BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1988

Serra Nissan Volkswagen

Phone: (205) 856-2544Fax: (866) 652-8496View Additional Phone Numbers1500 Center Point Pkwy, BirminghamAL 35215-5612 Send email to Serra Nissan Volkswagen

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1988

BBB has determined that Serra Nissan Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Serra Nissan Volkswagen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

29 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Serra Nissan Volkswagen

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 26
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 29 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
03/04/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 2/14/2015 I came in to get wiper blades for my 2013 Nissan Sentra. Now 2/21/2015 - told to come back next week - maybe they will have them then.
ON 2/14/2015 I went to Serra Nissan Parts department to purchase wiper blades for my 2013 Nissan Sentra. I was given a set that after I arrived home - were the wrong wiper blades. I returned to Serra Nissan and was told by the parts clerk - ******** ****** they would have to order them and that they cost considerably more. ($85.00 per set). They gave me credit that for the wrong blades and said that they would have them Tuesday 2/17/2015. I told them that I live out of town and it would be Saturday 2/21/2015 before I could get back. I was told by *************** that they would definitely be there by then. I show up on 2/21/2015 at 8:00 am and was told by a different clerk - (name unknown) that he didn't know what happened - they weren't there and to check back Tuesday 2/24/2015. I have tried to purchase wiper blades at various parts stores and I am told that these are a dealer item only, Yet for some reason the dealer where I purchased the car doesn't not stock them. I did look them up online with the parts numbers on my receipt and they are available online from Nissan and various Nissan dealers.
1 ea. XXXXX-XSG0B : Blade Assy-Wind
1 ea. XXXXX-XSG1B : Blade Assy-Wind

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the wiper blades for my car.

Final Consumer Response
I finally picked up my wiper blades on 3-3-2015. I do not recommend buying Nissan parts here.

03/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Non delivery of Car Title bought in 2011 ... after we paid Cash for the car entirely ...
Non delivery of Car Title bought in 2011 ... after we paid Cash for the car entirely ...

We bought a new 2012 Nissan Versa SV on 08/31/2011 at Serra Nissan, Birmingham, AL.
***: XXXXXX.

We paid for the car entirely by cash on 8/31/2011.

We have not received our car title yet, after 3 years.

We found that Serra Nissan has our title placed on lien with ****** ***** ************ We are trying to get our title back from Serra Nissan.

Also we tried to get Replacement Title from DMV, but they have said there is a lien on the car, and they are waiting for it....


We are requesting for the delivery of our car Title.... and refund for fees for Replacement Title and costs...

Desired Settlement
Non delivery of Car Title bought in 2011 ... after we paid Cash for the car entirely ...

We bought a new 2012 Nissan Versa SV on 08/31/2011 at Serra Nissan, Birmingham, AL.
***: XXXXXX.

We paid for the car entirely by cash on 8/31/2011.

We have not received our car title yet, after 3 years.

We found that Serra Nissan has our title placed on lien with ****** ***** ************ We are trying to get our title back from Serra Nissan.

Also we tried to get Replacement Title from DMV, but they have said there is a lien on the car, and they are waiting for it....


We are requesting for the delivery of our car Title.... and refund for fees for Replacement Title and costs...

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** **** *** **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@serranissan.com
Our Title Clerk has talked with customer numerous times. She has ordered another title to come to our dealership and then will forward to customer.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SERRA NISSAN in*********** al, sold me a damaged vehicle at a new vehicle price. I purchased a new 2013 Nissan rogue in may of 2013. 10 months later I find out that the vehicle was rear ended 3 months before my purchase while in there possession and no information was disclosed with me.
Product_Or_Service: 2013 nissan rogue

Desired Settlement
I feel that I deserve a new car paid for. what they did I feel was very wrong, and ive actually tried to settle with the dealership and they were trying I felt to benefit and profit off there mistake.

Business Response
I just spoke with customer and the desk manager. The Desk Manager made a fair offer to resolve issue and the customer said he will accept. They are supposed to have a phone conference today to get all details worked out.

02/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sales advertising stated 5500 over blue book and kept showing me deceptive numbers even leaving out the actual amount that would be required.
I inquired about their advertised special of 5500 over blue book. first when I completed the math based on their internet price for the car listed I showed an amount of 24000 max to be financed. they couldn't tell me number they were using but instead said the payment would be 548 for 60 months. I told them the numbers didn't add up based on the price and their ad for 5500 over kbb which at worst case would be 7500 plus 5500 which would be 13000 and my payoff was 11875.25 which was 1100 over payoff. they then informed me that they would have to charge me msrp of 24325 since they couldn't honor both the 5500 and special pricing. ok I didn't have an issue with that but the numbers were still 548 per month.so I asked several times for explanation and they just kept moving numbers and not explaining their numbers. so the salesman *** agreed to payoff my car 11875 and give me internet pricing but they wouldn't list the actual "final price" of the car but would show me monthly payments of now 498 for 72 months. when I questioned the math not adding up he went back to the manager because he said he wasn't sure....if you do the math they were trying to finance 31000.000 for a car that cost 22833. they then stated that I couldn't get the 0.9 financing if I got the 5500 incentive. NONE of these stipulations were listed on their website...if they aren't standing behind their advertising then they need to remove it from their website

Desired Settlement
I want them to be honest and stick to what they are advertising! I want them to give me the car at the advertised price, with advertised incentive and financing

Business Response
The dealership has different promotions taking place. The customer must choose one or the other. They are not meant to be combined. This was explained to ** ***** and she did not like the answer. The Sales Manager offered for her to come back in to the dealership and he would make her the best offer possible. I also called and left a message that we wish to make her happy.

12/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
called 3 weeks later with a financing fell through ********m 75 month to 72 months and higher payment, typical yo-yo\spot delivery fiancé practice.

11/2/2013 Serra Nissan, sales man XXXXXX finance manager **** ***** negotiated contract for 75 months 8.34% on 2013 ****** ***** signed paper work drove car home bought tag and insured car 3 11/25 receive call from john did not get 75 months got 72 month only at 8.34 % making my payment go up to 597.68 a month. dealer did not at anytime tell me I was being spot delivered. victim of yo yo financing. lost my 2011 Honda accord in trade so I am stuck now, several complaints on internet about this dealer. adding my to the list.

Desired Settlement
better deal on the vehicle including lower finance rate selling price.

Business Response
Issue has been resolved with customer.

Page 1 of 3
12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/03/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/17/1990Business started: 01/01/1981
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1981, AL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Anthony Serra (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Chappell (Customer Service, Service Manager)Ms. Kristina Serra-Vissar (Vice President)Ms. Kim Branch (Controller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used automotive sales.

Industry Tips
Service Contracts
Used Car Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Serra Nissan Volkswagen has received 4.96 out of 5 stars based on 29 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Serra Nissan Volkswagen

1500 Center Point Pkwy

Birmingham, AL 35215-5612

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1500 Center Point Pkwy 

    Birmingham, AL 35215-5612(205) 856-6520
    (205) 856-2544
    Fax: (866) 652-8496
    Fax: (866) 652-8496

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Serra Nissan Volkswagen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (205) 836-9191
  • (205) 856-6520
  • (205) 856-2544

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (205) 856-9107
  • (205) 836-6505
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Contracts
Used Car Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.