BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1987

King Acura

Phone: (205) 979-8888Fax: (205) 979-66031687 Montgomery Hwy, BirminghamAL 35216-4905



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1987

BBB has determined that King Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised King Acura's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on King Acura

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/12/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I purchased my vehicle (before contract), I complained of ***** ******. Sales said it would be repaired before I picked up next day.
When I purchased my vehicle (before contract), I complained of ***** ******. Sales said it would be repaired before I picked up next day. This was August 2012. ********* **** (my sales rep) assured me that the ***** issues would be taken care of by the next day (VIN *****************).

After I picked up, there was still ***** ****** and the new pads the put on squealed. I complained, but was given the run around for about a month. They said, "All *****s squeal." Who's dumb enough to believe that all *****s squeal? I just ignored it because I was flabbergasted that this was even an excuse. They said, "We cleaned off the ***** dust, that should fix it."...again, flabbergasted.

I was so upset, I didn't argue, I thought I'd try to deal with it, and now ever day for the past year, I've grown more contemptuous of King Acura.

I'm not the only one who's had poor relationship with King Acura, we just don't want to deal with BBB or King because the process is so unbelievably offensive that it's not worth the time when we know we'll get stonewalled. I've heard stories of sales reps yelling at customers about issues not even related to the sale, redaction of custom orders, etc.

Desired Settlement
I want my brakes fixed. That means no judder and no squealing. That's all I asked for before signing (verbal commitment made by ********* ****), and it's all I ask now.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** CRM
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******@kingacura.com
I see in the service history that brakes were mentioned in Aug. 2013 and Dec. 2013. If Mr. ***** would like to call me and schedule an appointment to bring his TSX in, we would be happy to take a look at the brakes and see what we can do. He can reach me at 205-***-****.
Sincerely,

***** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would appreciate assurance that something will be done, provided my history. Albeit I've had service done, there has been no resolution. After every service appointment I've left dejected and feeling abused b/c the situation was never resolved. If I bring my car in for brake squeal, I expect it to be fixed.

For example, last time it was serviced for squeal after new pads, I was told "all brakes squeal", and the remedy was to clean off brake dust.

A CPO vehicle should be sold with no brake issues. I know that brakes aren't covered under warranty for post-sale issues, but this is an ongoing pre-sale issue. Please advise. I've talked to ***** ***** about this, but was offered no resolution.

Final Business Response
We appreciate the response from Mr. *****. I had forgotten that we had spoken last September. I was able to find the documentation from that conversation.

The history on the vehicle is as follows: Mr. ***** purchased the car with 37,102K on it, he came in with a complaint of the brakes squeaking on Aug 8,2013. This visit did not indicate an issue with the rotors. The TSX had 41,230K miles on it at that time as documented on RO#*******. His next visit was Dec. 9,2013, at that time the vehicle had 51235K on it as documented on RO#*******. This visit there was a complaint indicating a possible rotor issue. We found the rotors warped and recommended turning the rotors(front and rear). He declined. The next time he was here was June 20, 2014 with 63,044K as documented on RO#*******. The TPMS light was on, we found 2 sensors shorted and recommended 4 tires. He declined. He returned 10 days later, He purchased 4 tires, alignment and the 2 shorted sensors, there was no mention of the brakes at this time. The vehicle had 63,876K as documented on RO#6071362. I have 3 emails from the customer to *********, his salesperson, after the sale dated 6/19/13, 7/11/13 and 9/18/13 all indicating how pleased he is.

I did speak with Mr. ***** the first week of September 2014 in regards to his concerns. He requested we replace all 4 rotors. I took the information to the General Manager and after he reviewed the documentation, due to the time that had passed, the mileage put on the vehicle since purchase and the mileage at the time of the first complaint, he could not agree to replace all 4 rotors. There was no documentation from the sale, notes, or anything showing we had promised to replace the rotors. We did extend an offer of 3000 Service rewards points to Mr. ***** and he indicated acceptance in his e-mailed reply to me and I applied the points to his account on Sept. 22, 2014. I will send all supporting documentation in an e-mail for Mr. *****'s review.

It is very important to us that we have a good relationship with Mr. ***** as it is all our customers. His rewards points are available for his use any time he might need service. If he has any questions or would like to speak with us, we would welcome his call. I am available as well as our General Manager, **** ***** at 205-***-****.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Final Consumer Response

02/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had problems with damage to our car and Acura was handling the repairs. It was a MESS. The guy helping us was EXTREMELY RUDE and hateful.
We had a meeting with their PR person and the GM but the GM made excuses for him and brushed it off. We have taken the car in multiple times due to a problem with the transmission. This should not be happening in a BRAND NEW CAR. Despite finally duplicating the problem and realizing something is not right, Acura Service dept. stated they cannot do anything about it but they will document it for Acura Headquarters. I will NOT be disrespected by customer service and then told by the GM that the salesman must have simply been having a bad day! And to not address our transmission problem or make an effort to fix it is ridiculous. Once we get rid of this Acura, we will NEVER own or lease another one and we are making sure our friends and family know not to as well!

Desired Settlement
We want our transmission fixed!! It is a nightmare driving the car and it is NEW!!!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, Customer Rel
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@kingacura.com
I have contacted Mr. ****** and arranged for him to call me at his convenience to ride with him and resolve his transmission issue. I also informed him that the employee he had an issue with no longer works with us. We will be working with Mr. ****** to resolve his issue.

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defrauded me by attempting to intentionally cease my engine and then claiming my engine was defective.
I went to King Acura of Birmingham, AL for a simple issue with my car. After a day, the service rep called and sold me a timing belt and water pump replacement totaling $1300. A few days later the same service rep told me my car NEEDED A NEW ENGINE.. $7100. He then suggested I trade in the car for a new model and called his sales buddy, at the King Acura Sales, to help me. My car is worth $11000.00 they offered $2500. I felt something was not right so I took it to another mechanic. The prognosis... fuel injector replacement and ignition coil replacement less than $600.... I also found out the dealership drained my coolant and never replaced it. I brought this to the attention of the service manager and he refused to rectify the situation so I had to pay for new coolant to be place in. I have all the paperwork proving the dealership insistence on an engine replacement and recommendation for the new car purchase.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get refunded for the repairs. I do believe the original issue was not the timing belt or water pump.

Business Response
King Acura Business Response
Complainant: ****** ********
Date: June 30, 2015

When Ms. ******* dropped her 2008 Acura TL off at our Service department on Friday, May 15, 2015 the engine was running rough and displaying a noise at idle as documented in the attached Repair Order. The mileage on the vehicle at that time was 154,288. Her advisor was ***** ******* The vehicle was dispatched to one of our technician team leaders, ****** ******** Upon beginning his inspection, he pulled a code from the vehicle - P2279 indicating to check the cam shaft timing. When he pulled the cover and checked the cam shaft timing, he saw that the timing belt had jumped time by 6 or 7 teeth on the back cam and the water pump was leaking. This may have been the cause of the belt jumping time. ***** called Ms. ******** and told her what was observed and she said she had the timing belt done some time ago at another shop using aftermarket parts. ***** told her we would have to replace the belt and we would also have to replace the water pump. He also stated the engine may have damaged valves due to the timing belt jumping time and we would have to put it back together to determine this. At this point, the timing belt and water pump had to be replaced, as both aftermarket parts had failed. Ms. ******** had the opportunity to decline the timing belt and water pump replacement at this point, but she authorized the repair and the job was completed. This was not an unnecessary repair; both parts had failed and could not be reused.
After the new parts were put on, the engine was better than it was originally, but it was still running poorly. At this point ***** called Ms. ******** and told her there could be possible bent valves or broken pistons that could have resulted in engine damage and recommended engine replacement. The only way to verify the valves and pistons were damaged would be to tear down the front half of the engine. This would result in a 10+ hour cost to the customer. The quote given to Ms. ******** for an engine replacement was $7,108.00. After discussing the cost of replacement, he told Ms. ******** she might want to consider trading. This is not unusual, whenever the cost to repair a vehicle is greater than or close to the value of the vehicle we would offer this option to the customer. The decision to do anything to the vehicle was put on hold while Ms. ******** pondered her options. The vehicle was moved from the technician's stall to the front of the Service Department and parked while waiting on a decision from the customer.
Ms. ******** went down front to talk with Sales about possibly trading her vehicle. The trade in value of $2500 was given based on the condition of the engine. The current trade in value of a 2008 TL as shown on KBB.com is between $5,816 and $6,805 in good condition, not $11,000 as Ms. ******** stated. A trade was not able to be worked out so Ms. ******** left.
Ms. ******** came back a few days later on Tuesday, May 19th and told ***** she wanted to close out her ticket and take her vehicle to another shop. She had a tow truck with her and the vehicle was immediately towed off the premises without being pulled back into the shop.
The next time we see Ms. ******** she stops by to see ***** and told him the coolant was left out of her vehicle and she needed to be compensated $100-$200. He took her in to see our Service Manager, *** *******. Ms. ******* told *** we left the coolant out and she asked to be compensated. *** called the Technician, ****** ******* into his office and asked him if he left the coolant out and he said he had not replaced about 1/2 the coolant. He was waiting to see if we were going to be doing any further work and did not want to put the coolant in the engine if it was going to be replaced. The vehicle was towed before it was brought back into the shop and without ******'s knowledge so he was unable to refill the coolant before the vehicle left. There was never any intent to damage Ms. ********'s vehicle. She again asked to be compensated and *** asked her how much? She stated $100 for 2 gallons. *** questioned the cost because OEM coolant is only $20.00 a gallon. He offered to give her 2 gallons of coolant or reimburse her if she could provide him with a receipt. She refused to provide a receipt or the name of the shop stating it was not relevant. *** stated we would be happy to reimburse her but he would need a receipt. Customer then asked for $200 and then $300 while refusing to give a receipt or the name of the shop or mechanic who worked on the vehicle. *** also told her he would like to speak with the mechanic who repaired her vehicle but Ms ******** refused saying it was not relevant.
On May 22, 2015 Ms. ******** spoke with ***** ***** and agreed to provide a receipt and bring the vehicle here for inspection. Ms ******** stated her vehicle was repaired by replacing a fuel injector and 3 ignition coils. She also stated that she believed we tried to damage her engine by not replacing the coolant. She brought her vehicle to the dealership and *** ******* and ***** ***** went for a ride with Ms. ******** in her vehicle. At that time she stated that she would like a new vehicle for her trouble. She was told that was not reasonable and asked what she would reasonably like to resolve her complaint. She stated she would like to be reimbursed for a transmission repair done in 2011(this was an insurance claim where the customer paid the deductible) and for the recent repair she just had. Ms. ******** also stated that if we did not pay her, she would use her skills as a computer technician to smear our name all over the internet and that King Acura would "suffer great loss". She was told the 2011 repair would not be considered but her request would be discussed with our General Manager, **** *****. Ms ******** provided receipt using a form printed off "Find Free Forms at Formville.com". The receipt was not itemized and did not appear to come from a valid repair shop.
On May 25, 2015, **** ***** and Ronda ***** called Ms. ******** and listened to her description of what had occurred. She told us the person who worked on her vehicle was Mr. Hatchell and that he did not have a shop and the original timing belt was replaced at a shop in Center Point. She refused again to provide us with his number so we could discuss the repairs he made with him. **** told her he would speak with ***, ****** and ***** and get back with her.
On May 27, 2015, **** ***** and ***** ***** called Ms. ******** back and he told her after speaking with the people involved, he felt like we did not make any repairs that did not need to be made. We have always been willing to pay a reasonable amount for the coolant, but the timing belt and water pump were damaged and had to be replaced. **** stressed there was nothing malicious that had occurred. Ms. ******** was not happy with that answer and proceeded to make good on her threat of a smear campaign against us on the internet.
We have attached all relevant documents for your review.
Customer satisfaction is of great importance to us, **** Acura is a reputable Dealership and over the 29 years we have been in business, we have never intentionally caused damage to a customer's vehicle nor would we ever condone such an action. We have always been willing to pay for the coolant that Ms. ******** had to replace and will still extend the offer to her of $40.00, the cost of OEM coolant.

08/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer used high pressure sales tactics and did not represent the vehicle that was sold to me honestly.
Traded in a car here on Thursday 7/3/2014. To start with, during the negotiation, I asked for my keys back and said there was not going to be a deal because the amount for my trade was ridiculously low. Sales guy I was talking to then got the Used Car Manager to come in and explain some phony tax break I am getting for trading so really I would be getting a much better deal. then he asked what I would like my payment to be and I told him. He asked if they could get me to that payment would I do the deal and I agreed, not know that I would be trading in my car for a car that has issues when mine had none other than cosmetically. They then added $2000.00 somewhere in the paperwork "in order to make it more appealing to the lender". I'm still not sure what that was about. Car drove fine on the 2 miles test drive but the check engine light came on within the 15 mile drive to my house from the dealership along with a vibration that occurs periodically when turning. Called back to tell them they could have their car back and I wanted my trade back and was told by the Manager and Used car manager that my car was sold. I look today, 07/08/2014, and my trade is listed on the website as for sale at the dealership for $5200 more than they gave me. Even though the manager says "they don't have to do anything" I still think that it is completely unethical how they basically scammed me out of my car for a car they knew well had issues. All I wanted was my trade to be given back to me and to return the car I purchased. Even offered to pay any fees that were incurred but I kept getting the run around and the dealership telling me that my vehicle was sold and there is nothing that could be done.

Desired Settlement
I just want my trade back or a vehicle I am not afraid to drive while having my children with me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@kingacura.com
To Whom It May Concern,

We have been working with *** ****** to resolve these issues to his satisfaction. I spoke with *** ****** today and he agreed we are working together to resolve any concerns he may have. Please contact me if you need any further information.

Thank you!
***** *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Go ahead and close this case. We have been back and forth since July 4th weekend and nothing has been done. I've asked the dealership to buy back this car so I can find another vehicle and they will not. I'll sell it for a loss and they will have made thousands. I'll let everyone that wants to listen know how poorly this was handled. Thanks.

Final Business Response
When *** ****** and I last spoke we had repaired the vehicle he purchased at no cost. We also offered to trade him out of the vehicle and into another vehicle of his choice. We did not have anything on the lot that he was interested in, so I agreed to look for a model he would be interested in purchasing. We are still willing to trade him out of the vehicle should he be interested. Mr. ****** can contact me if he would like to pursue this option.

Sincerely,

****** ******
********* *******
King Acura
XXX-XXXX
*******@kingacura.com

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1986, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rhonda Locke (Contact)Mr. Tim Bearden (Service Manager)Mr. John Bryan (Vice President)Mr. Richard Croy (New Car Sales Manager)Ms. Lynn Freeman Mr. Henry King (President)Mr. Reed Lyles (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Based on information provided, this company offers car sales and automobile service.

Alternate Business Names
Sunny King Of Birmingham Inc.
Industry Tips
Used Car Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for King Acura

1687 Montgomery Hwy

Birmingham, AL 35216-4905

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1687 Montgomery Hwy 

    Birmingham, AL 35216-4905(205) 979-8888
    Fax: (205) 979-6603

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & South Alabama. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*King Acura is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Car Tips
Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.