BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc.

(205) 535-1019View Additional Phone Numbers2913 Shannon Dr, TuscaloosaAL 35404-4952 Send email to Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc.http://www.jacoblchannellpainting.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The problem resulting from hardwood floor installation have not been fixed after paid in Full and we couldn't use half the house for a long time.
We employed Jacob Channel Painting Inc. to remove the carpet and install 1300-square feet new hardwood floor in our new house. The project started in late December in 2013 and ended the first week of January 2014. Even though there were multiple spots that the wood had not been securely glued down to the concrete and caused unleveled flooring, we paid ***** ******* in full on Jan 6 based on his promises to come back and fix them really soon. And after several contacts reminding this unresolved issue, his team came back on Thursday Feb 13th to fix other spots but failed due to lack of appropriate tools. Before they left, they said ***** would be in touch with us to schedule another date. However, he never got back to us or return our messages. On Feb 21th, losing faith in him, we contacted our general contractor who worked with ***** and he told us that ***** said he would be back in three weeks to fix the floor. We patiently waited another 3 weeks before we contacted our general contractor again. This time, ***** promised to drop by on the coming up weekend (March 15 & 16) to get everything done while no one at all showed up and no notification was made. Due to the unattached floor, we cannot any furniture in the room or live in there. So we still **** on an old mattress for 2 and a half months by now. In addition, the old carpet that should have been removed months ago (in December last year) still stuck in our carport at this moment.

Desired Settlement
Fix the floor, remove the left old carpet and reimburse estimated loss $100*2.5=$250 resulting from we couldn't use the Master Bedroom and Half living room for 2.5 months.

Final Consumer Response
In the beginning of April, with the help (or push) from another contractor (who helped us remodel the bathroom and also knew him), the company finally contacted me and resolved the problem.

Thanks,
****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Handyman Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/2012Business started: 03/09/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2007, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jacob L. Channell (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Handyman Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers residential, commercial and industrial painting, interior and exterior, textured cellings, faux finishing, cabinet refinishing, sheetrock repair, general maintenance and repair, house washing, etc.

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc.

2913 Shannon Dr

Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-4952

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2913 Shannon Dr 

    Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-4952(205) 886-6805
    (205) 535-1019

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jacob L. Channell Painting, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 886-6805
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.