BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2008

Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 663-1919Fax: (205) 663-20443070 Pelham Pkwy, PelhamAL 35124-2020 Send email to Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc. was established in 1980 and is locally owned and operated, licensed, bonded and insured. We have a strong committment to making each customer a top priority. Our goal is to free customers of pest control worries.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2008

BBB has determined that Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We needed someone to come out to verify a pest. They sent a novice that left the same week, did not return calls, and did not pick up items required.
They sent someone to check the problem who was a novice (not a professional), and the tech that came out was leaving the company in three days. They asked for samples of the pest, which they were provided with, then sent out glue boards to help determine the problem. When I finally determined what the problem was (a live pest was found in a certain area), I called to inform them. The employee dealing with me, *****, said she was going to overnight the samples provided to a friend in ******* on Tuesday the 10th. After that day, no one returned my calls, no one picked up the samples (with the live pest), until June 16th, at which time she was anxious to pick up the live pest, and overnight the samples. This company knew I had been suffering from a problem for some time, and their lack of service has been handled very poorly! We called another service, and within one week, they are already prepared to handle the problem (fumigation). We are very dissatisfied with the lack of concern for a client that was in desperate need of help.

Desired Settlement
We do not wish to pay the remainder of the bill for the pest control. We have already made a payment of $30.00 which would leave a total of $50.00.

Business Response
I am very disappointed and sorry that *** ******** felt Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol was unresponsive to her needs. *** ******** contacted our office on May 2nd and scheduled a May 8th appointment for control of ants and American roaches. Additional service visits were performed for no charge on May 19th, June 2nd and June 10th in ongoing attempts to meet *** ********'s needs which, at that time, included itching. In addition to the services provided at the home, frequent lengthy phone calls were engaged in by various office personnel with *** ******** in attempts to meet her needs. During a conversation of June 16th *** ******** informed me she was changing companies but would pay the balance on their account as they were not the type of people that would do otherwise. At that time I expressed that, although disappointed at the loss of her business, I would still send the samples to an entomologist for review under a microscope and provide her with the results for use by her new company. On June 19th the results of an entomologist's review under a microscope of the samples revealed no insects or mites, as I had anticipated, and therefore the itching *** ******** was experiencing was not a pest control related issue. While in the process of contacting *** ******** on June 20th with the findings I received a message from the BBB that a complaint had been filed. Once again, I am sorry *** ******** felt we were unable to meet her needs regarding the itching she experienced and hope she has received relief else where from the situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They agreed to credit the remainder of the bill, which is $50.00, when I called on June 20th. I have the conversation documented, and am able to provide the documentation AS PER ***** which she agreed to comply with on that date. I also have the time documented that the conversation took place. WE WILL NOT SEND THEM ANY MORE MONEY AS THEY AGREED TO CREDIT THE ACCOUNT. If I need to provide documentation of this agreement, please notify us as to how and where it needs to be sent or downloaded.

Final Business Response
As discussed with *** ******** during our conversation of June 20th the remaining balance of her service fee was credited. There has not been a balance on her account as of the date of our last conversation.

Again I am sorry that she felt we had not met her needs and hope her new company has provided the relief she was looking for.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Mosquito Control, Wildlife Control Services, Termite Control

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/12/2008Business started: 03/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL 36130-0001
(800) 642-7761
http://agi.alabama.gov

BBB records show a license number of 11791 for this company, issued by Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries. Their web address is http://agi.alabama.gov. The expiration date of this license is 03/28/2017. Davis B Kellis-Mr. Bugg's Pest Control.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1980, AL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. David Kellis (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Taylor (General Manager)
Business Category

Pest Control Services, Mosquito Control, Wildlife Control Services, Termite Control

Products & Services

Along with general pest and termite control we also offer mosquito reduction service, wildlife control and year long fire ant control. As a Sentricon Authorized Operator we offer baiting for termite control in addition to conventional methods.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Upon completion of a service agreement with a one year commitment any re-treatments needed between regular services are no additional charge.

Service Area

Shelby, Jefferson, Chilton, St Clair Counties

Industry Tips
Pest Control

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc.

3070 Pelham Pkwy

Pelham, AL 35124-2020

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3070 Pelham Pkwy 

    Pelham, AL 35124-2020(205) 663-1919

  • 3179 Lee St 

    Pelham, AL 35124-1903Fax: (205) 663-2044

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mr. Bugg's Pest Patrol, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Pest Control
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.