BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2015

Alabama Rental Managers, LLC

(205) 824-50082084 Valleydale Rd, HooverAL 35244-2084 Send email to Alabama Rental Managers, LLCView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Alabama Rental Managers is a residential property management company that offers management services to homeowners.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2015

BBB has determined that Alabama Rental Managers, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alabama Rental Managers, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service18
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alabama Rental Managers, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to fix heat pump
I am renting a house from Alabama Rental Managers and I've had at least 5 service calls related to the heat pump. Two were in the summer when the unit was not cooling properly. During mild weather it functioned adequately but in cold weather, it fails to heat the house above 60 degrees and runs continuously all night. I had two service calls from ********** ******* and ******* which failed to fix the problem. On the third service call, the owner of the company came out and ran several tests and measured the house. He told me the heat pump was undersized for the house. It is a three ton unit and should be a five ton unit. He reported this to ARM and they said they needed three bids, so they had two more service companies provide bids to replace the unit. When they got the three bids, they told me the owners were out of the country and they were trying to contact them. After several weeks of calling and following up with the maintenance department, they told me they had contacted the owners and they said they would replace the unit when they had the money. In the meantime, my power bills have been over $250 and I am forced to use space heaters in my bedroom at night and keep the door closed. I have to shut off the two spare bedrooms and when my 16 year old daughter visits on the weekends, I have to run an additional space heater in her bedroom.

Today, I had a contractor come to fix the garbage disposal and leaking sink which the previous company that ARM sent failed to do on three separate service calls and he told me house was actually sublet through **** ******* ****** which helps people unload their distressed houses, section 8 properties, and foreclosures through ARM. I was never told this when negotiating the contract with ARM and I am sure they have no intention of fixing the heat pump. At this point, my only option is to get out of the lease, which I'm sure they would let me do because of the ridiculous amount of service calls, but I would have the added expense of finding a new place and moving.

Please let me know what my options are and how the BBB can help me.

Thank You

*** *******

Desired Settlement
I expect ARM to fix the heat pump and I demand some kind of remuneration, e.g. an adjustment on my rent, for the added expense plus the pain and suffering this house has caused me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********
Contact Phone: **********
***********,
Please call me directly on Monday to discuss your heat pump issue. Please understand, as you and I have discussed before, ARM is not able to approve the new heat pump without this individual owner approving the cost. As you and I discussed last week, I have reached out to them again to see how we can come to a resolution. I will be happy to discuss your options with you on Monday, as I am out of the office today. The information you have received from the contractor is inaccurate. I will be happy to discuss this with you as well on Monday. Thank you.

***********


Consumer Response
Company has resolved the complaint. Complaint is satisfied.

02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not refund my security deposit appropriately at the conclusion of my lease. They also used excessive electricity while in possession of property.
In October of 2012, I rented the property at ************ Birmingham, AL, ***** that is managed by Alabama Rental Managers. At the time of move-in, I completed a move in checklist, noting damage to the front door jam as well as missing light bulbs. I thought no more about this matter and replaced the light bulbs as needed for my purposes. I renewed the lease in October of 2013, but in July of 2014 I took a new full time position out of state so began the early termination procedure for my lease.

***** with Alabama Rental Managers instructed me on what I would need to do including:

1. notifying them in writing of the early termination.
2. maintain utilities until a new tenant was found
3. make sure the property was cleaned and well maintained when I vacated the premises

I did all of these things in good faith and expected a smooth process for terminating my lease and obtaining my deposit refund. I took numerous pictures of the property upon vacating it that can be supplied.

A few months later, I received my deposit refund check dated 9/15 that had the following deductions invoiced:

Cleaning - 135 - keep in mind I cleaned the property thoroughly and took pictures as proof
Repair Front Door Jam - 120 - keep in mind this damage existed when I moved in and the landlord was notified on move in
Repair Oven Knob - 130 - The oven did not work correctly (the pointer did not correspond to the correct temperature). This was not identified until I started using the oven several months after move-in. The knob fell off when I tried to fix it to display the correct temperature. I placed the knob in a drawer in the kitchen.
Light Bulb Replacement - 15 - As noted before, the light bulbs were left in a better state than when I took possession of the property. No light bulbs that I used were left broken.
Lawncare - 75 - When I moved in, the lawn was unkempt. I kept the lawn maintained and on vacating the premises, the lawn was well manicured.

In addition, the electricity usage went up by over 400% in the first full month they had possession of the property vs the last full month I had possession of the property.

I sent them an email outlining my concerns and they were unwilling to budge on any of the itemized deductions, including the one with verifiable proof that any damage was pre-existing, so I felt my only recourse was to file a complaint with the BBB.

In addition, ****************** says in relation to the security deposit that it can be retained by the landlord only in case of damages or unpaid rent. As noted above, their summary also included lawn care beyond the maintained state I had left the property and cleaning beyond the thorough cleaning I did before vacating the property.

Desired Settlement
I feel that the majority of the invoiced deductions from my deposit refund are invalid and should be returned to me immediately. In addition, I feel that, while responsible for the utilities while the property was vacant, the usage by the landlord was excessive and amounts in excess of my typical billing amount should be refunded to me as well by Alabama Rental Managers.

I am flexible about the oven knob damages but the others I feel like are not reasonable. I will supply pictures via email as necessary and can also supply other supporting documents.

Total amount expected to be refunded as resolution:

135.00 cleaning
120.00 repair front door jam
15.00 light bulb replacement
75.00 lawncare
160.00 electricity usage difference = (22.97 in August, 137.02 in September) (Usage over July, August and September was 30.74, 53.71, 167.76)

For a total of 505.00.

Alabama Tenant Laws say that Failure to adhere to Alabama's security deposit law could result in me receiving up to twice my security deposit plus damages (the electricity usage) in court. I am not asking for that, I am only asking for what is fair. Again I can supply any supporting documentation as necessary. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Business Response
I am writing on behalf of Alabama Rental Managers to your complaint. I have recently come on board as the **************** and was given your file to review. I do see where we made an error in the $120 charge for the door jam repair and I will be getting a refund over to you for this amount. Please contact me at our office if you have further documentation you would like to share in regards to the other charges and I will be happy to review them. The paperwork and documentation that I have on file regarding the remaining items show these charges to all be accurate.
Thank you.
************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While this is a start, the business fails to address any of the other complaints in good faith. Furthermore, I have yet to receive the 120.00 she claims to have sent.


Business Response
I was waiting for your reply to give you an opportunity to forward me any documents you might have that I did not have in my files.

The check for $120.00 will go out today to the address you gave us at the time of move out.

Thank you.

Business Response
I am writing on behalf of Alabama Rental Managers to your complaint. I have recently come on board as the VP of Operations and was given your file to review. I do see where we made an error in the $120 charge for the door jam repair and I will be getting a refund over to you for this amount. Please contact me at our office if you have further documentation you would like to share in regards to the other charges and I will be happy to review them. The paperwork and documentation that I have on file regarding the remaining items show these charges to all be accurate.
Thank you.
Jenny Moore
205-824-5008


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While this is a start, the business fails to address any of the other complaints in good faith. Furthermore, I have yet to receive the 120.00 she claims to have sent.


Business Response
I was waiting for your reply to give you an opportunity to forward me any documents you might have that I did not have in my files.

The check for $120.00 will go out today to the address you gave us at the time of move out.

Thank you.

07/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****************** in application process department told me many different statements that was incorrect and misleading. I want a refund of $120.00
I inquired about a house the rental company had on***************************** showed my family and I the home and it was just what we was looking for. **** stated we need to go online and fill out and application which would cost $60.00 (application fee) Then they proceed to tell me that I have to tell me that I have to pay $60.00 for each person in the houshold 19 years and older. They came back said all I need was a co-signer that could give them a referance (rent or buying) so, my dad **** *********)then filled out an application which his landlord did call in and verify that he was lease purchasing a home from her and had been for 8 years. But, ******* still came back and said NO!! It was lies on top of lies. And ****** and most of all******** was very misleading. I even called her out on it and nothing was done about it. She denied that anything of what she said had been said. They are also no longer mangaging the house anymore. i feel they already knew they was losing the contract on the house and that is why there was so many lies told. So, I am asking for my $120.00 back plus the cost of pain and suffering in the amount of $500.00.

Desired Settlement
the refund amount for the application fees of $120.00 and $500.00 in pain and suffering. I will be taking them to******************* if we can not settle this in a timely manner. I work in cutomer service and have for years. And if there is one thing I have learned it is that the customer is always right.

Business' Initial Response
We regret that the applicant did not understand our application fee process.
We tried numerous times to explain to her that it is a $60 non-refundable
fee to apply to rent a home from us. When her initial application was not
approved, we continued to try to work with her by letting her have a
cosigner apply on her behalf, which was another application and another
fee. Unfortunately that person was not approved as well. Our application
process and requirements for approval are clearly outlined on our
website******************************************). Alabama Rental
Managers no longer manages this property because it is not centrally
located to our business.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Business' Final Response
Alabama Rental Managers regrets that the applicant believes she was mislead. We tried in good faith to work with her to get her into a home, however she did not meet our basic financial application standards, nor did her co-signer. To resolve this we will be refunding her application fees that she paid.

08/12/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$250.00 Plumbing Charges
On June 25th my son called and informed me that his bathroom was flooded, along with waste on the bathroom floor. I called Alabama Rental Manager Maintenance number and was transferred to Mary Ann (manager of maintenance). I had informed her that my son just called me and stated that the bathroom is flooded and waste is also on the floor and I need maintenance out to my resident and she informed me that she could not get anyone out until Monday ,because everyone was out and they have no schedule slots available . My reply was are you kidding me , I currently have waste on my bathroom floor and a flood and your telling me I will have to wait until Monday .I was taken back from her answer and lack of concern for addressing my current situation , especially by her position being the maintenance manager . Later, that evening I received an email stating that she will get someone out to my resident, not a call but an email. So during that time I cleaned up diarrhea, mopped the restroom floor, and placed my rugs in the washer. A plumber came to the resident from Funky Plumbing that the company called to have and he was there less than 5 minutes and stated excessive toilet paper. Several weeks later we received a bill from the rental office stating that we have a balance of $250.00 dollars that needs to be paid for plumbing.Alabama Rentals was contacted because we wanted an explanation of why we were being charged for plumbing and my husband spoke to **** *** and she informed him excessive toilet tissue and that you are going to pay balance regardless. At that point he asked her for her manager's number, to contact someone in that office with a level of professionalism. During that time ******* emailed us in reference to the balance and we informed her that we are still awaiting management to contact us in regards to the balance and we informed that we was not advised of an charge and if that was the case could have called our own plumber . At that time we were advised that we should have been advised, and in which we were not advised. At that time we informed the rental company that we have and currently having l=plumbing issues at our resident and we was advised that they would send someone out to our location and if they find issues the charges will not be applicable. We have yet to see a plumbing company at our resident; but we see emails from **** *** in reference to plumbing charges.On September 18, 2015 I emailed ******* and advised her this has been an ongoing issue for the charges and we would like some explanation as to why the charges and I stated I did not want to sound rude but from my understanding toilet tissue is the current product to use for the toilet and I could see if the plumber found a feminine product or toy down the drain then yes we should be charged the $250.00; but toilet tissue was the reason. She offered an apology and stated that **** (property manager) said they will cover $125.00 of charges, while we cover the rest. As , I stated prior we was having plumbing issues at our resident prior to the call and still now with water draining out slowly , toilet stopping up , and currently we have a water damage spot in our kitchen were the bathroom is located upstairs. Also, I have not yet still talked to **** myself. We have been with this company for 4 years and we have never been charged for maintenance and I would like to know why and when did this new charging for maintenance get implemented or if there is an policy.From my understanding when renting property the property owner or landlord should address and handle heating and plumbing problems within 24 hours of learning of the issue because of their unique nature. For other problems that are not as immediate, repairs should be made within 48 hours. Well **** *** who's the maintenance manager felt that our situation was not important enough to get handled within that time frame; but until Monday. By law the landlord or property owner is required to mak

Desired Settlement
From my understanding when renting property the property owner or landlord should address and handle heating and plumbing problems within 24 hours of learning of the issue because of their unique nature. For other problems that are not as immediate, repairs should be made within 48 hours. Well **** *** who's the maintenance manager felt that our situation was not important enough to get handled within that time frame; but until Monday. By law the landlord or property owner is required to make sure a rental property is in habitable condition when the tenant first moves in. Also, once the tenant moves in, a landlord is required to make repairs and conduct maintenance to keep the rental property in habitable condition. A habitable property is one that has adequate heating, water, electricity, cleanliness, and is structurally sound. AS of September 21, 2015 the rental property has not sent anyone out to our resident to have our plumbing or sewage looked at.Since June 25th we have continued paying our rent when our plumbing issue has not been addressed, and depending on our state law as a tenant we have many choices available for us as an tenant: we could elect to withhold all rent until repairs are made adequately, Next, by Alabama Rental Managers failing to repair our problem in a timely manner after receiving notice, we have the option of hiring an outside party to make the necessary repairs. Which means we would choose what company best fits our budget at a reasonable amount to fix the repairs and deduct the cost from next rent check payment. Although the tenant should be reasonable in choosing who to make the repairs, this cost will probably be deducted from their next rent check, or if the problem violates state or local building or health codes, we can decide to contact the local authorities regarding the issue. If inspectors come out and find the problem, the landlord, may be facing an order to fix the problem, plus possible fines and/or penalties.

We are seeking to speak to the property manager in refrence to chrages and plumbing to be addressed at location and be honest no payment for issue because we called Alabama Rentals and not funky plumbing , because if we were aware of possible charges we couldh ave called an outside company oursleves that is well within our budget .

Business Response
We have worked with the residents to resolve this matter and assisted by reducing the charge from $250 to $125. Our records reflect the repair request was called in on 6/12/15 and completed by a plumber on 6/12/15. The contractor originally assigned to the repair request could not repair until Monday, however a 2nd contractor was assigned and completed the repair with 3 hours the same day. Once the repair was determined to be caused by excessive toilet paper, the resident was billed in accordance with the lease agreement. An additional call was put in to the contractor who completed the repair to confirm there were no mechanical issues with the residents toilet. This information was relayed to the resident. The lease agreement states that residents are responsible for plumbing stoppages, this is not a new policy with Alabama Rental Managers.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree with the company response. We have yet to talk to the property manager Teri. We have called, emailed, and even went to the location requesting to speak to management. We have had several maintenance calls and never had to pay. As a manager over maintenance **** *** should have advised that we could have possible charges and at that moment we would have declined or accepted services, for an outside plumber to come to our resident. Currently, at our resident we are still experiencing plumbing issues and the plumber that came out to our resident only removed tissue from the toilet with a snake tool. The plumber did not do anything else and once we received the statement in the mail, we called the rental office and emailed asking for an explanation of charges. We have several emails in reference to the charges and gotten anywhere until September 18 when we spoke to ******* (collections manager) who thought **** *** (maintenance manager) had handled the problem, when actually she has not. WE have been requesting to speak to the property manager Teri since June and have yet spoke to her and I have called and emailed and have not yet received an email or callback from her. We were advised that they would get someone out to our resident to come look at our plumbing and if the plumber see there are issues we would go further to discuss charges , as you can read non one has been out about plumbing since the flood at resident . As you can also see the company has not been addressing the charges due to miscommunication on **** *** side. Which seems to me that the maintenance manager lacked a step of communication advising us that we could have possible charges because if we were advised we would not be having to go through what we are now. The only time someone else has been out to our resident from rental office is for washing the unit , other than that no one has come out for plumbing and kept they word they would have someone to look at our plumbing . Toilet tissue is what goes down the toilet and not items that does not belong doe example an unexpected item. Lack of communication has been given to us in reference to this matter and no one is feels to address it but ******* who's the collections manager we have not talked to the property manager whom we have been requesting since this matter took place, because of the lack of professionalism and rude comment from **** ***. The only person in that office that apologized to us for the lack of communication and misunderstanding is ******* and this issue is not even within her department. **** *** has blown the issue off saying she will discuss the matter with Teri, in-which that's how we have obtained the manager name, because she has advised she will get with her and give us a callback.

Final Business Response
Again, per the lease agreement which was signed by you, Lessee agrees to:

Report plumbing stoppage and Lessee agrees to pay for stopped up drains when clogged with debris that Lessee puts down the plumbing. Lessor shall be responsible for blockage due to tree roots and masonry if Lessor's plumber does the work.

When work orders are called in to our office as an emergency flooding item, we are obligated to act quickly by dispatching a vendor to protect the home. The report from the contractor stated there was "excessive" toilet paper was found in the lines.

***** spoke to Alvin on 6/23/15. ***** ***** called Alvin on 6/24/15 to follow up in *****'s absence and to let him know we spoke to ***** at ***** Plumbing and she spoke to the tech. Tenant is responsible for this work. The issue was due to toilet paper back up. He said the tub was not backing up or stopped up when he was there.

******** vmail was not set up and we did not hear back from him. **** *** also tried to return ******** call on 8/26/15 and his vmail was also not set up. She emailed him letting him know the invoice would be owed.

We have reviewed our work order history and have not been notified that you are still experiencing issues. ***** asked **** *** to contact you to see if you are, in fact, still having issues so that we can address those for you accordingly.

The charges will remain on your account unless we find something different to be the issue if our plumber returns to the home.

07/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Security deposit not returned due to OWNERS damage.
Prior to moving into the rental property, we provided clear evidence of the condition of the home by way of a video tape with a date stamp. The owners who had just moved out left the house a dirty mess with a strong smell of cat urine in the stained up carpets. The owners themselves apologized for the mess. We asked for our deposit back in order to find another home but we were told no, that it was nonrefundable if we breached our contract. We complained until they agreed to replace the master bedroom carpet. **** ******** with Alabama Rental asked us if we would stop complaining at that point; she is no longer employed there.

After many months of the OWNERS contacting us personally and harassing us to move so they could sell it, we agreed to move. During the final walk thru Alabama Rental commented on the smell and condition of the carpet to which we provided for a second time the video we had taken of the home prior to our move in. This evidence was completely disregarded and they not only kept our PET DEPOSIT but they have refused to refund our full security deposit. We only received back $395 of the $1,495.

Our contract with them said they would provide any refund on the 35th day. They "issued" the refund check in order to meet that deadline on June 17th but failed to mail the check until July 2nd.

This company has, in my opinion, been in breach of our contract from the beginning. They have allowed the owners to harass us, they have blamed us for their damages, their previous employee did not document our file to show the damages and condition of the home prior to our arrival, they asked us to stop complaining, and they withheld any refund until well after the 35 day mark as outlined in their contract.

Our pets did not do any damage to the carpets which is what they keep telling us IN WRITTING why we are not receiving our security deposit back. Mindy Tully sent an email on June 26th stating that any refund would be mailed at the 35 day mark but that we were being held responsible for the damage/urine smell in the carpet. If the check had been issued on June 17th, why didn't she tell us that on the 26th or any of the days following that I called?

In our opinion, this company has shown poor judgment regarding this situation. I understand they work for the home owners and they are out to get the most money they can but they also have a reputation to uphold and by taking money that is not theirs, that is a problem.

They have also withheld our prorated portion of the rent for May in the amount of $626.94. How is that legal and not in breach of contract? Are they hoping to wear us down on the security deposit and the prorated rent and we will just let it go so they can keep it?

Others need to be warned not to rent from this company.

Desired Settlement
A full refund of our security deposit in the amount of $1,495 and our prorated rent in the amount of $626.94.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** ** of *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@alabamarentalmanagers.com
I have reviewed your request and your account. There was an error on our part on the prorated charge at move out. The accounting team caught it and you should have received a credit back on your account for these days totaling $598.00. If you have not yet received this, please contact our office.

We do value you as our customer and apologize for your frustration with the carpet charges. We received instructions from our client, the owner, to charge for the full carpet replacement due to the pet urine smell in your home.

Please feel free to contact our office if I can assist you further.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
So, the owners have all the rights in this situation even though we clearly proved our case with regards to the carpet? Why did the owners even pay you if you aren't going to do a good job? I will never recommend this company to ANYONE and will be sure to let everyone we know how we were treated with such disregard and our walk through documentation meant NOTHING. We should have walked away when we first saw the property and let you keep the deposit and not lived in such a disgusting house.

Final Business Response
We sincerely apologize that you feel this way. Unfortunately, there was no way to prove there was no pet odor when you moved in, therefore the carpet had to be replaced.

You should have received the prorated rent portion back where we made an accounting error. Please feel free to contact our office if you have not yet received it.

Thank you.

07/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The landlord did not do everything in their power to market the property as promised. We were promised more info on our bill but never got a call back
We were moved to Nashville, TN as a job promotion. We informed the landlord we would be out well ahead of schedule so we could get the property on the market as soon as possible. We moved out of the property in October and paid the rent for that month. The company raised the rent an additional $200 over what we were paying when they finally posted the property on their website along with a few other web pages. Before we moved, we made sure there was a visible sign in the front window of the townhome to attract potential renters because that's how we found the property. In fact, the company had a renter setup to take on the lease before we left. Something fell through with the potential client and the sign was never replaced in the window. In December we began paying $200 monthly toward our potential final balance. On February 14th, we drove past the property to find there was no sign visible in the window of the property. We immediately took pictures and sent our concerns to the landlord. The landlord (***** *****) finally responded (after the second email) on February 26th saying, "*****, I am sending someone over there this afternoon with a sign! Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention..." She went on to say that they were marketing the rental property on sites like Zillow and Trulia where people TYPICALLY go to buy homes, not rent. Within a month of the sign being out in front of the home, the townhouse was rented and we were not informed of this until we started calling the company. We made 5 phone calls between March and April (to Paige Sweeny and ******* ******* from Accounts Payable) asking for details about our balance and inquiring what the landlord was planning to due to compensate for their negligence in terms of not doing "EVERYTHING" in their power to get the property rented. We spoke with ******* ******* who claimed ignorance since she was recently hired, promised to call us back with more information, and then told her VP of Operations, ***** *****, that she has never spoken to or heard from us. Call records have been pulled. We were never given an itemized bill, just a letter saying we owe a total balance of $8,000+ and they were sending it to collections. When we informed ******* of this issue, she neglected to call us back and simply emailed us saying she was no longer in charge of our account and gave us no more information.

Desired Settlement
We would like the opportunity to be in communication with ARM regarding the outstanding balance. We would also like to establish a payment plan similar to the one we had set up with ***** ******* previous to her leaving the company(which we were not made aware of). This would take adjustments to the amount we owe after negligence as it relates to marketing the property as we repeatedly requested.

Business Response
All of our records indicate that you were notified of your balance. In fact, payments were being made on the account and then stopped.

We have discussed multiple times that we have turned your account over to National Credit Services. Once a file has been turned over to a collection agency or an attorney, we are no longer allowed to discuss the account with you.

As discussed, you will need to contact National Credit Services for your payment options.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were told the payment plan would change once a new tenant occupied the property. This is part of the reason we contacted ***** ****** and ******* ******* in March, April, and in May. Now ******* says she has never spoken with us when she promised to call us back on multiple occasions to clarify. We wanted to make the correct payments to ensure we effectively paying down the balance and we also wanted to discuss the bill and marketing plan and how ***** ****** basically did your job for you so how will he be compensated. There was complete and total negligence in how you tried to get the place rented and you simply didn't want to answer to that fact. Now you need to.

Final Business Response
I have spoken to the National Credit Services and they will be contacting you. We agreed to reduce your total amount owed by 30% and allow you 90 days to pay the balance.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After review, we believe that 50% of the amount sent to national credit would be closer to what we actually owe. We need 180-365 days to clear up the balance.

04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am active duty Military and received new orders to relocate to Alabama. We were using this agency to find a home in the area. I was unable to fly in to view the homes available, so I was relying on pictures and emails. On Friday March 20th I mailed in a $2295 security deposit on a home. I was promised to have pictures that same day. I received a email stating someone had a family emergency and pictures would be sent to me on the next day. This was a weekend and I received no pictures and was unable to reach the business because they are closed on the weekends. I contacted the agency first thing Monday morning and voiced my concerns. On Tuesday, I finally received the pictures and had a safety concern with the garage having insulation hanging out the walls. The builder refused to place any dry wall up over this insulation and I have small children so its a safety concerns. I was told I could not receive my $2295 security deposit back because it had been over 48 hours. But 48 hours was non business hours and I couldn't contact them. I have emails addressing all of my concerns and the companies responses. I have email copies of every conversation we had and all they can say is "sorry." I have a tracking number of my check that I sent to them. They received it on Monday March 23rd and I ask for it returned on Tuesday March 24th but they immediately cashed the check and refuse to work with me.
Product_Or_Service: Home

Desired Settlement
$2295 security deposit. I have signed no lease agreement, just the initial application for credit and background check. And I ask for a refund within 48 hours of them receiving the check which is whats stated in there policy.

Business Response
The applicant signed our cancellation policy when completing their application. See email below that was emailed to them in regards to their complain. Additionally, there are pictures of the home on our website. Additionally, our website states the home has an unfinished garage. No refund will be sent at this time.

Good afternoon.
I received your voice mail. Please see below the disclaimer you signed when you submitted your application. I have spoken again to the owner and we will not be able to refund your deposit per the agreement you signed when you submitted your application.


The following Application Agreement will be signed by all applicants prior to signing a lease contract. While some of the information below may not yet be applicable to your situation, there are some provisions that may become applicable prior to signing a lease contract. In order to continue with this online application, you'll need to review the Application Agreement carefully and acknowledge that you accept its terms.

1. Application Fee (nonrefundable). You have delivered to our representative an application fee, and this payment partially defrays the cost of administrative paperwork. It's nonrefundable.

2. Security Deposit (may or may not be refundable). In addition to any application fee, you may have delivered to our representative a Security deposit. The security deposit will be refunded if your application is not approved. Any security deposits paid, refundable or non-refundable, are forfeited if application is canceled by applicant after 48 hours from the date application is submitted.

3. Completed Application. An Application will not be considered "completed" and will not be processed until all of the following have been provided to us: an application has been fully filled out and signed by you and each co-applicant; an application fee has been paid to us. If no item is checked, all are necessary for the Application to be considered completed.

4. Notice to or from Co-applicants. Any notice we give you or your co-applicant is considered notice to all co-applicants; and any notice from you or your co-applicant is considered notice from all co-applicants.

5. Keys or Access Devices. We'll furnish keys and/or access devices only after: (1) all parties have signed the Lease Contract and other rental documents referred to in the Lease Contract; and (2) all applicable rents and security deposits have been paid in full.

6. Rent. Rent will be calculated on a 30 day month. The monthly rent will be divided by 30 days and multiplied by the amount of days you are in the home for the first month. Each month following the rent will be as stated on the lease agreement.

7. Signature. Our reception of this application is consent only to this Application Agreement. It does not bind us to accept applicant or to sign the proposed Lease Contract.


Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
I am attaching a copy of the tracking information on the check that was mailed. They received the check on Monday March 23rd and we ask for a refund on Tuesday March 24th.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have chosen to seek legal consult. I will not agree to possibly getting my deposit back if the property is leased within a certain time frame. I'm hoping others read all the complaints against this agency before getting sucked into a scam like we did.

Final Business Response
***** from Alabama Rental stated they would refund the deposit on the condition the house is rented before the move in date of May 12th, which she thought wouldn't be difficult due to the demand in the ****** area.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We are tenants of a property managed by Alabama Rental Managers. Our air conditioning unit stopped working on August 8, 2014. Despite multiple maintenance requests, and calls to the rental management, it was not repaired to working order until August 26, 2014. When we requested our rent for the month to be prorated due to the residence being uninhabitable for the majority of the month, the manager of the company, *************** refused. We were told that the owner of the property refused, when in fact the negligence was not on the owner's part but due to poor management of the property. We were also given incorrect information from the manager, stating "hotel charges are the responsibility of your renters insurance when air conditioning is not functioning". This information is clearly inaccurate. This is not the first problem we have had with delayed maintenance from this company, but it has resulted in the greatest loss of use from our property.
Product_Or_Service: rental property

Desired Settlement
Prorated rent for the month of August 2014 due to loss of use of property for 17 days in the amount of $616.94. Monthly rent is $1125, we will pay $508.06 for August.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during the upstairs ac repairs that were needed for your home. Our records indicate that the upstairs ac unit required 2 repairs during the month of August. The first repair request was submitted on 8/8/14; the upstairs ac unit repairs were completed and the ac working again (coils cleaned and freon added). The second repair request was submitted on 8/17/14 and was received by Alabama Rental Managers Team on 8/18/14. Contractor was dispatched and determined that there was a leak in the upstairs ac coil that could not be repaired. Due to the coil not being repairable, a new coil was ordered and installed as soon as contractor received coil. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during the process of the repair being completed, any delays were part of the normal process involved in ordering new parts needed for the upstairs ac unit. Alabama Rental Managers will not be refunding any rent for August as the home was not deemed uninhabitable. All aspects of the home including the downstairs ac unit were able to be used and functioned as normal.



Final Consumer Response

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/19/2007Business started: 07/14/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Real Estate Commission
1201 Carmichael Way
Montgomery, AL 36106-3672
(334) 242-5544
http://arec.alabama.gov/

BBB records show a license number of 000085699 for this company, issued by Alabama Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://arec.alabama.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2016.

Type: State of Alabama

BBB records show a license number of 000068050 for this company, issued by Alabama Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://arec.alabama.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2016. Michael R McMullen-Qualifying Broker-ARM LLC DBA ALABAMA RENTAL MANAGERS.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Jenny Moore (VP of Operations)Ms. Misty Glass (Owner)Mr. Mike McMullen (Owner & Partner)Ms. Terri Nava (Owner & Partner)Ms. Sydney Williams (Marketing Director)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Services

Products & Services

We offer tenant screenings, licensed real estate agents to accompany prospects, collection services, accounting statements, property inspections, and coordinating any maintenance of the property.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Birmingham & Surrounding Areas

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alabama Rental Managers, LLC

2084 Valleydale Rd

Hoover, AL 35244-2084

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2084 Valleydale Rd 

    Hoover, AL 35244-2084(205) 824-5008

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alabama Rental Managers, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.