BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1966

Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 942-7775Fax: (205) 942-1022View Additional Phone Numbers2000 Wenonah Oxmoor Rd, BirminghamAL 35211-6936

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1966

BBB has determined that Cook's Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cook's Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1stly imposed service without authorization. after I arguing the lady said the charge was dismissed. Now after 3 months the surcharge shows up again!!
I am very angry with this company now. I had a contract with cooks pest control from August 2013 to August 2014, which I paid in full amount in front for 13 times pest controls. I did not renew the contract once it expired. In October and November the company did pest control to my house without my authorization, and send me a $61 dollar bill. I called the company, and the lady ***** ****** answered my call. I talked the situation with her, confirmed that my contract was expired on Sep 2014, and the extra two service is not authorized by anyone in my house, and I won't be responsible for the charge. After long talk, the lady, ***** ******* confirmed on the phone that I did not need to pay the $61 dollar bill, and I just need to ignore the $61 bill if it came again in the future. Now after 3 months I received a letter from the collection department of that company! What is wrong with this **** company, what is wrong with the front desk lady ***** ******* She confirmed that I do not need to pay, then ask the collection department to take over? How can you trust this person, how can you trust this company? If this issue can not be solved in a timely manner, I will stop the termite service with this company as well, and told everyone I know to avoid using the service of this company, since you can't trust the company.

Desired Settlement
Get rid of the ridiculous charge, and stop sending the **** 61 dollar bill to my house. I need a reasonable explanation to this issue, and I need a big apology from ***** ****** and her manager.

Business Response
After receiving your E-mail on the complaint from Mr. **** ** I met with my Pest Control Department Manager and Mrs. ****** and went over the complaint. My office did receive a request from Mr. ** to cancel the service on Oct.31 2014. The Department manager was notified of this request but failed to cancel until Nov 25. 2014. The charges were suppose to have been removed from the account. The department Manager failed to do so and the account was sent to collections. My Department Manager has called Mrs ** today and apologized for this error and we have notified the Collection company to cease any actions immediately. Mrs ** was very understanding and said she would explain this to her husband. My Department Manager offered to call back and speak with Mr. ** later if necessary. Mrs Qu stated that would not be necessary and thanked us for taking care of it. ******** ******, District Manager, Cooks Pest Control

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been ignored multiple times by management and services not rendered correctly.
I purchased Cooks Pest Control in November 2013 for my newly purchased home. At the time, I had an issue with wasps in my home. I was told by the Sales person that there will be dust placed in the walls of my home to get rid of the wasps. This never happened. During the time of never getting this resolved, My husband was stung by a wasp and fell ill for 2 days. I complained and called management several times and the manager would never contact me back. He would always get the Sales Tech, whom was not performing the job properly, to contact me back. Just recently for the month of May 2014, it was brought to my attention that the Sales Tech, **** has not been servicing my home. He has been spraying my neighbors home on accident. *** has since apologized. I asked for all services to cease but management still will not contact me regarding the issue. I have multiple ants in my home and I have received faulty service since day one.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of all months starting from the beginning of service. Since service, my husband has been stung by a wasp, ants are now in my home, and my home has not even been serviced correctly and efficiently. I also would like to cancel all services and to not have to pay the termination fee. I never received the services I was promised.

Business Response
After meeting with my Department Manager, ***************, I had him contact ************** We apologized for not getting back to her before now. ***** explained to ************ that she had a new Route technician for the last two months and was not aware that he had serviced the wrong House.He offered to have the Technician return to the right house this month to service it and to either refund or credit her account for the other month that was not serviced. She thanked us but said at this point she felt that she would like to cancel the service and have us refund her for the two months.****** agreed to to do this and I requested a check for her yesterday and the account was cancelled. She thanked us and we apologized again for the confusion.****************, District Manager,Cooks Pest Control.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accepted their response due to the fact that they accepted full responsibility for their actions. I am happy with the outcome and even though I had a problem with the service I would recommend them to others.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1966Business started: 01/01/1928Business started locally: 01/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL36130-0001
(800) 642-7761
http://www.agi.state.al.us/pesticide management

BBB records show a license number of 13018 for this company, issued by Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries. Their web address is http://www.agi.state.al.us/pesticide management. The expiration date of this license is 03/28/2015.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1964, AL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Sherrill Hodges (District Manager)Mr. Jim Aycock (President)Mr. Joey Harris (COO)
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers service in termite and pest control.

Alternate Business Names
Cook's Pest Control
Industry Tips
Pest Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cook's Pest Control, Inc.

2000 Wenonah Oxmoor Rd

Birmingham, AL 35211-6936

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1208 24th St N 

    Birmingham, AL 35234-3133

  • 2000 Wenonah Oxmoor Rd 

    Birmingham, AL 35211-6936(205) 328-4575
    (205) 942-7775
    Fax: (205) 942-1022
    Fax: (205) 942-1022

  • PO Box 26767 

    Birmingham, AL 35260-0767

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cook's Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 328-4575
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Pest Control
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.