BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1989

Brookwood Baptist Medical Center

Phone: (205) 877-1000Fax: (205) 871-0534View Additional Phone Numbers2010 Brookwood Medical Ctr Dr, BirminghamAL 35209-6804 Send email to Brookwood Baptist Medical Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1989

BBB has determined that Brookwood Baptist Medical Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brookwood Baptist Medical Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

False billing practices
Me and my wife had a baby there on 5-12-15. I was told to pre register at the hospital before the delivery date. In the preregistration they asked for my copayment of $250. I have talked to my insurance and I do owe a copayment of $250 when being admitted to the hospital. I received a bill from the hospital for $500. In the bill it states I have not made any prepayment. I called the hospital and was transferred to billing. I provided them all the security information they required. I was told the money was in a different account but they could not talk to me about it without approval from my wife. I told them I was the primary insurance holder, I am the husband, I am the father, and my name is on the release forms. They still refused to talk to me. I told them to call my wife. They said they tried twice but my wife did not answer. I called my wife and she had not received any calls. I verified that with her call log.

Desired Settlement
I am wanting the money I paid credited to the account and a explaination of the charges.

Business Response
Mr. ******* ******'s spouse, *** ****** was a patient at Brookwood Medical Center on 05/11/2015. Mrs. ****** was seen at the hospital twice on the 11th, which made it necessary for us to create two hospital accounts-account numbers XXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXX. Mrs. ****** did have a pre-registration account created on April 13, 2015- #XXXXXXXX and a patient payment of $250 was made and posted to the account. Mrs. ****** was admitted to this account initially on May 11th using this account but was discharged later that same day. She returned later on May 11th, and another account was created per hospital protocol-#XXXXXXXX. Because of the additional account, another co-pay was generated. The confusion for the Richeys occurred because the patient payment of $250 was posted to the first account and I could not find any documentation where that was explained to them and the creation of an additional account. Because the two hospital encounters are on the same day and hours apart, Mrs. ****** will not owe any additional liability. The hospital's Business Office Director, ***** ****** has been made aware and will resolve the issue bringing both accounts to a zero balance.

Mr. ****** did contact the hospital's customer service office on June 15, 2015 to discuss the account. Per our protocol regarding HIPAA, we do require direct consent from anyone who is not a minor or have on a file documentation of a power of attorney to release information on a patient account. Again, this measure is in place to protect the patient's health information regardless of the nature of the call. There is documented proof that the customer service representative made three attempts with Mr. ****** on the line to contact Mrs. ******, without success, to resolve the issue. Mr. ****** ended the call stating he would call back with Mrs. ****** on the line giving permission to discuss the accounts, but no recorded documentation has been made to date concerning another call. We do require the patient to provide demographic information for verification to include mailing address, date of birth and last four of social security number before proceeding with the release of any information or give permission to discuss details of their account with another individual.

Based on this response, a letter will be sent to Mr. and Mrs. ****** explaining the issue and direct contact information will be provided if they have any additional questions.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospitals, Clinics

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/01/1989Business started: 11/01/1967New Owner Date: 01/01/2015
Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 1967, AL

Contact Information
Ms. Denise Lambert (Admin)Ms. Donna Rowle (Director)Principal: Mr. Chuck Stark (President/CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Davis (Director)
Business Category

Hospitals, Clinics

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers medical services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brookwood Baptist Medical Center

2010 Brookwood Medical Ctr Dr

Birmingham, AL 35209-6804

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2010 Brookwood Medical Ctr Dr 

    Birmingham, AL 35209-6804(205) 877-1973
    (205) 877-1915
    (205) 877-1000
    Fax: (205) 871-0534

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brookwood Baptist Medical Center is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 877-1973
  • (205) 877-1915
  • (205) 877-2327

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Hospitals


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.