BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1984

Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 428-5559Fax: (205) 739-5975283D Cahaba Valley Pkwy N, PelhamAL 35124-1165 Send email to Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration ServicesView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1984

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roto-Rooter did not fix my plumbing problem and then failed to deliver on their promise of guaranteed customer service.

I am very disappointed in the quality of service provided to me by Roto-Rooter and I would like a full refund of the $260 I paid on December 4, 2013.

In December 2013, I called Roto-Rooter because I noticed dampness underneath my house near the access door. On December 4, 2013 technician 2235 was dispatched. This technician told me that my kitchen drain was the culprit and then proceeded to work on that situation.

Fast forward to a few weeks and I smell horrible sewer odors in my house. After consulting with a different plumbing company I was advised to call Roto-Rooter back out. I called on Saturday, January 18, 2014 and was told someone would be out within 2 hours. An hour or so later, someone called and said the tech was running late, but would still be out. Then, around 5PM someone called back because the tech was still running late. After this frustrating situation, I scheduled an appointment for Monday, January 20, 2014 for between 11AM - 1PM. Needless to say, again I was called and told the tech was running late. This time I scheduled a time for between 4PM - 6PM. Of course, I got the call that the tech was running late. Next, I requested to be the first appointment on Saturday, January 25, 2014 at 9AM.

On Saturday, January 25, 2014 technician **** came out. He told me that I had a busted cast iron water pipe underneath my house and that it would cost $2000 - $3000 dollars to repair. This technician also told me this problem was my problem and no something that technician 2235 caused. Technician **** told me that someone would call to set up a time the camera tech could come out. This appointment was set up the next day, Sunday, February 26, 2014 from 12PM - 2PM. Of course, once again Roto-Rooter was consistent in failing to live up to a scheduled appointment. When I called the number on my caller id at 2:30PM, the dispatcher transferred my call to ******* the camera man" voice mail. I left a message and I have yet to hear from Roto-Rooter. I am disappointed because no one at Roto-Rooter reached out to help solve my problem. When I was selecting companies from the ****** ***** I went with Roto-Rooter because I felt I would be provided with exceptional and first class service. Roto-Rooter has not lived up to its implied guarantee of customer satisfaction because I am thoroughly disappointed in the quality of service I have received thus far.

Of course, I have had my plumbing problem fixed by now. It appears that the cap had been knocked off of a pipe (which had probably been caused when the original technician **** had his snake down my pipe). And, the blockage that was causing the original problem was more than 50 feet from my house going out to the sewer line.

Desired Settlement
I want my $260 credited back to my credit card because Roto-Rooter sent out an incompetent repairman who did not correct my original complaint, nor did Roto-Rooter make any attempts to solve my issue. Instead they used unfilled promises of returning to fix my problems and scare tactics of future thousand dollar repair bills to shut me up and make me go away.

Business Response
April 15, 2014


Re Case Number: XXXXXXXX: ******** *******

We have spoken to *** ******* and we have settled the matter. We did clear her line on 12/4/13 which is what she paid for, however we could have done a better job in finding the cause of her problem.
Since my technician did not deliver the quality of service that I ask for, here at Roto-Rooter, we have decided to refund *** ******* the full amount of the job $260.00.
*** ******* has told us that she is satisfied with our resolution.



Respectfully Submitted,

**** ** *******
Field Training Manager
Roto-Rooter Service Company
Birmingham, AL
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They repaired a main sewer line on December 4, 2014 a provided a 1 year warranty. The repair has failed and they are giving me the runaround.
On December 4, 2014, Roto Rooter repaired a main sewer line in the front yard at a cost of nearly $8,000. I personally watched and took photographs of the repair. I paid for the repair in full, out of pocket.

On Sunday, October 18, 2015, the sewer line clogged again. There was sewage coming out of a clean out in the front yard between the repair and the house. I called Roto Rooter and they came out there Monday, October 19, 2015. They snaked the line and cleared a clog near area of repair in front yard based on the amount of line to the clog. There were no roots wrapped around the blade. There was no charge for this service. I made an appointment for a person with a camera to come out on Tuesday, October 20, 2015 between 4-6. I have an email confirmation for this appointment. I took a half day off from work. No one showed up. I called and they said they could come out Wednesday, October 21, 2015 between 8-10. I have an email confirmation for this appointment.I took a half day off from work. No one showed up. I had a 1:30 meeting at work so I went to it. They called at 3:03pm, I was still in the meeting. I called back at 3:15 and spoke to ****. We made an appointment for between 8-10 on Saturday, October 24, 2015.
******* ******** came out Saturday morning October 24, 2015 and ran a camera through the line via the clean out in the front yard. We found the problem where the repair had been made previously. It is where the PVC pipe connects to the ductile iron. The PVC had separated from the ductile iron. You could still see new glue in that area. ******* said he was going to take pictures, so I gave him a USB drive to make me a set of pictures also. He was behind hedges, so I did not watch him make copies. He returned the jump drive to me saying the pictures were on it. He also said that he would contact the person that did the original work and the general manager regarding the line being repaired under warranty first thing Monday morning.

Monday, October 26, 2015 about 3 o'clock. My wife called since I was busy and spoke to *******. What she told me it was this: originally ******* had no recollection of coming to our house two days earlier. After a short while he did remember and told her that he told me he was unable to copy the pictures to my drive and that he had told me there was a problem with my drive. He did not tell me that he was unable to copy the pictures. While ******* and I were there, I told him I had an extra drive if that one would not work. He told ***** he would contact the original plumber Tuesday. When ***** pressed him for a timeline for repair, he told her he had done his job.

Tuesday October 27, 2015 I received a voicemail from **** Cochran 205-283-1163 at 4:23. I called back and left voicemail. He called back shortly and said that he was going to look into it, and wanted to run a camera through the line again. I told him I was going to be out of town the following Wednesday and Thursday, but he did not need me to check the line since the clean out was outside in the front yard.

November 2, 2015 3:03 PM. I called ****. I had not heard from anyone. He said that he had been having car trouble and had not been to my house. He said he hoped to get to it the 3rd or 4th of November. I told him this was preventing us from selling the house and it needed to be done as soon as possible.

We are over 2 weeks into this, and still don't know if Roto Rooter is going to fix the line.

Desired Settlement
They need to repair the line at no further cost to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:**********************
We have been in contact with Mr. ******* and he is to call us back out so that he can look at it with the supervisor. We have also made it clear to Mr. *******, I hope, that we will not give up on this until he is satisfied. When Mr. ******* gets back in town, he is going to meet with the original supervisor whom inspected the line last year. The line is underwarranty and if we half to dig it back up, we will.

07/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service performed was unsatisfactory. They cleared a sewer line that re-clogged in 1 week. They said 6 month warranty void because of other issue.
On June 1 a tech went to clear the main line that a previous tech from the same company cleared a couple of days earlier. The tech on June 1st said previous tech never cleared but he would clear. He stated that tech did nothing. He said he could clear by pulling the toilet and charged $455. He indicated another line needed clearing and would be an additional $455.84 which would clear everything. He stated it included a 6 month warranty for both services. One week later the line backed up. The tech went back out and said the 2nd line couldn't be cleared because of other issues. He stated there was a block in line and it couldn't be cleared. I asked why I was charged $455.84 if there was a problem with line a week earlier. The line was never cleared and I believe the company is a ripoff. The service is unsatisfactory. The warranty is bogus because they said they wouldn't come out to clear line because of other issues. The tech assured me the line was clear. I paid over $911.68 to clear a sewer line and it's still not working. I request the refund of the $443.00 charge because it's not functioning properly.

Desired Settlement
I request a refund for the $443 charge for unsatisfactory service. I paid this for a line to clear that worked approximately 1 week..Or they can honor the 6 month warranty to come clear the line when it backs up..

Business Response
I spoke to Ms. ******** on June 29, 2015 and tried to explain to her what is going on. The original call was made on May 29, 2015 at 3:41pm of a Main Line backing up. The 1st tech went out and there was only one bathroom backing up (the back bathroom) and he gave her a price of $455 to pull and cable the toilet and told her that she needed a clean out installed b/c we would be unable to camera the line since the house is on a slab (the camera head can get hung up on the tight turn from the flange and cause damage to the camera). She called out someone else to put in a clean out and once it was installed she called us back out to clear the line and determined what was going on.
Unfortunately the clean out she had put in was done so incorrectly and should have been caught by the city inspector, that is if appropriate permits were pulled as required by both the city and the county.
When the 1st tech arrived the 2nd time he explained to her that the work that was done was incorrect and that there was no physical way that we could use the clean out that was installed, so she agreed to pay the $455 and we pulled the back bath toilet and cabled the line. We received another call later on that evening that the bathroom was backing up again. This is when the 2nd tech went out. He found that the front bathroom was backing up this time not the back bathroom. So he pulled and ran that toilet and cleared the line.
On 6/3/15 there was an additional call, this time it was the back bathroom toilet backing up again. We reran the line and explained that there needed to be a clean out installed on that line as well. On 6/7/15 there was an additional call on the same back bathroom and yet again we ran the line and told them the same thing , that there is a problem on the back bathroom line and that there needs to be a clean out installed to determine what is going on with the line. At that time the tech told her that we could no longer come out if she is unwilling to address the problem. We have also told her that if she has someone else put in the clean out, that we will still come out and camera the line at no charge so that she will know what is going on with the line. We have also told her that we would apply one charge of $455 towards any repairs to that line.
To summarize there was 1 charge of $455 to pull and cable the front bathroom that was ran once, and 1 charge of $455 to pull and cable the back bathroom that was ran 3 separate times. The customer's problems on the front bathroom are under the slab and the problems on the back bathroom are more than likely in the yard. Unfortunately until the appropriate clean outs are installed and inspected by the city and county, there is nothing else the customer can do except continue to cable the lines through pulled toilets.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They agreed to run the clean out. If there was a problem they shouldn't have taken my money. They took my money knowing there was an issue. Why would they agree to complete a job that could not be done. It was unscrupulous. I want a full refund the inadequate job...

Final Business Response
The charge was to cable the line, which we did. The charge was not to fix the line. We can not determine what is wrong with her lines because one line is not up to code and the other line had an illegal repair made that was the wrong repair. We have given the customer estimates to bring her plumbing up to code, which she refuses to do. If she has any grievance it should be towards the individual who made the illegal repair. We have even told the customer to have that individual correct the lines and we will inspect the pipes with a camera, at no charge, to let her know why she is having the problems that she is having. We have gone above and beyond to take care of this customer. We have put the work in, therfore there will not be a refund. At the end of the day we can't force the customer to make the necessary repairs.

04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Roto Rooter to have a plumber come & fix a leak in the bathroom upstairs. He came & fixed it & I paid him. He told me that his boss would come out & evaluate whether there was water in the walls, but there would be no charge for that. I was never given an "Estimate" or a "Scope of Work". Many people & fans were moved into my house before I even knew what was going on. There was a lot of mass confusion. That evening my husband & I decided we did not want to go forward with any work, so I called & asked them to pick up the fans they had left. Mr. **** said that his schedule did not permit him to pick them up that day, but he would not charge me for the second day. There is a note on one of the yellow copies to "Bill insurance company" when I had already told Mr. **** that my homeowner's insurance would not cover this. In fact, I was never asked anything about my insurance. The bill they sent me was $1657.82 for doing basically nothing.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the bill GREATLY reduced.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* FTM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@rrsc.com
Roto-Rooter received a call February 10, 2015 @ 7:42 am from the ***** Residence for a broken water line inside the house causing damage to the property. We dispatched a technician to make the water line repair at 8:00am. Once the technician had fixed the water leak Roto-Rooter had our water restoration crew respond to determine if there was a need for drying out the structure and there was. Mrs. ***** told us that she was filing an insurance claim and allowed us to start the restoration process. Mrs. ***** signed all of the necessary paperwork that it takes for us to start the restoration process, including the clause that states that if her insurance company doesn't cover the claim she is still responsible for the bill. Roto-Rooter had a crew of 5 set up equipment @ approximately 11:00am necessary for drying the structure. The industry standard for drying is 72 hours, however Mrs. ***** called us the next morning stating that her husband could not stand the noise and wanted everything removed. Mrs. ***** set the time for us to come by and once we arrived she was not at home and we were unable to pick up any equipment. She then asked for us to come back out later in the afternoon, but at that time we had to schedule the pickup for the next morning. The original estimate to dry the structure was $2,377.24. This is done through xactimate and the prices are set by the insurance companies, not Roto-Rooter. We have reduced Mrs. *****'s bill to $1,657.42. When we reduced the bill by approximately 30% the first time, we were under the impression that this was a sufficient reduction. We have spoken to Mrs. ***** again today about this matter and we asked her what she felt was a fair price and she said that she "did not have time for that." At this point in time Roto-Rooter feels like we have been very accommodating to the customer problem and have attempted to arrive at an amicable solution. Roto-Rooter will have to proceed in our collections processes.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I clearly told Mr. **** that my homeowner's insurance would NOT cover any of the damage. I was not given an estimate or a quote on how much the work might cost.
I did not set the time for them to come by & pick up the fans. I work & am not at home all day. I told them to call me & I would meet them at the house.
I was told that there would be no charge for evaluating whether there was any water behind the walls. Before I knew it, there were 5 young men & so many fans that you could not walk around. My husband, because of the nature of his job, had quite a lot of stress on him. Perhaps tempers were short all around. But the fact remains that I did not authorize any billable work to be done.

Final Business Response
1. Before we began any restoration services I explained to Mrs. ***** in detail that our prices were set by the insurance industry, and she CLEARLY understood the process and indicated that she would call her agent as soon as we left to file a claim.

2. I did not give the insured a price due to the fact that the services are set by State Farm and she never requested a price due to the fact she was going to file a claim.

3. We did have an appt for the next day at 1:00 P.M. and the customer was not there. We did contact her later that day and she said that she could meet us after work at approx. 5:00p.m. or later.

4. We did contact the customer by phone and set up an appt for the next day.

5. We did not charge for the evaluation. After the free evaluation, we determined that there was a damage that required drying. We explained the process to Mrs. ***** and she then signed the contract to begin work. This is when we began billing.

6. When we placed the equipment we explained to her in detail the purpose of each piece of equipment, how it functions, and how long it would need to run. We set the equipment in a way that the customer could still move around the room.

7. Before we begin ANY form of services we always get a detailed contract signed. I explained to her what each category meant and that we would bill State Farm after the completion of all services. On page3 paragraph 4 Insurance Coverage subpart C; the contract states "If you do not have insurance coverage, or if you have insurance coverage but your insurer fails to pay the full amount due, you will be solely responsible for paying amount not paid by insurance."
This bill is now 2 months past due and is subject to interest rates at 1.5% per month as per the contract. At this point in time the property is also subject to having a Mechanic's Lien placed against it.
Once again Mrs. ***** has asked for the bill to be greatly reduced, which we have done by reducing it by 30%.
-****** ****

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While fixing a leak, they overcharged us and caused another leak. The damage from the leak to our neighbors is something they refuse to cover.
On 10/29 we had Roto-Rooter come to fix a dripping tub faucet. The invoice for this repair is ***********. I watched as the repairman removed the hot/cold handles, turned a screw (to turn off water) then removed the "stems". He replaces each quarter sized rubber washer and replaced the stems, turned the screws back and replaced the handles. We then replaced the faucet spout. He did not check to see if the water was leaking or anything inside the wall at that point.

The next day our downstairs neighbor noticed water in their ceiling and wall. When we got home we called Roto-Rooter and they sent someone out. The invoice for the second visit ***********. He removed the same hot/cold handles and looked in the wall to see that where the first repairman had turned the water back on was spraying a steady stream of water (and now had been for 30 hours). He turned the screw to tighten it and the water stopped. He also indicated that we were overcharged on the first visit and that we should have been charged $75 not $215 but he was not going to charge anything on his visit. He mentioned that he knew that first repairman and although he had been doing this a long time and was good, he rushed his work and made errors. He suggested we call in the next day to discuss repairs and reducing the cost of the first visit.

When I was able to connect with the office the next day the man indicated he had talked with both repairmen and he felt that the 2nd leak was caused by a broken valve. I asked how the 2nd technician was able to "fix" the "broken valve" and stop the leak and he continued to say because it was not a valve they installed it wasn't their responsibility. I told him the valve was not leaking when the first technician arrived and was leaking when he left, if it were a broken or faulty valve how was the second technician able to repair in less than 5 minutes with a turn of the same screw that the first technician had turned in visit 1. He still refused to listen and stated they would not handle any of the damage.

After seeing I was going to have to take action in other ways on the damage complaint I asked about being charged $215 for two quarter sized rubber washers... He took some time, looked something up and came back to say the standard charge was "up to" $250, depending on time and effort. As I was there watching I know exactly how much effort was put in and the timing was about 20 minutes work and 2 hours talking... He again stuck to the "book" where he said he could have charged up to $250. I did not mention that technician #2 was the one that pointed out that was a $75 fix, but I did say that I had been told by others it should have been and he would not budge.

I've since called the corporate headquarters and am awaiting their response.

Desired Settlement
Roto-Rooter needs to handle all repairs and requests of our neighbors that were caused by the leak their technician caused by not checking the valve when he turned it back on. I would like our bill reduced to $75 from $215.

Business Response *Re Case Number: ***************** **We serviced this customer on 10/29/13 and 10/30/13. *We dispatched a technician to repair a tub/shower valve that was leaking at 1:23 pm on 10/29/13. We gained access to the shower valve body through a small opening behind the escutcheon and saw where the problem was on the tub/shower valve body. In order to work on the tub/shower valve, you must shut off the water. The customer had two water supply shut off valves located there in the wall as well, one for the hot and one for the cold. The technician shut off the water supply valves and made the repair to the tub/shower valve body. Once the repair was complete, the technician turned on the water supply valves and checked his work. At that time, the technician did not see any leaks. He had the customer sign off on the work, collected the agreed upon flat rate payment for the repair, and left.*The customer called back on 10/30/13 stating that water was now leaking behind the wall and on to the downstairs neighbors ceiling. A technician was dispatched at 7:44 pm to take care of the problem. The second technician found that it was not leaking from the tub/shower valve but was actually leaking from one of the water supply valves in the wall. The technician tightened the packing nut on the supply valve, and this stopped the leak immediately. There was NO charge for us coming back out. *I explained to the customer, when a valve goes unused for an extended amount of time, the packing inside of the valve body can potentially leak once that particular valve has been turned back on. I also explained that this is extremely rare and not an ordinary occurrence. The first technician did not see any leaks at the water supply valves or he would have tightened the packing nut at that time. This means the supply valve probably started leaking after we left. This most likely was due to the packing simply giving way inside of the water supply valve body due to irregular pressure. This was either by common use or by a fluctuation in water pressure at that area of the plumbing system. I tried to explain this to the customer, but not knowing if he is familiar with the intricacies of plumbing, I am not sure if I properly explained the situation. The customer didn't seem to believe me so I contacted WATTS, who is one of the largest manufacturers of water supply valves in the U.S. and explained what happened. This was their response, "Gaskets and packing glands develop a memory if they sit in one position for a long time. Sometimes you can tighten the packing gland nut to stop leaks." (Ticket ID **##******##**) *By us turning the water supply valve off and then on, the way it is intended to be used, is the equivalent of a mechanic turning the steering wheel of a car and the power steering pump starting to leak. It is not the mechanics fault that the pump started to leak he just happened to be the last one to touch the steering wheel. In both scenarios the leak is not caused by the turning of the valve or the steering wheel, but rather from the age of the part. **We did not install the water supply valve that leaked nor did we use the water supply valve incorrectly. Therefore we cannot take responsibility for the supply valve going bad and leaking due to its age. I do feel for the customer and hope this will help him understand where we are coming from and not think we are trying to escape are responsibility.***Respectfully Submitted,******************Field Training Manager*Roto-Rooter Service Company*Birmingham, AL*205-849-1750***Final Consumer Response *(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)*The simple fact is there was no leak behind the wall prior to the work Roto-Rooter did and there was after. This is a simple case of industry risk. If they knew turning the valve on/off it may cause a leak they should have checked the leak. Whether it was their valve or not it was their action that caused the leak. There is no denying that. A "cost if doing business" is taking responsibility for your actions, regardless of intent. As to the "flat rate" claim, I challenge that because of the statement their own technician made as well as others that have had the same service done. The risk anyone takes by using this branch of Roto-Rooter is they will be overcharged and they will not have them stand behind their work. A risk neither I nor my friends will ever use their service again. **Final Business Response *Unfortunatly for the customer, Roto-Rooter can not be held responsible for the condition of the customers existing plumbing. The price we charge is fair and we stand behind our work.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Water Damage Restoration, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Excavating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1984Business started: 01/01/1936
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board
11 W Oxmoor Rd Ste 104
Birmingham, AL 35209-6400
(205) 945-4857
http://pgfb.alabama.gov

BBB records show a license number of 804 for this company, issued by State of Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board. Their web address is http://pgfb.alabama.gov. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2016. Thomas Bradshaw Jr - Roto-Rooter.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1936, IA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Morrow (General Manger)Mr. Brad Garrett Ms. Pat Swanson (Customer Service Manager)Ms. Valerie Tarver (Customer Service)
Business Category

Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Water Damage Restoration, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Excavating Contractors

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers plumbing and rooting services.

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services

283D Cahaba Valley Pkwy N

Pelham, AL 35124-1165

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3865 Industrial Dr 

    Birmingham, AL 35217-1375(205) 518-7072
    (205) 849-0300
    (205) 988-6487
    (205) 518-7072 ext ext20116
    (205) 849-1750
    (205) 663-0880
    (205) 942-0555
    (205) 781-7002
    (205) 871-8514
    Fax: (205) 739-5975

  • 283D Cahaba Valley Pkwy N 

    Pelham, AL 35124-1165(205) 428-5559

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Roto-Rooter Plumbing, Drain Service & Water Restoration Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.