BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1987

Schaeffer Eye Center

Find a Location

Phone: (205) 824-7171Fax: (205) 824-7179View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 1310, TrussvilleAL 35173-6102 Send email to Schaeffer Eye CenterView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1987

BBB has determined that Schaeffer Eye Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Schaeffer Eye Center's rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Schaeffer Eye Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Schaeffer Eye Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
02/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund requested,but they want to keep $100.00 for what is referred to as restocking fee.
I work too hard for my money for them to take advantage of me as they have.Since when does restocking fee for a pair of glasses cost $100.00.It is just robbery.

Desired Settlement
For them not to charge me,a senior citizen soo much money.God forbid.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** - Director of Ops
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******@schaeffereyecenter.com
We were made aware of the issue on the same morning that this BBB complaint was filed. The patient purchased glasses two years ago, paid a down-payment towards the order and then never returned. She still owed for the other half of the glasses and we were never able to get in touch with her. We have already started the refund process and are more than happy to refund her the portion that she has paid seeing that she never actually received the product two years ago. I have contacted the patient to let her know that I am taking care of it and she is happy. She should be receiving a refund check in 7-10 business days.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your eyes and ears,Lord knows I do appreciate your response and so quickly.I just pray that no one else is taken advantage of in this manner ever again.Today we live in a society where so many people lose their jobs so it seems at the drop of a hat.And you talking about debt,it never goes away.Thank you so much for your assistance.and thank God for BBB.

05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/8/2015 I had an eye exam done which was suppose to be followed up with glasses. The first pair of glassed I received back had a chip in the lens upon return so they had to order me a new lens. When the lens came in they could not find my glassed so I was told that I would have to get a replacement pair. They replaced them but they are not the ones that I originally picked out. The issue is my insurance will only pay for one pair every three years. I feel schaeffer should have covered the cost because they lost the glasses.
Product_Or_Service: eye glasses

Desired Settlement
Schaeffer replace the glasses that I originally picked out.

Business Response
I believe this matter has been resolved to the patient's satisfaction. We ordered another pair of the glasses that Ms. ***** originally selected at no charge to her or to her insurance company. I called the lab to verify that this reorder is the same frame style in the same color as what was originally sent to us. I also let Ms. ***** know that if she is not satisfied when the new pair of glasses arrives, she can choose any pair of glasses in our office and we will order them that same day at no cost to her."

The replacement glasses arrived and when Ms. ***** came in to pick them up, she stated that she still feels the color is not the same. Unfortunately, after spending several hours on the phone with both Medicaid of Alabama and Classic Optical, nobody was able to find a difference between the original order and the most recent pair of glasses we presented to her. I reached out to Ms. ***** again to offer her the opportunity to select any frame in our inventory at no cost to her, but she stated that she was not interested. She said she does not feel she will wear the glasses often enough to warrant that. She did express that she was very appreciative of my effort to resolve this issue and I apologized once again for the inconvenience. She has my direct number and I asked her to please reach out to me at any time if she changes her mind about our offer or if there is ever anything else I can do for her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


07/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told by the appointment scheduler that there would be an additional $38 charge to obtain my vision prescription. FTC rules don't allow this.
Called to schedule an appointment for an eye exam related to my Type 2 diabetes. They made the appointment, but called back later to tell me that they did not take ***** insurance coverage, which is my current vision provider. I told them that my regular insurance would cover the exam, so I wasn't worried about the ********* coverage aspect as long as I also received my prescription. For years past this has not been an issue when I had no special vision coverage at all. However, this time I was told that there would be a $38 additional charge for the prescription. It is my understanding that this is contrary to FTC laws and rules.

Desired Settlement
Abide by FTC law.

Business Response
Today I sent an email to the complainant expressing sorrow and asking for best phone number and time to call to discuss the issue. I also sent my phone numbers. If i don't get a response I will try calling during the day on Monday.

The $38 charge at issue here is not one that we charge of our own volition, and it is most certainly not a violation of FTC rules. Since medical insurance doesn't cover the refraction as part of the eye examination, we are obligated to charge the patient for that service. If someone has vision insurance, then the vision insurance generally covers that portion of the examination.

In accordance with regulations protecting the privacy of patient information, I will save any additional details to discuss directly with the complainant but wanted to respond to the complaint that Schaeffer Eye Center is not complying with FTC regulations.

I will update after speaking with him personally. Thank you!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree. I've had my eyes checked at Schaeffer for years without having vision insurance - i.e. only medical. this $38 additional charge was never previously requested.

Final Business Response
Since medical insurance doesn't cover the refraction as part of the eye examination, we are obligated to charge the patient for that service.

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to Schaffer for eye glasses purchase. The first pair of glasses has the line progressive lenses and I can't see very well with them. I went to Schaffer to buy another pair with the no line progressive lenses. I paid for thinner lenses because of my prescription and selected a frame that would accommodate the lenses and make a nice pair of glasses. The glasses that I received are not pushed all the way in the frame and has a very bad glare. I can't drive at night because of the glare the glasses are projecting. I went back to Schaffer for adjustment and was told the glasses can't be adjusted and to correct the glare from the lenses I would have to pay an additional $65.00 to correct. Schaffer need to repaid my glasses without me having to pay additional money. It is the lenses that are not right and they want correct. I am not satisfied or pleased with my glasses purchase from Schaffer and they want fix or correct.
Product_Or_Service: Eye Glasses
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like for Schaffer to repair my glasses or exchange for another that I can wear and does not has a glare. The lenses are not good and need correcting. Please Schaffer repair or exchange for another pair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** DO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******@schaeffereyecenter.com
When patient presented, she wanted to use her Medicaid material benefit. Unfortunately, Medicaid only allows for standard, lined-bifocals so this is what we had to order in compliance with our contract. She was unhappy with the bifocal so the manager of the office elected to upgrade her lenses to a no line bifocal and he also upgraded her material from standard plastic to polycarbonate. She declined anti-reflective coating at that time due to additional cost. I am sorry to hear that she is still having issues. Our manager is contacting her today to try and get her in so he can see what we can do to make her happy.

09/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
lied to me about my insurance will pay $200.00 dollars and kept up selling me on other products
they told me on 04/17/15 my insurance would pay $200.00 of my $1214.01 bill so i paid them the balance of $1,014.01 in full before i got my merchandise 2 weeks later i got my glasses and i could to see out of them and they insisted i needed to give it time but i could nt even see a tag on the car in front of me so i went straight back and till today they still have not corrected either the glass or the mess up on the insurance claim i paid in full for all of the services and I'm not getting what i pad for. now it is time to go els where as it so happens i am not allowed to drive without glasses and now it is 08/23/2015 over 4 months have passed

Desired Settlement
i have given them 4 months to resolve the issues and at this point i would just like a full refund of all my money

Business Response
I called patient and he is actually in our Hoover office as I type. He is going to see one of my doctors and work with my optician to see if we an figure out what is going on.

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service here is awful and it has been over a month and I have still not received my refund.
I showed up at the eye center in Pelham March 21st for my 11 am appointment. I was a first time customer but my wife has frequented the Hoover office and always bragged on her great experience which caused my switch. ********* bad move. From my arrival to now the experience went downhill. The desk attendant ******* asked me to wait while she assisted another customer who was there first, to which I had no problem, but I wasn't seen by anyone until 11:35 am and there seem to be some internal bickering among employees about who should help enter my new patient info into the system. I used two vision insurances that I had with the hopes of getting a "cheap" pair of glasses along with contact lenses. I was previously a customer at Pearle vision and I have left there with both contacts and glasses for under 300.00 dollars with one insurance to help, thought I would accomplish the same here. The visit with the Dr went as routine as any, they changed me to a monthly contact lens and ******** was also very professional and helpful. Enter ******* again, supposedly she was supposed to help me pick out glasses of my taste in my price range. I mentioned to her that I wanted something nice but contacts are my primary wear so I wanted what would be the most cost effective. She showed me a pair of **** ***** frames that I liked. I researched both of my insurances before ever coming to Schaeffer eye center thoroughly so I was completely taken aback when I was told my bill was over a thousand dollars and insurance would make it around 689.00 for myself out of pocket. I asked ******* to explain some of those charges because it seemed very high. I brought to her attention that the glasses were to be 20% off after the initial deductible, she seemed to be caught off guard that I mentioned this. She stumbled over her words before telling me that the discount doesn't apply to higher end frames but that she would add a 25.00 warranty for free to help "even things". Now I take a lot of responsibility for charging half of that bill to my card, my only defense was being tired of being in that office because at this point its after 1pm. When I left I told my wife about my experience and bill which she said didn't sound correct. She herself has purchased high end frames with the same discount ******* told me I didn't get for a frame I had never heard of before. The next business day I called to voice my concerns. I called and asked to cancel the order for the glasses and keep the contacts if there was an option for less than the yr supply. The attendant said they would do so but would check to see if they could cover the contact for a yr with both insurances so I wouldn't have charges out of pocket. I agreed only if that was the case. A wk later I call to get the status of my refund and I was told by ******* that I would get 104.00 dollar back which prompted me to ask her again to explain the charges. She seemed to not know entirely what was going on which led her to put me on hold, I thought. ********* ***** PLACED ME ON A 9 MINUTE HOLD AND WHEN SHE RETURNED SHE DID NOT HAVE AN ANSWER FOR ME BUT A QUESTION. She says,"Mr ********** thank you so much for holding. I have a customer on the other line who doesn't want me to put them on hold, is it ok if I call you back?" I could hardly believe the nerve. I obliged with intentions of cancelling the entire order now because clearly my business is not valued. ******* aka ********* calls back and asks me what I needed again? I repeated my problem and this time she tells me I have a year supply and this is why I got only 100 dollars of the 344 spent there, I mentioned to her that I did not ask for that and I wanted to cancel the order. She then tried to paint picture of inconvenience for me not getting the yr supply, I guess to not have to do the extra work. Awful customer service and it is now April 28th and this issue is still ongoing, called on 4/24 and was told ******* would be contacting me, no word yet.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back. All of it. Apology would be nice but I'm not holding my breath for it.

Business Response
I have called on both phone numbers provided and sent him an email to the address that we have on file. I am more than happy to assist him with this issue and to do everything that I can to repair the relationship. I am also happy to give him a refund for all products and services if needed. Just waiting for him to return my call or email. Will try again tomorrow if I do not hear from him today.

02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Schaeffer Eye Center made several "promises" that they have failed to keep. I have spent over 6 months attempting to get contacts, with no luck.
I have been into this location of Schaeffer eye center on many occasions since May of last year (2014) attempting to order and receive a one year supply of Preference toric contact lenses. The first "trail pair" were never ordered even though "Schaeffer Eye Center" told me they were on three, yes 3 occasions where I physically visited the location to check on my order. Finally, I received the trail pair, and another trail prescription for one eye. one thing after another, one delay after another, one lie after another, it is over six months later and I still do not have a years worth of contacts, even though I get a bill for them every month. I have been told so many different things that I do not know what to believe. Are they all Lies? I have been told at minimum 12 times that my contacts have been ordered, but still do not get them. Moral of this story is that the customer service at this location is horrible, and it appears that no one knows what they are doing, and I really would appreciate that phone call from someone who "matters" that I was promised. No I do not want to speak with Johnny (office manager) again. However, on a side note I will give credit where credit is due: Dr. Blake was wonderful, that was the First exam that I have had in many years where I felt the Dr. did a great job. She answered and explained any and all questions that I had, and I truly believe that she cared whether I was happy. She seems to be the only person in the organization who cares and can actually make stuff happen. But the Customer service side of this business has been a complete disaster, and quite frankly should be embarrassing (coming from a business owner). I really hope that I am going to be able to use Dr. Blake again in the future, however if Schaeffer does not deliver on some of their "promises" to me I will never use Schaeffer Eye Center again. Please Someone at Schaeffer call me so I can voice my complaints and hopefully work some of these issues out.

Desired Settlement
A phone call (from someone who actually matters within the Schaeffer organization) to explain to me if and why this situation is acceptable, and to deliver the products (one year supply of contacts)at the price agreed upon.

Business Response
As of 2/9/2015, we have reached an agreement with the customer on resolution.

Schaeffer Eye Center places tremendous value on complete customer service. We take every patient complaint seriously and work with every situation with considerable detail to remedy the situation.

In this case, through inexperience on the part of our technician, we failed to order the patients contacts in a timely manner on the initial eye exam visit. The correct order wasn't placed in our system on that day and wasn't discovered as unordered until the customer came back to our location to personally check on his order.

We then placed the order for his contacts and encountered several delays due to complexity with the fitting (normal for this type of contact) This created a situation where we did perform 3 different fittings to get the right match for the patient. This is common, however we did have some delays as well with our supplier.

The patient was told that we would supply him with a years supply of contacts with this transaction. The original order was for 6 months and we currently have those contacts in our location.

To correct the situation, we are ordering an additional six months of product and the customer will pick up and pay the agreed upon price when they do arrive.

This customer service issue is certainly rare for us and we have taken steps to ensure that it doesn't happen again.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Opticians, Laser Eye Surgery, Optical Goods - Retail, Contact Lenses

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Board Of Optometry
1431 2nd Ave N
Bessemer, AL 35020-5608
(205) 481-9993
http://optometry.alabama.gov

BBB records show a license number of S-400-TA-196 for this company, issued by Alabama Board Of Optometry. Their web address is http://optometry.alabama.gov.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1985, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Kaplan (Executive Vice President & General Counsel)Mr. Mike Begun (Optical Manager)Ms. Cassie Caldwell (Clinical Manager)Ms. Sophia Cosper (Manager)Ms. Glenda Helms (Contact)Ms. Laura Kaplan (Director of Operations)Mr. Patrick Korth (Manager)Ms. Tina McDonald (Accounts Payable/HR/Payroll)Mr. Mark Petrofsky (Manager)Ms. Sarah Ragland (Manager)Dr. Jack Schaeffer (President/CEO)Ms. Dawn Ueasey (Manager)Ms. Regina Williams (Manager)
Business Category

Opticians, Laser Eye Surgery, Optical Goods - Retail, Contact Lenses

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers eye exams and optical goods.

Alternate Business Names
Schaeffer Eyeworks, Schaeffer Laser Center
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Schaeffer Eye Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 661-2080

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (205) 868-4734
  • (205) 803-0078
  • (205) 838-3689
  • (205) 988-0588
  • (205) 715-2262
  • (205) 758-6758
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Opticians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.