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company was hired to find us a beautiful place on the beach. It was filthy! They said we should have complained but we didn't even know we could.
This vacation was a gift from me to my two daughters and two granddaughters. I wanted it to be very special. The girls were reluctant to tell me how bad it was. I made them send pictures and they did. It was disgusting! I sent pictures of the condo to this company to the attention of Kathy Harr. I asked her for my money back. She said that my daughters should have complained while they were there. My daughters were not aware of any phone number to call and complain. Finally, Kathy said she would send $ 135.00 to my daughter. I am not happy with that as I feel it should have been clean when they arrived. I feel it is up to Meyer Vacation Rentals to know the cleanliness of their condos without waiting for a complaint from an unhappy customer. This not only makes a bad vacation for my daughters but also a black eye for Meyer Vacation Rentals. I asked for $500.00 back. It's less than half of what it cost.
My children couldn't take a bath because of the filthy tub. My girls love hot baths so they were disappointed. They said the floors were so dirty they had to wear socks. The toilets were so old. For $10.00 they could buy a new toilet seat. These were so old they looked to me like urine could have been in the cracke for a long time...not good!
I still have pictures on my email I could send to you.
We are not trying to rip anyone off. We are a Christian family and always try to be kind. But I feel you should know about this for the benefit of others.
I have never filed a complaint before.
Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement
The only resolution we asked for was $ 500.00.

Business Response
Ms. ******,
It is with deep regret that we learned of the disappointment your family members experienced during their recent vacation with us. We have reviewed the photos you provided and we wish to thank you for being very candid with your comments about not only the housekeeping but also the property conditions. We will share the information with the property owners and work with them to address the issues you reported.

We sincerely apologize for the the service breakdown regarding both the housekeeping services and our communication regarding our availability to assist our guests 24/7 as needed. Your family should never have had to endure a bad situation and we are truly sorry that they were unsure about how to contact us for a remedy.

The refund of the entire cleaning and linen fee has been issued for a total of $138.75 and again we do apologize for any inconveniences. Although it is not the requested $500.00, we do feel it is a fair and appropriate refund.

Thank you for taking time to communicate with us on this matter and we hope in the future you will give us another chance to delight you rathan than disappoint you with our services.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You say you are sorry...but you don't act like you are sorry. If I were you I would gladly give the money to us knowing that you played a big part in nearly ruining our vacation. We took your word that it was a very nice place. Even you didn't know it was good or bad because I suppose you don't have anyone check the cleanliness of a place before you grab our money and promise us the moon. If it were truly "with deep regret" I think you would make it right with us. It is not fair to say how truly sorry you are and pay us only a fifth of what we requested.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******,
We are sorry that our housekeeping services were not up to par for your family's vacation. It is impossible to take care of a matter after the fact, however we stand by our refund of the cleaning and linen fee, which has already been processed as a credit to you.

We are diligent both with our literature and with communications from our front desk team to make sure all of our customers know how to reach us for any reason 24 hours a day 7 days a week. We do apologize for the inconveniences, however we cannot compensate any further.

05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to provide enough advance notice, of rental property unavailability.Called after I had already left my home and had already traveled 500 miles
Reason given for unavailability was that owner was still renovating property.Had not been rented for weeks.Meyer did not check the day before to see if it was ready,instead late the next morning within hours of my arrival.I incurred the expense of driving 1000 miles and cost of motel before driving back,,approximately$700. I was refunded my rental payments after I was not offered a suitable replacement property .One offered was unclean with strong urine smell,trash in yard torn screens.Meyers would not compensate me for any of this expense.The reason for the unavailability of property was not due to an unexpected occurrence,but one they should have been aware of in time for me to cancel before leaving saving me two days of my time and expenses.

Desired Settlement
$275.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the last-minute notification that your originally reserved property was unavailable. Although we have limited resources for dog friendly properties, we did find accommodations and would have quickly remedied any situation you found that was unacceptable. It is very unfortunate that you chose to return home instead of spending time on the coast. We would appreciate a second chance to provide the customer service you expect, so we would like to send you a $200 Future Stay Certificate that you can use on your next visit with us. There are no block-out times and it is valid for two years. Again we are so sorry that your original property was not available and that we had limited means for contacting you with this information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your response does not assure me that you will provide apropriate ,day before, notification of unavailability of property requested in contract so as to prevent me from again incurring travel expenses and time wasted in the future.Also the offer doesnt come close to my previous expenses over $700.nor the much discounted request of $275.Therefore i again request $275. ***

Final Business Response
Mr. *********,
Again we are so sorry that the original property you reserved was unavailable, therefore we followed our rental contract and provided a comparable property. Finding a comparable property was limited due to your special circumstances of needing a dog-friendly property. Even though you had some issues with the dog-friendly property we located for you, we would have expeditiously provided services to bring that property up to your expectations.

Regarding the length of advance notification there are some situations beyond our control at the last minute and two forms of contact are very useful in this situation. Since we had only been provided a home number by you during your reservation process it made the situation even more frustrating for everyone concerned because our repeated calls were unanswered. As you stated in your original statement we did provide a full refund, per our contract, when you chose to not accept the comparable property we provided.

Although we are not offering further compensation, we will honor our offer of a $200 Future Stay Certificate if you choose to give us another opportunity to provide an enjoyable vacation on the coast.

04/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Rental that I agreed to pay was not what I received when I arrived.
When I finally arrived to the rental unit after given wrong directions as to where and get the key for the unit; I paid for a room that had a King, 2 queens and sofa sleeper. What I got was a king, queen, full and sofa sleeper. At which when I called the same day I arrived. I was told there was nothing that could be done and I was stuck with that. Then Find out that the stove does not work but one burner, refergator was not staying cold and the ice maker was not working either. The mattress in the sofa sleeper was not good. I had to go out and purchase a Air mattress at my expense because my husband and I couldn't sleep together on a full. The vacation rental sent someone out to check all the things that were wrong on Friday at 2, and the lady who came did say that it was a full, and saw everything else that was broken. A work order was put in for Stove and referigator at which no one came til after 7pm, at which, we were only able to use the stove for 1 day which was saturaday. The commpany had to go out and buy ice, and sent another person to see why the referigator and ice maker werent working. I had been in contact with the company everyday and dealing with them and the company telling me that there was nothing that could be done and no refund would be given to me. When I checkout on Sunday, i was told that the manager would be there for me to speak to about all the problem I had when I went to check out, i was sent on my way saying that Mr. ****** ****** would not be able to see me and would contact me on Monday. I waited all day Monday and didn't get a call back. I then called on Tuesday and had to leave a message for Mr. ****** with them saying he would contact me back after he was finsihed with a customer he was with. Never got a call back on Tuesday. I then called again on Wednesday and left a message on Mr. ****** ****** voice and once again didn't get a call back. It wasn't until Thursday that I got a call, and nothing was resolved. Mr. ****** then said he would call me back Friday because he needed to talk to his manager, which at this point no body was willing to help or understand the **** that they had put myself and my family in, while we stayed at their vacation rental. All they wanted to do was give me 200 credit for a future stay, with all that we went through I would never stay there again and they refused to refund me any of my money.. Their customer Service was by far the worse and did nothing but stress me out at which I had to see my doctor because i'm also 6 months pregnant having to deal with this company and poor service skills or honoring what i paid for.

Desired Settlement
I would like to either receive a full refund or at least half of what I paid.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the communication breakdown you experienced during your recent visit with us. Certainly it is not our usual operations for you to arrive at the wrong office to begin your special time at the beach. Even though mechanical issues such as the stove and refrigerator issues do occur, we are sorry it is something you had to experience until we could arrive to fix both issues. The two queen beds supplied in this property was something that you questioned but we did verify that the sizes of these beds are 60"x80" which is the queen bed size we advertised. Finally we deeply apologize for the delay in communicating with you after your departure.

Since we would welcome the opportunity to provide a better experience, we are offering a $200 future stay gift certificate that can be used in the next two years on any visit with us, even in peak season. We hope you will seriously consider giving us a second chance to exceed your expectations.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The size was verified after the fact we left the location, once to me the beds were changed. You sent someone in when we were there and they even said it was a full; at which she was going to contact the owner of the site and see why the beds were switched out. You telling me you check the size that was only after we a had already left the site and believe they switched out the beds after the fact. I refuse to do come back and stay with you guys again like I said before so a credit does me no good, when you destroyed my vacation for me and my family. I had to go out and buy a queen size air mattress which was at my expense and after I notified them about me having to buy this I was told, that since it was a full size that they could have brought up a queen after the fact. Offering me a credit benfits your company that in no way is help me, because helping me would have happened when I was already there, not almost 2 weeks after the fact and finally conatacting me a week after we had stayed there. Extermely poor customer service no regards for what myself and family went through. This whole thing has stressed me out while being 7 months pregnant now. As for the Stove and refrigertor were not fixed til the 2nd night at which it was already after 8pm when that was all taken care of. Which means I was only able to use those for 1 day. I want either a full refund or half my money back.

Final Business Response
Ms. *******,
We are very sorry that you have chosen to reject our offer of a $200 credit toward another vacation with us, since we would very much like to provide you with services that delight you.

Regarding the bedding furnished in the property that you rented, each property is individually owned and equipped to the taste and expense of each property owner. The owners can make substitutions to the property furnishings but the owners did not do so at this property upon your departure.

As our Rental License Agreement states, we do not offer refunds for mechanical failures during a rental visit, therefore a refund is not being offered. We do however stand by our offer of a $200 credit on a future visit if you wish to give us a second chance.

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** rented a condo that was health risk and will not respond to my written complaint.
This past weekend we stayed in this rental at Caribe. I was told to check in Thursday afternoon in Gulf Shores, which was the first inconvenience. I arrived around 2 pm as it was out of the way. The man at the desk told me that the condo was in the process of being cleaned and he could not give me my keys for another hour but someone would contact me as soon as it was ready. He even stated that it takes three hours to clean it and they have been there about two hours. So we wasted an hour in Gulf Shores just waiting to get a call. That call never came in so I went back to your office just to check and he handed me the keys without even checking this time. Was he just stalling or were they really cleaning the condo? Well after arriving at ****** it was apparent that he did not have any idea what was going on. Immediately when we opened the door the smell of rotten seafood was so overwhelming it took your breath away. So my first call to Meyer they sent out a young lady to clean. Right before her arrival we also found cookie crumbs and grit all over the floors. The next morning I noticed that all of the tv remotes were missing batteries, the was an issue with the bar lights and mold in the bathrooms. I again contacted the office early that morning and had to call back again after 4 because no one had been by to check on these issues. We then had a visit from a maintenance guy, who quite honestly was the best part of your company. He fixed the lights and remotes but said that the mold was not fixable without cutting the grout. Also all of the jets in the bathtubs were covered in mold too. My final issue was we vacated the property early to go to breakfast. Well while we were at breakfast realized we had left an item in the condo. So I contact your office once again and was told I would again have the drive back to Gulf Shores to get a key or file a lost and found report. So we went all the way back to the office to get a key to then drive back to ******* I think if you are going to service the entire beach you should have a convenient way to check in closer to the beach. I contacted ***** after I returned home on Sunday and have yet to receive a response. I would not stay here again even if it were free.

Desired Settlement
Overall I really expected more from ***** when paying a premium price and would like to be compensated based on the fact that my children could not bath in the bathtubs and all of the inconveniences.

Business Response
I apologize for the delay in documenting our response to Mr. ******'s concerns. Actually a refund was issued by *** ****** to Mr. ******'s credit card in the amount of $143.19 on August 19, 2014. We were notified in writing of this complaint on August 20, 2014 however it was in a group of mail on my desk awaiting my return to from a medical leave.

I am sincerely sorry that Mr. ******'s vacation with us was a disappointment and we do hope to gain his trust again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive $143.19 with no explanation. Obviously the promise of "stellar service is what you can expect and what we deliver to you" on their website means nothing. That is evident in the lack of response to me and the to BBB. I would like a full refund with written apology. Anything less especially with explanation is unacceptable.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mrs. *****,
Unfortunately, I have to inform you that I have never spoken with Kay much less had a couple of conversations. She has not called and this is an outright lie. Maybe there are some many of these issues that she has me confused with another party. As I stated previously, the mold was in more than just the grout. It was in every tub and shower and excessive in the jets of the tubs. There was so much that my children could not bath in there due to health risk. I also originally stated that I would provide photos of the mold growth when I attempted to contact Meyer directly. I never received any response so I contacted the BBB. While your check in time may be 3 pm, there were several guests that I witnessed pick up keys before 2pm. I understand if you have a process but when your employees are not honest it is very discouraging. While I do appreciate your offer of $200, I would pay far more than that to another agency with honest people.


Final Business Response
Mr.*** ******,
It is with sadness that I read you are unhappy not only with the vacation experience but also with our communication and response. I was unable to talk with Kay Norton when I issued the previous response but our schedules aligned yesterday and she brought me up to speed on your situation.

I know you acknowledge that we did send a cleaning person to follow up on the cleaning issues and a service technician for the maintenance issues. However, I do understand that you were not expecting to have any delays or cleaning and maintenance issues, so you were disappointed in your vacation when you should have been enjoying fun in the sun.

I do apologize for your inconveniences. *** explained that she had a couple of conversations with you and during the conversation regarding your refund of the cleaning fee she thought she communicated the reason for the refund. I am so sorry her message was not clear.

In explaination of the check-in location and check-in time I appreciate your feedback because it is our goal to be very informative about both matters well before your arrival. Our two check-in locations are centrally located in Gulf Shores, AL and Perdido Key, FL and our check-in time is 3 p.m. If we failed to properly inform you of both arrival conditions I am sorry.

I do understand why you were concerned about the mildew you saw in the tub grout that could not be repaired during your visit. And obviously the lights and remote were an aggrivation that you did not need while trying to relax.

It is my desire to regain your trust and I do hope you will accept my offer of a $200 Future Stay Certificate that can be used in the next two years on a return trip with us. There are no black-out dates and no restrictions for using the $200 before the expiration. If you will give us another try to provide a better experience I am confident that we will deliver the stellar service we promise.

***** *****
Guest Relations Manager

07/25/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Vacation Rentals, Real Estate Rental Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.