BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/03/2015

A Better Service Company, LLC

Phone: (205) 366-9377Fax: (205) 345-7828

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company charged over $982 and did not fix my daughters central air conditioning system.
My daughter purchased a home three years ago which had a Rheem central AC system made in 2011. We contacted A Better Service company to determine the problem with the unit which was not cooling the home. I specifically asked if it was the appropriate size unit for the home which they confirmed that it was. Over the next two summers they made several service trips at our request to troubleshoot the unit charging over that time period over $982. Last fall after my daughter suffered through her second summer with poor AC I wrote A better Service Company a letter documenting all the correspondence we had and asked them to please fix the unit or return our money. They sent another service tech out who did an evaluation and said they would send a letter stating what they would do. We have yet to hear back from them. This summer we had to contact another service company who basically said that so much had been done to the unit that they would not be able to do much but replace it. They stated the unit was running like a 20 year old unit but was only 5 years old.

Desired Settlement
refund or long term repair

Business Response
We first visited this site on 8/15/2014 to check the system when she first moved in, we cleaned coils and added refrigerant at that time
2nd visit 6/11/15 - service call added refrigerant and checked dye, ordered coil to be replaced under limited warranty
3rd visit 7/3/15 - service call changed out coil
4th visit 8/1/15 - service call follow up, recheck system
5th visit 9/18/15 - service call, found unit had bad expansion valve, changed out expansion valve
6th visit 11/30/15 - customer complained that system was still not working properly, we ran DET test and found that the system has over 35% duct loss because of air leaks in ductwork in the attic.

On December 4th we provided Ms. ****** a written report along with a check for $300.00 refund. I did check our bank statements and that check has never cleared the bank. I realize we probably should have done a much more diligent follow on the work and we certainly dropped the ball on that aspect of this job. The report from the other company about condition of the system is relatively accurate. We did not install this equipment or this ductwork originally and it is a very poor quality installation with numerous problems. Unfortunately, the main error I see that we made in addition to not being able solve these major isssues with defective installation and defective equipment was in not making an educated informed decision and allowing the customer to choose to go with new ductwork and new equipment after our 3rd visit in July, 2015. We certainly can learn a great deal from our mistakes on this customer, however, this doesn't help the customer's feelings at this point. If Ms. ****** still has the refund check I wonder if this refund would be acceptable. We certainly want to try and repair the damage to our relationship with this customer.

Best Regards,
***** J. *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Contractor - Gas, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.