BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Banks Quarles Plumbing Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (205) 758-2627Fax: (205) 758-6699

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We are seeking a refund of $3,187.83 from Banks ******* Plumbing, Heating, Cooling due to their failure to repair an air conditioner in a mobile home.
******* & ****** ****
**** **** **** *****
******** ******** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
**************

August 28, 2015

On August 3, 2015, we contacted Banks Quarles Plumbing, Heating, Cooling, XXXX XXth Street, *********** ******* XXXXX to repair an air conditioner on a mobile home located at *** ******** ***** **** ***** *********** ******* XXXXX. The company's repair would include making the air conditioner fully functional, including, but not limited to, making sure that cool air blew out of the unit. Banks Quarles sent out a representative to evaluate the air conditioner who indicated that the repair would cost us $3,187.83. We subsequently paid Banks Quarles the amount of $3,187.83 by credit card to fix the air conditioner (see attached document).

On August 4, 2015, Bank Quarles sent out a technician by the name of **** ****** to repair the air conditioner (see attached document). However, Boothe never repaired the air conditioner. As of August 28, 2015, the air conditioner on the mobile home remains inoperable - it does not work. We contacted the company questioning why their technician failed to fix the air conditioner. However, we were subsequently told that it would cost us from $7,000 to $10,000 to fix the air conditioner on the mobile home. Because we know the company overcharged us, we have asked them to simply refund the money we paid, remove any parts they installed, return everything the way it was originally before they came out, and that we would contact another company to fix the air conditioner. However, the company has refused to refund our money and remove their equipment.

Because we have reason to believe that Banks Quarles overcharged us for sending someone out who has failed to repair the air conditioner and is continuously engaging in fraudulent conduct by attempting to get even more money from us - from $7,000 to $10,000, we are asking for a refund of $3,187.83 and any other relief you believe is appropriate against the company. For your information, we looked around and discovered that the average repair cost for an air conditioner on a mobile home is about $1,000 - no greater than the $3,000 we paid.

Sincerely,

******* & ****** ****
CC: **** *********** manager; ******* **** and ******* ****
Banks Quarles Plumbing, Heating, Cooling
XXXX XXth Street
*********** ******* XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Because we have reason to believe that Banks ******* overcharged us for sending someone out who has failed to repair the air conditioner and is continuously engaging in fraudulent conduct by attempting to get even more money from us - from $7,000 to $10,000, we are asking for a refund of $3,187.83 and any other relief you believe is appropriate against the company. For your information, we looked around and discovered that the average repair cost for an air conditioner on a mobile home is about $1,000 - no greater than the $3,000 we paid.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Operations
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************************
we find it impossible to over charge anyone when you provide upfront flat rate hand written pricing and seek approval on any amounts being quoted for any work before work is started. when issues arise we make every effort to address and correct them accordingly in a timely fashion. we have remedied this complaint to full satisfaction of customer as of 9/4/15, we did not repair the unit, we replaced the outdoor unit and afterwards had an issue with indoor coil which we also replaced on 9/4/15 so this customer has a fully functioning new air conditioner system and was not charged any additional monies. case closed and happy customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This issue has been resolved.

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price gouging stay at home moms and speaking to consumers in an inexcusable way
I am a realtor with ********* ****** Real Estate in *********** ** and I called Banks Quarrels to assess my seller's hot water heater on Tuesday, May 26, 2015. Myself and my seller were aware of the $49.95 dispatch fee to come to the home and evaluate the problem that was revealed in the home inspection. My seller is a stay at home mom of two and at the time of the service, she was watching a neighbor's child, thus having three small children in her home. In addition to caring for three small children, my seller was also in the middle of packing her entire home to move to ****** After the technician arrived, he proceeded to the attic (access in the garage) and completed the simple repair of replacing the heating element. When he was finished he told her the cost would be $376. The seller states the technician did not make known the cost of the repairs prior to completing the repair. The technician stated the entire amount had to be paid at the time of service, so my seller went ahead and wrote a check to the technician. Since I represent the seller, I called Banks Quarrels to speak with a manager to see if they could do anything to help the seller. I spoke with ******* who stated he could not do anything to help the sellers and "did not give a **** if the Better Business Bureau was contacted." After the repair was done and we knew the exact problem with the hot water heater, I contacted several other plumbing companies in the ********** area, who all have said that replacing a 4500 watt heating element on a 50 gallon tank hot water heater would cost around $115-$160. These were all reputable companies who also have to provide competitive pay and benefits to their employees, yet somehow Banks Quarrels almost triples their cost for the same repair. After making a post about Banks Quarrels on social media, I have heard from several people who claim Banks Quarrels has done the same thing to them or their clients who all happen to be women. The technician was at my seller's home for a total of 50 minutes. The $376 amount that was charged would be expected for an all day job or for a repair that required an expensive part. In conclusion, Banks Quarrels is unfortunately appearing to price gouge their consumers and possibly discriminate against women.

Desired Settlement
We have already asked Banks Quarrels to help the sellers with the price since the price was not fair however, because the sellers have already paid Banks Quarrels and they are moving out of state, we are not seeking any settlement from them. We are asking that the appropriate authorities are made aware of Banks Quarrels' business practices to protect future victims.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* **********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********************
First and Foremost we must remember our Customer never complained at all to our technician on site nor did they contact our office and express concern. Banks Quarles has been serving this community for 95 years this year. We certainly didn't last that long by not taking care of customers and delivering value added products and service. It is insulting for a Realtor to insult the integrity of our company based on his/her on opinion. Most people you come in contact with have a less than positive experience with the realty profession as well. Further more our customers are shown a price from our upfront pricing guide( that has not changed since 2012) of any work prior to performing such tasks. They can then make an informed decision to accept the work proposed or decline and we respect both. This Non Customer has no clue what it takes to operate such a business as a Full service Plumbing , Heating, Cooling, and Electrical business. Our Technician is a skilled , highly trained Professional and we take offense with such an accusation and dispute this claim.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am the home owner in regards to this case. I was not asked to sign anything until after I handed the technician a check. He did give me a price quote before fixing the water heater and I questing the amount. He also inquired if I was buying the home or selling the home. I feel I would have been charged a different price if I would have been purchasing the home. He was aware that I was moving out of state. I am not informed in regards to pricing on pluming so I had to take his word for it. It took no longer than 15 minutes total for him to complete the job and he stood around and chatted the rest of the time. My realtor stopped by because I had inquired about the outrageous price for 15 minutes of work. Had I known then what I know now, I would have declined the service, but I am sure I would have been charged a fee for him coming out anyway. I am very disappointed in the attack on the realtor in the business' response. This incident was handled very unprofessionally. I did not call to complain do to lack of time. I do not care to be compensated in this case. The loss of business from other customers through our negative experience has had a much greater impact on the business than a refund check.
Regards,
***** ****

01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The repairman told us we had a gas leak and we needed a new furnace. We called ******** and they said it was not trueand there was not a gas leak.
I was solicited on a Tuesday afternoon for seasonal service on the furnace as part of a home warrantee agreement. The technician arrived early Wednesday morning, turned on the furnace, entered the attic and twenty minutes later came down to inform me that there was a gas leak in the pipe and by law he had to shut off the gas line, and he provided me with 6 estimates ranging from $3,500-$20,000 for repair and replacement. He left. I felt uneasy about the honesty of this assessment. I called ********. They came out and informed me that there was no legal parameters for shutting off my gas line, that there was no leak or otherwise hazard associated with my furnace, and that the technician had not only shut off the gas line, but that he had disconnected the electrical wires to my unit (without asking my permission to do so). ******** informed me that his claim for the condition of my furnace was inaccurate, as there was no gas leaking and no danger to my household as a result of use of the furnace.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the service contract as the entire premise of the contract was to defraud me.

Business Response
at customers request full refund mailed out 1/12/15

09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/15/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.