BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mullinax Ford Lincoln

Find a Location

Phone: (251) 344-4000Fax: (251) 342-0758View Additional Phone Numbers7311 Airport Blvd, MobileAL 36608 Send email to Mullinax Ford Lincolnhttp://mullinaxfordmobile.com/index.htmView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Mullinax Ford Lincoln is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mullinax Ford Lincoln's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Mullinax Ford Lincoln

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
10/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I purchased 2 cars within a week, we were misled about the extended maintenance plans that we purchased, no that we need it, its not there
My wife and I purchased a 2014 Ford Explorer and a 2014 Mustang GT. When we met with the sales man and with the finance manager we were told about the extended maintenance plan that we could get. We were asked what our insurance deductible was and we told them 1000.00, he said the maintenance plan would pay for itself since it would pay 100% of our insurance deductible if we were ever in an accident. We asked several time about that and were always told the same thing. We told the dealer that we didn't want GAP insurance, and he said it was free and included with the maintenance plan. We didn't have a choice. Now, We see that in fact the GAP was an extra $700 for each car and he lied to us about the insurance coverage. My wife just got in an accident and the insurance company is taking the car to Ford for repairs. We called Ford and they said they have never heard of a policy that would cover the deductible. The Gap coverage would but only if the car was a complete loss. Why would a finance guy tell me to raise my insurance deductible to $1000 saying I would never have to pay it since his coverage would. We specifically asked if it had to be a total loss and they (Salesman and Finance Department) said no. I have had a $500 deductible for 10 years, I had not reason to change it, now I have to pay for the damage myself.

I tried to reach the GM 3 times at the dealership and they won't answer or return calls. I have left a message for the owner and he refuses to call back.

************

Desired Settlement
The dealership is responsible for paying the deductible as it was sold to myself and to my wife. The deductible is $1000 as we were told by the finance manager to raise it to that.

Business Response
We have been in contact with Mr. ******** and have corrected his concern. He should be contacting your office to state the same. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This issue has been solved. Thanks

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad sales practice, customer is NOT put first
I was in the dealership on the evening of April 7th to test drive a 2005 Mustang GT. While driving it the salesman and myself noticed a stumble while accelerating. We both agreed that it was probably not serious and I was ready to do paperwork on the car and buy it that evening and let him put it in the shop the next day to get it checked out. I asked if we could go ahead and do the paperwork and was told by the salesman no, don't worry about it that he would get the car checked out/repaired the next day and that we could do the paperwork tomorrow evening, after the car was checked out.
The next day I was told that the car was running good and I said great, get the paperwork ready and I would come and get it.
A short time later, I got a call saying that the car had been sold to someone else.
I wanted to do paperwork on the car the previous day but was told no, don't worry about it, then the car was sold to someone else, after in my mind we had a deal on it.
This is not, a way of doing business with integrity.

Desired Settlement
A similar car at the same price.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *************************
I appreciate your response, I take all feedback as a way to learn. After researching what exactly happened in this instance it seems the salesman you were dealing with was not very aggressive. I am not sure why he wouldn't encourage you to complete paperwork to purchase the vehicle while you were there. We sell hundreds of used cars each month so vehicles can get sold very quickly. As a sales person they do not get paid unless they sell something so I am not sure why he would not proceed with selling you the car if you told him you wanted to buy it. There are many instances where someone may not be ready to purchase the first day they visit. But if you told him you were ready to purchase I am not sure why he would not proceed with selling you the vehicle that very first day. I see in our records where you came in on the 11th to drive the vehicle. I spoke with management and checked our records and there was never a sales proposal written up until the 12th at 5:15pm. From what I understand this was done over the phone. By the evening of the 12th at 4:30 pm another customer came in test drove the vehicle with another sales person and decided to purchase that evening. We had several inquiries by phone, email and store visit on that particular vehicle. They are not sold until we have money in house and we do our best to give someone who is physically at the dealership first opportunity to purchase the vehicle. Again this was just a matter of timing and a salesman not being very aggressive in my opinion. We would always like to sell a car and sell it as quickly as possible. The car was very unique and will be hard to replace but if we have something else you would be interested in or we come across something like this we would be glad to help. If you have any other questions or would like to discuss further I would be glad to speak with you. My email is ************************** and phone at ************ ext **** Thank you *************

01/27/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went to dealership to buy a car. I put down $2,000. down payment and traded in a vehicle. I was informed the car was a one time owner and the tires were new. Car was a rental and tires need to be replaced. Took car back 4 days later. Company already sold my car I was told and they couldn't give me my deposit back. They tried to put me in a car that had a much higher payment and interest. The general manager called a week later and told me that he's reporting on my credit a repo and Merry Christmas. So I've lost my down payment, my trade in, and now I have a repo on my credit for something I didn't even get.

Desired Settlement
taking off my credit and my down payment back

Business Response
************ purchased a 2014 Ford Certified Mustang on 12/6/14. The vehicle was inspected and passed the Certified Pre Owned inspection, 1 of the checkpoints completed is tires and they passed the required tread depth to be certified. We did not replace the tires because they passed the requirements for the certified program. 10 days later *********** brought the vehicle in with a concern of road noise, we had a technician drive the vehicle and diagnosed that there was no problem found. *********** was not satisified with the diagnosis with the car, so we offered to trade her out of the Mustang and give her what she paid for the vehicle back towards the purchase of another vehicle. ****** *********** selected a new Mustang to replace the used one they had just purchased. We presented ****** *********** with terms for the New vehicle which was a more expensive vehicle than the used one they had purchased on 12/6. They felt the payment was too high for them and were not satisified with the interest rate we were able to get for them and told us they would think about it. We made them aware that all the paperwork was completed and the bank had already completed their loan contract, and they would be receiving their payment in the mail for the used Muatng they purchased. From what I understand they went and bought another vehicle somewhere else and did not trade in the used Mustang they had just purchased from us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's not true, I gave them enough time to respond, they misrepresented the car, I was not told its a rental car, the car has worn out tires on it. Yes they offered me another car from4% interest to 9% and payment from 490 to 750.00, I don't make more than 2,0000 a month.
Yes I got a car from Auto nation, because I left with no car, my car was sold in 2 days really, and with no return of the money I paid, the car from auto nation was bought after many calls that was made to ******* the salesman, then a phone call from his manager screaming to come get the car

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We had used the salesman two years ago and we went to the same sales man to buy the represented car, then we bought a new truck thru him just a few days later of which we were very satisfied. The said car was sold to us as new with full warranty, we started to notice problems with the car so we took the car to the service department to have them check it out. They said the noise we were experiencing was road noise and it had new tires on it. I noticed thread wear on the inside of the front left tire of which I had told them that this was where the noise was coming from. We ask to see the car fax several times and they never showed it to us so I went on line and pulled one myself. In the history I found out that the car had been a rent unit so I contacted the salesman. Upon taking the car back and explaining what I had found they said they would swap the car out with a new one. When we went to financing they at first showed me what the percentage rate would be at 5.50% and the payments would be $594.22. Once we got in the finance office they showed us a percentage rate of 9.0% and payments of $800.00. We refused to take the deal and ask for our down payment and trade-in back at which time they informed us they had already sold our trade-in and they would not return our down payment. ***************************************************************************** It was 5 days later when we went to another dealership and purchased a new car. In all that time we never got a phone call until the manager at Mullinex Ford found out we purchased a new car at a different dealership, then he called my wife and use inappropriate language of which upset my wife very much and told her "Merry Christmas you will have a repo on your credit"

Final Business Response
We are very happy you liked your salesperson and had multiple positive experiences. When you purchased the vehicle it had 34,493 so it obviously was not a new vehicle. The car was sold with a ford certified pre owned warranty. All paperwork indicated it had been titled as a used car. The vehicle was sold on dec 6th and included a trade in of a 2010 cadillac CTS. You accepted a trade in of $15,000 and we agreed to payoff **** bank a balance of $19,182.81. We transmitted electronically that amount to **** on Dec. 12th. On Dec. 16th the vehicle was brought to the dealership for a low tire pressure light and customer concern of hears noises at all speeds. we effected repair of the tire pressure light (we inflated tire) and an alignment of the front end was preformed to resolve any tire noise concern. On Dec. 19th we offered to give full credit of purchase price towards another car of their choice. The terms were not agreeable to *********** and subsequently left on dec 19th. On Dec 21st the general manager called ************ to dicuss how to resolve to her satisfaction. The discussion consisted of ************ stating that she bought a car elsewhere and general manager explaining it wasn't that simple. That she traded a car and it had a balance, that she would be responsible for. As we stated before ************ purchased a vehicle on Dec.6th and was financially resposible for the vehicle. We informed of this before she proceeded to buy another vehicle elsewhere. Ultimately she made a decision to purchase another vehicle elsewhere knowing that she had a financial resposibility on the vehicle pruchased on Dec. 6th from our dealership.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two weeks of trying to cancel my warranties and get a refund only to be lied to and put off again.
I recently purchased a new vehicle from Ford Mullinax of Mobile, even purchased the extended warranty, gap insurance and tire protection. All under the promise if you finance with Ford Motor Credit you can ship your vehicle over seas with no problems at all, you could ship it tomorrow if you wanted (lie #1), you get all these great rebates and you can refinance it later at a lower interest rate. Finance Manager, ***********, tells me make sure you make three payments before you refinance or Ford will make you pay back your rebates (lie #2). Hmm. Ok. So it comes time to ship my new car over seas and Ford says wait you can't do that without doing this and paying this amount and oh by the way you have to have the car for this amount of time. So I refinance the car through my bank because they will let me ship it over seas. I also purchase gap insurance and an extended warranty through my bank at a fraction of the cost of Fords warranties and insurance. So I called *********** and told him I would like to cancel my warranties. Mr. ****** informs me that if I do that it will tie up my refinance. Mr. ****** said wait till you refinance the car, bring me the refinance paper work and we can cut you a check that day (lie #3). I bring the refinance paperwork in and Mr. ****** says we are going to have wait until the car is paid off, you can print something from online that says the car is paid off and we can cut you a check that day (lie #4). Few days goes by, I log into Ford Motor Credit, Congratulations your car is paid off. Fantastic, I am finally going to get my warranty money (that I'm paying interest on because I had to refinance it, why you ask. Because I could not cancel my warranty before the refinance because it would tie everything up for weeks). I drive on over to Mullinax Ford, Hi Mr. ******, I have a copy from our online account showing where the payment for $44,000 went through and paid off our car. Mr. ****** then informs me that the only paper work that is going to get me my refund is the actual letter from Ford saying Congratulations, you paid off your car. You should receive the letter in about two weeks. Bring that in and we can cut you a check that day (lie #5). Today I brought the letter to Mr. ****** and he would not even talk to me, needless to say I did not get my refund check. But I did get this, "I couldn't cut her a check today even if I wanted to". Mr. ****** please let me know what day you "want" to cut me that check.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund for the extended warranty I purchased, a full refund for the gap insurance purchased as well as a full refund for the tire protection.

Business Response
I have been in contact with Mrs. ****, and will be meeting with her today 11/4/14 to give her the refund check for the products she cancelled. Part of the Refund will be coming from us and a portion will be coming from Ford Credit. There was some miscommunication on our part and we will have it taken care of to her satisfaction today.

Thank you

***** *******
Sales Manager

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top

Coastal Ford is now completely out of business as of January 2013. There is a satellite office open in Del Ray Beach Florida which handles complaints and customer issues that occurred through December 2012.  Mullinax Ford in Mobile, has taken over the Coastal Ford franchise. Therefore Coastal Ford is no more; there is only Mullinax and the only location is now in Mobile.  

BBB file opened: 09/01/1981Business started: 07/01/1978Business started locally: 01/08/1998New Owner Date: 12/29/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Alvin Davis (General Manager)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kevin Parrett (New Car Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

This company offers Sales and Service of new and used vehicles..

Alternate Business Names
Ed Morse Operations, Inc., MOI, Inc., Mullinax Ford, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mullinax Ford Lincoln has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mullinax Ford Lincoln

7311 Airport Blvd

Mobile, AL 36608

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 7311 Airport Blvd 

    Mobile, AL 36608Fax: (251) 342-0758

  • P.O. Box 850847 

    Mobile, AL 36685

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mullinax Ford Lincoln is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (251) 344-5989
  • (251) 457-9501
  • (800) 553-2886
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • facebook.com/pages/Mullinax-Ford-of-Mobile/295855040489847
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.