BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alabama Men's Clinic

Phone: (205) 538-2900Fax: (205) 623-0813View Additional Phone Numbers880 Montclair Rd STE 375, BirminghamAL 35213-1979http://alabamamaleclinic.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Alabama Men's Clinic is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Alabama Men's Clinic's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Alabama Men's Clinic's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alabama Men's Clinic

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
09/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Dosage for treatment wasn't effective and to my satisfaction.
I visited the Mens Clinic with an ED issue on Aug 24th. Was evaluated and given a "test dose" of their ED medication. Was not impressed with the initial test dose but was told this was just a dose to gauge for the 3 test doses before the final order would be placed. Discussed the start-up programs with lowest price at $800.00. Would not pay that amount so they cut the program/doses down to half and I agreed to a program that cost $500.00 for 3 test doses and 10 final doses that would be ordered when satisfied with results of test doses. Used first 3 doses and had no positive results. Called and they made a slight adjustment and gave 2 more test doses. Those 2 doses gave moderate results but was still not satisfied with the result. When I called back, they told me I couldn't have another adjustment and they would have to order my 10 doses of the last test dose OR the would make another adjustment but only order 3 final doses instead of the 10 I paid for. When I told them I was not satisfied with the medication to this point, I was told you can order the 10 doses like the 2nd test dose or we will order 3 of another adjusted dose. Makes absolutely no sense that if you can order 3 new doses, you can order the 10 that were paid for at the adjusted dose. This place is over priced and they hard sell their product. They will tell you anything to get your money up front and then don't deliver on their promises. I am not satisfied with the product or the manner in which they operate. They advertise satisfaction guaranteed, but they fail to disclose its to their satisfaction... not yours

Desired Settlement
all I want is a product that does what they say it will. Their product only gave 80% of the desired result.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************************
Patient purchased a 2 week treatment plan on 08/17 (see attached receipt). It was explained to the patient we do not recommend less than a 1 month treatment due to the dosage adjustments and limited time to test and order medication. Patient was given dosage adjustment on 08/24. Patient then waited until final day of treatment plan (08/31) to request another adjustment. It was explained that we could fill three of the adjusted doses, or all 10 of his current dose, due to treatment plan expiring.

Patient returned to the clinic to pick up his last 10 doses of medication today (09/10). I had attempted to contact patient in hopes of getting another adjustment prior to him picking up remaining doses, but we never received response. While patient has now picked up all of his medication and treatment plan is expired, we would be willing to perform another dosage adjustment if necessary allowing patient to take home two more adjusted doses to test out. Any additional doses would require a new treatment plan however.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
From the first visit, I stated to **** (nurse)that prior to coming to the clinic, I had researched the medication from various medical sites. The consensus of the sites was that .50 was the most successful dosage of the patients tested. I was told that there are multiple "mixtures" and that they would find the "mixture" that gave me the best results. The initial dose was .10 and gave very little results. **** called it 60% erection (which I also expected based on the reviews I had read), I classified it at 40%. I told **** I would not pay $800 for the lowest plan and I would just walk out with the $99.00 evaluation fee. He continued trying to convince me that was the best option for me to try. I again declined telling him that I wasn't going to pay $800.00. He told me he would give me a reduced plan of 10 doses for 499.00 (incl. evaluation and auto injector). He told me that he would give me 3 test doses. If they didn't work to let him know and he would adjust. He sent home 3 test dosages of .25. I called him within 3 days to tell him that I had little to no response after 2 doses. **** told me to try the 3rd dose over the weekend and let him know if there was any change. I called back that next Monday unsatisfied and told him that I needed a stronger dose. When I suggested .50, he told me again, that they would make a slight adjustment. I picked up the new test doses and they were .40 doses. I called back the next Monday and told him that the new test dosage was a little better but was only giving me about 80% of the desired result. He told me I had to place my order that day although I was not satisfied with the results. They have an unrealistic view of the amount of sex between married couples. They give 20 doses for the 1 month plan and in my case, 10 doses for the 2 week plan. When you call after using a dosage, you are told to use them all before an adjustment is made. I feel that had they started me out at .50 and adjusted down/up from that point we wouldn't be having this problem. They start you out so low and adjust in small increases tat you don't have time to get the correct dosage. Like I stated earlier, the satisfaction guarantee is not for the patients satisfaction. They are only interested in getting payment up front and telling you whatever they need to say to get you to agree to a plan. Their schedule for trying the dosage is unrealistic and unfair. If I had been given a month to make the needed adjustments, Im sure I would have found the right dosage. As it is, I have 10 doses that do not work. I am very unsatisfied with the treatment, the process, the staff, and the unrealistic time schedule. FYI ******* didn't try to call me till after I filed with BBB and had been to the clinic. He never tried to call prior to picking up my meds to make an adjustment. In fact, he didn't call until 3:51pm on 9/10, 6 hrs after I had left the clinic. I returned his call this morning (9/11) and he was not available. Still waiting on his return call.

Final Business Response
I was able to speak with patient and resolve issue. We will readjust medication and refill the 10 doses once we have identified the best dosage for him.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was able to talk with a gentleman from the ********* ********* office by the name of *******. We discussed my complaint and he agreed to work with me to find a dosage that was satisfactory. He told me he would be handling my treatment and that he would order 3 stronger test dosages for me to pick up. He gave no time frame to use doses and told me to take my time with no stress of a deadline. He said if an adjustment to his dosage needed to be made he would make any needed adjustment. Once the dose was satisfactory, my 10 paid doses would be ordered. I told him I would return the original 10 doses I was not happy with. I appreciate ******** willingness to work with me and resolve this matter.

05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
06/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Problem with erectile disfunction. Initial injection was only 30% effective. Given 3 doses for home, used doses over next week receiving on erection.
Appointment 8/5/13, forgot loocation attempted to call phone number in add, rang 20 or 30 times and then cut off. Tried several more times, same results. Found office and checked in, told of problem with phone, their comment was "thats our answering service, I asked why they did not answer, I guess they were busy was comment.
As stated in paragraph two of the AMC response at no time did I authorize order of medication. I exected to be contacted to be contacted regarding the effectiveness of the three doses I received and took home to try, which were not effective.
On enclosure 4 a
Diagnostic ultrasound was to be included. I did not receive such test.
RE Enclosure 3 titled Alabama Men's Clinic INFORMED PATIENT CONSENT form, I was advised that this was paperwork for the completion of my appointmentand I could read it if I wanted to but initial two places and sign at the bottom. I later find that since I suffered from ******* in 1969 that I should not participated in this evaluation. At no time did ***** discuss these conditions.
I advised ***** that I would qualify for ******** the end of Oct. and would file through ******** His statement was that ******* paid quickly.
The treatment did not work as advertised, I have ask for a refund and was told they would like to do other test. I do not trust Alabama Men's Clinic, the doctors involved nor any of the workers. Please contact me for clarification.

Desired Settlement
Total refund

Business Response
To whom it may concern;

This response is in regards to the multiple attempts we have put forth to help out patient **** *****.
As explained to *** ***** during his initial consultation, he was prescribed a complex compound medication designed specifically for his needs. He was also prescribed a secondary treatment to assist in other areas of his health. *** ***** is requesting a refund of treatment he has already accepted and benefitted from. We have offered numerous times to have *** ***** return to the clinic to have medications and treatment adjusted based on his current medical conditions. *** ***** is refusing to return for follow up visits. It was stated in writing to *** ***** prior to electing his treatment plan that upon completion of the office visit, services/products are non-refundable and there are no guarantees with regards to service.
We have gone above and beyond in trying to work with *** *****, we have openly advised him we are here to help with his elected treatment. I encourage *** ***** to contact this office and set up a follow up visit so we may complete his treatment

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I found the initial medication not satisfactory, tried the three doses at home over a week with no positive results.
After having the ** that was ** medicine caused, I thought what could I lose, and try there medicine. I was looking forward to positive responce, but they didn't seem to care either way. They had the signed contract that I really thought applied only if the medicine worked.
We have talked two or three times for follow-up appointment. I do not trust anyone at the clinic.
When I signed I was told the forms were just a formality, and thinking the gaurantee still applied I signed the form. At no time did anyone say ******* or ******** would not pay.
They are flim/flam artist.
I want a full refund and clinic policy changed to discuss the forms prior to signatures.

Final Business Response
I have spoken with *** ***** on multiple occasions recently, each time extending our services to him. I have explained to *** ***** that for us to take care of him he does need to return to the clinic so we may effectively adjust his medication for his *** *** ***** each time refuses my assistance and hangs up the phone. We have done all we can for *** ***** over the phone and now it is up to him to come in and utilize his program.

04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
03/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/28/2013Business started: 11/04/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Board Of Medical Examiners
848 Washington Ave
Montgomery, AL 36104-3839
(334) 242-4116

BBB records show a license number of MD.30797 for this company, issued by Alabama Board Of Medical Examiners. Their web address is

Type: State of Alabama

BBB records show a license number of DO.291 for this company, issued by Alabama Board Of Medical Examiners. Their web address is

Type: State of Alabama

Type of Entity

Professional Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Steven Strickler (Clinic Manager)Dr. Larry Mitchell
Contact Information
Evan Bass (Owner)Dr. John Caulfield M.D.Dr. Frank Tombrello D.O.
Business Category


Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company is a men's clinic.

Alternate Business Names

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alabama Men's Clinic

880 Montclair Rd STE 375

Birmingham, AL 35213-1979

To | From


1 Locations

  • 880 Montclair Rd STE 375 

    Birmingham, AL 35213-1979(205) 538-2900
    (205) 202-4795
    Fax: (205) 623-0813
    Fax: (205) 623-0813

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alabama Men's Clinic is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 202-4795

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Clinics


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.