BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/16/2011

Hendrick Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Phone: (205) 823-5220Fax: (205) 909-2184

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service21
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
07/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Drove 3.5 hours to buy a vehicle from this dealership, we settled on a price, they ran our credit, and then they told us that the truck had been sold.
On June 25th we arrived at the Hendrick dealership in Hoover,al. We test drove a 2010 Dodge 2500, we agreed on a price and gave them the keys to our truck as a trade. We then told them we would go get some lunch while they decided on the value of our truck as a trade and also gave them information to pull credit report for financing. When we got back from lunch they were letting someone else test drive the truck we had already made a deal on. The manager came and told us that there had been a mistake and they were going to get the truck back. We thought everything was good to go and they were getting the truck back so we proceeded forward with the credit check and all other info needed for buying that vehicle. About 5 minutes later after the credit check they sent the sales person back out with the keys to our truck and he told us that the truck had been sold to the other person who was test driving it. The manager did not bother to come tell us or see if they could find us another vehicle. We called and spoke with the general manger of the store and he said he would be back in contact with us and we never heard from him. So not only did we drive 3.5 hours to have a truck sold out from under us but the entire customer service was very unprofessional and now there is a credit inquiry on us for a truck we didn't even purchase.

Desired Settlement
This report is for customer service along with sales. Its not fair for people to be treated like this. If the credit inquiry could be taken off that would be great.

Business Response
Customer went to lunch without giving us a deposit or confirming purchase decision. The credit wouldn't allow purchase of this vehicle either way. We have multiple locations and all vehicles are available until deposit or final contract is signed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As us being the customers.. We left the truck we were trading with the keys as a deposit. We were told by the dealership that they would run some numbers for us while we were gone to lunch which to us says that the truck was to be sold to us. So for someone to run a credit check on us for the purchase of the vehicle is a common ground of a contract. Not to mention that the final purchase price was written on a piece of paper and signed by my boyfriend. I don't know how Hendrick Chevrolet does business but every other dealership I've ever dealt with would never stoop to a level as to sell a vehicle to someone else while a deal is in progress.

Final Business Response
Sounds like we have the opportunity to find them a vehicle that will work. They built more than one of these trucks so I'm sure it will be easy. When is a good time to get together and find something that will work??

04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased my car on 12/31/2015. Car has been in shop since the first week I Purchased,I'm tired an I just want to swap it out.
Purchased on 12/31/15 has had nothing but problems with the 2011 dodge avenger after I Purchased for over 14k. The car has been in the shop more than in my possesion for months. I have all paperwork that I've received from rentals/loaner cars which they payed for. I have been to the shop over 3x about my transmission shifting to hard when I switch gears(park to drive) not only that when I Purchased car, my breaks went out after 2days. Then after that transmission problems for 2 months straight back an forth over 3 trips taking off work because of their mistakes.an still havent been Done correctly. If you ask me I think they were just stalling me until my manufacturer warranty ran out.So while car is in shop I get it again my heat is going in an out, an car running hot kept my car again for almost 2 months. So when I pick it up on 4/12/16 there's something new on my dash board reminding something is wrong. I am tired of the of whole process an just rather have a new vehicle. This car has brought me nothing but trouble.

Desired Settlement
Just give me another vehicle without the problems an lies. Make sure the mechanics really check out all cars before they sell anyone anything. Because that is not fair. Just as excited you were taking my money make sure my car is in great condition of someone is financing a car. Especially if it's over a large amount of money as myself 14k.

Business Response
The customer was provided a loaner or rental at all times while vehicle was in for repairs, vehicle was purchased with 77,000 miles on it. Customer has a powertrain warranty only for 36 months or 36,000 miles. we have made all repairs at no cost to the customer , we also replaced the heater core that was not covered under the warranty at no charge to the customer. The customer was in a loaner that was turned in Tuesday the 12th, it was turned in with a cracked windshield and will have to have a full detail to get it back to its original condition, again at our expense. We have addressed every issue with this vehicle at no cost to the customer.Thanks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes they did give me a loaner every time an I thank them for that, but if everything would of been fixed on the car from the jump none of this would of never happened even before I financed the car.I had to bring it to y'all attention that the brakes went out, something is wrong with transmission(still not resolved), car running hot an heater coil.I have been to the service center over 3x an car still shifts hard with a jump. When I gave them my car on March 2nd to fix car (overheating) an heat/air going in an out car didn't have no warning signs what so ever. Recieved back on April 12 now I have check engine light on. This is frustrating never had my car longer than a week that I purchased on Dec 31-2015 without any problems being wrong that I had to rush an take back because of malfunctioning. I shouldn't be held accountable of something that should have already been taking care of before I Purchased car. I love my car I just want everything fixed an done correctly. Even if that means sending it to another dodge dealership service dept!!!!

Tail light busted an scratches on an around truck was already there an slight crack that I didn't notice until later.

Final Business Response
She talked with Charter this morning, she said she left her gas cap loose. She was to call him back if the concern still exist. She has not called back.

01/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Personal Information, Timely Service, Response to concerns
on 1/6/2016 my wife went to the dealership based on phone marketing done saying that are good incentives on our truck. Turns out it depends on who you are approved by and this was not disclosed over the phone. She filled out the application for credit for both of us and never was told any information about it. Toni the sales person said come back tomorrow 1/7/2016 to look at trucks. My wife returned to the dealership and Toni had that day scheduled off. They also told my wife that they do not know where the paper work is that was filled out on 1/6/2016. I have tried contacting a manager all day on 1/7/2016 and left messages and no return phone call. I called again at approximately 1645 and was informed that they will look into it and i was trying to ask one more question and the gentleman hung up on me. I need the SR General Manager to give me a phone call but i was told that would not happen. Also i have not been there how did you legally run my credit without my signature.

Desired Settlement
Something needs to be offered for time wasted and running my credit with out my authorization.

Business Response
We have spoken to Mr. ********* and addressed his concerns.Mr. ********* did give authorization to use his credit information to obtain financing. We are currently working with alternative vehicles to obtain financing on a vehicle that will work for him and his family. A store manager has and is in contact with Mr. *********.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since Saturday I have called them back several times on the ladies cell phone no call back. To ask about a specific vehicle.

12/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not return calls or spare key.
I went to the dealership on 11/29/2015 to purchase a car. The car salesman, ****** ****** as well as one of the managers lied to me repeatedly about the interest rate. I had mentioned I was told I could get the 7.9% rate at another dealership. So, I was later told I could get that interest rate there as well. I have purchased 5 new cars before this purchase. This is the first bad experience. I have never had to return to a dealership three times due to their mistakes until now. On the first night I signed the contract. But the finance guy, Chandler Miller, didn't give me the contract. He gave me the loaner agreement to take the car. When I came back the next day, I was told they could not get the 7.9% and I could look at another car. I refused and told them they could just have the car back. When I was getting ready to leave, ****** ***** came out and said you got the 7.9% rate and he also told ******** the same thing in front of me. However, there were conversations going on behind my back. After ******** gave me the contract, he did not give me the form to get the car registered. He said the system was down. This was another lie because he was aware I still didn't have the 7.9% interest rate. So, I received a call from ********* stating AGAIN I did not get the 7.9% and the only rate I could get was 11.9%. I told him I would return the car. He said what he could do was lower the price of the vehicle so the cost would be the same with the 11.9%. So, I had to return a third time to the dealer. We did a new contract. Well a week later I get a call from ****** ***** He says he wants to give me my spare key but also I need to come back because there is an error with the contract. I called and left several messages for him but he did not return my call. So, I called Chandler and explained I could come in on Friday. I didn't want to take any more time off work, so Friday was the earliest I could come in. Also, I was in ******** GA for work most of the week. When I get to the dealership the fourth time, we corrected the error and I signed a third contract. However, the key was in ******'s drawer and he wasn't at work. ******** said they will mail the key to me. It's been almost two weeks and I still have not received the key. I have called and left messages for both ****** and ******** but neither have returned my call. I spoke with a manager and he said he would have them call me and neither of them have called.

Desired Settlement
Put the key in the mail. It's that simple.

Final Consumer Response
I received the key after I filed the complaint.

02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Initial service from dealership was sub-par and resulted in damage to vehicle. Dealership has been contacted three times prior for mail list removal.
Initial service with this dealership was a result of odd noises coming from the car - upon check-up the service representative removed parts from car without confirmation of desire of them removed. This lead to dissatisfaction with service (and their unwillingness to honor/fix problem caused by earlier issue) and decline of further contact. Upon contact for interest in buying said vehicle, the dealership was contacted for second removal from mailing list. Further email and mail contact and requests for removal from contact list has either been ignored or misled as to removal from said list.

Desired Settlement
No settlement requested, but removal from list.

Business Response
****** ******** agreed to removed Mr. ****** from the Hendrick mailing list effective today.

Page 1 of 2
07/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not satisfied with repair and have to pay twice to have something diagnosed again from same warning light.
Back on Feb 20th of this year, myself and my grandmother purchased a used 2013 Charger from Hendricks. It was still under factory warranty, but we purchased a additional warranty through the dealership. At that time the vehicle had just come in so we weren't able to leave with it that day. After what was supposed to be a throughout inspection, as well as a recall being fixed we were called 2-3 later to pick up the vehicle. Two months later on April 28th while driving my brake pedal started acting funny and then the ABS as well as the traction control light came on. I parked the car and two days later on April 30th took it to Hendricks. I was told it was one of the ABS sensors and was charged $250, this included $30 for the part and the remainder was for labor. Ok fast forward to June 4th, driving and then again brake pedal does it again and the same lights come on. Not only that, the airbag warning light came on as well. From that day I parked the car until I was able to take it BACK to Hendricks on June 13th. When I took it back I explained to one of the technician ****** that I had recently bought the car here for the same issue. He basically told me that I would have to pay AGAIN $100+ just to diagnose a problem from the same warning light that I had already paid $250 for. Not to mention whatever is going on with the airbags. It is absolutely unfair that I have to pay TWICE for what I took the car for already. I haven't even had the car for 5 months and I've had to take it twice for the same thing, plus now a new problem which is a safety issue. This is my first Dodge and I'm starting to regret it. Surely Dodge doesn't want to give the impression that they will sell their customers anything and make them pay for the same thing twice.

Desired Settlement
I'm only looking to have my vehicle repaired. It's not fair for meto ppay twice for the same light. I'm paying over $20,000 for this car! I feel as if I was sold a lemon.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********, Service
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@hendrickauto.com
Spoke with ******* ** ******* 06/16/16 1:27, I advise her that we would waive the deductible charges and discuss repairs after the diagnosis has bee made, she thanked me and I told her we would let her know as soon as we have more information on the concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm so over this. I spoke with ****** as he stated on last week. And he did indeed advise me that they were going to waive the diagnostic fee. Fast forward to today, they've had my car one full week now. Get a call from ***** in this whole week they hadn't done anything not even my oil change. I can understand as Mike says that they have about 200 other cars waiting.FYI, **** has no idea what I'm talking about when I say that the fee was being waived because he tells me again about it. But to have been there for a week and only have a diagnosis and still have to go without a vehicle. To put the icing on the cake the repairs that I have to pay for areovover $600. So I did go ahead and let Mike know to not repair anything. They are going to do the oil change and fix whatever recall issue that is out, and I'm going to pick it up. I am absolutely appalled that I'm having to put so much money into this car ALREADY. That being said I did file a complaint with Dodge, and I'm in the process of filing with consumer affairs. I appreciate you guys help, and you as well ******.

06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a brand new truck from Hendricks Chrysler Dodge and the products that was supposed to come standard on my truck I have not received them
Listed on the standard equipment of my truck was the number 5 towing hitch that comes with the towing package of my vehicle it was not on there at the time of purchase which actually I had a previous vehicle before this one the Chrysler Dodge dealership inform me that in fact I was driving the wrong truck with that said time I brought it back traded it for the one I was supposed to be in the one that all the paperwork matched in and the towing package that is supposed to be standard all in black and white on the list of standard equipment is not on my truck and when I inquired and Chrysler Dodge to put the towing package on my truck they told me that it had to be cleared through the head of the managers from higher above the manager that dealt with me on the truck and they have been giving me the runaround for the past 2 or 3 weeks he told me he wanted me to take a picture copy of the inventory slip that comes on the truck with the serial number I've given them everything they ask for and they still give me the run-around about putting the towing hitch on my truck I feel that if I have already paid for it the bank has already given the car dealership the money paying for the truck and everything on the truck and I am paying the bank back then I deserve everything I'm paying for and I'm not trying to get nothing more out of them than what I paid for

Desired Settlement
I am only seeking what to do to me and nothing more if the towing package as standard which it is listed as standard equipment on my truck and the bank has already paid the dealership for this equipment and I'm paying them back through the process of my loan that I deserve all of my equipment and everything that was supposed to be on my truck and I'm not seeking anything more than that but they seem like are refusing to live up to what was paid for by not giving me the rest of my towing package on my truck they even tried to tell me that because I came in and traded my other truck for this lesson truck that would they would give me a $1,500 in store credit that I could use to purchase the towing equipment for the Lesser truck when it was supposed to be standard equipment on the truck trying to get over on me once again as if I'm stupid

Business Response
We have spoken to Mr. *****. The bedliner and hitch clearly show on the window sticker as deleted items. However, Mr. ***** was given a check to have a bedliner installed. Mr. ****** has spoked to Mr. ***** and reviewed the window sticker with him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Every since I purchased this vehicle from Hendrick Chrysler Dodge I have had problems from them performing what was promised in the contract it started with the chrome steps and the tint on the truck witch they did a very poor job at that, then I had to come back to the dealership 5 or six times arguing with them to get my truck right wy should I have to argue with them about anything and I spent
$50,000 dollars on a truck with them then they call me and informed me on my vacation with my family that I was in fact driving the rong truck for 4 months with the rong serial number and everything then talked to me and tried to make it look like it was my fault, I don't do paperwork at their dealership the only reason they gave me that check for $1000 dollars is to keep me quiet about the nonsense that is goin on at that dealership, then I took the lesser truck witch was $11,000 dollars less than the one I had been driving with the rong serial numbers and they never gave me any of my insentive that came from the truck and didn't wanna make it right at all made me sign a fabricated agreement excluding them from any liability from the matter, it wasn't until later that day I went to visit my mother and she explained to me what they made me sign and how they got over on me , and this is after the fact that after the first time they pulled this nonsense with the tint and my chrome steps for the the truck only a week after I bought the first truck a Dark blue Dodge big horn I begged them to give me back my car I traded in on the truck a dark blue dodge challenger and they lied to me and told me my car was sold already when the car was still on their lot going through all the service checks I have proof of everything I'm talking about in this complaint.

Final Business Response
We have handled Mr ***** in person and went over the options on the truck and where the window sticker reflects that info. We have come to an agreement and gave Mr. ***** a check for the troubles. We also had him sign hold harmless paperwork after coming to an agreement. There is nothing owed on our end. **** ***** Executive General Manager

02/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hendick Dodge cannot get my engine light turned off after over 13 attempts. Each time saying they can fix it.
I purchased a new Dodge Ram 2500 Diesal from Hendrick Dodge in Hoover, Al. On April 3, 2013. Since that time our engine light has come on at least 13 times and they have attempted to fix this problem but can't. The last time it was taken in was February 3, 2016 and the light came back on the next day. We have been through 2 service managers and 3rd service consultant. We live 148 miles round trip from Hendricks. It is difficult to take it in because I am still working and have even had to stop working to take it in because they wanted it in as soon as the light came on. They keep saying they can fix it but are not able to. At one time they kept it for as long as 10 days driving it and using my gas. I love my truck but I want this fixed once and for all. I cannot keep taking off work to go to Birmingham. Not only is it time off from work but mileage on my vehicle plus gas out of pocket.

Desired Settlement
I am tired of their effort in trying to fix my problem. I have tried to work with them but after 13 trips to Birmingham, I would like to talk to an executive of Dodge about new truck with all that I have added to the one I have now.

Business Response
I have been in contact with Mr. ********, I am working with him to get all repairs made. The vehicle has had numerous check engine lamp failures. I spoke with Mr. ******** 02/12/16 and advised him that we will do all we can to rectify the issues on his truck, and will make all necc. arrangements to pick vehicle up and supply customer with a loaner vehicle I will be contacting Mr. ******** the week of Feb. 15th to set up a time to have vehicle repaired.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company stated that they will attempt to repair the vehicle, but made no kind of guarantee that they would repair the problem. They did say they would arrange to pick up the vehicle.

I feel this is just another stall tactic. If they could have repaired the truck, I believe they would have already done so in the other attempts.

I would like to keep the matter open to determine if they actually repair the vehicle this time.

**** ********

Final Business Response
I have spoke with Mr. ********, we have agreed to pick up his vehicle next week, 22nd or 23rd of Feb. We are going to pick his vehicle and supply him with a loaner. He advised me he only filed a BBB complaint is that no one would return his call, he stated that he left me two voicemails, I don't know why , but I never received them. he is aware that I will do all I can to remedy his concern. Thanks

10/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After returning a vehicle to Hendrick, they will not give us our down payment back.
We purchased a vehicle from Hendick in July of this year. The vehicle turned out to be a piece of junk and they agreed to take the car back. The only problem is that they will not credit us back our down payment. Everytime we talk with someone they say we should have already received it or they will check on it for us but they never get back with us on it. This has been going on for about a month now.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking to get our down payment back.

Business Response
Hendrick attempted to refund on a debit card that required a PIN. The refund check was delivered to the customer by an employee on 09/30/15.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car constantly needing repairs.
I purchased a 2014 and on February 7tth my car stalled smoke come from the tail pipe and it cut off' it was tolwed to herndicj dodge in hoover I pick my car up on February 11th came home on Friida February 13th I didn't make it to work it stalled again but no smoke this time it would not accelerate, it would go in nutrul nothing it was in the middle of the road so I got out and let it there finally a few guys push it out the way it was told to the dealer again I was called to pick up the car on February 20th but I pleaded with the to keep the rental they had loan me because I had a very important funeral I wanted to attend the told me no so I picked up the car and in the middle of the funeral lineup the car cut off again so needless to say I miss the funeral and the graveside service., so it was towed again.. Now the dealer had called and said it ready and that they drove it to ensure it won't cut off. But my thing is didn't they drive the car the last three times and said it was fixed so how can they said they fixed it this time I am a loyal dodge this is my my second dodge and I have never has any trouble out of my other dodge. I don't feel safe in that car they have lied all 3 times saying they fix the car and it wasn't fixed and I know they have a buy program or they can give me a new car. Why should I keep putting my self in harms way. Am not paying 600.00 a month that is going to continue to give me problems

Desired Settlement
A new car or a buy back and I would like a the five year 100, thousand mile pit only new car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** service m
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@hendrickauto.com
We have repaired the vehicle. With the help of Chrysler we found a wire that was rubbed in to a stud on back of the engine. That was the cause of the shorted PCM . We have test drive the vehicle and I sm going to drive it one more day to be positive. I have spoken with Mrs. ****** and she is aware of this. Thanks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated in a previous response I am not happy with this car they stayed they fix the problem and the car still continues to cutoff I want a new car I appreciate ****** driving the car but in order to fill safe! I want a new! car! I also spoke with the bank financing the car and they stated that received something stating that I was in titled to collateral exchange and if that's what they can do that's what I pref I am not willing to pay for a car that has only 11 plus Miles on it to now and only 400 plus when I brought it be having engine problems or nor am I willing put my life at risk at state for a car that is malfunctioning and that's is gonna cost me fortunes in the long run after my bumper to bumper expires.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.