BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2011

Adams Homes, LLC

Phone: (205) 620-1173Fax: (205) 620-6044View Additional Phone Numbers266 Yeager Pkwy Ste A, PelhamAL 35124-5809 Send email to Adams Homes, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/12/2011

BBB has determined that Adams Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Adams Homes, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Adams Homes, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New Home - Dishwasher not working
I purchased an Adams Home August 31, 2015. I've used my dishwasher twice. It was not cleaning the dishes. I then placed a call to GE to get someone out to repair the problem. The GE rep informed me that the dishwasher was working but the water connected to it had not been turned on. Adams Home DID NOT TELL ME at anytime that I had to turn on the water to get the dishwasher runner. In fact, before I closed I came by one day in August and Superintendent ******* was testing the dishwasher which would have been an opportunity to tell me at that time. The GE rep charged me $118 since nothing was wrong with the dishwater but the water was not turned on. The rep turned on the water and the dishwasher was operable. When they told me that turning on the water was not a warranty issue and customer payable, I immediately called Adams Home since it was their responsibility to either tell me to turn on the water on turn it on before I closed. They told me there was nothing they could do about this and I disagree. I've only been in the home for 4 months and the home is still under warranty. I would like for Adams Homes to reimburse this fee. Also, I've complained about water collecting in from of my home since I moved in every time it rains. They told me to check with the City of ******** (which I did and they said it wasn't their responsibility but that of the builder). I've asked numerous time for this to be corrected and to-date it still has not been repaired. I would like for Adams Home to get this additional problem resolved.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of the $118 paid to GE for turning on the water to the dishwasher. And, I want the holes in front of my home filled so that rain water doesn't collect and stay around for days.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* G. M.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@adamshomes.com
Upon inspection by the job Superintendent, Ms. ***** ********** had a discussion about the walk thru where the Super did the homeowner orientation. The Super reminded our homeowner that the dishwasher was working at the time of the orientation. The homeowner did have some home improvement done where the counter tops were replaced. It is probable that the contractor working for the homeowner turned off the valve to dishwasher.
As to the area in front of the home holding water, we will advise the Developer of the issue and see if the developer or City can make corrections. Adams Homes is not the developer and does not assume any developer responsibilities as to the streets, rights of way, or other development improvements.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were told by **** the super that our back yard needed to be fixed due to dainage issues. He said he would fix it back in April. Still not fixed.
When we bought our house in April the realitor for Adam's Homes told us we could have a shed and a fench in the backyard. This was one of the stipulation in buying the home. A few weeks after we moved in we noticed that our back yard was holding water. My husband talked to **** ****** the superintendent for Adam's Homes. He told my husband that his bosses and he had surveyed the yard and it would have to be fixed. He said after they build the new house next door they would fix our yard. It would be about 6 weeks. It has been 5 month and they are now telling us they are not going to fix our yard. I have talked to the builder *** ******* he said our back yard is a swoll. No one else on our side of the street has a 8 foot drainage swoll. They have about a foot of drainage swoll. He is very rude and he degrades women. He sent ****, ****'s boss **** ***** and a landscaper out. They gave my husband two options how they could fix the yard. My husband sent back an e-mail telling them the option we wanted. They sent an e-mail back telling us that we just wanted a home improvement. They are not going to fix the yard. When we called his boss **** ***** and the owner ***** ***** they just had *** ******* call us. I have left 3 messages for ***** ***** to call with no response. We also are having a drainage problem near our air conditioner. The came and half way fixed it. They put a container in the ground then throw sand over it. Not sure why they put sand over it but it is still holding water. We are concerned that the water is going under our foundation, the mold that is growing in the yard and infestation.

Desired Settlement
Fix our yard as they stated they needed to.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **************, Gen. Mgr.
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********************
As the Builder for ***** Homes, **********, I have inspected Mrs. ************'s concerns and have made the following conclusions. The home that was purchased by Mrs. ******* was a 100% complete home at the time of contract. The home has a swale that runs in a drainage easement across the rear of the lot. The swale was sodded prior to the time of contract. The home to the right of Mrs. *******'s property was under construction and the Superintendent, ****, did tell the buyer the swale would be fixed at the time of completion of the home next door. That was done and the swale is draining as designed. As the Builder, I have personally stood in the swale within a 24 hour period after a hard rain and no standing water was observed. ***** Homes has a standing water policy after 24 hours, but this would exclude ditches and swales in casements that may stay wet for longer periods of time. At this time, ***** Homes considers this warranty file closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When we bought the house from the ***** Homes Site specialist/Realtor ***** ******** there was no mention that our back yard was a swale or ditch. Amongst the incentives in buying the house was a fence around the back yard. Unfortunately we picked the blinds and a refrigerator. I guess if we picked the fence our yard would be fixed by now. We bought our house on March 30th. The superintendent, **** and his boss **** ***** said they surveyed our yard (not the new home yard next door) and they stated it HAD TO BE FIXED!!! This was the 2nd week in April. *** *******, the builder, did come out to look at our yard. *** told **** ***** and **** ******** to fix the water holding around our air conditioner. Which at this time is still not fixed correctly. They threw sand down the air conditioner to soak up the water. Per *** ******* he stated he personally went into the swale. HE DID NOT go into the swale he stood above the swale so he wouldn't get stuck in the mud. This was at the end of July and this is the first time anyone said that our yard was a swale. When I talked again to *** ******* after contacting his boss. He told me that we could not have a shed or a fence because of the swale. At this time he stated it was 20ft of our yard. I contacted ***** ******** and asked her if she told us we could have a shed in the back yard. She said yes as long as we have a fence around our yard. I told her what was going on with our back yard and she said she will get it fixed. When I called her back there was nothing she could do to get our yard fixed.
If *** ******* was on our property other than the time we were here please give us the date, time and proof.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/02/2005Business started: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
445 Herron Street
Montgomery, AL 36130-3605
(334) 242-2230
http://hblb.state.al.us

BBB records show a license number of 7993 for this company, issued by Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board. Their web address is http://hblb.state.al.us. Adams Homes LLC.

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Wallace (General Manager)Ms. Leslie Holsombeck (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Home Builders

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers residential single family home building services.

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Adams Homes, LLC

266 Yeager Pkwy Ste A

Pelham, AL 35124-5809

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 266 Yeager Pkwy Ste A 

    Pelham, AL 35124-5809(205) 620-1173
    (205) 664-7273
    Fax: (205) 620-6044

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Adams Homes, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 664-7273
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.