BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2005

gkhouses.com

Phone: (205) 940-6363Fax: (866) 320-1370

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I put in a application for a property with GK houses. I had to pay $100 to process the application. It is impossible to get a response from them. I was supposed to get a response within 3 business days. I did not and so I emailed them several times and did not get any answers. I gave up and now the property has been rented. I asked for a refund because they did not even give a response to my application and again no response. This company had no problem taking my application fee but will not respond to any of my emails and they ask that you not call them or come by their location. The least I could have relieved was an answer whether yes or no. It was well over 3 weeks ago. I would like to receive a refund of the $100 application fee.
Product_Or_Service: Application

Desired Settlement
Refund of $100 application fee

Business Response
Ms. ***** did indeed submit an application for two people to live in one of our houses. We received her application on 4/5/16 and were notified on the evening of 4/6/16 that she had been declined.

Ms. ***** sent an email to our leasing department on 4/7/16 asking if we had heard anything (we have copies of all emails and replies). Here is the transcript of her email as well as our response:

"I have not received an update on my application. I completed it on Monday and when I click on to see the update I do not see anything on my application. Can someone please let me know the status?"

Within an hour our leasing coordinator replied with this statement:

"Hey *******, Hope you are doing well. We did just receive your report back from the underwriters this morning and unfortunately due to your rental history with Alabama Rental Managers and your past due balance, we are unable to approve your application to rent with us. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further questions."

We don't understand how this can be interpreted as anything but us answering her email directly and on time. Furthermore, she would have gotten an automatic email that evening from a third party letting her know that the application was declined.

Their past due balance (over $1,000) and past payment history (late 8X) prevents them from passing *** screening criteria.

Yes, they did pay $100 ($50 for each person) to apply for a house. The underwriters did their job and we let them know via email (again, we have copies and can send those in if need be) in a reasonable matter of time.

Ms. ***** also said that we asked that she not come in to our office...we would never tell a tenant or applicant not to come to our office. And we provide a Support email for anyone to use that is monitored 8am to 5pm.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not receive an email from GK houses. That is false. If I had received the email, I would have been satisfied that I received at least an answer. I did not say that someone from there told me not to come by. This company does not answer the phone. You ask people not to call or email or come by because you claim it slows down the application time. I never received a answer from GK Houses on the status of my application.

10/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company GK Houses and I signed a rental agreement but did not take possession of the property and they will not surrender security deposit.
I spoke with **** ****** today October 7th 2015 at 9:39 am Central Time the phone number he called me from is (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

He spoke to me about what the single owner of the 320 ****** Way ****** Al XXXXX had to say about my refund of the $990.00 refundable security deposit I paid on September 30, 2015 to GK Houses. **** Bryars said that the owner would not surrender to me, ****** L *****, the $990.00 security deposit but rather would not require any rent for the lease on the property because I have not moved in neither do I have possession of the key to the property listed above.

I tried to call **** ****** back twice on the number he dialed me ((XXX) XXX-XXXX) twice and I left two voice mails at approximately 10:15 am and 10:16 am on October 7th, 2015 Central Time. I told him I respond back.

My response to **** ****** From GK Houses: I hereby do not accept the offer presented to me o er the phone at 9:39 am Central Time. I have sought legal assistance on the matter of refunding me the $990.00 security deposit and also not being responsible for any rent due on said commencement date of October 9th, 2015 - October 31st, 2016 as stated in the Rental Agreement. I do not have possession of 320 ****** Way and I have not move a single personal item in the above address. I have also given a letter to GK Houses on October 6th, 2015 stating that I wanted a refund of the security deposit and also stating that I am not moving in the property. I also stated in the letter of intent that I do not have keys to 320 ****** Way.

Desired Settlement
The resolution I'm seeking for GK Houses would be my security deposit back and not be held liable to a property I have not taken possesion of, moved in, neither payed rent on. Also, not having them take me to collections as they have stated they would do if I don't start paying rent on the said commencement day of Oct. 9th, 2015.

Business Response
We are very sorry that Mr. ***** no longer wants to move into the home. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** signed a legally binding lease agreement with our company (on behalf of our Client). We have made Mr. ***** an offer on behalf of the Owner to terminate the agreement, but Mr. ***** is unwilling to accept the offer.
According to the contract Mr. ***** has two choices:
1. Pay a penalty for early termination; or
2. Fulfill the obligation he agreed to in the lease to stay in the home through October 31, 2016.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I, ****** *****, do not have possession of the property neither have I placed a single personal item in the property; therefore the security deposit should be refunded to me because no damage was done and I have not moved in. I shall have to report this in small claims court as I have told Mr. Bryars at GK Houses.

02/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Biz failed to substantiate charges. I have visited in person, they apologized, then continued to harass me by calling and threatening to collect.
GK houses is a property management company that I rented a house from in 2014. I no longer rent from them as of 2014. They are calling me continuously and threatening to "evict" me as well threatening to collect my "seriously late" payment. I've called several times and no one picked up. I've visited in person and they apologized for the mixup and said it would be fixed. Then the calls continued.

Desired Settlement
Stop harassing me with phone calls in an attempt to collect money I do not owe.

Business Response
The complaint is correct. We changed management systems as of December 31 and migrated the tenant data the month before. The tenant asked to be removed from the lease as of the renewal date and we granted that request, thus leaving only one tenant on the lease. We removed the tenant information from our old system, but failed to remove it from the new system. It is our fault and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disqualified Unit due to failure to correct failed HQS violations during an inspection/Lease Null/ Void because I can not live in the unit per HUD
Disqualified Unit due to failure to correct failed HQS violations during an inspection/Lease Null/ Void because I can not live in the unit per HUD

I have been a tenant for 6 years ****** ***** AL. I have been complaining about plumbing problems for years and they will send people out to patch work. This time I reported sewage backing up in the house, if we flush a toilet waste will come up in the sinks and other toilets. This was reported in February 2016. They were told by their worker that the septic tank had to be replaced.

After my neighbors started complaining about the order and waste sitting in my backyard in April 2016. I contacted the inspector who reported the findings of my yard being saturated with waste. I then advise them that I had given them beyond a reasonable time frame to repair the problem and sent them an email letting them know that if the sewage is not repaired by April 25, 2016, I will have to leave this home because by then I had been to the hospital twice for upper respiratory problems/ chest irritation. My children had been sent with their grandparents. I told them to consider that my 30 day notice if the repairs are still not done. The repairs were not done by April 25, 2016 from February 2016. I gave them more than a reasonable amount of time to make the repairs and under Alabama law, when it is sewage that is considered an emergency and reasonable time frame is less than 14 days or the landlord is considered to have evicted the tenant.

During this process, I was on section 8 until May 31, 2016 however section 8 deemed the property as a disqualified unit under Hud law. Therefore, I can not stay in the property. This letter was effective 05/14/2016. I notified them that I not only put in a notice to move due to a failed unit however on May 23 I received notification that I can no longer stay in the unit and if I did I will be responsible for paying the rent. Therefore I have completely moved out and was dropping off the key. I forwarded a mailing address to send my pro rated refund because rent was paid until the end of May on the 31, my deposit refund, and my request for reimbursement due to the problems.

G K Housing representative sent a response and stated I was still going to be billed for the future months.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting no further contact from the Management company or the Owner of the property. I am requesting them to not bill me or hold me responsible for any future rental payments because I am not in their property and do not owe them anything because I was a perfect tenant for 6 years. I also advised them to educate their landlords for managed properties, that Alabama law states repairs should be completed within a reasonable time frame and the time given is within 14 days under the Tenant and Landlord Act in Alabama. I am expecting all of my refunds to be forwarded to the address given.

Business Response
We received a maintenance request to repair the plumbing on 3/24/16. One of our vendors was dispatched under an "urgent" status. He let us know that the problem was with the septic tank. We dispatched the septic company, but because it was Easter weekend, we could not get any vendors to go out at that time. We sent our tenant a text and asked if she had anywhere that she could stay for the weekend. We were going to make accommodations at a hotel for her. The Septic Company arrived at the first of the week and attempted several repairs. The plumbing line was cleared of excessive grease build up and they noted that the septic tank needed to be replaced. This was scheduled for the latter part of April, due to the complexity of replacing the whole tank. During this time, the tank was pumped out twice so that our tenant would have full function of the plumbing in the home. We also received a notice from Jefferson County Section 8 on 4/15, stating that we had until 5/15 to make the necessary repairs to the system. If Section 8 deemed the septic tank issue an emergency, we would have only been granted 24hours to complete the repairs. During the time that the work was being conducted, our tenant and her husband came into the office and spoke with their property manager (Wayne McGinnis) personally concerning their ability to stay in the home and pay unsubsidized rent after 6/1/16. This was due to the fact that our tenant received a termination notice from Jefferson County Section 8, effective 6/1, for exceeding the maximum income requirements (not a disqualification for work not being completed). When we asked the tenant about the septic situation, she let me know that she did not want to talk about it and proceeded to ask me about what she needed to do to stay in the house because she did not want to move. We explained to our tenant that in order to stay in the home after 6/1 she would need to pay full rent because Section 8 was not going to cover her rent anymore. If our tenant was able to do that, she would be able to stay in the home through the lease term. We also re-explained the lease terms and asked if she needed anything else. Both She and her Husband seemed satisfied about the terms and the ability to remain in the home. The next week we received an email from the tenant stating that if the repairs were not made by 4/25 that we should consider it her 30 day notice to move. We explained to her that the repairs would be made as quickly as possible and that ultimatums were not recognized as a notice to move. We explained to her that she could submit an actual notice to vacate, but that her lease term was through 2/28/17 and if she chose to vacate, she would be responsible for fulfilling the lease terms. We needed to return a self-certification to JCHA by 5/15/16 stating that the repairs were completed and it required her signature as well as our Property Manager's. We attempted to communicate several times (including many phone calls) to set up a time to meet and sign the document. She was amicable to meeting and at no time leading up to this did she say that the repairs were not completed. She postponed meeting until 5/14. On 5/14 she informed us that she would not sign the document because the repairs were not made in a timely fashion. We sent the Self Certification to Jefferson County Section 8 and explained to them that she refused to sign, but the repairs were completed. We completed the repairs as quickly as possible, given the circumstances, and we finished it before the deadline that Jefferson County Section 8 set for us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I HAVE MY WORK ORDERS PRINTED OUT. I REPORTED THE PLUMBING ISSUE IN FEB 2016 AND THEIR MAINTENANCE MAN **** TOLD THEM THAT IT WAS NOTHING HE CAN DO OUTSIDE OF CLEARING IT OUT TEMPORARILY AND HE WOULD REPORT THE SEPTIC TANK ISSUE. THAT WAS IN FEB .I WAS IN THE HOME FOR 6 YEARS AND IT WAS VACANT YEARS BEFORE THEY RENOVATED THE HOME. THERE WAS NO SIGNS OF THE SEPTIC TANK BEING CLEANED OUT WITHIN THE 7 YEARS BEFORE THE VACANCY. THEREFORE THE SEPTIC TANK CLEANING WAS A MINIMUM OF 10 YEARS PAST DUE. I HAVE COMMUNICATION FROM YEARS OF THESE PLUMBING ISSUES AND THEY PATCHED UNTIL THEY COULD NOT PATCH THE REPAIRS ANYMORE. I WILL NEVER PUT GREASE DOWN A DRAIN AND THIS COMPANY IS NOT BEING ACCOUNTABLE FOR NOT REPAIRING THE PROBLEM IN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME DEFINED BY THE STATE OF ALABAMA TENANT AND LANDLORD ACT. THEY NEVER OFFERED OFFERED A HOTEL AND EVEN WHEN I REQUESTED REIMBURSEMENT BY APRIL 25, 2016 FOR THE MONTHS OF RENT PAID BUT WE COULD NOT USE THE HOME FULLY PLUS DAMAGES, THEY DID NOT RESPOND.

THEY WENT IN AND DELETED ALL THE MAINTENANCE REQUEST ISSUES UNDER MY TENANT ACCOUNT WITH THEM BUT THEY DID NOT KNOW THAT I PRINTED OUT ALL MY MAINTENANCE REQUEST AS SOON AS I SENT THEM AND HAVE ALL OF MY MAINTENANCE ISSUES WHEN I STARTED REPORTING THEM IN FEB 2016. I WILL ALSO FORWARD THE EMAIL WHERE WAYNE TOLD ME TO STOP SUBMITTING REQUEST BECAUSE THEY ARE AWARE OF MY PROBLEMS AND THEY WILL BE DELETED/ CANCELED. THE EMAIL ALSO EXPLAINED THAT I WILL CONTINUE TO TO SUBMIT REQUEST AS THE PROBLEMS CONTINUE FOR MY RECORDS TO PROVE THAT I HAVE BEEN SUBMITTING THE WORK ORDERS SINCE FEB 2016 AND THEY KEPT SAYING THEY HAVE SCHEDULED SOMEONE TO COME OUT BUT NO ONE FIXED THE PROBLEMS.I WAS TOLD BY ONE OF THEIR WORKERS THAT THE FAMILY WAS HAVING A HARD TIME COMING UP WITH THE MONEY TO FIX THE SEPTIC TANK THAT IS WHY IT WAS TAKING SO LONG. THEREFORE THEY TRIED TO MAKE IT SEEM AS IF I CAUSED THE PROBLEMS WITH GREASE BUT I WAS TOLD THE ROOTS IN THE YARD, FROM THE TREES CAUSED THE PROBLEMS OVER THE YEARS.

I HAD BEEN IN THE HOME 6 YEARS AND LOVED THE HOME. I DID GO TO THE OFFICE ABOUT NOT BEING ON SECTION 8 AFTER 6/1/2016 BECAUSE I RECEIVED A LETTER SAYING WE MADE TOO MUCH MONEY TO BE ON SECTION 8. I TOLD THEM THAT I WAS NOT INTERESTED IN MOVING AT THAT TIME AND JUST WANTED THE SEPTIC TANK REPAIRED BECAUSE I DID NOT FEEL IT IS FAIR I HAD TO SEND MY CHILDREN AWAY FROM HOME AND WAS NOT ABLE TO USE THE HOME FULLY. I TOLD HIM WE WERE ALREADY PAYING MOST OF THE $845 MONTHLY SO IT WASN'T A BIG DEAL TO PAY THE RENT. ***** RESPONSE WAS WE WILL GET OUT TO FIX IT EVENTUALLY. I DID NOT PUT IN A NOTICE UNTIL MY NEIGHBORS COMPLAINED AND I WAS FORCED TO CALL THE HUD INSPECTOR OUT.THIS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH SECTION 8 UNTIL THEY TOLD ME I HAD TO MOVE OUT THE UNIT BECAUSE IT WAS DISQUALIFIED. IT WAS LIKE WE WERE IN A 3RD WORLD COUNTRY WITH TOILETS NOT WORKING AND WASTE SITTING UP IN THE BACK YARD. I KNEW I COULD NOT LIVE IN THAT CONDITION AND HAD GIVEN THEM FROM FEB 2016 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. IN THE PAST, I WENT A WHOLE SUMMER WITH NO AIR BECAUSE THE OWNERS HAD PROBLEMS PAYING FOR THE REPAIR. THE HOUSE IS WAS TIED UP IN A BANKRUPTCY BECAUSE THE OWNER WENT TO THE NURSING HOME SO I DON'T KNOW IF THE CHILDREN/ POWER OF ATTORNEY REP IS HAVING A PROBLEM WITH PAYING FOR THE REPAIRS BUT I HAD TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO GET OUT OF THAT UNHEALTHY ENVIRONMENT. I WENT TO THE HOSPITAL TWICE FOR CHEST IRRITATIONS THAT I NEVER HAD BEFORE AND FELT AWFUL AS IF I WAS SICK THE WHOLE TIME. I DON'T KNOW IF THE WATER COMING IN WAS CONTAMINATED OR THE INHALING THE SMELL WAS CAUSING THESE ISSUES BUT IT WAS BAD BUT ONE OR BOTH PROBLEMS CAUSED HEALTH ISSUES.THEY CAME UP WITH MY LUNGS WERE INFLAMED. I AM SCHEDULED TO TAKE SOME TYPE OF SCOPE TEST THAT GOES TO THROUGH MY MOUTH.

I DON'T KNOW HOW THEY DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS REPAIRED WHEN NO ONE EVER CAME INTO THE HOME OR ASKED ME WAS THE PROBLEM REPAIRED. I DID NOT SIGN THE FORM BECAUSE WE WERE STILL HAVING THE PROBLEMS. THAT IS JUST COMMON SENSE.

AT THIS POINT, I HAVE PRINTOUTS OF ALL EMAIL COMMUNICATION FROM AND TO GK HOUSING, I HAVE A COPY OF ALL MY WORK ORDERS SHOWING THAT I DID START REPORTING THE PROBLEM IN FEB 2016, I HAVE THE DOCUMENTATION THAT SHOWED THE HUD INSPECTOR CAME OUT AS LATE AS THE 2ND OR 3RD WEEK OF APRIL AND FOUND THE YARD WAS STILL COMPLETED SATURATED WITH WASTE, I HAVE HOSPITAL DOCUMENTATION OF PROBLEMS, I HAVE NEIGHBORS WHO HAVE WRITTEN STATEMENTS OF THEIR KNOWLEDGE OF WHEN THE PROBLEM STARTED AND THEY WILL TELL YOU THAT I GAVE THEM SO MUCH TIME BECAUSE IT WAS HARD TO MAKE THE DECISION TO MOVE OUT HOWEVER I HAD NO OTHER CHOICE, AND FINALLY, I HAVE THE NOTICE FROM HUD STATING THAT THE HOME WAS DEEMED DISQUALIFIED AND I HAD TO MOVE.

I AM GIVEN THEM 10 DAYS TO COME UP WITH A SETTLEMENT AMOUNT AND A CHECK OR I AM GOING TO GET AN ATTORNEY WHICH WILL CAUSE ADDITIONAL MONEY TO BE PAID. I WILL SUE BOTH THE MANAGEMENT COMPANY AND THE OWNER FOR THE LOSS, MOVING EXPENSES, AND PAIN/ SUFFERING. EVEN THOUGH, WE NEVER RECEIVED AN OFFER FROM THEM TO GET A HOTEL ROOM UNTIL THE REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED, I AM HAPPY THEY SENT THIS RESPONSE ACKNOWLEDGING THEY WERE FULLY AWARE THAT WE DID NOT SUPPOSE TO BE LIVING IN THAT CONDITION AND ACKNOWLEDGE THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE LOSS/ ACCOMODATION DURING THE REPAIR PROCESS. THEN THE OWNER AND MANAGEMENT COMPANY CAN SUE EACH OTHER TO SATISFY THEMSELVES. THIS IS A COURTESY AND AN ATTEMPT TO RESOLVE THIS MATTER IN A CIVIL MANNER. THIS GIVES THEM UNTIL 6/13/2016 TO COMMUNICATE WITH ME TO COME UP WITH A FAIR SETTLEMENT AMOUNT AND PAYMENT BECAUSE I NEED TO BE MADE WHOLE AGAIN. THE MOVING EXPENSES HAVE BEEN TOO MUCH. THE LOSS AND INCONVENIENCE HAS BEEN TOO MUCH. THE MEDICAL EXPENSES ARE TOO MUCH.


THANKS

****** ****



Final Business Response
We did cancel the work orders, but only because she was sending in several per day about the same issue. We were in in constant contact with Ms. Gray, our emails and support tickets will prove that as a fact. Jefferson County Section 8 gave us until 5/15 to correct the issue and it was completed well in advance of that date.

The most disturbing issue in regards to Ms. ****** ******* stay in our owner's home is that she left it completely destroyed. We went back and took images of everything that was torn up, broken, and left in a state of disrepair. This has resulted in several thousands of dollars in damage to the home.

We will be happy to share these images in our property report with anyone - including attorneys - that has interest.

03/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company refused to accept my termination notice and failed to return my security deposit. The company failed to adequately complete timely repairs
I rented a condo on a month to month lease that was at that time managed by GKHouses.com of whom my lease was with. On or about August, 2015, I submitted a maintenance request for the floor in the only bathroom in the condo to be repaired. The repairs were not done until January 21, 2016. I had to stress and worry about falling into the floor for over 160 days. I made over 30 request to get repairs done for my safety. The company did not return my calls, lied, and was rude and unprofessional. It was not until I threatened a lawsuit did they respond to my repair request. On or about February 2, 2016, I terminated my month to month lease with GKHouses.com and asked that my deposit be returned to me. Instead of accepting my termination, the company representative emailed me stating "we no longer manage the property for the owner and all management responsibility has been passed to him ..." This is unacceptable and illegal. My only contract was with GKhouses.com and attempted to terminate said contract with proper written notice. I have since reached an agreement with the owner of the unit, however, that does not exempt gkhouses.com's failure to accept receipt of my termination and refund me my security deposit. To date, GKhouses.com still emails me monthly statements and have still failed to return my security deposit to me. The company caused and continues to cause me to suffer extreme emotional stress and mental anguish.

Desired Settlement
1. I want my security deposit returned to me immediately
2. I want written confirmation from GKhouses that my lease is terminated with their company
3. I want $5,000.00 for the emotional distress and mental anguish I have and continue have to endure
4. I want BBA to investigate the management of this company
5. I want to know the registered agent for this company
6. I want something done so that other people who rent with this company do not have to endure what I have had to endure

Business Response
We are very sorry Ms. ****** is upset. We've clearly communicated to Ms. ****** that we don't manage the home and her security deposit has been transferred to the owner.
We are also sorry Ms. ****** is upset over the perceived threat to her safety. We communicated multiple times to her that she was never in any danger with regard to the floor. The floor was inspected by multiple maintenance technicians and a licensed home builder and all attest to this fact. We go to great lengths to make sure tenants in our homes are safe and if there were ever a doubt we would err on the side of caution.

11/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gk Houses is trying to over charge us for "repairs" to the condo we just vacated. They have been unprofessional when we tried to meet today (Nov. 2nd)
We gave Gk Houses a list of everything that was wrong with the condo before we moved in. There was water damage on the ceiling, mold, massive carpet stains, etc. When we vacated the condo, we were sent a notice saying we owe over $900 in "damages". One of them is a supposed carpet removal and replacement in the living room. The carpet was in the same condition when we vacated as it was when we arrived last year. To say we owe money for a carpet replacement is beyond unreasonable. They also say we have to pay $350 for carpet cleaning. We cleaned before we left. We feel they are over charging us for everything on the list, and charging us for damages that were there when we moved in. The house, beside some minor damages from living in it for a year, was in the same condition from the time we moved in to the time we moved out. When we attempted to go speak with someone today, he told us he didn't have our information on him. So we would have to come back another time. And when we asked him who made the final decision when it comes to what needs to be fixed, he tried to act like we didn't what we were saying. When he finally gave us an answer, and we tried to ask follow up questions, he still just kept telling us to email them with our complaints and we could set something up. I have some major concerns with this company.

Desired Settlement
Explanation of charges, reduction of charges/fee

Business Response
I'm very sorry that Ms. ****** disagrees with our move out inspection. Unfortunately, Ms. ****** or her roommate allowed one (or both) of their two pets to urinate in the home on the carpets. Cleaning them was not an option. Pet urine is very hard to get out of carpets and when this happens they typically need to be replaced.
Because Ms. ****** walked in unannounced and without an appointment to address her issues, our team member was unprepared to speak with her at the time. He requested she set an appointment and he would be happy to discuss them with her when he was better prepared. The offer still stands for us to do this.
Tenants from time to time have questions about their move out inspections and we are more than happy to take the time and walk them through each item.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes. We did show up without an appointment. However, the next day we set up an appointment for that coming Wednesday. We have emails where your representative cancelled on us, and also told us there was no need for a face to face meeting. We also have documentation where we were told we would have an extension on when the payment was due, because we are disputing the amount. GK houses then proceeded to send it to a collection agency not 3 days later after that email was sent. So, again, GK houses has presented themselves as a very unprofessional company. Also, we are not just disputing a "carpet cleaning". We are disputing every claim you say we owe, which adds up to almost $1800. Which also was very vague on what we are even being charged with

Final Business Response
I'm sorry Ms. ****** feels we are unprofessional, our team has attempted to deal with her in a very professional manner. We have not yet sent Ms. ****** or her roommate to collections because we promised her another disposition letter. I checked with our team and we did make a $99 credit to the charges that were disputed. Once we submit the final letter to them, we will be happy to walk through each charge with them, complete with pictures and documentation to support the charges. We should have this letter to them by the first of next week.

09/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Use subcontractors and charge for services rendered for 2 months in a row. 2 different contractors paid for the same work.
Paid for the same services two months in a row, different companies. 06/16 and 07/25/2015. peoblem unresolved.

Desired Settlement
credit money back to account. two charges for the same work rendered by different compainies. Poor decision

Business Response
On or about Sunday, June 14, 2015 we received a call from the Tenant about the air conditioning not working in a home owned by the person filing the complaint. It was an after-hours call and since we deem lack of air conditioning an emergency in certain circumstances - one of which being over a weekend in the month of June - we dispatched a technician to repair the unit. After checking the unit, the technician went to check the air filter. He realized that there was an air filter located under the house and began to crawl under the crawlspace believing that the air filter being clogged was the potential source of the problem. Once he began crawling under the house, he realized that the crawlspace was infested with fleas and he crawled out and informed us of the situation. He billed us for the time he spent at the home diagnosing the problem - one of which was solved.
Once informed of the fleas, we dispatched a service provider to exterminate them. Once they were exterminated we dispatched another technician (keep in mind it is the middle of the summer and we dispatch them based on availability) to complete the work - which he did. He charged for his trip plus the cost of the air filter. Both bills were 3rd party subcontracted out work and paid to two different preferred gk Vendors.
Both trips were valid trips for valid reasons. We always look out for what is in the best interest of our Owner Clients, but would never want to put our Vendors or Employees in a situation to correct a maintenance issue at the expense of their personal health or safety.

12/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has charged me an illegitimate late fee of $150 also charged for rent twice in one month.
The late fee was charged even though our rent was on time- I called the company and was told I was wrong, when in fact, they were wrong. This month rent was charged twice to my account, causing my account to be overdrawn and checks to be returned. The day we moved in we were told our utilities would be on for us and we had no water and our gas was turned off so we had to get a hotel. This company is the worst with customer service. They have an automated system who answers their phones and you have to email in hopes of getting a return phone call.

Desired Settlement
I want to break my contract with GK Houses because they have been nothing but a nuisance and a complete inconvenience. The company prides itself on "Integrity, Hard work, team, and excellence" and they are 0 for 4. The core ideologies of this company are a complete joke.

Business Response
We very sorry that Ms. ***** feels like she has had so many issues with our company.
She says in her complaint that we "charged" her for rent twice, which is a complete misstatement on her part. She PAID twice. Once by check and once online - both of which she (or her boyfriend) physically initiated. The system processed the online payment automatically and we manually processed the check payment. We are confused by her expectations and why she has a problem with how this was handled. She paid two times. We are very sorry that this caused her account to be "overdrawn", but I'm not sure why the burden is on us to know which payments she intends us to process and which ones she doesn't. If she thinks we should have known that she had already paid, our response would be that we have a number of tenants who pay in advance - some as much as one year.
Regarding her other issue, we've more than adequately compensated her for the inconvenience - this included both prorated rent and hotel at our expense.
We intend on holding Ms. ***** to the lease she signed and hope she pays only once per month in the future to avoid any confusion regarding her payment intentions.


Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.