BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2005

OnTime Service

Phone: (205) 942-1405Fax: (205) 942-1406View Additional Phone Numbers2668 Old Rocky Ridge Rd, HooverAL 35216-4806 Send email to OnTime Service



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

OnTime Service provides heating, cooling and electrical service and repair. We specialize in working on existing homes. We service and repair all brands and types of home heating and cooling systems. We can also fix any electrical issues in your home

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2005

BBB has determined that OnTime Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for OnTime Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on OnTime Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scheduled time for them to come out,but they didn't. They didn't find a problem first time and later charged for a problem found the 2nd time.
They were scheduled to come out, but had a scheduling conflict. The guy was in my area according to consumer rep., but they didn't find him so they cancelled. They said they would waive fee for coming out and came out the next day. They didn't find a problem when they came out, so they guy said he would get his boss to come out. They both came out and walked around and talked outside for 10-20 minutes. I walked outside to let them know I had to pick my child up from school. That is when the Boss left and the guy said he would need to seal up something in the attic that was taped up. He said air was escaping and needed to be sealed. He said it would be 169.00 for this service, but they charged me another 169.00 for the boss coming out. They called this an advance diagnosis. I didn't understand the charge, so I attempted to call and speak with a manager a total of 3 times. Noone has called me back and I have the same problem, yet was charged 169.00 for nothing.

Desired Settlement
I would like an explanation of charges and job finished for the 169.00 I paid. They said they would waive fee, so why wasn't this waived?

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@ontime59.com
We dispatched a technician to the home on 7/1/16. Our technician arrived at 3:20PM and left the home at 5:13PM. The HVAC system at the home is a multi-zone system where one unit serves upstairs and downstairs. After performing a basic diagnostic the technician determined that the refrigerant charge was correct and the zone control board, equipment control board and zone dampers all had proper voltage present and appeared to be working normally. At that point the technician began performing an advanced diagnostic to determine the system capacity. He measured the feet per minute air flow and wet bulb temperature of the upstairs and downstairs supply and return vents. On 7/6/16 the technician and a supervisor returned to the home at approximately 3:30PM to review the capacity test and re-check the system. They determined that the system was performing at its full capacity. They also noted several leaks in the ductwork and gave the customer pricing to repair the ductwork. The customer chose not to repair the ductwork so the technician temporarily sealed the duct with red letter tape. The technician and supervisor were onsite approximately one hour on the 6th. We did waive our standard diagnostic fee of $59.00 due to rescheduling the service call from 6/30/16 to 7/1/16. We charged $169.00 for the advanced diagnostic and system capacity test. We quoted an additional $169.00 to properly seal the ductwork. It is possible that the customer called to question the charges but I am not aware of it. We have a written 100% satisfaction guaranty so if a customer is not satisfied we will refund all of the charges upon request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am requesting a full refund. The 169.00 is very misleading. You knew you were going to charge 169.00 when you waived the 59.00. We had to get another company out to show us where the drip pan was leaking. The pan has been replaced and air is working properly thanks to the technicians from another company. I was charged 169.00 for another person to wrongly diagnosed the so called problem. I called several times for management to return my call and that never happened! You stayed outside my home and laughed and talked and I thought that was very unprofessional.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Air Duct Systems, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heat Pumps, Contractor - Electrical, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/08/1998Business started: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Electrical Contractors Board
2777 Zelda Rd
Montgomery, AL 36106-2643
(334) 420-7232
http://aecb.state.al.us/Default.aspx

BBB records show a license number of 03627 for this company, issued by Alabama Electrical Contractors Board. Their web address is http://aecb.state.al.us/Default.aspx. The expiration date of this license is 03/30/2017. Kerry G. Adkins - Electrical Contractor.

Type: State Electrical License

BBB records show a license number of 05361 for this company, issued by Alabama Electrical Contractors Board. Their web address is http://aecb.state.al.us/Default.aspx. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2016. Chad King - Electrical Contractor.

Type: State Electrical License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1998, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kerry Adkins (President)Mrs. Carol Adkins (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Electricians, Air Duct Systems, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heat Pumps, Contractor - Electrical, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

Service & repair all brands of heating & cooling systems. Provide annual maintenance and install new heating & cooling systems. Service & repair all home electrical systems, add outlets, lights, new circuits, replace fuse boxes & service upgrades.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Jefferson & Shelby Counties

Alternate Business Names
Adkins Electrical Service, Inc., Adkins OnTime Electric, OnTime Electric
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for OnTime Service

2668 Old Rocky Ridge Rd

Hoover, AL 35216-4806

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2668 Old Rocky Ridge Rd 

    Hoover, AL 35216-4806(205) 942-1405
    (205) 203-9399
    (205) 369-5652
    Fax: (205) 942-1406

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*OnTime Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 203-9399
  • (205) 369-5652
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Electricians

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.